Customer Reviews for

Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Premise

This book took me by surprise. I know it's a Jennifer Echols book right? I should not be surprised. But, this book was so different. This book immediately captured my attention. The opening of the book starts off with a story that Erin has written for her creative writi...
This book took me by surprise. I know it's a Jennifer Echols book right? I should not be surprised. But, this book was so different. This book immediately captured my attention. The opening of the book starts off with a story that Erin has written for her creative writing class and I was so into it that I didn't want it to end. All I could think about is how Jennifer should write a historical romance novel. I would definitely buy it. She could write any type of story and I would buy it.

What I enjoyed the most about LOVE STORY was the premise. Here you have a creative writing class with characters writing about each other and through their stories, you learn more and more about them. The fact that some of the stories were quite hot was a plus too. One thing that I can say is that Jennifer writes the best relationships with great male leads. I don't know how you cannot fall in love with her characters.

I look forward to reading anything this author writes and that says a lot. If you're huge Echols fan like me then you won't be disappointed with LOVE STORY.

posted by Fantastic_Book on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Alright

it was very good but not as good as her other books

posted by 7076700 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Premise

    This book took me by surprise. I know it's a Jennifer Echols book right? I should not be surprised. But, this book was so different. This book immediately captured my attention. The opening of the book starts off with a story that Erin has written for her creative writing class and I was so into it that I didn't want it to end. All I could think about is how Jennifer should write a historical romance novel. I would definitely buy it. She could write any type of story and I would buy it.

    What I enjoyed the most about LOVE STORY was the premise. Here you have a creative writing class with characters writing about each other and through their stories, you learn more and more about them. The fact that some of the stories were quite hot was a plus too. One thing that I can say is that Jennifer writes the best relationships with great male leads. I don't know how you cannot fall in love with her characters.

    I look forward to reading anything this author writes and that says a lot. If you're huge Echols fan like me then you won't be disappointed with LOVE STORY.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    The story was good but the ending just didnt end right

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    good book

    loved the book..........despised the ending.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Very good

    I wasnt sure about this book at first. But once i read the first line i was pretty hooked. I loved how the book open to the story erin was writing. I was confused and kept checking that i had the right book but than i got it.
    I really enjoyed erin. I admired how strong she was because she wouldnt ask her grandmother from money and she worked so hard just because she wanted controll of her own life.
    I did find her annoying at times too. I knew they were meant to be together and she she kept pushing him away!! Hunter was complex/frustrating/adorible all at the same time.
    I loved the story about erins mother and hunters dad! It was sad but it was good. And how erin had asked him if he loved her but he never had the chance to.
    I liked the ending ok. I like ends that are happy ever after, where they kiss, all that. The end in this book was good but i wished it was... happier i guess. I have read other books by this author and knew that they wouldnt not end up together, but i was expecting more like in forget you. Still very good book.
    I would recommend this book for anyone who likes a cute story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good

    I could not put this book down!the only part i didnt like was the ending,i was yearning for more! I wanted a better ending,this ending made me.....wish i picked a book with a better ending!haha

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it

    I adored this book great storyline it left me wanting more, one minor problem though was i wanted a better ending

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    This was filled with sexual tension which was good but i felt it was sort of a let down at certain points. But still a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    3.5 stars...A MUST READ REVIEW

    Ok, so who doesnt love Jennifer Echols? I mean,seriously, her romances are so well crafted...and she makes sure that the guys are way hot. Same with this book. Absolutely adored Hunter Allen, and Erin sounded like a well-put-together girl. The stoy of their romance will haunt you and leave you yearning for one of your own. Now,to the parts that could use improvement. Reading some of the othe reviews, I see that their were requests for a better ending. I absolutely AGREE with these pleas. I mean, really, the authoress could have made it so much more romantic...as opposed to "Come have Thanksgiving dinner with your Grandmother, and it will all work out." Really!? ARE YOU FOR REAL GOING TO END IT LIKE THAT! Anyway, I also thought Erin was a little bit hard to crack, if you can excuse my parlance... I found her difficult to really empathize with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Wish the ending was better

    I thought this book was slow going but it had me hooked after a few chapters. Jennifer really captured college life to a T i really enjoyed this book i just wish there was more to the ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable quick read

    I love Jennifer Echols. She can write a good story about two people that are being stubborn & mean to each other but actually just want to be with one another. Love Story was quickly turning into my favorite by Echols but to be honest if I could I would have given it 3 1/2 stars instead of 4 because of the ending. It's not bad I felt it just kind of left me hanging but I really did enjoy the book. I enjoyed learning the history between Erin & Hunter & enjoyed all of their interactions. I also enjoyed reading their stories. I want to read "Almost a Lady" to see what happens between Rebecca & David.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    I love Jennifer Echols and but hate her endings!

    I love Jennifer Echols' books. This one caught me off guard from the get go but in a good way. The book starts off from the main character's creative writing story. As a writer I could totally relate to the character in this story. I love the way the plot unfolds and as always, Echols' characters are realistic and multidimensional yet easy to read.

    I was captivated by this story and would have given it 10 stars but I hate how the story ended. I felt some sort of closure but not really. I love all her stories but feel they don't give us much for endings...there were so many unanswered questions at the end of this story, even more so than her others in my opinion. It just left me so frustrated and annoyed but won't keep me from reading her next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not even a contemporary reader, but I really enjoyed this.

