Customer Reviews for

Love, Technically

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This novel was a sweet and cute romance that had me floating abo

    This novel was a sweet and cute romance that had me floating above the clouds. The story is about two really nice people and a whole lot of miscommunication. Oh...and Geek romance. Gotta love that geek romance. Noah aka “Sark” is a generally nice guy that kind of lucked out in the tech savy world and has no clue what to do with it. He still hangs out with the I.T peeps and still lives in the office space over his friend’s garage (where his company really started). He runs into Michelle who is a generally innocent and nice person and sparks fly. But, he wants her to love him for him. Pretty understandable. I, like Michelle, fell in love with Sark. I am always a big fan of the cute romances, but I felt there could have been more depth in this book. They were unrealistically nice and perfect and sometimes I just didn’t buy it. It was a great read though to escape the usual and if Noah/Sark ever came my way I would be sure to try and snatch him up...bike and all.

    Good:

    Noak/Sark--Sexy. Cute. Billionaire, yet down to earth. Perfection.

    Bad:

    A little too perfect sometimes.

    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):

    Overall the novel was still an enjoyable read. It wasn’t hard to follow and there wasn’t anything that made me stop and say “what?”. I smiled more often then not and I admit that I liked how innocent and down to earth Noah was. It curled by toes many a times and I found myself wanting to hug the digital pages.


    This book was provided courtesy of the author/publisher for review; however, this is no way affected my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Modern Day fairy tale

    Love technically is your basic modern day fairy tale story, with all the elements that make it one. The super rich hero, the "struggling" heroine, and a misunderstanding. Its the same old story, told in a slightly different way. But I liked it anyway.

    Our heroine is a small town girl from Iowa. Michelle Kolson is your basic girl next door kinda girl. She's 25 and has just moved to the windy city of Chicago,after realizing that she hasn't seen anything except her hometown Des Moines. With that depressing realization in her mind she packs up and moves. She quickly realizes that moving is easy... but getting settled and picking up her life well that's the hardest part. Michelle's a fighter though, she doesn't take crap from anyone and she doesn't need anyone saving her, because she can take care of herself.

    Noah Frellish, aka Sark, is your above average geek, and he isn't afraid to let you know he is 100% geeked out. The CEO of a big company and since he has just took his company public he is knee deep in business meetings and phone calls, but when he spots our heroine its interest at first sight, especially since she has no idea who he is. He knows its going to end bad if he doesn't tell her, but he just wants to be a normal person for a little while. Inventing new technologies and dealing directly with his people, but being public doesn't give him that option anymore. These two have an instant connection and after finding out that she might be heading right back out the door Sark gives Michelle a heads up about an open position within the company.

    The romance in this book was easy and I would have liked to see some real big romantic gestures but that's just me. The twist came with the fact that Michelle had competition not for Sark but for the job she wanted and that was a welcomed change in pace. The ending was cookie cutter at best, since you know it has to be a happy ending boy goes to get girl, girl sworns and comes back. I'll admit it made me tear up a little, but hello I kinda expected nothing less. If this book hadn't pulled out any emotions then it wouldn't have been a good book.

    This book wasn't perfect by a long shot, but I enjoyed it and would gladly recommend it to everyone I know and don't know. So with that I give this a 4 out of 5 black roses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Wonderful reading! I loved Michelle and Sark love! It was classi

    Wonderful reading! I loved Michelle and Sark love! It was classic, romantic, but a little unreal and cheesy.
    All the book was incredible, awesome, and I was waiting for the climax in any page. When it arrived, I said "OMG, that &%$@#!!" No words to describe it! Sometimes I wished that the story goes more fast, but it doesn't matter, just in my opinion. At the rest, HOLY *HIT, I LOVED IT SO MUCH!




    ¡Una lectura maravillosa! ¡Amé el amor de Michelle y Sark! Fue clásico, romántico, pero un poco irreal y cursi.
    Todo el libro es increíble, impresionante, y estuve esperando por el clímax en cualquier página.Cuando llegó, dije "OMG, esa &%$@#!!" Sin palaabras para dscribirlo! Algunas veces deseé que la historia fuera más deprisa, pero no importa mucho, es solamente una opinión. Por lo demás, M****A, LA AMÉ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love, Technically is a contemporary romance that is quick read w

    Love, Technically is a contemporary romance that is quick read with geeky and sexy hero, and a beautiful heroine. I really liked Noah. He is smart, compassionate, generous, and romantic. He wants a women to love him for him, not his money, just him. I find that I fill bad for him never knowing if his date was actually interested in him. When he meets Michelle and does not correct her mistake with his identity, I know this is going to come back and bite him, but I can understand why he does it. The ease that these two have in their relationship, their chemistry, and their friendship is stuff that dreams are made of. When things backfire and Michelle finds out who Noah really is, well it does not go well for him. He has to win her back so she knows that he is still the man she feel in love with.

