Customer Reviews for

Love Wins: A Book about Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived

Average Rating 3.5
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Ultimately does Love Win? (a real review by someone who has read the book)

Would a loving, all powerful, God sentence human souls to infinite torment and suffering for something they did in a finite amount of time? What about a child who grew up and never had the chance to get to know this loving God? What about a person who is repulsed by tho...
Would a loving, all powerful, God sentence human souls to infinite torment and suffering for something they did in a finite amount of time? What about a child who grew up and never had the chance to get to know this loving God? What about a person who is repulsed by those who claim the name of Jesus but, live a life closer to his teachings than some of his followers do?

Many people in the evangelical world find Rob Bell's style of asking more questions than giving answers unsettling. The idea that Bell might suggest something different than the modern "turn or burn" and "hellfire and brimstone" evangelism has caused quite a stir, including making Rob bell a trending twitter topic.

Weather you agree with Rob Bell or not it's is hard to deny that he has the power to reach an extremely large audience. In his latest book, Love Wins, he uses this ability to ask serious questions that deeply affect the faith of, well "Every Person Who Ever Lived."

The book is masterfully written to engage the reader with serious questions and help folks wrestle with real issues. It is not a new highly developed theological stance or a break from Bell's core convictions. However, it is a far different point of view on the bible and Christianity than the one painted by most evangelical Christians today.

With searing insight, the book puts heaven and hell under the microscope, and the message is decidedly hopeful. Yes ultimately Love Wins!

*This book has been endorsed by Eugene H. Peterson, Professor Emeritus of Spiritual Theology, Regent College, and author of The Message and Greg Boyd, senior pastor at Woodland Hills Church and author of The Myth of a Christian Nation*

posted by Tom_B on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

False Teaching

I can understand the non-Christians liking this book because it does tickle the ears and remove some of the uncertainty out of things eternal. But for those of you who say you are Christian and have a relationship with God which should include fellowshipping with Him in...
I can understand the non-Christians liking this book because it does tickle the ears and remove some of the uncertainty out of things eternal. But for those of you who say you are Christian and have a relationship with God which should include fellowshipping with Him in His Word and prayer, and have the indwelling of the Holy Spirit should have a little more discernment and be able to see this does not line up with the God breathed scriptures of His Holy Word. Biblical views of God, salvation, heaven and hell are not really challenged through argument but are dismissed through a series of rhetorical questions that caricature conclusions that most Christians have historically maintained on the basis of looking at relevant passages. He constantly contradicts himself throughout the whole book and ends every question with what kind of "god" would do this or what kind of "god" would do that? I guess Rob Bell's "god" and anyone elses "god" who would believe this wolf in sheeps clothing. It sure isnt the GOD of the Bible.

posted by jude3-4 on April 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 413 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    outstanding

    Rob Bell is a true visionary. This book is a must read.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to pop religion

    Mr. Bell has managed to write a book about Universalism and disguise it as a new theology. Universalism and the so-called doctrine of free will have been around for a long time and have now evolved into a version of pop religion, or feel good religion, much like most television prosperity ministries espouse. Listening to his sermons which are available online, sounds a lot like another false teacher, Joel Osteen.

    Scriptural references are taken totally out of context and are often used without reference to related passages which disprove what Mr. Bell espouses. Paul warned us of false teachers and false prophets and Rob Bell is one of them. Only if you follow Universalism and/or the doctrine of free will and believe that they are not heretical teachings will you agree with the contents of this book.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Do not recommend...waste of time

    Asks more questions than it answers, nothing new, incorrect translation of the Greek and intellectually weak.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Very troubling

    This book was very troubling to mt. I read it through in a matter of hours, but I felt that Rob Bell was all over the place. While I agreed with some of his critizism of many Christians and churches, I feel he is reviving many of the different heresies that have been soundly put down over the centuries. He dabbles in universalism, do overs if you mess up, salvation by works etc. While I'm glad that I read the book to see what the hubbub was all about, I would not recommend it to anyone else, especially young Christians, or at least young in their faith.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    beware of any book like this

    it's all opinion. how could anyone possibly know these answers outside pure hypothesis?

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Don't Bother

    If you read and believe the whole Word of God, don't bother with this. If you take Oprah's "All roads/religions lead to Heaven" view, then you should buy it. Satan used scripture out of context, too. I too believe that Love wins, but this controversial garble only serves to confuse those that are not sure of The Truth before they start reading....

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Sell out of The Gospel

    In this book Rob Bell has a need to attract those who have been turned off by the True Gospel, in rhetoric soothing to our feely touchy side.

