Customer Reviews for

Love Wins: A Book about Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived

Average Rating 3.5
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Ultimately does Love Win? (a real review by someone who has read the book)

Would a loving, all powerful, God sentence human souls to infinite torment and suffering for something they did in a finite amount of time? What about a child who grew up and never had the chance to get to know this loving God? What about a person who is repulsed by tho...
Would a loving, all powerful, God sentence human souls to infinite torment and suffering for something they did in a finite amount of time? What about a child who grew up and never had the chance to get to know this loving God? What about a person who is repulsed by those who claim the name of Jesus but, live a life closer to his teachings than some of his followers do?

Many people in the evangelical world find Rob Bell's style of asking more questions than giving answers unsettling. The idea that Bell might suggest something different than the modern "turn or burn" and "hellfire and brimstone" evangelism has caused quite a stir, including making Rob bell a trending twitter topic.

Weather you agree with Rob Bell or not it's is hard to deny that he has the power to reach an extremely large audience. In his latest book, Love Wins, he uses this ability to ask serious questions that deeply affect the faith of, well "Every Person Who Ever Lived."

The book is masterfully written to engage the reader with serious questions and help folks wrestle with real issues. It is not a new highly developed theological stance or a break from Bell's core convictions. However, it is a far different point of view on the bible and Christianity than the one painted by most evangelical Christians today.

With searing insight, the book puts heaven and hell under the microscope, and the message is decidedly hopeful. Yes ultimately Love Wins!

*This book has been endorsed by Eugene H. Peterson, Professor Emeritus of Spiritual Theology, Regent College, and author of The Message and Greg Boyd, senior pastor at Woodland Hills Church and author of The Myth of a Christian Nation*

posted by Tom_B on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

False Teaching

I can understand the non-Christians liking this book because it does tickle the ears and remove some of the uncertainty out of things eternal. But for those of you who say you are Christian and have a relationship with God which should include fellowshipping with Him in...
I can understand the non-Christians liking this book because it does tickle the ears and remove some of the uncertainty out of things eternal. But for those of you who say you are Christian and have a relationship with God which should include fellowshipping with Him in His Word and prayer, and have the indwelling of the Holy Spirit should have a little more discernment and be able to see this does not line up with the God breathed scriptures of His Holy Word. Biblical views of God, salvation, heaven and hell are not really challenged through argument but are dismissed through a series of rhetorical questions that caricature conclusions that most Christians have historically maintained on the basis of looking at relevant passages. He constantly contradicts himself throughout the whole book and ends every question with what kind of "god" would do this or what kind of "god" would do that? I guess Rob Bell's "god" and anyone elses "god" who would believe this wolf in sheeps clothing. It sure isnt the GOD of the Bible.

posted by jude3-4 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Nothing new

    As many have said,this book is just old protestant liberal theology delivered in an emergent way.once we get away from the historic christian faith once delivered to the saints we always will end up in left field.there is nothing new under the sun.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    terrible

    he tries to redefine helll in order to avoid flat heresy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Yikes! Run as fast as you can.

    Rob Bell personifies Christianity light. Give the people what they want and rake in the money. Fortunately I have been a serious Bible student for some time and can not be taken in by Bell's faulty reasoning. Sorry folks, it is not like Rob says it is. If you must read this book take it out of the library. Let us not make Rob any richer than he already is. And please, get yourself into a serious Bible study where you can learn the real truth. Otherwise you may be chasing Rob around among the eternal flames saying that he lied to you.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Rob Bell's esoteric revised version of christianity

    Rob Bell believes all the millions of christians for the past few thousand years have misunderstood the bible and he has got it right and is here to enlighen them and correct all the mistakes. He doesn't try to argue his point by looking at Gods word but uses a few shallow emotional anecdotes to try and rouse the appropriate feelings in the reader. According to Rob the bible is wrong about hell, Why? Because it makes rob feel bad therefore it is wrong. He believes his feelings are a much more accurate source of the truth about the universe than what God said. In fact you could say that he is deluded into believing that his feelings are godlike, inerrant and infallible and that the bible isn't when in reality it is the other way round. He does of couse mix in some classic christian teaching to give it a thin gloss coating of christianity.
    At its core it isn't christianity it is rob bell presenting his own views about the universe, by hijacking christianity as a means of transmission.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    In his controversial book “Love Wins,” Rob Bell

    In his controversial book “Love Wins,” Rob Bell explains his views on Heaven and Hell. How do you get to Heaven? Who goes to Hell? Is that really the point of it all?

    My summary of the book is short. A LOT shorter than I usually do a summary. There’s a reason for that. If I could choose just one word to describe the way this book left me it would be this: confused. First, let me say that there are times when I was able to say, “He makes a good point here.” This mostly occurred when he described the way the church in general interacts with the world and the fact that shouting at people that they’re going to Hell doesn’t really show God’s love. Other than that, this book was filled with questions. Tons and tons of questions that Bell never gives an answer to. His use of scripture within his arguments often left me confused and wondering… so… does he believe in Hell or not?