    This is a quick read that has beautiful romance, wrenching emotion, and great characters that really make you care about them.

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I have a soft spot for tech geeks. Mainly because I married one.

    I have a soft spot for tech geeks. Mainly because I married one. He isn't a billionaire CEO, but I am pretty sweet on him. When I saw Love, Technically by Lynne Silver come up for review and read the blurb I knew I had to read it. It was such a fun story. For those that work in the corporate world, you will really be able to identify with this story. Even if you don't, it will still be just as entertaining for you.

    I don't usually like it when people lie about their identity in stories, but can understand why they choose to do so. In this case Sark lies about being the CEO because he really likes Michelle and is afraid she will treat him differently if she knows who he really is. The CEO title either freaks people out or draws people in because of his money. He is afraid of being hurt again, so he keeps it a secret for a bit. We all know that when Michelle eventually finds out things are going to change. How is this story different? Because we have a hero who isn't ultra-smooth with the ladies and we watch him navigate the uncomfortable area of love and romance. It is entertaining to watch him figure out how to get the girl.

    Lynne is a new-to-me author and Love, Technically is a book that will have me checking out her other stories. The story moved along at a good pace and the characters are well developed and engaging. If you are looking for a quick read that is hard to put down and will leave you smiling at the end of the story I recommend Love, Technically! It will cause you to look differently at tech geeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was my first book by author Lynne Silver, and I¿ll definite

    This was my first book by author Lynne Silver, and I’ll definitely be adding more. I found her writing to be enjoyable with an easy flow and entertaining storyline. I’ve read a couple of “geek romances” and I have to say, this is a sub-genre that is quickly rising to the top of my favorites. Love, Technically was engaging from beginning to end.








    In Love, Technically we have Michelle who is a transplant to Chicago from Iowa. She’s a small town girl who just needed more than what working at the local supercenter could offer her. So she struck out on her own in one of the biggest cities in the country. Right away I like her. Not only is she very kind and tenderhearted, the bravery is takes to make a move like this endears her to me. I feel slightly protective of Michelle, but at the same time, I am sure she can handle her own. Small town doesn’t translate to dumb. 




    Right away at work she runs into after hours computer issues. Luckily a computer geek happens out of no where. Ladies, meet Sark. Sark is sexy and in shape. He’s the type of hottie geek that a girl like me dreams of. Sark realizes something right away – Michelle doesn’t realize who he is. He sees an opportunity to get to know her as himself, not as the CEO of the company she just hired into. I found him to be a sincere character, and I loved him all the way through. 




    This is the type of book I could see made into one of those movies on TV with young up and coming actors. It had a fun and flirty feel to it. There did come a point where things were a little heartbreaking. I mean, nothing good can come from hiding your identity. Miscommunication at this point is an ugly monster. Near the end, there were a few scenes that kind of unraveled for me. I was expecting a big overture, and I got something more of a stumble with good luck. It worked for the pair, but I would have really loved something a bit more intense and dramatic.








    The drink in his hand was messing with his need to touch her and cup her bottom as they swayed to the music. His hands couldn't go where they wanted, but his mouth could. He leaned down to kiss her, and she met his mouth halfway. She tasted like beer and warm, sexy woman. The kiss grew deeper, stronger. Around them other couples clung to each other and used the slow dance as an excuses to get close to their partner.




    He stopped pretending and gave in to what he really wanted. Keeping his mouth on hers, he back them off the dance floor to a quieter corner of the club. Somewhere along the way, they lost their drinks on a table, on the floor. He didn't know, didn't care. What mattered was keeping his connection with Michelle.




    After finishing this book, I think I would recommend this to people who are fans of YA or NA romance, or geek romance. It isn’t really huge on the hot and heavy scenes (save for maybe one?  I didn't keep count - so I could be wrong), although there are some terrific spur of the moment kisses which just made me melt into a big puddle. It was a fun and easy romance with fun characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Best beach read so far! This does not mean that it is the best b

