Customer Reviews for

Love Thy Neighbor

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about

Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about terrorism at its most evil. I do not want to go into detail with the plot other than to say that it was scary to think that this could very well happen in our country or anywhere for that matter, especiall...
Love Thy Neighbor by Mark Gilleo is a suspenseful thriller about terrorism at its most evil. I do not want to go into detail with the plot other than to say that it was scary to think that this could very well happen in our country or anywhere for that matter, especially after 9/11. A very intricate plot, believable characters, scary situations and definitely well researched. I was engrossed in this story from the author's note and it did not stop until I turned the last page. An excellent debut novel by an author I definitely want to read more of.
I highly recommend it!!

posted by Celticlady1953 on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Terrible!

Pun intended!

There are typos on many pages. Nobody who can spell ever read the book before it was published.

If that doesn't bother you, the cliches will, as well as the fact that every single plot point (right down to the end) depends on so much sheer dumb luck that...
Pun intended!

There are typos on many pages. Nobody who can spell ever read the book before it was published.

If that doesn't bother you, the cliches will, as well as the fact that every single plot point (right down to the end) depends on so much sheer dumb luck that it would make anyone over age 10 laugh every time it happens AGAIN.

Characters are all one dimensional, both good and evil. Throw in many mistakes in technology and a plot worse than the dumbest episodes of 24 (and I LOVE 24) and even if you got it for free, you paid too much.

Apparently the author wrote this for his mom. I hope she's happy with it -- mine would have been embarrassed!

posted by 9369565 on January 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Good read

    Smart, fast paced, interesting characters and lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Entertaining

    Liked the twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Love Thy Neighbor

    Suspenseful and thought-provoking. I found it hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Recommended Read

    There is a lot happening in this novel. It makes you want to read nonstop until there is resolution. This takes watching out for the neighbors to another level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Worth reading

    Story has good plot, good story. Enjoyable read, well thought out. I just had a bit of trouble connecting with characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Enjoyable Spy Thriller

    This is not your typical spy thriller. The protagonist is not a highly skilled government operative but someone who uses his wits and reasoning to try and unravel mysteries unfolding in his neighborhood. This was one of the Free Nook Friday offerings and it was definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good Read

    Good suspense with a plausible plot. A few twists and turns. I was entertained

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good Read!

    Very good book. Would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Very Good

    Lots better than I expected.Although the author jumped around a lot from character to character, it was well tied together and I realized half way through it that it was going to all come together and make sense later. For the reader with interest in mystery and I would reccomend this for a discussion group. I would read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Good

    Scary in that this has a ripped from the headlines plot. Terrorists suck. Worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Very good book.

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Pretty good for free

    Mc

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Interesting, suspenseful, topical.  Good escapist read!  Enjoyed

    Interesting, suspenseful, topical.  Good escapist read!  Enjoyed it.  Can't believe it's a debut novel.  Will definitely be on the lookout for more books from Mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Fast-paced and well-crafted

    This novel had lots of twists and turns. It was vwritten with simple prose that kept the story moving. Lots of little side vignettes were neatly tied together. A nice vread for a sick day home in bed!
    ?...wjj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Anon

    Good. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    A whirlwind of a story... that makes you think about your own neighborhood

    I don't typically pick up novels by male authors because of the raw, gritty dialog but this was a free book friday selection and the description had me wanting to give it a shot.
    It did get pretty gritty and I read some descriptions that I cringed at but I was throughly engrossed enough to look past it. I also understood that the candid descriptions and vulger language did help flesh out the charactors and aid in telling the story.
    The first chapter had me sold and I was on a wild ride until the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Suspense and Action

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was one of those I found difficult to put down. Lots of action and the explanations sounded real to me. I would recommend reading "Love They Neighbor".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Love thy neighbor

    This is the kind of book that makes you want to keep on reading forever. It keeps your mind going on an adventure. The good type.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Free friday book 1/04/14, 12:50 a.m. CST. Still free for me. No d/l problem.

    Haven't read it yet. Looks interesting. Got it all, free, fast, no problems. Thanks, BN!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    To free on b&n site

    You got a snow dy too?

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4