Customer Reviews for

Love Thy Neighbor

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about

Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about terrorism at its most evil. I do not want to go into detail with the plot other than to say that it was scary to think that this could very well happen in our country or anywhere for that matter, especiall...
Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about terrorism at its most evil. I do not want to go into detail with the plot other than to say that it was scary to think that this could very well happen in our country or anywhere for that matter, especially after 9/11. A very intricate plot, believable characters, scary situations and definitely well researched. I was engrossed in this story from the author's note and it did not stop until I turned the last page. An excellent debut novel by an author I definitely want to read more of.
I highly recommend it!!

posted by Celticlady1953 on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Terrible!

Pun intended!

There are typos on many pages. Nobody who can spell ever read the book before it was published.

If that doesn't bother you, the cliches will, as well as the fact that every single plot point (right down to the end) depends on so much sheer dumb luck that...
Pun intended!

There are typos on many pages. Nobody who can spell ever read the book before it was published.

If that doesn't bother you, the cliches will, as well as the fact that every single plot point (right down to the end) depends on so much sheer dumb luck that it would make anyone over age 10 laugh every time it happens AGAIN.

Characters are all one dimensional, both good and evil. Throw in many mistakes in technology and a plot worse than the dumbest episodes of 24 (and I LOVE 24) and even if you got it for free, you paid too much.

Apparently the author wrote this for his mom. I hope she's happy with it -- mine would have been embarrassed!

posted by 9369565 on January 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about

    Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about terrorism at its most evil. I do not want to go into detail with the plot other than to say that it was scary to think that this could very well happen in our country or anywhere for that matter, especially after 9/11. A very intricate plot, believable characters, scary situations and definitely well researched. I was engrossed in this story from the author's note and it did not stop until I turned the last page. An excellent debut novel by an author I definitely want to read more of.
    I highly recommend it!!

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    My Thoughts and Opinion: Where do I begin? OK..let's start o

    My Thoughts and Opinion: Where do I begin? OK..let's start off by me proving myself wrong again with first impressions. I'm thinking this book is going to be another international espionage spy novel (not high up on my favorite read lists), 438 pages (great..... this will take me weeks to read.... will probably seem seem like a lot more because of what I just mentioned) and it's a debut novel!!! OK...Let's get this read.

    The novel starts off with an Author's Note that states It's True. And I am hooked!! This debut author has me, but now comes the story, will he hold my attention for 438 pages? As I continue to read, his writing style is so graphic in detail that I actually had the ability to create a clear and vivid imagery in my mind, almost like I am watching a movie, which continues throughout the book. He has the same ability of bringing the cast of characters to life and the settings of the scenes as if I was present and a bystander. Throughout the book there were multiple twists and turns and chapters with mini cliff hangers that made this reader have to "read just one more chapter" but then realizing I was ten chapters later. The suspense was non stop, a definite page turner. There were also a couple of scenes (do not want to include spoilers) that I found myself laughing out loud. A brilliant and compelling read!!!

    I found myself thinking several things when I finished this novel. Yes, I was wrong. I could not put this book down, all 438 pages of it. What I thought was going to take me weeks to read, took me a couple of days because it was so engrossing. A masterful written work of fiction, but could it become a reality? I also thought that this novel would make for a great movie. And most importantly, this is an author to put on your radar. His writing is that of a seasoned author. I say Bravo Mr. Gilleo!!!

    My Rating: 5

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    A must-read!

    I was blown away (pun unintended) by this book. Love Thy Neighbor is as fine a suspense novel as any I’ve ever read — and the fact that it is Gilleo’s debut suspense novel is mind-boggling.

    This novel is smart and fast-paced and full of intrigue. The characters have depth and are believable. But the most believable aspect of Love Thy Neighbor is the story itself — at no point did I find myself disbelieving the storyline or the plot development. In fact, I found myself completely caught up in Gilleo’s narrative of the inner workings of a sleeper cell; how they operate in their effort to commit a crime that will have drastic ramifications for thousands of people.

    In this novel, Gilleo is a storyteller of a terrorist cell (and their activities) that comes across as a completely reasonable scenario, which makes it all the more disturbing and downright frightening. Along with that storyline is one of a “normal” everyday neighborhood, one with characters we know too well, neighbors we can completely relate to.

