BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love, Stargirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Had to read this one!

I read the first one as an english assignment and I just fell in love with it. I searched up the book and I saw that there was a second book! I bought it and read it so fast my parents love boasting about it. I fell in love with Stargirl and wanted to be as unique as he...
I read the first one as an english assignment and I just fell in love with it. I searched up the book and I saw that there was a second book! I bought it and read it so fast my parents love boasting about it. I fell in love with Stargirl and wanted to be as unique as her. That boy she had a crush on was so cute, mysterious, and dreamy I wish I met someone like him.

posted by NathalieVC on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Spinelli abandons what we adored in book one and expects us to still care...

The actual book is a nice product with a nice cover, binding and dust jacket. However, if you fell in love with Stargirl in the first book... and loved Leo's romance with her don't read the sequel... it's the movie series that kills off all your favorite characters or t...
The actual book is a nice product with a nice cover, binding and dust jacket. However, if you fell in love with Stargirl in the first book... and loved Leo's romance with her don't read the sequel... it's the movie series that kills off all your favorite characters or turns them into wackos to keep a story going... this sequel really squashes all the good of the first book.

Stargirl betrays her own self and her own feelings... far from the stand alone she was in the first book... she's a watered down turned floozy Stargirl... this is NOT a sweet love conquers all book about our two much loved star crossed characters... Spinelli built a wonderful world between Leo and Stargirl in book one... book two he throws it all out the window and expects the reader to still care... wish I hadn't read it!

I don't love Stargirl... any more!

posted by ECFitch on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Had to read this one!

    I read the first one as an english assignment and I just fell in love with it. I searched up the book and I saw that there was a second book! I bought it and read it so fast my parents love boasting about it. I fell in love with Stargirl and wanted to be as unique as her. That boy she had a crush on was so cute, mysterious, and dreamy I wish I met someone like him.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    You really should read this book!!

    "Love, Stargirl" by Jerry Spinelli is amazing! It is such a great self-confidence booster and a happy story! The book is mostly from the main character, Stargirl's, point of view. She is writing the longest letter ever to her ex-boyfriend, Leo. It is kind of like a journal. The conflict is that she found another boy that she thinks she loves but she still loves Leo in her heart. The author's purpose is to entertain you with an exciting sequel to Stargirl, and he did a great job! It was so entertaining I couldn't put it down! If you are a Jerry Spinelli fan or just liked Stargirl, you must read this book! The grade level is about 6th to 8th grade but that doesn't mean you can't read it if you are older or younger! This is a book for anyone. But I will warn you. You have to read Stargirl before this or you won't understand Love, Stargirl. Enjoy reading an awesome book!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    Spinelli abandons what we adored in book one and expects us to still care...

    The actual book is a nice product with a nice cover, binding and dust jacket. However, if you fell in love with Stargirl in the first book... and loved Leo's romance with her don't read the sequel... it's the movie series that kills off all your favorite characters or turns them into wackos to keep a story going... this sequel really squashes all the good of the first book. <BR/><BR/>Stargirl betrays her own self and her own feelings... far from the stand alone she was in the first book... she's a watered down turned floozy Stargirl... this is NOT a sweet love conquers all book about our two much loved star crossed characters... Spinelli built a wonderful world between Leo and Stargirl in book one... book two he throws it all out the window and expects the reader to still care... wish I hadn't read it! <BR/><BR/>I don't love Stargirl... any more!

    10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Again, Second Verse Same As The First, Jealous (PLEASE read! It isn't just what the story was about...Please?...)

    I think that Perry is a good new character to have. Again I want Stargirl's life. I want everything to be so simple. I want everyone to be so open-minded. I want to live in a small town where everyone has a family dinner everyday. I want everyone to know eachother. I want to live in a town where I'm not afraid that I'm gonna get hurt 'cuz of what is on the news. I wanna live without clocks. I want to feel special. Again, what I want, not what I need. What I really need is to read this over and over and over and over. Maybe I will be less jealous. But this girl who sat next to me in math (maybe one of the most awesomest people on this planet, she just doesn't care what people say or think, she is herself and no one will ever break her.) She made a river for me, then she made a bridge, then she made a girl. Yes in class, and they were made out of paper. Anyway, I looked at it, and I set it up, and I wrote on them. I don't know why, but I just automatically thought of this. I wrote Stargirl on the paper with the girl, Perry on the bridge, and Leo on the river. Here is the reasoning behind this: Stargirl used to be walking along the river of Leo. He was always changing. He thought she was crazy. He thought she was beautiful. He wanted her to change. He wanted her to stay the same. He was her boyfriend. He was her nothing. He wants her to be different. HE wants to be different. She is just watching it all. Then, she has to move on, and she sees the Bridge of Perry. And she gets on. She is sad and looks over the edge, so she never really forgets Mr. Arizona Leo, but Perry is here now, as she says, and he is there for a reason, to support her here. To show her what love used to feel like. He is helping her across this River of Leo. But she stops in the middle. Perry is the bridge, because he is stiff. He thinks that he loves her, but he thinks that he loves others too. He thinks that he has to change, but he doesn't know how. He isn't up for it. And eventually, the bridge will break, the bricks will fall, and as Stargirl falls with them, she knows that it wasn't stable for her, and in she falls. Into the River of Leo. She knew that he would protect her. He was there. It is said that you can never step into the same river twice. He has changed. She knows it. And being in the flow of him again, felt good to her. But she knows that Perry was kind for trying to help, but bridges break, and fall, and crumble, but her River of Leo will be there forever. And she can feel it.

