Customer Reviews for

Love Wins: A Book about Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived

Average Rating 3.5
( 411 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Ultimately does Love Win? (a real review by someone who has read the book)

Would a loving, all powerful, God sentence human souls to infinite torment and suffering for something they did in a finite amount of time? What about a child who grew up and never had the chance to get to know this loving God? What about a person who is repulsed by tho...
Would a loving, all powerful, God sentence human souls to infinite torment and suffering for something they did in a finite amount of time? What about a child who grew up and never had the chance to get to know this loving God? What about a person who is repulsed by those who claim the name of Jesus but, live a life closer to his teachings than some of his followers do?

Many people in the evangelical world find Rob Bell's style of asking more questions than giving answers unsettling. The idea that Bell might suggest something different than the modern "turn or burn" and "hellfire and brimstone" evangelism has caused quite a stir, including making Rob bell a trending twitter topic.

Weather you agree with Rob Bell or not it's is hard to deny that he has the power to reach an extremely large audience. In his latest book, Love Wins, he uses this ability to ask serious questions that deeply affect the faith of, well "Every Person Who Ever Lived."

The book is masterfully written to engage the reader with serious questions and help folks wrestle with real issues. It is not a new highly developed theological stance or a break from Bell's core convictions. However, it is a far different point of view on the bible and Christianity than the one painted by most evangelical Christians today.

With searing insight, the book puts heaven and hell under the microscope, and the message is decidedly hopeful. Yes ultimately Love Wins!

*This book has been endorsed by Eugene H. Peterson, Professor Emeritus of Spiritual Theology, Regent College, and author of The Message and Greg Boyd, senior pastor at Woodland Hills Church and author of The Myth of a Christian Nation*

posted by Tom_B on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

False Teaching

I can understand the non-Christians liking this book because it does tickle the ears and remove some of the uncertainty out of things eternal. But for those of you who say you are Christian and have a relationship with God which should include fellowshipping with Him in...
I can understand the non-Christians liking this book because it does tickle the ears and remove some of the uncertainty out of things eternal. But for those of you who say you are Christian and have a relationship with God which should include fellowshipping with Him in His Word and prayer, and have the indwelling of the Holy Spirit should have a little more discernment and be able to see this does not line up with the God breathed scriptures of His Holy Word. Biblical views of God, salvation, heaven and hell are not really challenged through argument but are dismissed through a series of rhetorical questions that caricature conclusions that most Christians have historically maintained on the basis of looking at relevant passages. He constantly contradicts himself throughout the whole book and ends every question with what kind of "god" would do this or what kind of "god" would do that? I guess Rob Bell's "god" and anyone elses "god" who would believe this wolf in sheeps clothing. It sure isnt the GOD of the Bible.

posted by jude3-4 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    A must read!

    This book, which I devoured in just 4 days (even though I'm a slow reader), took me back to the early days of my faith in Christ, some 30(+) years ago, before I already "knew" everything (uh-hem...); to a time before I had learned all the lingo and labels and gotten thoroughly confused by denominational differences. This was a very timely and needed read. Obviously inspired, God spoke to me quite profoundly through it, and my faith has been renewed and refreshed.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Thought-Inspiring...Worth the Read

    I've bumped into Rob Bell (figuratively of course) these past few weeks, and read about his controversial book, coming out, Love Wins. It's a great book, even if you don't agree with everything in it. Not only does it stir up discussion and keep us inspired religiously, it will introduce many people who have not been active in this front. Many people have bashed this book, when in reality, their negative comments directly support what he is communicating. I strongly suggest reading this book. It's a quick and easy read; it should take no more than a week of casual reading to complete it. There is plenty of quotes taken out of the Bible, as well as other sources of writings, which he spells out at the very end of the book. Go and read it, then judge for yourself.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rob's book is about love and I believe so is God

    I feel weird writing a book review for Love Wins when so many great leaders and famous pastors have done the same thing. Some hate it, some love it, some tolerate it. certainly this book will not be labeled so quickly. If you have not read it, but are reading the reviews to decide if you should, I fear that the only way to know if you'll find it useful is. if you read it. The only reason I would steer you as a reader from a book would be that I thought it contained dangerous or heretical teaching; and I don't. Nothing in this book will alter your salvation or change your faith or standing with God. In the end, Rob's book is about love and I believe so is God.