    Ultimately, the impression that I got was that he does not believe in an eternal Hell, but believes that rejection of Jesus leads to a living hell in this life. The things that bothered me most about this book is Bell’s flippant, often mocking tone and the fact that the book never really answers anything and seems to have no point. You would think that at almost 200 pages I should be able to type up a decent summary for this book, but it is written in such a way that it becomes the theological equivalent of the philosophical “do I really exist at all?” Question after question with no real answers. Unfortunately, this makes whatever good points he made go out the window as they get lost in the jumble of everything else.

    Finally, one thing that I strongly disagree with is Bell’s belief that people who are Heaven-minded (always thinking of, or focused on, Heaven) don’t think much about the needs of this world: i.e. the homeless, the hungry, the abused, etc. I have seen people and organizations who are very Heaven-minded who put in relentless effort to meet the physical, emotional, and spiritual needs of people around the world.

    I read this book because it had so much controversy around it, and I really don’t like to take other people’s word on things like this. I wanted to read it for myself. I have, and I’m glad I did if only for the fact that I can say I read it for myself. I’m not taking the word of anyone else. My opinion? There are books out there that make the same good points that Bell makes here and do it in a better way, with better scriptural support, without the mocking tone, and with actual answers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Very difficult to read

    This book was very difficult to read and get an idea of what he was saying. Not written very well and I decided this before I recognized that he didn't believe in heaven or hell. He didn't get to that till the fifth chapter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Worthless

    Rob Bell is a universalist who suggests that one has unlimited chances, even after death, to "choose" God and enter heaven. This book rejects the true Christian faith.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Rob you'vde lost touch with truth

    The book is full of bad biblical knowledge, so disappointed in rob. Never buy his material again

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Stay Away

    Heresy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Bell's ReBellion

    One dimensional interpretation of God's character and attributes.
    A Universalist at heart
    Cannot conceive of a loving and just God
    Unable to reconcile the love of God with Holiness of God
    Love is not enough to compel people to come to terms with their need for repentance and forgiveness
    The concept is appealing and delusional
    A creative story that focuses on only one aspect of Christian theology.
    Too simple, but it sells and readily disguises the truth
    Wishful thinking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Heresy...no star

    Nothing new here...just more emergent reprobate teachings to coddle postmodern solipsistic and anomic narcissists. Bell tolls, in soothing cadence for all who have itching ears, a blatant anti-christian message. Only the biblically illiterate and unregenerate are swayed by this false teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Horrible

    Lies. Do not read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    NEW IMPROVED TIDE

    This book is about a theory written back in the 3rd Century by Origen and 4th Century by Clement of Alexandria that everyone goes to Heaven. This is not what Jesus Christ taught in the four Gospels. Nice idea but heretical teaching that puts Christ's atonement in vain. This Universal Salvation doctrine is from the pits of Hell. Is Rob Bell playing the devil's advocate or is he in crisis in his faith?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Pure garbage.

    Pure garbage. Nonsense for those who choose to believe in God, rather than face the fact that their life is crap, it's their own fault, and can only get through the day by convincing themselves that there is a "heaven" waiting for them that is supposedly worth all the aggravation & disappointment of life...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Unfortunate

    The gift of salvation (Manifestation of God's love), is given to those who confess their sin and turn away from it. This author ignores the whole council of God's word. "Wide path to destruction that many find and narrow path that few find". I wouldn't be surprised to discover that Bell was a "closet Mormon". Paul warned us to identify and reject a gospel different that what had given and for those who profess a false testimony......to be anathama (damned). The rating of at least one star is required to allow me to post. I am really giving 5 negative stars. Don't alter the clear word of God...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    The bible according to Rob Bell

    This book is mostly fiction based on scripture taken out of context and unbiblical concepts. It needs to be removed from the Christian category because it is not authentic to Christ' teachings. Beware of False Teachers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    False teachings

    Rob Bell is changing what God's word says. It's the kind of teachings that tickle the ears of those who want an easy way out. Your given one chance to live for God, and it's in this life... now. No later chances. Try reading Erasing Hell by Francis Chan for some truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    eh, and short

    I was expecting a more common sense book, this turned out to be mostly a bunch of bible quotes. Also VERY short for the cost. around 100pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Pray for Mr. Bell

    Mr. Bell needs to sit down and actually read his Bible. He is bringing himself down, along with a lot of people. I pray his followers will understand the true light before it is to late. Life after death is not going to be happy for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    are you kidding me?

    The premise, and that's all it is - a premise, that there is no hell or that you only are there for a little while is not only unbiblical, it's ridiculous!

    If I would have known that was Rob Bell's crazy theology, I never would have purchased the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5