Customer Reviews for

Love Unscripted (The Love Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Please release as a Nook book

Please release as a Nook book

posted by 2241446 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Slooooooowwwwwwww...........

Too slow. The main point of a nobody dating a celebrity and the struggles with that were beaten to death. Not much romance in terms of passion and sreaminess either. Doubtful i will read the second book.....

posted by 11463924 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Ryan Christensen is a successful actor at the height of his care

    Ryan Christensen is a successful actor at the height of his career. He is in Taryn’s town of Seaport, Rhode Island filming a movie. He enjoys being an actor, but not necessarily everything that comes along with his celebrity status. The paparazzi follow him everywhere he goes; he has crazy stalker fans, and it seems like everyone in Hollywood is vying for his attention and time. All he really wants is to have a private life and to fall in love without everyone watching his every move.

    Taryn Mitchell is a 27 year old savvy business woman. She has her hand in several different business ventures and is the owner of a pub. Taryn has a big heart; she is loyal, and is very supportive of her friends. Being hurt in the past has made her a little guarded; she has issues with trust and is cautious about entering into a relationship with Ryan at first.

    Taryn doesn’t go crazy over Ryan because he is a celebrity; she treats him like a regular person. She hasn’t even seen one of his movies, so his status does not impress her. Ryan likes that for once he has met someone who doesn’t want something from him because of who he is or what he could do for them. To him, Taryn is just like the girl next door, and he instantly likes her.

    The book may seem to start out slow for some, but for me I thought it was a nice steady pace. Ryan and Taryn’s relationship did not just happen instantly, which is one of the things I really enjoyed about this story. It started with a friendship and grew from there….it took time. That is what made the romance in Love Unscripted realistic. In some books the attraction and jump to relationship is so quick, there is no real time to see things progress like in a real-life situation.

    Tina Reber paints a clear and detailed picture of the characters and the world around them. I couldn't help but become drawn into the story and not only did I feel like I could relate to Ryan and Taryn, but I fell in love with them as well.

    I give Love Unscripted 4 out of 5 stars.

    ** Thank you to NetGalley and the Author, who I received this ARC from in exchange for my honest review.**

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    PLEASE RELEASE THE NOOK BOOK

    PLEASE RELEASE THE NOOK BOOK

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Why are so many books available to the Kindle but not the Nook??

    Why are so many books available to the Kindle but not the Nook?? This being one of them!! Please add for Nook!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 1/2 out of 5 stars There are many reacti




    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 1/2 out of 5 stars

    There are many reactions I have to this book. I would have given it all five stars if it was not almost 600 pages long. I was completely enamored with this story. When I started to read, I did not want to put it down. I also did not want to pick it up to read because I knew I would not be able to put it down and 600 pages can be daunting. Every day I was torn, trying to find a large allotment of time so I could immerse myself in this book.

    My heart is still beating with a pitty-pat when I think about this book. Every girl dreams the plot of this story. I am 30 years old and I still have the fantasy that someday, maybe, it could happen to me. Ironically, what the screaming fans want in the book is exactly what we wish in real life, the thing that Ryan ran from. I have my own fantasizes that gorgeous celebrity men stop by my work to ask for directions and fall in love with me. What I have dreamed for 30 years, this author put down on print. Move over Twilight lovers, this could be a love story for the ages.

    The only negative thing I can say is that the book is too long. Divide it in two, lengthen the stories in the plot and give us another book to love.

    Every girl, lady and woman needs to read this book, put yourself in Taryn's character and live out your fantasy. This is one book that I will read over and over again. Looking forward to the sequel!

    If you don't believe me, check it out for yourself (and I hope you do)!

    Until next time, take life one page at a time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    This needs to be available as a NOOk BOOK

    Nook Book version please!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    To yall

    Hi..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review: Love #1: Love Unscripted

    Love Unscripted by Tina Reber

    My rating: 4 of 5 stars

    Love Unscripted by Tina Reber is a beautiful romance about a gorgeous movie star and a down to earth Rhode Island girl. This story began beautifully, I was hooked.
    Taryn is a practical woman, she is the sole owner of Mitchell's Pub due to the unfortunate death of her father. She doesn't get her best friend Marie, or the female patrons, manic interest in the movie stars, especially Ryan Christensen the lead male in the movie being filmed in their small town of Seaport, Rhode Island.
    One morning while she is getting the bar stocked and ready to open later that day she rescues Ryan from a crazed mob of screaming fans and paparazzi by sneaking him in the pub and telling them he went out the back. They spend the day together and we fall in love with Ryan too.
    The back half of this book was a little torturous for me. I kept getting frustrated with Taryn's doubt and her issues and I wanted to reach through the pages and slap some sense into her. She was also amazingly level headed at times when I would have been spitting fire or a sobbing mess.
    This book managed to put those tight emotional bands across my chest and get me all over-emotional so I would say it was pretty freaking great. If I'm getting invested in a book enough to get frustrated with the characters then it's a damned good book.