    I have read this book from cover to cover, and I read each word carefully and took it in, I didn't skim it and jump to conclusions, I acted as though the author was there in the room with me and we were having a conversation. I read the book slowly over time and allowed the words to sit with me and last, I talked with others about what I read to have a sounding board for feedback. I doubt those who have given this book such a low review have done the same. Deservedly, they probably know scripture better than I do, or at least the ammunition verses to use in situations like this - but as a pastor myself - and having been in conversations and ministry like Rob has, I know that a conversation like this - is important.

    When I read some of these reviews I find myself saying, "Rob never said that." Many have jumped to their own conclusions and because words carry such weight and can be loaded with bias and history, we sling them like rocks or stamp them like labels without so much as a care.

    And even though I do not think I have ever typed a negative word about Rob in the past, there were two aspects of the book I disagreed with (notice I did not say Rob was "wrong"). The first is Rob suggested that perhaps after death, people will get a second chance to go to Heaven. Yes, they will go to Hell, yes they will have chosen it, but perhaps God will bring them before judgment once more (Matt 20:1-16). Some have called his "univeralism" however; Rob does not believe that God will "pull" all into Heaven as universalists do. Rob squarely indicated that he believes there are those that will choose hell forever. Do I think there are second chances after death? No, I don't. but the bigger question should be. does God? I can't dictate in my personal theology what God should or should not do in judgment. He is the judge and I am not.

    Maybe Rob is a "post-modern Universalist" and perhaps it is time for words to carry new meanings.

    What does the bible say? "One day every knee will bow and every tongue confess Jesus is Lord" (Philippians 2:10-11). The scriptures say "every" person will bend the knee in worship and that "every" mouth will make a confession of faith. What does that mean? It certainly does not sound like "Hell wins" does it? Because right now, most Christians believe Hell wins. We believe two-thirds of the earth will go to a place of torment, fire and punishment. We believe that a loving forgiving God will send millions and millions of people to eternal torment simply because they never said the sinner's prayer (a prayer not found in the bible). But if "wide is the path that leads to destruction" (Matthew 7:13) how can we in the next breath say, "I know the end of the story (meaning the bible) and Jesus wins."

    He does? Jesus wins if the majority of the world goes to Hel

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    To Hell with Hell

    Hello, Rob Bell.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I read Rob Bell's book, "Love Wins" and I enjoyed it;

    I read Rob Bell's book, "Love Wins" and I enjoyed it; At the time, I actually believed in his conclusions about hell and wanted some confirmation
    or support; yet he does not give much scripural basis for his conclusions. And I have since then gone back to the theory which I was taught in church..well somewhat similar anyway. IMO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Good book

    Rob Bell asks questions that have been asked for decades in the church, maybe the controversy is because he is an Evangelical asking the same questions? Good questions to wrestle with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I enjoy going to Christian bookstores, but this whole banning th

    I enjoy going to Christian bookstores, but this whole banning thing... I don't get the impression that Love Wins is satanic lies as one post quoted, but written by somebody who really believes that Jesus died for everyone in the world.
    I would like to share these with whoever will read them:
    It says in Isaiah 55:9 "For as the Heavens are higher than the earth, so are my (God's) ways higher than your (humanity's) ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts."
    Also, 1 John 4:18 says "There is no fear in love; perfect love drives out all fear. So then, love has not been made perfect in anyone who is afraid, because fear has to do with punishment."
    My favorite, Romans 8:38-39, "For I am certain that nothing can separate us from his (God's) love: neither death nor life, neither angels nor other heavenly rulers or powers, neither the present nor the future, (39) neither the world above nor the world below-- there is nothing in all creation that will ever be able to seperate us from the love of God which is ours through Jesus our Lord." Something sure to hope on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Wonderful insights to accompany the Bible

    Rob Bell has written a wonderful book for us to understand the heart of Jesus and to learn why heaven is such a better place to be than the alternative. There are no other options. This is a book that can be read many times, getting more out of it every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4