Customer Reviews for

A Love That Multiplies: An Up-Close View of How They Make It Work

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A great read!

The Duggar family is one of those families that everyone seems to have an opinion on. Either people think they are crazy for having so many children or they think that how they run their family is borderline child abuse (older kids taking care of younger kids) or they s...
The Duggar family is one of those families that everyone seems to have an opinion on. Either people think they are crazy for having so many children or they think that how they run their family is borderline child abuse (older kids taking care of younger kids) or they say "more power to them". A Love That Multiplies has cemented my decision on which bench I sit.

I firmly say more power to them.

The "tone" I get from the book is that they are loving parents trying to raise their children in a loving, Godly way. They seem like a united couple with a common goal of raising their family to be kindly, godly people. Admirable, wouldn't you say? The book is very heavily based in scripture, but I would not call it Bible thumping. They are just telling their story and their story is very Faith based. I enjoyed their book immensely and will probably set the DVR to catch more of their show. Overall a great book.

posted by charlottesweb93 on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not Much New Information

I have to admit, I watch the Duggars' TV show. So I was pretty interested to read this book. I tend to find the Duggars' religious beliefs a bit extreme, and there is certainly a lot of preaching in this book. It does make sense though, as their religion is their whole ...
I have to admit, I watch the Duggars' TV show. So I was pretty interested to read this book. I tend to find the Duggars' religious beliefs a bit extreme, and there is certainly a lot of preaching in this book. It does make sense though, as their religion is their whole life. The first section of this book covers Michelle's pre-eclampsia and Josie's emergency delivery. There's not really anything new there if you have seen their TV show.

The rest of the book covers their philosophies for parenting and life in general. These are heavily influenced by Bill Gothard and his IBLP. Their beliefs fall under what I would label as (in the words of my nephew) "super mega extreme" conservatism. Once again, there is very little in here that you don't already know if you watch their TV show. A few interesting notes for me was that Michelle and Jim Bob both readily admit that they do get upset and have (in the past anyway) even raised their voices. Shocking, I know. However, it does make them seem a little more human. Perhaps the most compelling thing in the book is Michelle describing what it was like to learn her father was dying while Josie was also fighting for her life. This part was actually a very beautiful example of how her life and beliefs helped to bolster her in a very low point of her life.

There is some useful advice. For example, Michelle discusses taking care of needs and/or bad behavior when it first appears instead of letting it go and potentially become a bigger problem. However, for every useful idea, there are several things that appear not as good to me. Blanket training was a concept I took issue with. I have a 17 month old, and I find it vastly unrealistic to think that he should be able to sit on a blanket and not move for an hour or so. No way am I going to torture both of us by trying this. There's also a strange bit where they talk about training their children (even very small ones) that they have to look everyone directly in the eye, lest they come across as disrespectful. What if the child is naturally shy? Or going through a clingy stage? It seems odd to me.

The writing was just OK. It's written in the first person, but the narrator switches between Michelle and Jim Bob a lot. It got kind of annoying to find out who was talking half-way through the section. I wish that had flowed a bit better. There were also some things that seemed thrown in to quiet critics. For example, there were several recipes in the book, and almost all of them included lots of fresh veggies and fruits. Maybe that is how they really do eat, but I know they have gotten some criticism for how their diet appears on the show. They also have a section about how their daughters would be allowed to live out there dreams and even go to college (even though Bill Gothard seems anti anything that takes women out of the house and authority of a male). Whether this is true or not remains to be seen.

Overall, this book is pretty good. If you watch their show, there is not much new to be gleaned from this book (unless you want to memorize Duggar approved Bible verses). It is a fairly quick read. Be prepared to get products (especially those from places like IBLP and Vision Forum) heavily endorsed. There is quite a bit of that in the book. If you really love the Duggars, then you will probably enjoy this book. Otherwise, most the book will probably leave you shaking your head.

Galley provided by publisher for review.

posted by l_manning on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    The Duggar family is one of those families that everyone seems to have an opinion on. Either people think they are crazy for having so many children or they think that how they run their family is borderline child abuse (older kids taking care of younger kids) or they say "more power to them". A Love That Multiplies has cemented my decision on which bench I sit.

    I firmly say more power to them.

    The "tone" I get from the book is that they are loving parents trying to raise their children in a loving, Godly way. They seem like a united couple with a common goal of raising their family to be kindly, godly people. Admirable, wouldn't you say? The book is very heavily based in scripture, but I would not call it Bible thumping. They are just telling their story and their story is very Faith based. I enjoyed their book immensely and will probably set the DVR to catch more of their show. Overall a great book.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Not Much New Information

    I have to admit, I watch the Duggars' TV show. So I was pretty interested to read this book. I tend to find the Duggars' religious beliefs a bit extreme, and there is certainly a lot of preaching in this book. It does make sense though, as their religion is their whole life. The first section of this book covers Michelle's pre-eclampsia and Josie's emergency delivery. There's not really anything new there if you have seen their TV show.

    The rest of the book covers their philosophies for parenting and life in general. These are heavily influenced by Bill Gothard and his IBLP. Their beliefs fall under what I would label as (in the words of my nephew) "super mega extreme" conservatism. Once again, there is very little in here that you don't already know if you watch their TV show. A few interesting notes for me was that Michelle and Jim Bob both readily admit that they do get upset and have (in the past anyway) even raised their voices. Shocking, I know. However, it does make them seem a little more human. Perhaps the most compelling thing in the book is Michelle describing what it was like to learn her father was dying while Josie was also fighting for her life. This part was actually a very beautiful example of how her life and beliefs helped to bolster her in a very low point of her life.

