Customer Reviews for

Love Times Three: Our True Story of a Polygamous Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

I saw this family on Dr. Phil. I found this family honest and riveting. I appreciate them opening up their lives. I fear for them and I hope everything works out for them. After much research I believe that polygamy should be allowed and brought out of the dark. Th...
I saw this family on Dr. Phil. I found this family honest and riveting. I appreciate them opening up their lives. I fear for them and I hope everything works out for them. After much research I believe that polygamy should be allowed and brought out of the dark. This book was an amazingly open look into normal modern day polygamy. I had so many questiond and this book answered them. While I do not think I could share my husband I respect their religious rights to. After all this country was founded partially on the right of freedom of religion. I highly recommend this book.

posted by 7180272 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but biased

Interesting read. My biggest problem with this book is the kid-glove treatment of the FLDS. Warren Jeffs should never be mentioned in a kind light or even a tolerant light. He has molested children of both sexes and has encouraged severe human rights violations. There a...
Interesting read. My biggest problem with this book is the kid-glove treatment of the FLDS. Warren Jeffs should never be mentioned in a kind light or even a tolerant light. He has molested children of both sexes and has encouraged severe human rights violations. There are multiple books by his victims and others which document his sociopathic behavior. And when he is gone there has always been another crazy fool to step up. I acknowledge that this family describes a lifestyle which is the polar opposite of what the FLDS lives, but the authors presented the FLDS as simply a sect that dresses more conservatively. I read this to hear the other side of the story after reading books by Carolyn Jessop, Susan Ray Schmidt, Sam Brower and Jon Krakauer.

posted by KimWY on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great read!

    I saw this family on Dr. Phil. I found this family honest and riveting. I appreciate them opening up their lives. I fear for them and I hope everything works out for them. After much research I believe that polygamy should be allowed and brought out of the dark. This book was an amazingly open look into normal modern day polygamy. I had so many questiond and this book answered them. While I do not think I could share my husband I respect their religious rights to. After all this country was founded partially on the right of freedom of religion. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting but biased

    Interesting read. My biggest problem with this book is the kid-glove treatment of the FLDS. Warren Jeffs should never be mentioned in a kind light or even a tolerant light. He has molested children of both sexes and has encouraged severe human rights violations. There are multiple books by his victims and others which document his sociopathic behavior. And when he is gone there has always been another crazy fool to step up. I acknowledge that this family describes a lifestyle which is the polar opposite of what the FLDS lives, but the authors presented the FLDS as simply a sect that dresses more conservatively. I read this to hear the other side of the story after reading books by Carolyn Jessop, Susan Ray Schmidt, Sam Brower and Jon Krakauer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Eye opening and educational

    After seeing this husband and wives on a talk show, I remember how shocked I was, not that they were polygamous, but at my ignorance regarding this group of people. I remember thinking how "normal" they seemed! I wanted to learn more, and the book did much to dispel my preconceived notions (prejudices, stereotypes), and for that I thank them. I was also outraged (although not shocked) at some things, such as the fact that while the plural marriages are not recognized legally, polygamous husbands can still be imprisoned for bigamy. I still remember from my high school government class. 'You can't legislate morality.' I respect this family for not only living their beliefs but working to educate us ignorant monogymists. I would add that another reviewer indicated he/she didn't think the book did enough to denounce Warren Jeffs and his sect. I emphatically disagree. Nearly every time the name is mentioned, it is also made clear what Jeffs did is wrong, is in no way condoned, and he should be made to pay for his crimes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    This Family Has Changed My Opinion of Polygamy

    This book is an amazing inside view of a family that is unique and considered illegal. Each person explains what it takes to make not just a plural family, but every family/relationship work. I think if they continue with their series on TLC people will open up and hopefully stop the predjudice of Polygamy. There will always be bad, even in tradional marriages but it seems these three women chose this life because of their happy expericences growing up this way. I love this book and wish this family all the happiness they deserve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Too much repetition!

    Although I was eager to read and learn about the polygamist lifestyle, I became very frustrated with the way the book was written. I do not want to read about the exact same incident from four different points of view. This happened often and became annoyingly repetitious. I found myself skimming a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Fascinating insight into the faith and lifestyle

    I live and work in a part of Colorado where there is a sizeable mainstream LDS population. I learned a lot about their beliefs through knowing these individuals, but took an additional interest in the fundamentalist LDS sects after hearing the mainstream members' opinions of them. After becoming an avid viewer of Sister Wives on TLC, I found myself experencing a great deal of compassion for these peope. The subjects of this bok, the Dargers, are just as fascinating and relatable as the Browns. This book is a great window into a polygamist family's world and everything from how they run their households to raise amazingy responsible and self-aware children, to how they make it work financially to how they deal with the prejudice to how theymake sleeping arrangements s truly fascinating. They seem to take an especially difficult aproach to life that is already full of challenges, but tey do it with grace and nothing but the best intentions. I highly recommend this book to people of all religions or those who are simply curious. Modern parents whse kids rule the house and constantly misbehave and disrespect them could learn a thing or two here as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Interesting read!

