Customer Reviews for

Love Only Once: Malory Family Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it and the series!

This book did an excellent job at setting the stage for all 10 books in the series! I read through all of them in a month or so, just couldn't get enough of the Malory's! Johanna Lindsey introduces us to the Malory family very thoroughly without being boring. Since each...
This book did an excellent job at setting the stage for all 10 books in the series! I read through all of them in a month or so, just couldn't get enough of the Malory's! Johanna Lindsey introduces us to the Malory family very thoroughly without being boring. Since each Malory is in all of the books, it's good to know the timeline of events and where things pick up from. The only new characters are the husbands and wives each Malory marries into their family.

Love Only Once introduces us to Lady Regina who is like a Tom Boy on the side with a lady's upbringing. She is mischievous and is adored immensely by all of her uncles. (pretty much she gets what she wants, but it's always for their benefit (and hers))

I was never bored, nor did it ever seem slow. There is adventure, sexual tensions, excitement, and love and much more in this series. I hope you'll enjoy it, I recommend taking the series in order!

posted by Leslee_FL on May 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Liked this book. Regina was a strong female , something I like i

Liked this book. Regina was a strong female , something I like in books. Simpering girls who need rescued at every turn are boring. I felt Nicolas was far too over the top with his disdain for marriage. His problems ,(once confronted) were solved rather quickly. Still i...
Liked this book. Regina was a strong female , something I like in books. Simpering girls who need rescued at every turn are boring. I felt Nicolas was far too over the top with his disdain for marriage. His problems ,(once confronted) were solved rather quickly. Still it was a good read.

posted by read2011 on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it and the series!

    This book did an excellent job at setting the stage for all 10 books in the series! I read through all of them in a month or so, just couldn't get enough of the Malory's! Johanna Lindsey introduces us to the Malory family very thoroughly without being boring. Since each Malory is in all of the books, it's good to know the timeline of events and where things pick up from. The only new characters are the husbands and wives each Malory marries into their family.

    Love Only Once introduces us to Lady Regina who is like a Tom Boy on the side with a lady's upbringing. She is mischievous and is adored immensely by all of her uncles. (pretty much she gets what she wants, but it's always for their benefit (and hers))

    I was never bored, nor did it ever seem slow. There is adventure, sexual tensions, excitement, and love and much more in this series. I hope you'll enjoy it, I recommend taking the series in order!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Great!

    I love Regan!! She's pretty, smart, sassy, and yet, she's all heart too. Nicholas is handsome and sexy, a great character!! (Although James and Tony are better!!) Funny and romantic. A Must Read!!! I can't wait until Jeremy's story comes out! 'Hell's bells, isn't it about time?!'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Liked this book. Regina was a strong female , something I like i

    Liked this book. Regina was a strong female , something I like in books. Simpering girls who need rescued at every turn are boring. I felt Nicolas was far too over the top with his disdain for marriage. His problems ,(once confronted) were solved rather quickly. Still it was a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Love is powerful when it comes to the Malory Family!

    You will fall in love with this family they take care of each other and protect anyone that is family imagine being a rival of one of them and falling in love with another? Its all a surprise to Nicholas Eden he would never imagine himself leg shackled. This is the beginning of a series of love stories that you just like I will enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great Book

    Love all her books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great!

    Wonderful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    First of a great series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    love love love!! i love this whole series i never get tired of r

    love love love!! i love this whole series i never get tired of reading about the mallorys :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Great book in a series I recommend this series.

    I love historical romances an this author has a wonderful set of Malory Series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Love the Mallory Series I own most of them, they are humorous and I just cant put them down once I start reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Not that great

    I got kind of bored of it half way also. But, its the beginning of a series, it's best to read the first one anyway so you'll get a better understanding of the characters in ther rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Not her greatest

    Love Johanna books but I got bored half way through this one........ Not to much lust scenes if thats what your into..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!!!

    loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great read!

    I couldn't put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Fantastic

    This is a great book and a fantastic beginning to the Malory Family Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    One of my Favorite Books of my Favorite Author

    I love how Johanna Lindsey weaves her multi stories together. She brings such layers and attitude to life within the her writing. I can believe in these characters and their life, even in the outrageous story line. The Malory's and Anderson's have become one of my favorite fictional families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Book #1 in the Malory-must read

    This cute historical romance is the start to a wonderful series involving the Malory family. Although the beginning is a slow read, the plot warms considerably. Regina is a lovable firecracker of a woman and Nicholas is the playboy turned family man we love to hate. We also learn a little bit of the Malory family background. Great start to a wonderful series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Great romance novel!

    Johanna's done it again! I loved this book, could not put it down. The characters were very lively. My favorites were Regina and Nicholas. This is good escapist reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Mistress of Romance phoned it in on this one.

    I grew up reading Lindsey's novels, so I feel like I'm somehow maligning the Obi Wan of Romance, but this book was six hours I'll never get back.

    The characters were hollow. The conflict was ridiculous and unreal. And there was absolutely no character development. On top of these flaws, the plot was so weak, I am not sure if Lindsey wrote the book while awake.

    I was left utterly disappointed by a firecracker heroine who never grows and a whiny male lead whose stubborn ways start to border on lack of intelligence.

    It's as if the two characters don't belong together, weren't even growing towards being appropriate for one another, and really would have benefited better from simply growing up.

    I'll read another novel of hers because she's been so good in the past. Until then, I'd advise anyone looking for emotional maturity or growth in their characters or a gripping plot to steer away from this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great introduction to the Malory family

    I can't say enough about this book, except that if you decide to read it, be prepared not to be able to put it down. Regina is sweet, hot-tempered, and spirited, and you will admire her. As for Nicholas, you might hate him at first, but you will come to love him because Lindsey shows us that deep down he is vulnerable and terrified of rejection. A great book and terrific beginning to this series. I can't wait to read the stories of the other Malory characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6