BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love Must Be Tough: New Hope for Marriages in Crisis

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    AMAZING

    My husband and I went through an awful period in our marriage a couple of years back. My pastor recommended this book to me and it helped me tremendously. It described every single emotion I was feeling and, along with prayer, I was able to put into action the words of this book. My husband came back after I showed him the door and our marriage has been nothing short of amazing. We haven't had a fight in years! Don't give up! Your relationship can be saved. I am a stronger person than I ever was and I wouldn't trade the most difficult year of my life for anything. Read this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    Wish I Had Read This One First

    When I was going through my divorce, I was inundated with advice, and names of books to read, etc. I found that either 1) authors (and this includes most of the Christian counselors) were advising staying in a marriage regardless of what the other partner is doing to you - the long-suffering approach, or 2) just go ahead and get divorced - indicating they didn't view marriage as a worthwhile, sacred institution. James Dobson has combined a Christian-based pro-marriage view with common sense. After I read it, I felt for the first time that someone had given me permission to look out for myself in the awful situation I was dealing with. And it also gave practical advice on how to do just that. When I could barely think straight, I could rely on the steps in this book and feel comfortable I was doing the right thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    It's a hard pill to swallow...

    This book stopped me from ripping myself to shreds and replaying my marriage, day by day and hour by hour in my head as I tried to figure out what I could have done to keep my husband from being unfaithful. It described all the characteristics that were playing out in front of my eyes. It explained the human aspect of how I responded to him and why he responded to me in a completely different way. It forced me to recognize where my strength lies and it's in that recognition that I found comfort and peace. I am the biggest sceptic and I analyze everything to the nth degree; this book put me in my place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Im currently pregnant with our 2nd child. My husband of 10 years

    Im currently pregnant with our 2nd child. My husband of 10 years walked out on us because things got hard. My sister gave this book to me the day after he left and I have been doing everything Dr.Dobson recommend to do when it comes to tough love. Its been over a week now but Ive been able to see things in a better light. I started therapy and she also recommend i reread this book and to live by it. Im still hopeful he will come back but in the end if he doesn't i know ill be okay! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Awesome book! Great advice for a betrayed spouse.

    This book makes so much sense. It has helped me in my situation. The book is for the eyes of the betrayed spouse. Don't share the information with the unfaithful spouse, that defeats the purpose of the book. Dr. Dobson has a lot of insight on how to work with an unfaithful spouse. His goal is to bring the unfaithful spouse back home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    very effective

    very effective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    The positive effects of this advice were literally seen overnigh

    The positive effects of this advice were literally seen overnight. I am not very religious, but once I kind of tuned out those bits and focused on the main, big picture, I felt tremendously empowered. If it saves your relationship, great. If it doesn't, tough love will teach you how to rebuild yourself. The tragedies of others really helped to put my own in perspective. I would recommend this book to anybody in a serious relationship (not just married).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Must read!

    This book is a must read for anyone who is married, intends to marry, or works with married couples. Also useful for employeer-employee, parent-child, and friend to friend relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    very awesome book!!! A MUST read

    this book really put a lot of perspective on love and marriage.
    my husband and I both read this. we are going thru a separation and this book helped us to start putting our marriage back together.
    I recommend all couples read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    If you want to save your marriage from divorce and your spouse cheated...

    This book was recommended to me by a Christian website when I was newly seperated. This helped me to understand that I was not the only one who had been through this. I am still working on my marriage, but it has helped me to not be the "doormat" that so many people are when they want their marriages to stay together. Good Luck, God Bless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    obviously written by a man

    i'm already hurt and i already hate men but a sentence in the beginning of the book really set me off:
    "We must never underestimate the power of sexual chemistry between an attractive, needy, available woman and virtually any man on the face of the earth."
    So, first he blames the wife, and then he blames the "needy divorcee" and i can't stand it anymore - can't even get past page 6.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Tough, but true...

    I bought it because a guy I met at church insisted so much in me buying it, that I prayed and I bough it. It gives you a biblical approach to man-woman relationships. You really have to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    It was as if I was looking in a mirror

    Everyone should read this book. Regardless of your martial status or situation. It teaches you how to deal with the situations when they arise. The best thing about the book is that I realized that I wasn't loosing my mind. My feelings and emotions were all normal. I wanted to share this book with a friend, but couldn't give mine up. I'm buying her a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Everyone should read this book....

    ...before you make a fool out of yourself or do something you'll regret! This book put me on the path to sober reality. I've read it over and over again. You must have a copy to refer back to if your spouse is cheating on you. NO OTHER resource will do. If I could I would have a few copies to give out to friends who are / were in the same boat. The book is timeless advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2