    Thanks Darger family for being strong enough to tell your story! The book starts out slow and is somewhat repetitive, due to same events being told from each perspective. The Darger family details their relationship and decisions to live in plural marriage. Each family member came from polygamist backgrounds and actively pursued that lifestyle. This books clearly details the struggles and benefits of practicing this principle. I found myself thinking throughout the book, I wonder what they are holding back? I wanted to hear more from Joe, because I really felt he held back the most. It was clear that the Darger's wrote a book that would not offend each other in the process, definitely keeping in mind that their children would read it in the future . Keep in mind this is far from a tell-all, with dirty deets that we really wanted/needed to know in order to understand the family dynamic. Instead it is a love story, about a successful family of a different kind that wants to live their life in the open. I think the story and family is great! I found that I was inspired by their sense of selflessness and constant struggles to practice this very difficult lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Excellent

    It was a very eye opening book. They are a very close knit loving family. I wish them the best as they continue to open up their lives to world!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    To sky

    To part four now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Se.x Craved Virgin Part 3 By Sky (sorry its been long)

    I walked out of the classroom and walked down the hallway my pu.ss.y aching from the dil.do that was in me. Oh i wish i kept it i thought. I kept walking down the hall towards the boys locker room. I steped in without knocking catching the boys half undressed. "Hello Boys" i could instantly hear whistles and see that all eyes were on me. A few had bo.ners that i could tell needed attending to so i decided to give a show. I slowly manuvered my bra of se.xily without taking my shirt off...by this time i had all the boys frozen watching and waiting for more. With all the encouragement i slipped my shirt off and shook and massaged my bo.obs said "do with them as you please" a few boys came up and touched them while others sucked on them and kisses them. I wasnt really into it especially since the quarter back, my crush wasnt involved or even watching. I walked up to him, took him by his hand and puled him towards the showers, "come here naughty boy, dont be shy"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Staory by a gurl part 8

    He kisses her passionatly while rollling over pulling her closer ontop of him his diq wants her soooo ba but she doesnt seem happy so he rubs her bo.obs making her moan and press her body closer to his he smiles and knows this is his only chance he will get he quiqly posistions his dik over hepuszy and shoves it in she gasps for air shocked and hurt bc her walls have to screatch to fit hiq large diq he smiles as he finally gets his diq in and he starts moving his hips she loves it and she feels the need for him to go deeper and faster so she moves her hips along with his and he smiles as he feels her huummpp him she starts to tear up and he stops but his diq is still in her he kissis her lightly and asks whtswrong she says it feels soooo good but it hurts badly.he asks do u want me to stop. She shakes her head no please keep going nd he does when they are finished they lay next to each other and shesnuggles up with him in the morning shis passed out and step daddy haseen wht she has done with jake and he wants to make her feel better...knock , knock.. jake llemmie in his dad said.....( to be continued.( msg to ashley

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Tyson to Alissa

    Hey

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    I am fascinated with the polygamist lifestyle. That does not me

    I am fascinated with the polygamist lifestyle. That does not mean I want to live it however. I am only intersted in families like the Darger's, where the wives are all adults & consent to the marriage.

    There are a lot of sterotypes about polygamy because of Warren Jeffs. This family is nothing like that religious sect.

    Polygamy is illegal. I feel the only kind that should be is Warrent Jeffs sect. The Darger's are a family. They all live in one house and raise the children together. The children are surrounded by love & support.

    I find it ironic that a man can have a lot of "baby mamas" and not help to raise those children but it's legal. There are men like Joe that loves all 3 of his wives and 24 children. He is there day in and day out but that is illegal. Insane!

    I am fasinated with this lifestyle because personally I would never be able to share my husband like that. I really enjoyed this book and reading how they make it work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Redundant

    Enjoyed reading fist person's explanation of lifestyle but by the time everyone in the family that wants to write basicly the same thing it gets old. They do have interesting beliefs and seem sincere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Wow, guess they do not believe in the Ten Commandments or the La

    Wow, guess they do not believe in the Ten Commandments or the Laws of the Land. The truth always come out and then this will be another Warren Jeffs.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    okay

    Book was ok. alot about Mormon faith and the legalities of polygamy laws and politics of religion. Def got better as i got further into it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2