    * That was completely my own mind just spilling out there, and now my wrist hurts...XD I'm not a parent, I'm 13, =) I hope you don't mind. I agree that the relationship between them was kinda dry, but a good kind of dry... Thanks for reading...=)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    Love,Stargirl book review

    The book Love,stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is a book that i recommend for everyone to enjoy. Love,Stargirl is a book would want to read over and over. Stargirl is a girl who is different from normal teens. She met this boy Leo Borlock that she falls in love with. They got to know each other and ended up being a couple as in boyfriend and girlfriend type. It started out going well until he started avoiding Stargirl. so Stargirl left to Pennsylvania and writes the worlds longest letter to him.
    The letter is more like a journal. Stargirl writes about her time in Pennsylvania,the people,the things she do,and about the summer and winter solstice.When you read the first letter you would not be able to stop.
    I enjoyed reading Jerry Spinelli's books. Love,Stargirl would be the thrid book I've read from him. I just love them all and i look forward jerry Spinelli.
    Next time you're at a book store or library make sure you get Love,Stargirl.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Missing Stargirl

    I miss the old Stargirl. This one seemed so unsure of herself, and so....normal. It ruined the first book for me. Besides that I felt embarrassed for Stargirl beacuse she was moping for Leo all the time. It was just sad. I recommend it to those who have read Stargirl, but only for the information. Dootsie is hilarious!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    NOT AS GOOD AS STARGIRL

    I would have given this a better review if it were not the sequel to Stargirl. But, it is. The thing about Stargirl that I love in the first book is that she's a free spirit. She does things most people would never consider doing, and she's really nice. But in this book she's, well, mostly normal. More like Susan than Stargirl. (For people that haven't read Stargirl, Susan is her real name.) Jerry Spinelli only managed to paint a shade of Stargirl. And the plot wasn't that captivating either. I gave it three stars because I did hold some interest to the book in some parts. But I am not sure if I'd recommend this at all. I suppose people who read Stargirl MIGHT like this. It's about a 50/50 chance.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    Somewhat dissapointed....WHERE'S LEO?

    I loved Stargirl. it was one of the best books i had ever read, and when 'Love, Stargirl' came out, I was soooo excited!...too bad i was somewhat dissapointed. The relationship between Perry and Stargirl was too dry and left you hanging unlike the first book. Also, some of the characters got really annoying (i'm sorry Dootsie and Alvina), and i thought the characters were such a let-down in this book. The only reason i rated it 3 stars intstead of 2 was because the book had its moments here and there. It also got soooooo annoying when she went on and on about missing Leo, and then, even though she was still missing him, she says 'Well, Perry's here, and Leo's there so why not?' I don't really recommend you read this book. Don't think it's gonna be all about Leo and Stargirl, Leo is hardly mentioned by other characters except for Stargirl, and even toward the end, she wasn't mentioning him as much. Again, it had it's moments, but otherwise, it wasn't very enjoyable, and it took me about 2 weeks to finish, whereas Stargirl took me 2 days.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Star girl love star girl

    Star girl was the greatest book ever BUT love star girl was horrible

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Stinks

    Worst book ever

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Awesome

    When I seen there was a sequel to Stargirl, this is what I did:
    1: Jumped up and down
    2: Screamed really loud
    3: Cried untill my tear ducts shriveled
    4: Jumped up and down aome more
    5: Read and read and read Love, Stargirl
    6: Cried because it was so good and I didnt want it to end!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Dfghj

    I have read stargirl at school i loooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvve the story the end always makes me cry i fisished it today i even read it 2 i really want to read love stargirl. I reccemend stargirl and proably this one. Happy reading!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Cheese

    It is a beautiful book about love

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    READ THIS

    Read this if you've read the first book. It's diary and amazing!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Creative

    Thi is an amazing book with unforgettable characters

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    What can I say? :)

    This book was a great choice. Not only was there a non cliche high school plot (lol) there was actual humor and relativity to the average students life. Enjoy! <3

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love: Love, Stargirl!

    Jerry Spinelli has really done it. This book was absolutely unique. The writing was phenomenal and the main character, Stargirl is not like many girls. She is different, but in a good way. I read the first book, and it is both very interesting and good. It is a very special 274 page letter from Stargirl to someone special to her. You have to read the book to find out. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Go Stargirl!!!!!!!

    This book was amzing! I read the first book which was outstanding and didn't think this book could be better, but i was soooo wrong! In this book Stargirl moves to Pennslivaina and makes a bunch of new friends inculding Dooties, Charile, Alvina, and of course Perry who she later starts to like. But don't worry I wont ruin the end for you. This book has fantasic literature! Read Love, Stargirl and you will love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    A decent sequel to a masterpiece

    Perhaps I'm being a tad bit unfair, but if Spinelli's going to write a follow-up to his most powerful work . . . well, it had better be almost as perfect as the original. 'Love, Stargirl' is a very entertaining read but lacks much of the beauty and mystery of 'Stargirl.' Four gripes: 1)Some of it is a bit too predictable I'm looking at you, agoraphobic Betty Lou. 2)The story is told from Stargirl's point-of-view. Strange, magical, and wise characters (Stargirl, The Little Prince, Charlotte) are best revealed to us through narrators as plain and uninitiated as the reader (Leo Borlock, the Aviator, Wilbur). By reading her diary/letter and experiencing characters even more bizarre than she . . . well, our beloved Stargirl starts to become a bit ordinary. The original painted her as alien, completely oblivious to society's rules for better or worse. The sequel contradicts this picture constantly. 3)I find her buddy Dootsie to be completely insufferable. 4)I still have no clue as to what the hell she sees in Leo. Perhaps this is Spinelli's design, though. All in all, I did enjoy this book. It just doesn't sniff the brilliance of the original.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Really good book. Very funny and thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16