BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love Walked In

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

I wasn't sure what to really expect of this book. Let's just say I was ultimately delighted with it once I started reading! This book was well written, all the way around. The characters are well developed and believable as was the plot. With that being said, once y...
I wasn't sure what to really expect of this book. Let's just say I was ultimately delighted with it once I started reading! This book was well written, all the way around. The characters are well developed and believable as was the plot. With that being said, once you think you have how it is going to end all figured out, there will be a twist to the plot that changes everything! The end of the story is ultimately satisfying as well. Great read, be sure to read the second book with these characters in it as well! If you like this author you might also like books by Jennifer Weiner as well.

posted by Fruitloop614 on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

adult read

the story line was OK but I didn't appreciate the premarital intimacy or the foul language. I would not recommend this for my teenage grancdaughters.

posted by 1418066 on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Forgettable

    This book was okay. Not worth buying, but I would recommend checking it out from the library. The story could have been good except it was unbelieveable in so many ways. How do you end up happy with your sisters husband and not fight in your mind about what your doing. The synopsis was nersting but that was the only interesting thing about the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Really Liked It

    I liked how the author alternated chapters between the lovable Clare and the original Cornelia. The story wasn't all that unique, but I have to admit I HAD to get to the end because I'm a little sappy and I just had to find out what happened. A good read. Funny at times, but also very sad too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Touching story

    I really enjoyed this book. The story pulled me in and I found myself really caring about the charaters. I was especially touched by the Clare trying to manage on her own. It was also very true to what Philadelphia is like, the people at the coffee shop and her friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    My book club choose this as one of its first books to read, when it was first out. It was a great choice. While not difficult to read, it provides a great deal to discuss. I am so excited to read her next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Beautiful, heart warming story!

    Although the book had a bit of a slow start, it really turned out to be a serious page turner. There are parts of the book where you find yourself saying, 'yeah right' but then again the book is about an unselfish, unconditional love. We should all be so lucky to have some people like that in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Wonderful read

    Loved this book because it made feel every emotion throughout the book as I was reading it. I cried towards the end. I liked the way the author began the stories of the two main characters separately and then combined them together as one. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    Delicious!

    This book was wonderful and I can hardly wait for the sequel! The author's ability to decribe people, feelings, everything was for me, beyond words. I wanted to eat, taste, roll these characters around in my mouth like a piece of lucious ripe peach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Finally, a book worth reading!

    I loved this book! The character descriptions were great and the ending couldn't have been better. I was rooting for Cornelia and Teo from the moment he walked into the cafe. It was meant to be! I was sad Cornelia left the house but it all made sense in the end. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. I'm tempted to buy this for my BFF right now...I know she'll love it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Beautiful story..marvelous characters !

    It has been quite a while since I actually cried after reading a book...and this book did just that ! This is a lovely, wonderfully moving story. The characters.. Cornelia, Clare, Teo...all of them..came alive for me. I especially loved the last paragraph !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2007

    Why isn't this on the bestseller list

    I am an avid reader and I always gauge how good a book is by how long it takes me to forget about the characters I come to know. Marisa De Los Santos vividly brings these characters to life with poignant, heart warming and at times funny prose. The other reviewer may have found it too obvious but I was actually rooting for Teo, and for Clare. I won't soon forget this book! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Funny and wise

    This book is exquisitely written, laugh-outloud funny in spots, and full of characters I won't soon forget. The depiction of Clare's mother's illness is heartbreakingly perfect. No way is this book chick-lit. I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    AMAZING

    I couldn't put it down. It was the most beautiful book I have read all year. I felt as though I had been holding a beating heart and that every sentence in it were the veins in order to reach the heart of the story. I fell in love with Clare, Cornelia and Teo. It was poetic without being overly done. It was real, I felt like I could bump into people like the ones in your book. Even Martin seemed real with his flaws. I related alot to Clare, the way she carried everything deep inside of her (tragic secret, sadness and her fierceness). And Cornelia sometimes with her love of classic movies. I loved the book, Marisa de los Santos has truly written an inspiring novel...BRAVO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    What Breaks Your Heart?

    I don't know what makes a love story feel right. Not many of them do. But this one feels as right as breathing. It's funny and peculiar and brave. And it's written in language so musical and metaphorical, the author could've been a poet. As, according to her biography, she is. In the book, Cornelia Brown, the main character, asks: 'What breaks your heart? Has your heart been broken? Tell me. When has your heart been broken?' She asks twice. The first time, she asks her lover. When she repeats the questions, though, it's as if she's asking the reader. This flourish is how the author signals that, for all her shortcomings, Cornelia is growing bolder. She's realized that before you can love anybody truly, your heart has to be broken, and you have to own that memory completely. What made 'Love Walked In' different, though, wasn't just the writing. It was the love story between Cornelia and Clare. Cornelia is 31 and she's pretty aimless, although nobody seems to mind, because she's so witty and hilarious. She manages a trendy coffee shop in Philadelphia and has smart, interesting friends, and she's really amusing when she's around them (and a little mean, which always helps the humor). But she's not very courageous, even though she wants to be. And she's lonely. Clare, the other main character, is 11, and she's incredibly courageous, but what's happening to her is so terrifying, it's hard to tell if she'll make it. Her father is out of the picture, and her mother is suffering a manic break. So Clare is worse than on her own--she's on her own and singlehandedly trying to keep her whole world from deteriorating, literally, into madness. And she's failing. It's hard to see how anybody could help Clare out of her trouble, much less directionless Cornelia. But that's where the love of 'Love Walked In' comes in. When Cornelia and Clare find each other, their love for one another transforms them. They become brave, remarkable characters who will linger in memory for a long, long, time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    amazing, warm, and wonderful

    There are a few books in my collection that I finished, gave away to a friend, then bought again. I gave them away because they were too beautiful and rich not to be shared, but I acquired them again because I knew that I would want to go back and reread the best parts and because my shelf seemed incomplete without them. 'Love Walked In' is that kind of book I relished every page and continued to think about the characters and the story long after I'd put it down. Cornelia, Clare, Teo and the rest of the cast quickly drew me in... like the best movie stars, they're warm, witty and charming enough to make you fall in love, but with enough quirkiness and substance to make them accessible and real. The glue that holds it all together is the author's extraordinary prose- her writing reads effortlessly, but on closer examination is far richer than it has any right to be, full of keen observation and unexpected metaphor. 'Love Walked In' is an amazing, warm, and wonderful book- I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    too good to be called 'chick lit'

    I haven't read a new fiction title this good in a long time. I hesitate to call it 'chick lit' only because the writing is so good and the subject matter is more weighty than other books in that genre. I would definitely recommend this book and I can't wait to read more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5