    His attempts to save God from a bad reputation are both damaging and wrought with deceit, leading unknowing souls down a path of apostasy.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    HERETICAL

    this is the old lie of satan re-packaged. don't waste your money and be deceived.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Example of philosophy of man rewriting Scripture

    This book will appeal to those who exalt their personal view of God over Scripture. For those who affrim the Bible as the word of God, this book is heresy. Love only wins when the true God is seen, loved, and treasured for who He really is.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Extremely Poor.....

    Absolutely nothing good to say about this book. It is so far off from Scripture that you have to totally ignore a vast majority of the Bible to believe this junk. Guess it true, folks will start looking for someone to just "tickle their ears" just because they dont like what they're are hearing.......Wake up people!!! There is a hell and without Jesus you WILL spend eternity there. Jesus himself taught there is a hell and you cant get around it no matter how hard you try to explain it away.....

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    A disappointment...

    After reading about the controversy surrounding the release of Rob Bell's new book, "Love Wins," I pre-ordered it. I had hoped that the book would offer insight into a deeper understanding of eschatology that would reach a wider audience than other scholarly texts; I was deeply disappointed. If the reader is able to trudge through the annoying layout of the book, which is presented more as a series of sermon notes than a coherent text, then they are sure to be disappointed by the content as well. The book's failure to do much more than ask lofty questions, is accompanied by an unsuccessful attempt to convince the reader that the title is somehow linked to the content of the book. "Love Wins," fails to consider the depth of meaning behind words such as Satan and meanders around "what" exactly hell is without ever coming to a clear conclusion.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Thought-Inspiring...Worth the Read

    I've bumped into Rob Bell (figuratively of course) these past few weeks, and read about his controversial book, coming out, Love Wins. It's a great book, even if you don't agree with everything in it. Not only does it stir up discussion and keep us inspired religiously, it will introduce many people who have not been active in this front. Many people have bashed this book, when in reality, their negative comments directly support what he is communicating. I strongly suggest reading this book. It's a quick and easy read; it should take no more than a week of casual reading to complete it. There is plenty of quotes taken out of the Bible, as well as other sources of writings, which he spells out at the very end of the book. Go and read it, then judge for yourself.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Beleive in Love

    Do we stop loving our child when he says how much he hates us? Would we sentence our own flesh and blood to be grounded to his room for the rest of his life for these words? Rob gives a convincing argument for an all powerful loving God, for whom nothing is to hard. God's glory does not come from eternal punishment but from restoration of the hardened heart. Thanks Rob for not teaching hate and intollerance, but instead revealing the true Christain values of unconditional, non-judgmental love. A truely awesome read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful!!!!!

    This Book is incredible. You may not fully agree with all the views presented, but you cannot deny the beautiful pronouncement of a Christ who is so far beyond our ability to ever fully grasp. It discusses the beauty of longing to know Christ more and more, and tells of the joy of a relationship with God that will always grow deeper. Rob Bell is labeled by so many as a heretic, when if those same people would move beyond their preconceived notions and actually listen, what they would find is an incredible inspiration to live a life striving to express the unfathomably deep love of God, through Christ, to all the world. Rob Bell makes no attempt to convince the reader his view is more right than another, but invites all to join in on a discussion and study, of the never ending love of Christ which, has been taking place since the very beginning of time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Heresy delivered via Socratic Method

    I own it and have read it - do wish Rob was right, but the Bible won't cooperate with these pleasant, popular musings. Any reader will find 160 references to hell (just in the New Testament), and 70 of them were delivered by Jesus Himself. It's possible to love and strongly disagree on an issue; this is one of those moments.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Must read.......

    This is a must read for anyone interested in hearing about a new old perspective on heaven,hell,salvation,Jesus,and more. A perspective that makes sense....that most accurately reflects the nature of God being. loving.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    ???

    I admit that I haven't read this book, but I have read a lot about it. Can someone who has read the book please explain to me why Rob Bell believes that Jesus died on the cross if not to pay the penalty for our sins? My sincere appreciation in advance to whomever might choose to respond. Thank you!

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Rob Bell, No Hell, No Justice, Oh Well!

    You silly dogmatic, legalistic, old school Christians who still believe in Hell – lighten up! That’s so first century. I mean, C-O-M-E ON! Do you expect us to believe in an eternal damnation and separation from God for all eternity for less than a century of indiscretion? Don’t you think that’s a little harsh?