    I'm not a contemporary reader, but have to say that I really enjoyed Love Story.
    Out of the whole book my favorite parts were when Erin and Hunter shared their stories in class. Both writing about each other and looking at it differently. "She's writing about him. he's writing about her. And everybody is reading between the lines... " describes this book perfectly. What I didn't know about was the strong back story. Erin and Hunter's history go way deeper than what I was expecting.
    I LOVE the settings. Freshman college students in New York and then them going back to Kentucky with the horses and the beautiful land. It was really nice reading about college students instead of high school students. They aren't officially adults, but it shows the life Erin has to go through to survive without her grandma's money.
    The characters were very interesting. I found that I really liked Erin's character because she was stubborn and often defensive. Those were some real qualities in someone that I really enjoyed reading about. Plus she had a really neat dream to become a writer and that she loved to read. Hunter on the other hand was a bit questionable. I didn't feel like I knew him and I could have cared less with what he did. I'm not saying I didn't enjoy those Hunter moments, but I just couldn't put a finger on who he is.
    The writing was really great and very easy. The chemistry between Hunter and Erin were one of the reasons I stayed up all night and woke up early in the morning to finish this book. Love Story was my first Jennifer Echols book, but it's definitely not going to be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    Great book, bad ending

    I loved this book but i hated the ending. I umderstand if you wanna leave a book open for the reader but this book didnt have much if an ending. Like the grandmother thing wasnt closed completey and it was a weird ending with hunter and erin. Overall i liked the beginning and middle but not the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very original love story.

    What young adult fan could resist a Jeniffer Echols love story? One with such an awesome story line including various literary pieces. Certainly not me. I love, love, love.
    The entire story is completely original, the characters, Hunter and Erin, how they are connected and how we get to know them and their past through their own "love story", written for their class writing assignment and based on their former connection and true feelings for one another.
    From what I have read so far in Erin's creative writing assignments, Echols should also try her hand writing for the historical romance genre.
    I recommend this for young teens through college, young adult fans, and romance fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Ending, please?

    I loved this story, and I breezed through it in a matter of hours. I read it on my nook, and I wasn't paying attention to the status bar on the bottom of my screen which told me my physical progress through the book. When I finished, I was shocked. Maybe perplexed is a better word. I kept clicking for the next page, but there was no next page. I checked to see if the whole thing was actually downloaded. It was. Then I realized that I'd actually reached the end of the book. The loose ends were mostly tied up. Those that weren't tied up had implications that they would be tied up soon, and the reader could mostly guess how. I was incredibly disappointed, and not only because I loved Love Story and didn't want it to end. To paraphrase the character Summer, everyone knows how romance novels go, and how they end. I knew how this one would end by the second chapter. The fun part is letting the author take you, step by step, through the whole story. So, no. Implying the ending wasn't good enough. I wanted to see it happen. That's why I read past the second chapter. Upon further contemplation, I realized that not all the loose ends even had implied or guessable endings. I won't post any overt spoilers, but you might want to avert your eyes. Erin never chooses her future path. Both obvious options could be potentially be fulfilling to her. Will she realize that she left home mostly to prove a point, and return to the horses that she really loves? Or will she stick with writing? I can't guess. Maybe this book is meant to have a sequel, and I missed the memo. I hope so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    Erin is an aspiring writer. Specifically, she's an aspiring roma

    Erin is an aspiring writer. Specifically, she's an aspiring romance novelist. In her freshman creative writing seminar, Erin writes a saucy tale based a little bit on true life. Little does she know her "stable boy" is about to come crash her class and shake things up in a major way. Erin soon finds herself caught up in a contest of wills with Hunter, and the war is being fought through their stories.




    I actually found this book to be very fun. The characters were all enjoyable, and the book reads super fast. Using Erin's and Hunter's stories to progress the plot was interesting. It's easy to sympathize with Erin, who's desire to follow her heart and write has put her at odds with her grandmother. Erin's grandmother desperately wants Erin to take over the family horse farm one day, and expects her to major in business to do so. This sets up a bit of an awkward relationship between Erin and Hunter, her grandmother's new chosen heir. Although it's fairly easy to see where the story is going, it's still enjoyable...until the end




    Oh the end. It was so abrupt. I was totally into this story, and then BOOM. The end. I found myself flipping back to make sure I hadn't missed anything. It almost felt like the author reached an arbitrary page or word limit and just stopped the story. I felt vastly unsatisfied after having thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the book. I still think this book is worth a read, but just be prepared for a sudden end.




    Galley provided by publisher for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I think...

    I love this story. Like really love it. My advice to you is to read it once,and get swept up in the amazing, touching, romantic, hilarious story. Then reread it a few times. The situation that the characters are in is a little confusing but the more times you read over it the pieces begin to come together and you see the entire plot. AMAZING READ HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Such a great book! The ending was a little disappointing but oth

    Such a great book! The ending was a little disappointing but other than that I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Pretty darn good

    I loved the book i craved for more i would stay up till 3 in the morning to read it....then i got to the ending and was shattered. The ending is horrible for such a great book:( other than it is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    As this was only the second book I've ever read that Echols has written I feel like I can now officially consider myself a fan. After reading Forget You, I knew I loved the book, but wasn't sure if it was just this one title or her writing style or what? But I flew through this one and just loved it from start to finish.

    Echols has me on the edge of my seat with every page I turned. The characters became friends and people I was instantly invested in. Erin and her roommates, Hunter and his roommates, they were all great. And on top of all the drama, suspense and romance, Echols proved to have quite the funny bone. I can't even count how many times she had me unexpectedly laughing out loud. The quirks her characters came with and the short stories they were writing within the book itself were additional elements to add to the long list of great things about this book.

    My only disappointment was the ending. I can't say whether I was happy with it or not, only that I was shocked. I literally came to the last sentence thinking I would turn the page and find myself starting a new chapter. Not so much. So I'm slightly confused as to why Echols chose to end the story the way she did and so abruptly at that, but to each their own. I loved it all the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3