    Gilleo has hit a home run with Love Thy Neighbor. Any author who can write suspense that keeps you reading page after page, chapter after chapter — way past your normal bedtime, until your vision is blurry — is an author worth reading…and worth keeping an eye on. His books will be a worthy addition to your bookshelf, alongside any suspense novels that you consider the cream of the crop.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Very Good Read

    Get this book you will not be disappointed. Had a hard time putting it down to go to bed. For a free-b can't go wrong.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Terrible!

    Pun intended!

    There are typos on many pages. Nobody who can spell ever read the book before it was published.

    If that doesn't bother you, the cliches will, as well as the fact that every single plot point (right down to the end) depends on so much sheer dumb luck that it would make anyone over age 10 laugh every time it happens AGAIN.

    Characters are all one dimensional, both good and evil. Throw in many mistakes in technology and a plot worse than the dumbest episodes of 24 (and I LOVE 24) and even if you got it for free, you paid too much.

    Apparently the author wrote this for his mom. I hope she's happy with it -- mine would have been embarrassed!

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Please complain on the B&N blog, don't penalize the author w

    Please complain on the B&N blog, don't penalize the author with one star when you have a complaint with B&N. It's not fair.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Love this author

    I love the first 2 books by Mark Gilleo! Couldn't put them down.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I just got this for FREE as a Free Friday Book. It's 10:44am, s

    I just got this for FREE as a Free Friday Book. It's 10:44am, so maybe it takes a bit for the "free" to be reset. Yes, its a B&N issue, but its not fair to the author to give the book 1 star because of it. I've given them 5 stars to offset you people!
    Complain to customer service, not to the REVIEWS!

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Free?

    Confused. Why only a sample

    4 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    This book was really good.

    It held my interest. The descriptions of people and places helped me to envision it like I was there.

    Highly recommend.

    Got this on a BN Free Friday. Going to look at his other books.
    Thanks BN.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I dont know what yalks problem is...

    Havent read the book but i have had no problems with free friday!!!!!!! It is easy and fast!!!

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Free Friday NOT!

    This book is supposed to be for free (because it's Free Friday offering) however, all that is free is the sample. Nook often has problems with its free offerings -- not very nice.

    Cannot comment on the book's content -- yet.


    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book and look forward to reading another book by Mark Gilleo.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Amazing Thriller & an Author to watch out for!!! Clark, a t

    Amazing Thriller & an Author to watch out for!!!

    Clark, a tech student, returns home in order to take care of his frail mother. Age and recent loss of her husband was taking its toll on Maria’s health. So he had decided to come back home to take care of her, attend classes remotely and write his thesis. Well, that was his plan. He had realized that this was going to bring some changes in his life, but what he didn’t realize was how big a change was in store for him. Maria throws caution to the winds by reporting terrorist activities in her neighborhood to the authorities. Unfortunately, nobody believes her. Besides his mother’s condition, he also gets involved in an IRS investigation centered around his parents, death and suspicious activities also catch his attention. Soon Clark gets too involved in everything around him to back out and get some sanity back into his life.

    There are so many characters in the book that at times it got difficult to keep a track of them. However, none of them are any less important to the story. Each character, however small & insignificant they seem, has their own roles to play. But I loved Mr.Stanley. Ariana has a strong character. And finally our protagonist – he is no ‘Clark Kent’ – because there is no Kryptonite to stop Clark Hayden when he gets going!

    This is another work where facts and fiction have been interlaced beautifully. The plot is gripping and engrossing. It has so many twists and turns that it will keep you hooked and guessing. Mark Gilleo has paid attention to details and his narration style is very graphic. I still cannot believe that this is the debut novel of the author because his writing style is likes of very seasoned authors.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    AN excellent book. I could not wait to get up each morning to co

    AN excellent book. I could not wait to get up each morning to continue. I cannot put it down.  I love Clark and his sense of humour. Mark Gilleo.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good read

    I enjoyed this mystery story - believable!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great Thriller

    Well written and fast paced. Main character Clark was likeable with a great sense of humor. He really bust me up with his reference to Al Gore inventing the Internet. I will buy more of Mark Gilleo's books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great

    Despite the plot spoilers determined to ruin a good book with their over zealous revealing of every detail, this was a great book. Finally, a great free friday book. Riveting, and terrifying in that it could very possibly happen. This author really knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Misleading

    Disappointed to find out this is only a sample & not a complete book.

    2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I HATE "FREE" FRIDAYS!!!!!

    B&N doesnt understand the 'free' in "free fridays". I had to shut down my Nook before thy could charge my credit card! If it's not really free, why advertise it like it is!?!?!?

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11