Customer Reviews for

Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Premise

This book took me by surprise. I know it's a Jennifer Echols book right? I should not be surprised. But, this book was so different. This book immediately captured my attention. The opening of the book starts off with a story that Erin has written for her creative writi...
This book took me by surprise. I know it's a Jennifer Echols book right? I should not be surprised. But, this book was so different. This book immediately captured my attention. The opening of the book starts off with a story that Erin has written for her creative writing class and I was so into it that I didn't want it to end. All I could think about is how Jennifer should write a historical romance novel. I would definitely buy it. She could write any type of story and I would buy it.

What I enjoyed the most about LOVE STORY was the premise. Here you have a creative writing class with characters writing about each other and through their stories, you learn more and more about them. The fact that some of the stories were quite hot was a plus too. One thing that I can say is that Jennifer writes the best relationships with great male leads. I don't know how you cannot fall in love with her characters.

I look forward to reading anything this author writes and that says a lot. If you're huge Echols fan like me then you won't be disappointed with LOVE STORY.

posted by Fantastic_Book on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Alright

it was very good but not as good as her other books

posted by 7076700 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    a must read

    This book was fantastic. The plot was interesting and the characters were very dynamic. A great chick-lit book with a brain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was fanrastic and i could not stop reading!!! I just wish there was more to the ending. Find out what happens over thanksgiving between erin and her grandma. And what happens with erin and hunter. More of theyre love story should be shared!!! I think she should definitely consider writing a sequa

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    : )

    Really good read. Luved the stories they wrote. 100% great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Phenominal Masterpiece

    One of the greatess books i' ve ever read!!!!! It was so good i couldn't put my nook down. I keep turning the pages until i got to the end. I was so sad when it ended. I wish she would make a sequel to this book. Fabulous. Absolutly Fabulous.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT! MUST READ!

    I loved this book! Jennifer Echols is an AMAZING author! The book surprised me and kept me interested! Once you pick it up you won't be able to put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Greatest!

    I got this book from a friend before it was even published and i read it in a day. IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! I could read this book over and over and never get bored. Please read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    You do the cha cha

    Do it now!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Violetstorm

    Kk

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is so cute. It's entertaining and you won't be able to put it down! I love many of her books but this is one of my definite favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A Cool

    My friend said that its suppose to be really good and that I
    shoud read it! I my mom says yes i'll be so happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Love never dies.

    Really amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    TO:BRADEN MICHAEL KING<3

    Deep in the medow, under the willow
    A bed of grass, a soft green pillow
    Lay down your head, close your eyes
    And when again they open, the sun will rise
    Here it is safe, here it is warm
    Here the trees gaurd youfrom every harm
    Here your dreams are sweat and tomarrow brings them true
    Her is where I love u


    ~LISA ANN DUFFY

    PS(hope 2c u next year!!!!!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Amazing Story. Read the plot: Plot

    A girl named Erin Blackwell is majoring in creative writing at New York. The problem is, she has to pay for her life in the big apple. But even bigger problems occur on just the first day. After writing a story for the class about a princess livng on the farm, forbidden to see the stable boy, a new boy comes in--Hunter. The stable boy. After her having to read the story in front of her past lover from Kentucky, he is furiated. Trying to avoid the dark secrets from her past, Hunter and Erin become closer than ever. Erin at some times would feel out of luck. Hunter would write stories of seducing girls, get with them at parties, and make it real. One night, Erin spies Hunter sneaking out the college dorms. Following him she get in an accident. At the hospital, they can either hammer the glass or tape back the pieces that have been once broken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Oh my gosh

    Best book i hve ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Wondful story

    Its a good story to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Wonderful

    I always enjoy her stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Addicting!

    I read this book awhile ago on my NOOK, & I can't even begin how to describe how much I loved this book! Such a great author that keeps me on the edge of my seat, begging for more! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great book a really good read!!!!!

    I loved this book the author should really write a sequel Nd keep it going i enjoyed it so much i couldnt put it down until i finidhed it the same day totally worth the mony highly reccomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    For the question about sex scenes

    Of what i read there is one kinda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Echols' Best Book Yet!

    Love Story is really a deceiving title, given that the two people who could be members of this love story are a disinherited, newly broke, Kentucky farm girl with a chip on her shoulder and a newly rich, 'used-to-be stable boy to said girl' guy with a cocky attitude. And they don't really get along. That stems from a broken friendship, superiority/inferiority issues, and a stolen inheritance. It's complicated.

    Yet Jennifer Echols somehow creates this fascinating tension and attraction between Erin and Hunter. The two clearly have a magnetism between them, but they're both too proud, too stupid, and too stubborn to get past it. Erin is hard-headed, but I got her. She's the privileged rich girl who doesn't want to depend on the family money for anything. She's sees the logic in her actions, even if Hunter doesn't. Hunter I understood to a degree. Erin's the narrator though, so the reader only knows what she knows. That makes Hunter infinitely sexy, but an ass at the same time. I wavered between attraction and anger with him, never quite sure of his motivations or intentions.

    Love Story is set in the bright lights of New York City, but not the NYC that most people think of. This New York is bright and flashy, but all Erin gets to experience is the walk between her dorm, her classes, and her job. Gone are the Broadway shows and the culture, replaced by a landscape that reeks of longing. This New York perfectly counters Erin's emotions, sometimes cold and raw and other times lit up with electricity.

    Erin and Hunter's creative writing class is as much a setting as the city's backdrop. So much happens within and because of the class. Erin's and Hunter's short stories are showcased throughout the book and it gets the reader thinking more and more about the subtleties they each impart with their words. I found myself longing for a new story from each of them, so I could gain another piece to the Erin/Hunter puzzle, and figure out what pulled these two people apart and what it may take to put them back together.

    Love Story isn't about the perfect relationship or even necessarily about falling in love and that's kind of why I loved it so much. Erin and Hunter aren't perfect for each other; in fact, their history makes them sort of an imperfect fit. But they do fit, if they'd allow it. Echols has once again crafted a realistic, emotional, and entirely believable story that will have the reader flipping pages rapidly in hopes of some sort of happiness by its close. Love Story paints a real life image of a lost girl and a lonely boy and the happy endings they're not sure how to write, and I enjoyed every heartfelt page of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5