    Best beach read so far! This does not mean that it is the best book I’ve read this year, but it is the best short story you could take with you on the beach. This book is funny, cute and interesting, but also easy to read. The story is really cute, well developed for its size, so why not give it a try?
    I do not have much to criticize other than the fact that I did not like Michelle that much. I know that she is the main character and all that, but she seemed a bit stupid at times, in my opinion. I hate that! Thankfully it that fact did not ruin the book for me as I knew from the beginning not to expect a masterpiece with a strong, smart woman as a heroine, I knew before reading it that is was going to be a light, cute book.
    I really liked Sark. I really admire him for the way he runs his company because that proves once again just how smart he is. He knows that people work better in a friendly environment. Sadly, the model in the cover is not really how I imagined Noah, oh well…
    Overall, I really loved this short story despite its minor faults, but I would have liked to read more, a lot more! I recommend reading this one because it is worth it!!!
    Reading time: 1 h 30 min

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I am usually pretty skeptical of novellas - they tend to lack ch

    I am usually pretty skeptical of novellas - they tend to lack character development & feel rushed. It sounded adorable & the hero of the story is a cute tech nerd, so I just had to give it a read! I love the big, tough bad boys just as much as the next girl but I have a sweet spot for nerds.
    Love, Technically is about Michelle, a girl from a small city in Iowa, who moves to Chicago to create a new life. First week at her new job she meets Noah aka Sark. He helps her with her printer & she assumes that he is an IT guy, when in actuality he is the owner & CEO of the company. He wants to tell her the truth but he loves being treated like a regular guy.
    Even though the book was only a little over a hundred pages, the story never felt rushed to me. It constantly held my attention. Michelle & Sark's chemistry was adorable and completely natural.
    Overall, Love, Technically was a cute, feel-good romance novel. My only minor complaint was that I didn't feel I really connected with Michelle.
    I loved the epilogue, I was definitely smiling when I finished the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Overall, this was a cute book. I actually didn't have a problem

    Overall, this was a cute book. I actually didn't have a problem in believing the initial mistake Michelle makes in not figuring out who Noah is. After all, he looked different in the pictures and he introduced himself by his nickname, which in his experience, everyone knew was his nickname. I even don't necessarily have a problem with him not fixing hte mistake as soon as he realized it was made. After all, he's a billionaire and it must have been refreshing to have a woman liking him for who he is, rather than his bank account.




    Noah made his money in the tech industry and is growing restless because he has bigger and better ideas, but he's blocked in by a board of directors since his company is a public one and they don't want to take a chance and risk their profits on a new invention.




    Michelle is a relatively innocent, somewhat naive woman who's just moved to Chicago from her little town in the boonies. She's excited to have a chance to work for a company like Noah's, but then finds out her job's about to be outsourced. Then, thanks to a tip from the cute IT tech she met (Sark aka Noah), she gets a lead on another job within the company. Unfortunately, going after the job, which she's actually not very qualified for despite some work history in the advertising business (for her parents' store back home), comes with its own set of complications (including a potential rival for Noah/Sark, who she still hasn't figured out is the boss).




    Of course the truth comes out, as it always does. She's hurt and runs home to think. Noah's confused, not having realized (some how) that she still had no clue until someone points it out to her (in a suitably melodramatic moment which involves the HR department and her potential new boss in the advertising department).




    Ultimately, of course, they work the issues out and have their happily ever after.




    I liked Michelle. She knew how to go after what she wanted, even though she was shy about it. Noah was really good to her, giving her some help in learning what she'd need to know to qualify for the job. Unfortunately, as the mistaken identity thing continued for sooooo much of the book, it ended up straining my ability to believe in the possibility. She worked closely with him and never had a clue. It's just not possible (in my opinion) to not figure something out was up.




    I don't think Noah was too smart. He started to 'fess up, but then somehow his note in which he confesses just happens to not get signed properly, thus not finishing his confession and he never realizees it. Very shaky plasaubility for me.




    That didn't ruin the book, as is clear since I still give this book 4 stars, but it's why I couldn't conceive of giving it five.




    Definitely got some great company between the two leads, and I like the secondary cast as well. Hopefully we'll get more books in this bent as time goes on.




    Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this couple.

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    I loved the premise of this book. There’s just something really great about truly falling in love with someone for them as a person and not for the size of their bank account.

    Michelle Kolson is working late one night during her first week at LiteWave Tech. She thinks she’s alone on the floor and is having printer problems. In fact, she even kicks the printer and is surprised to hear the voice of a tall, handsome, geeky looking guy approaching her. Since he helps her and reminds her that the help desk is always on call, Michelle thinks Sark works for the help desk.

    Sark, known to his friends, is really Noah Frellish, the billionaire CEO who actually founded and created LiteWave Tech. Noah realizes that Michelle doesn’t know who he really is and decides he will tell her the truth the next day. Well....He kind of sort of does, but she doesn’t realize it.

    Love, Technically is a romance for starry eyed romance lovers everywhere. You get to watch two people fall in love with each other and come to terms with who they are and what they really want out of life.