    Let me illustrate:
    “So Harry.., you talked to Adolph yet?”
    “Adolph?”
    “Yeah, you know, Adolph Hitler.”
    “Adolph Hitler’s here?”
    “Yeah.., everybody’s here! Adolph Hitler, Joseph Stalin, Mao.., all the guys.”
    “You got to be kiddin’ me, really?”
    “No, not kidding!”
    “Wow, how’s my grandfather taking that?”
    “Awe.., no problem, the two of them, are like, best buds. Oh sure, your grandfather was a little taken back at first, but once Adolph explained his thoughts behind the whole Holocaust thing, your gramps was fine. I mean, he seemed a little weirded out at first, but now they’re practically inseparable.”
    “Really?”
    “Well.., practically.”

    This would be an interesting paradigm to say the least. And, if Mr. Bell’s theology of questions rather than answers is correct on the subject of Hell, then the whole gospel message taught in scripture is really much ado about nothing!

    According to him, centuries of Christians have co-opted the original intent of the gospel message away from a message where “Love Wins” (the title of his book), to a message of fire and brimstone, heaven and hell and to a message that is just plain mean. Of course, you have to forget about the little fact that he is in disagreement with Jesus himself (Matthew 13:36-43).

    The questioning theology which Rob Bell hides behind in his book reads more like a junior high seeker’s journal than any serious expose on the true gospel meaning. While I must admit that the idea of Hell not existing does have a certain appeal, unfortunately it’s not supported anywhere in scripture as Bell’s book suggests, even though it’s filled with out of context scripture.

    Furthermore, if Christ’s sacrifice on the cross was nothing more than a token gesture, with all roads leading to heaven regardless of your beliefs, then the very gospel message itself is a powerless and feeble attempt by an impotent god to reign in his unruly children. And though I sometimes agonize over my friends and family, who reject Christ, spending an eternity separated from God, I have to remember that God is still God.

    He is a mighty God, full of both compassion and justice and whose ways are higher than our ways. He meant what he said and continues to mean it to this day. This patience of his with mankind is expressed in 2 Peter 3:9-10.

    And though Jesus warned us about false teaching in these end times, I am still astonished at the depth of the false teaching’s penetration within the church. Rob Bell’s book is nothing more and nothing less, simply repackaged and reissued for the feel good generation of our time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    The truth can set you free

    Why fill your mind with lies and deceptions? There is a narrow road based on Gods word of salvation thru faith. All broad roads with many choices even after death will deny you the hope, peace, joy, & promise found only in the Lamb of God.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Worth reading with an open but critical mind.

    Much of what there is to say about this book has already been said in the other reviews, but, after reading it, I think there's one thing I haven't seen said yet (at least not explicitly) that probably bears pointing out: Basically, its the fact that Bell seems much more interested in this book in raising questions than in providing dogmatic answers. To those accusing him of a direct heresy, I would suggest that he never really says anything heretical, because he rarely says anything dogmatic at all. He does not, for instance, come out anywhere in the book and say whether or not he thinks there is life after death, or whether Hell is a literal location that matches some of the scriptural descriptions thereof (much less any later descriptions, like Dante's, with which I think some of those crying "heresy" have the Bible confused). Bell doesn't seem interested in dogma here; his purpose does not appear to be to develop a systematic theology of heaven, hell, and the afterlife. That would be another book.

    What he does do is raise some interesting questions intended to make one think about the concepts of heaven, hell, grace, and God's justice that disrupt some of the knee-jerk ways people think about them. I don't think a lot of Christians actually have a worked-out theology of Hell; it's simply accepted that if you're a Christian you go to the good place and if you're not you go to the bad one. What Bell does is throw a few spanners in those works to show that that explanation is not, in fact, as simple as it might appear on the surface.

    For instance, what if a person (to use one of Bell's examples) was continually raped as a child from a parent who was a "Christian" and recited the Lord's Prayer while he was raping his own child? It seems not unreasonable that that person would not be psychologically able to see Christianity as a positive, or even to recite the Lord's Prayer without bringing up the memories of sexual violation associated with it. Nor does it seem unreasonable that that person would reject Christianity throughout his or her life, because it couldn't help but have only negative connotations. But what if that person is genuinely seeking God, genuinely looking for the truth, throughout his or her life? What if that person is really seeking Christ even though she is psychologically unable to speak that name without reliving past horrors? Does God categorically reject that person and condemn her to eternal, conscious punishment because of the effects not of her own choices but of a crime committed upon her by someone else, simply because she had failed, at some point, to say someone's version of a prayer in which she "accepts Christ?" Would God be a "just" God if he did?

    Bell doesn't actually even get to the point of deciding whether there's a physical Hell or not, or whether you need to be "converted" in some particular way in order to be saved, or whether there is life after death. All he does is open up the questions to show that the kind of belief a lot of Christians hold is actually a lot more complicated than they think it is.

    So, read the book, be open to what he's saying, but take it as the beginning of a process of thought on these issues and not the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 413 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21