Customer Reviews for

The Love Season

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    The typos are too many and too distracting.

    The story is wonderful, but the typos are VERY VERY distracting! Unacceptable for an e-book. This needs a complete re-read by whoever edited it for this format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    The Road to Self Discovery Captivates the Audience

    The Love Season, by Elin Hilderbrand had me intrigued from page one. The interesting layout- one day documented hour by hour- captured my attention throughout the whole story. It is hard to believe that this entire story was expanded from just twenty four short hours! The characters all had such depth and complexity, and I felt like I was really able to dive into each character's point of view. Marguerite, a former restaurant owner, is preparing for a very important dinner with her goddaughter Renata, whom she had been forbidden to see since the death of Renata's mother fourteen years earlier. In preparing for this dinner, Marguerite left her home for the first time in a long time, seeing people for the first time in a long time that she had a past with. This span of twenty four hours in which Marguerite revisited her social life had her reminiscing on her past: in Paris, with her first love Porter, her beloved customers at her restaurant, the owners of local markets, and her distanced goddaughter. With the reunion of Marguerite and Renata, they give each other the strength to acknowledge the past and courage to move forward. The outlying theme in The Love Season is the journey to self discovery. Instead of dwelling on the past, it is best to move onward and find the positive outlooks about life while in search of finding one's place in the world. I was truly touched by this story, from beginning to end. I found myself diving into it whenever I could, because I was felt like I could relate to the journey of self discovery, as I am currently in that stage of my life. I would highly recommend The Love Season to any young adult that is looking for a simple, romantic, moving novel that is sure to be a great catch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous Book!

    I could not put this book down. Was so sad to see it end. I recommend every book this author has written. They are FABULOUS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Diverse and interesting characters make this an excellent book. Forgiveness is an emotion we all need to practice.

    Currently I am raising a teenager and as I watch him/her venture in the twists and turns of discovering themselves and trying to guide them. This book has opened my eyes to allow him/her to make his/her own choices and ask me for my wisdom or guidance.

    Through this book we see how time has elapsed and forgiveness was never given or received until years later. This has occurred in my life and as I mend fences and move forward to forgive, I find myself feeling happier and accepting the death of my mother. My family is healing from six years of guilt we have all placed on ourselves. This book made me experience emotions I have not experienced in some time and I am grateful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    This author once again has a winner!!!

    Again the author grabs your attention from the begining and you come to love all the charactors. It was hard to put this book down. This author has new story lines, she is so refreshing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Elin's novels are delightful

    You will not be disappointed. She is one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Springclan border

    Springclan border

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    The love season The love season

    I luved dis book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    good read but Nookbook version terrible

    I did enjoy this story very much, as I have with other books by this author. HOWEVER - I bought this as a Nookbook and I have to say the quality of the text was abysmal. I've been annoyed by other nookbooks type quality previously, but this one really made it difficult to follow the story. VERY frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another to add to the list of favorites

    What a fantastic author - funny how you can write aobut a day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Escape to Nantucket

    This author has a way of letting her readers feel what life on Nantucket is like. Her characters are well thought out and interesting. She makes Nantucket an additional character in all her books. This book in particular was a sad story, but the way she describes the scenery and characters makes is so good, that you feel what you are reading and you feel for these characers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Well written.....

    This was a good book. I felt the feelings of Renata and the loss of her mother. Her desire to rekindle a relationship with her godmother was touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Read it**Loved it**Shared it with a friend who shared it with a friend who......

    Marguerite is a strong, principled woman who just wanted to love and be loved. You can't help but admire her and feel compassion for her life. The style in which this story is written keeps you in the moment and loving the characters for their totally human qualities. My life got in the way and I had to keep putting the book down, but finding time to pick it back up became my primary focus. I shared it with a friend who couldn't wait to see me to talk about all of the characters and plot lines. A wonderful story!I'd like to see a continuing saga with the same characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    GREAT summer read....

    I just finished this book for Book Club and I have to say it was the perfect summer read. Charming, sad, exciting, and although sometimes predictable ... still a fun read. I really enjoyed the author's choice of telling a story over the period of 24 hours. By the end of the book, I felt I knew these characters personally. Great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Romantically amazing

    The beginning alone just made my jaws drop. 'August 19, 2006' is memorable, personally. The fact that Elin wrote the story not far off the future but most probably a year in advance makes the reader interested and hooked. It is heartwarming and there is truth in her characters. I can believe that someone can be as cruel and indifferent as Margueritte's lover and Renata's eager will to know what really happened to her mother in Nantucket, that day she died. There are no hefty conflicts, just unintentional actions that were made in the past which haunted the characters present ( as for this one, it is the future for it still has to happen next month). Elin just made a bold move with her way of telling this story. I just love it. Pure, simple...ecstatic and yes romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4