    The next book in the series...
    Love #2: Love Unrehearsed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    YardieBookFanatic

    Taryn an Ryan were great characters to read about. The beginning of the book got of to a good start, good storyline. The midfle slowed down a bit BUT towards the end picked up the pace and suspense, and honestly, couldn't put the book down.... Great book and 1ST time read for Tina Reber. Can't wait to read the next book. Wasn't a disappointment.

    LOVETOREAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Great story!

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Loved both books!!!

    Loved both books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    It was so touching, they really made eachother happy.

    It was so touching, they really made eachother happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Taryn owns a bar, has a fresh breakup wound, doesn't trust men,

    Taryn owns a bar, has a fresh breakup wound, doesn't trust men, and is just an all around normal girl. She's filled with insecurities, faults, mistakes, and all out drama. Ryan Christiansen is so not a normal guy. He's on a fast track Hollywood career path as a well loved actor and he also leads a life that is far from anything Taryn has ever experienced. Treading in a powerful love filled with strong emotions they fight to stay together even when it seems that the odds are pushing them apart.
    In one of the best Cinderella tales out there, Tina Reber writes a magnificent story about an all around smoking hot Prince Charming and a Princess that isn't too bad herself. While they are worlds apart their connection and chemistry keep them close. Thrown into Ryan's crazy world where fans stalk and pursue the couple Ryan and Taryn try their best to have a normal relationship. They romance moves fast, but as a reader it didn't feel fast at all. Definitely no insta-love lurking between these pages. Holding onto a close friendship before giving into their desires, Ryan and Taryn build up a beautiful love story.
    This couple did make me a little crazy, though. There's a lot of back and forth drama, Ryan could be extremely controlling which under the circumstances was necessary. The media took Ryan's position and distrorted many truths making it hard for Taryn to trust anything that was going on when he was away. Overall this book is a wonderful romance, filled with ups and downs. Loads of surprises get thrown the readers way, and it's an addictive read that I didn't put down. It's a fantasy come true for some girls, to date a movie star, and it's about one of the realest fantasies I've read. It isn't all rainbows and butterflies.
    Every character in this book plays a meaningful role. From Taryn's best friends that tell her like it is, to Ryan's devoted bodyguards, and even some other A-List celebs who turn up in their lives. It's a beautiful love story that definitely hits some major bumps. Ryan is one of the most down to earth and romantic men I've read about, even with his profession. He definitely made me swoon once or twice!
    One thing about this book is it is long. 600 pages. Normally for me, the longer the better, but I kind of felt like something kept coming up and it would keep going. I found myself thinking, end the book already, multiple times. I did love it and am very glad it is the length it is, but while reading it just made me exhausted to still be reading their story. So much happens between the pages and there are so many excellently written and created secondary characters that I'm excited to follow into books 2 and 3!
    So, let's recap. Beautiful love story, long book, Cinderella, dramatic plotting, seriously delusional fans, loyal friends, normal lives (haha, right), strong chemistry, hot romance, and an overall unforgettable story. It's not lacking in any department and would make an excellent film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Read this book over and over again

    I could not stop reading this book. This story is what every women would hope happen to her. Unfortunately life is not that simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I absolutely love

    I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I absolutely loved the first half, so I'll start there. Taryn is a fantastic character. She is a small-town girl who is tough, self-sufficient, and level headed. She is fun, not a Tom-boy but not girly-girly either. I love, love, love Ryan. He is a big shot movie star who does not like the fame. He has groupies following him everywhere, but deep down he's a quiet romantic who would like some privacy. When the two meet, it's just awesome. The two together are super fun. They have a playful, friendly relationship. Add in Taryn's friends, and we have a super fun story. Taryn and Ryan's getting to know each other phase was sweet and romantic. I loved getting to know them.

    About halfway through the book things changed. Taryn went from tough, self-sufficient, and level headed to having this whole 'I'm not good enough for him" attitude that really got on my nerves. I get it. If I were dating a mega hot movie star (hmmm...daydreaming) I'd be jealous of him being in pictures with other girls or whatever. But she was getting jealous and/or upset over every little thing. It was way more annoying than sweet or romantic. The other thing I did not like was that this book was super long. The story was good and the writing was superb, but I felt there was a lot of filler that could have been left out and the book would have been just as good.

    The story was maybe a bit predictable at times, but there was still enough unknown to keep me reading. As for the next book in the series...I can't decide whether or not I want to read it. Normally when I give a book 4 stars the next book is a must, but after reading the book description for Love Unrehearsed, it just sounds like a lot more of the same. If it's just going to be more of Taryn's insecurities, people trying to break them up, etc., I really am not interested. I guess we will see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Good

    Haven't got read an actual novel in a long time. This was very good and worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Very good book

    I thought this book was well written, had a good story line and kept my interest. I had to read the second in the series. I loved how Taryn and Ryan's meeting grew to so much more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Pretty good

    I think it was about 100 pages longer than it needed to be. The back and forth about trust issues could have been lessened. Otherwise pretty good. The insight into what celebs go through was eye opening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    LOVED IT...A MUST READ

    Sweet love story had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great

    Loved it! It was a bit long, but I think most first books are. Mrs. Reber definitely fine tuned her writing in the follow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    Totally enjoyed this book!

    Some parts were slow but I loved the story and could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3