    Noah is just an average guy who even though he has tons of money, doesn’t show it. Michelle is a small town girl who wants to live in the big city. She doesn’t have a college degree but she’s a fast learner and a hard worker. What these two can accomplish together is what friendship and love is all about.

    I was hooked from the beginning and I enjoyed the book to the very end. Noah and Michelle are two characters you will fall in love with.

    Source: Publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Star Rating:  4 out of 5 Heat Rating:  Mild/Simmers Love

    Star Rating:  4 out of 5
    Heat Rating:  Mild/Simmers








    Love, Technically is a book that will leave you smiling, especially on those days when you want to read a book that is simple, yet sweet and easy to fall into.  I picked up this novella, sat down and before I knew it I was done!  




    I fell in love with Sark (Noah) and Michelle, together they were adorable, believable and so much fun to read.  Noah is a CEO of a major technology company on the outside, but on the inside (his true self) he is still just that geeky code monkey that goes by his gamer name Sark.  I loved that he was socially a bit awkward and wasn't a player or a ladies man.  He was adorable, a bit geeky and good looking, but written like a real, average male in his twenties might act.   Michelle was a hard-working, naive girl from a small town, coming to Chicago to change her life for the better.  I really liked that her character had drive and passion (along with a bit of a backbone to stand up for herself), she is a woman who knows what she wants in life and is willing to work for it.




    Love, Technically was a fun, cute story about two people falling in love.  It is a novella so there is some jumping ahead to move the story along and there were times I wanted the story to slow down so we could dig deeper into things, but sometimes it is good to be left wanting more, right?  I always enjoy an epilogue and Lynne Silver does a great job of using it to wrap up some loose ends and questions the readers might have.  (I still would like to have another novella with Noah/Sark and Michelle, I am not done with these two just yet).




    This was my first book by Lynne Silver and it definitely won't be my last.  I enjoyed her writing style and her characters so much that I will be looking into her backlist and anxiously awaiting any new releases she has in the future.  If you enjoy reading light, sweet stories with quirky characters, Love, Technically is the perfect fit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Noah Frellish (aka Sark to his friends) is a computer genius bil

    Noah Frellish (aka Sark to his friends) is a computer genius billionaire. One evening at work he runs into Michelle Kolson who was having trouble with a printer. She's new to the company and was afraid of not pleasing her supervisor. Sark finds out the problem and is pleasantly surprised that she doesn't know who he is. He invites her out for coffee and sandwiches and enjoys being able to really be himself. He's finally able to relax his guard and just be his geeky self. Michelle insists on picking up the tab since he helped her out of a tight spot. Sark can't believe his good luck, lately the only thing women are interested in him was for his money and here was Michelle offtering to pay. She thought he was just one of the IT help desk guys and he wasn't ready to tell her different.

    For Sark just to be normal is exactly what he's been wanting in his life.

    For Michelle, meeting someone in the big city of Chicago is a step in the right direction to a new life.

    If you are looking for a nice, easy, fast read you will like Love, Technically. I read it in one evening. Even though, it's a simple storyline, it's so well written that you find yourself just sitting back, relaxing and enjoying the book. a great summer read you want to add to your reading list.

    Received an ARC for an honest reviw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Love Technically by Lynne Silver is a sweet and well written nov

    Love Technically by Lynne Silver is a sweet and well written novella. I was able to connect with all the characters because they have depth, personality and realism. This is a fast-paced short story that can be read in one afternoon while sipping a refreshing drink.

    Sexy Iowa native Michelle Kolson wants a new life in the big city. Much to her mother's dismay, she relocates to Chicago and lands a job in the call center of LiteWave Tech. During her first week with the company, she runs into slightly nerdy Noah Frellish, or Sark to his close friends, the company's billionaire CEO. Michelle has no idea that Sark is the CEO, even when he inadvertently shares some corporate information with her that concerns her department.

    Sark recently took his company public and is very unhappy. He is a computer whiz and now has to spend his time making corporate decisions, dealing with the board and saving his job. He misses inventing, discovering new technologies and dealing directly with his employees. Sark and Michelle bond instantly and knowing that the call center is going to be outsourced, Sark gives Michelle some suggestions about open positions within the company.

    Michelle and Sark spend some time together and begin to fall in love. Michelle likes Sark for himself, not because he is wealthy. However, once she finds out about the real Sark, she decides to rethink her future and priorities. Luckily, the couple is able to overcome some pressing obstacles and have a happily ever after.

    If you are looking for quick, fun romantic read, add this book to your TBR list.

    I received this ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1