    There is some useful advice. For example, Michelle discusses taking care of needs and/or bad behavior when it first appears instead of letting it go and potentially become a bigger problem. However, for every useful idea, there are several things that appear not as good to me. Blanket training was a concept I took issue with. I have a 17 month old, and I find it vastly unrealistic to think that he should be able to sit on a blanket and not move for an hour or so. No way am I going to torture both of us by trying this. There's also a strange bit where they talk about training their children (even very small ones) that they have to look everyone directly in the eye, lest they come across as disrespectful. What if the child is naturally shy? Or going through a clingy stage? It seems odd to me.

    The writing was just OK. It's written in the first person, but the narrator switches between Michelle and Jim Bob a lot. It got kind of annoying to find out who was talking half-way through the section. I wish that had flowed a bit better. There were also some things that seemed thrown in to quiet critics. For example, there were several recipes in the book, and almost all of them included lots of fresh veggies and fruits. Maybe that is how they really do eat, but I know they have gotten some criticism for how their diet appears on the show. They also have a section about how their daughters would be allowed to live out there dreams and even go to college (even though Bill Gothard seems anti anything that takes women out of the house and authority of a male). Whether this is true or not remains to be seen.

    Overall, this book is pretty good. If you watch their show, there is not much new to be gleaned from this book (unless you want to memorize Duggar approved Bible verses). It is a fairly quick read. Be prepared to get products (especially those from places like IBLP and Vision Forum) heavily endorsed. There is quite a bit of that in the book. If you really love the Duggars, then you will probably enjoy this book. Otherwise, most the book will probably leave you shaking your head.

    Galley provided by publisher for review.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Duggar Haters Shouldn't Review Books They Haven't Read.

    What is impressive about the Duggars is NOT their size, their size gets our attention. What is impressive about the Duggars is the mission and purpose they live their life with. It's always easier to hate something than understand it. Parents and married couples can learn a great deal from the Duggars whether the are newly weds just starting out with a few kids or life partners with a whole tribe or any combination in between. Being open to their message can change lives, hating just feeds misconceptions and denies you the opportunity to be inspired.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Quick Easy Read

    I have been interested in following the stories of this family and their book expands upon that. I have missed many current episodes of their show and this book fills in those gaps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Great

    The duggers are a great example of how i would love to raise my family,when i have one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Great book about what family life should be!!

    This book is written in simple words however with much faith! It has great tips for raising kids God's way. Reading it has greatly increased my faith!
    thank you Jim Bob and Michelle :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Well written!

    It was a good read, not a lot of new information, but still worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Good Book

    I liked this book about the Duggar family. It felt like Michelle and JimBob were talking to me. Other reviewers complained that they were confused as to who was talking but I had no trouble as there was always the speakers' name in brackets, (Michelle) to let you know who was speaking.

    I did not like the recipes. They felt like an intrusion to the text surrounding it. As most times they had no relation to the story at that point. I would have perfered them to be listed at the end of the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    great book and family!!! rediculious comments...not great

    I am very impressed by the Duggar family! For those who are making neg.comments about the way they raise there 19 kids-for example the one who said yuck....really? took time to write that? They are raising a great family in there own way and they are honoring God in that process. Why do people have such strong neg. opinions on a family who are raising well behaved happy children-just because things are done on a religious base? Great job on the family and their second book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Lovely family. Great book. Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    I love you Duggars!!!!

    Wow the duggrs sre amazung and so Gid like i just admire them and wish i was a kid in that family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Duggars Duggars Duggars!!!!!!!

    Please duggars!!!!! If you need me to pray for you please let me know i have sent you a letter in 2009 i think ( the year) i am10 years old Elizabeth Delp( i will give you my address once we get in conntact)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Love them

    I love the dugger family all of their kids are so well behaved. I know what it feels like to have a lot of kids in the house i am child 3 of 7 being one of the oldest i have to try hard to help my parents. But enough talk about me and more talk about this wonderful family. I think i can name all of thier kids and i am going to try here it goes ..... Josh Jana John David Jill Jesa Jinger Joseph Josiha Joy Anna Jedadiah.....Jason James Justin Jackson Johannah Jeniffer Jordan Josie. Josh is married to Anna and they have three children Makenzie
    Michel and i heard they had a third but i do not know its name or gender

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Love

    The the show cannot wait to see the next season of nineteen kids and counting maybe 20 kids in countinf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Amazing Family!

    This family is completely outstanding. They work together and love each other. With nineteen kids they have a huge house. Inside their house they have a slide that goes down several stories of their house, a rock climbing wall, and a trampoline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    Great book. The duggars are really great. But I think they've gone a little over the edge since they got on tv. Im pretty young also and I read. It. its was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Love them but

    I havent read their book yet i would love to but idk if mom would let me im sixteen btw and love them so many people have nothing but negative things to say about them it makes me mad but i love them and their kids are so well behaved and sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Congraulations

    Josh, Anna, and family Congraulations on your 3rd baby!!
    It wasn't your 1st child or he wasn't born in the bathroom!!
    He was born under water!! He is a under water baby!!
    This book is very usefull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Insightful

    The duggars share their perspectuves on marriage famiky and children unterestung







    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3