Customer Reviews for

Love Walked In

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

I wasn't sure what to really expect of this book. Let's just say I was ultimately delighted with it once I started reading! This book was well written, all the way around. The characters are well developed and believable as was the plot. With that being said, once y...
I wasn't sure what to really expect of this book. Let's just say I was ultimately delighted with it once I started reading! This book was well written, all the way around. The characters are well developed and believable as was the plot. With that being said, once you think you have how it is going to end all figured out, there will be a twist to the plot that changes everything! The end of the story is ultimately satisfying as well. Great read, be sure to read the second book with these characters in it as well! If you like this author you might also like books by Jennifer Weiner as well.

posted by Fruitloop614 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

adult read

the story line was OK but I didn't appreciate the premarital intimacy or the foul language. I would not recommend this for my teenage grancdaughters.

posted by 1418066 on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I wasn't sure what to really expect of this book. Let's just say I was ultimately delighted with it once I started reading! This book was well written, all the way around. The characters are well developed and believable as was the plot. With that being said, once you think you have how it is going to end all figured out, there will be a twist to the plot that changes everything! The end of the story is ultimately satisfying as well. Great read, be sure to read the second book with these characters in it as well! If you like this author you might also like books by Jennifer Weiner as well.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Old School Romance

    This lovely,fresh novel gives us some old time romance, great
    movie references and literary references but also has an important story.
    We meet two lonely characters that we come to love. There is the
    beautiful overly-qualified manager of a Philadephia coffee shop who is
    still looking for love and longing to be a mother- Cornelia. We also
    get to know the very lonely 11 year old Claire who adores her increasingly
    ailing mother and longs for a father figure to replace her absent dad
    Martin. Their unexpected friendship and connection is at the heart of
    this lovely story.
    I also enjoyed the frequent references to the late, great
    Cary Grant.
    You'll enjoy it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Handsome, debonair, integrity; what more can one ask for?

    I love a classic "screwball comedy"! Heartwarming, heart felt, humorous, old fashioned real love...I loved the characters! Kick back and enjoy the entertainment!

    Recommend EXPLOSION IN PARIS,by Pirrung and BREAKING THE RULES, by Bradford....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Right Around the Corner

    Well I read Marisa's second book, Belong to me, and loved it I loved this one even more. In loved walked in you learn about relationships between teen and adult and about lover to lover. I know when people are always looking for the right person they will be surprised to find they have been around all of the time. She does a greta job describing the characters because each time you feel like you are that character!! I can't wait for Marisa to write another book. Good read it willbe hard to put this one down!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Walked Into Me

    I love this, it's so sweet. The cover is what caught my eye, it stood out to me, and the summary hooked me. After reading it, I was in love with it. I felt emotionally attached and I could relate to the characters. <BR/><BR/>Very well written!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I emailed the writer after reading this book!

    And I have never done such a thing in my life. The reason? Yes, the story was engrossing, but mostly because her turn of phrase, lyrical writing and imagery were so powerful and moving they filled my mind with great sweetness. This book made me positively happy; I cherished her phrasing and read parts over and over to enjoy her great gift of language. It is easy to understand how Ms de los Santos was a successful poet before she began writing novels. I bought this book for a number of my friends, because I wanted them to experience the same happiness I found in reading this book (and the sequel).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Wonderful, spirited, satisfying

    Cornelia and Clare each starts out from her own separate world but soon they are palpably drawn together like trains on converging tracks. I was irresistably drawn as well so that I couldn't wait for them to meet and fill the other's desperate need. Vivid descriptions of Cornelia's and Clare's perceptions painted picture after picture that I instantly recognized as something I had felt but never had been able to define. While Clare's situation was anything but light, references to lighthearted old movies with Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn added a delicious sense of living in one of those high-spirited, uplifting stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Very much enjoyed, read quickly

    This was my kind of book. I found the elder narrator to be extremely likeable and funny, someone I would like to be friends with. I also think the younger narrator was written well, which can be hard to do. Anything that keeps me interested enough to read in less than a couple of days is recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Literary Romantic Fiction

    I just finished rereading one of my favorite books ever. The author writes in a sophisticated and clever style with lots of movie references. The main characters are complicated and compelling. The twists in the story keep it unpredictable. If you want to read more about these characters, there is a sequel, Belong to Me. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Read and enjoy

    Great story, comfort read, well written. Was away on vacation and here wasthis book on the shelf in a beautiful library. Hello friend! I sat down and read it again. Belong to me, the next book was wonderful too. Could have done without the teenager part but overall a great story. No dirt, no sex, violence, just a book well written to enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    So great!

    I read the second book in this series first, unfortunately. While still wonderful to understand the background of the characters more, I wish I had read this book first. I love the writing style of the author so much! The characters are easy to love and I really want to read more about them. Excellent read, highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    A twice read book

    This is an excellent book for anyone who can feel empathy for another person. The characters make you want to be a better you. Could I react the way they did in a crisis? This book makes me hope I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    adult read

    the story line was OK but I didn't appreciate the premarital intimacy or the foul language. I would not recommend this for my teenage grancdaughters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Book club pick

    I read this book last year, but I'm only getting around to rate it now. I found the story to be quite good, and I liked the author's writing style. At times I found the references to old movies a little annoying, but that really didn't get in the way of my overall enjoyment. I thought the characters were very real and I did feel for them - even Martin who was a real schmuck.

    I know this was a love story, but what I really enjoyed was the way Clare processed the odd happenings in her life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Good, easy read

    I just finished this book and really enjoyed it. I did find it a little difficult to get into at first, but then the two lead characters drew me in and I couldn't wait to see how everything turned out. I fell in love with both of them. I am sure Hollywood will be making a movie of this soon. I can't see how they could pass it up...love, family, loss and a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    heartfelt

    This an interesting heartfelt story about a single woman and a litle girl and the bond they share. I enjoyed the characters. The book was written well and very entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A Must Read

    I was searching for a good romance novel and this fulfilled my want. I could not put down this book. It kept me interested and was heartwrenching all at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Couldn't put it down

    I won't lie. I was browsing the shelf when I saw this. I thought it sounded familiar so I picked it up and read the back cover. I was sold simply because it was set in my hometown of Philadelphia. When I started reading, I was immediately drawn to both Cornelia and Clare. The author has a way of really letting Cornelia's voice carry the story. It isn't the typical family situation and doesn't play out with happily-ever-after. An excellent beach read for the summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Love walked in

    Excellent, fast read. Loved the two main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Amazing

    Best book I've read in years :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11