Customer Reviews for

Love You Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Any mother's true feelings revealed

I love this book. I was too old for it when it was first published, but I remember my mother reading it to my baby sister. It's a sweet story and now that I have children I understand it more. The people who claim it is creepy obviously missed the point and I pity them ...
I love this book. I was too old for it when it was first published, but I remember my mother reading it to my baby sister. It's a sweet story and now that I have children I understand it more. The people who claim it is creepy obviously missed the point and I pity them for their lack of insight. It is meant to be a SYMBOLIC journey of a mother's love for her child. No matter how old your child gets or what they accomplish in life, they are always your "baby". My daughter is two now and I sometimes wish I could rock her as an infant again for just a few minutes. I'll probably have the same feeling when she is twelve, twenty, or sixty-two. This book illustrates that longing in a way that is both heartfelt and whimsical.

posted by happyhousewife2007 on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Creepy!

I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relatio...
I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relationship. What parent crawls (literally) into her teenage son's room at night to rock him in his sleep? Worse yet, the mother later drives to her grown son's home with a ladder, breaks in, and rocks him again. Twisted! I am very close to my parents and have a wonderful, healthy relationship with them, but, thankfully, they allowed me to grow up into an independent adult without this type of clinging. The parent/child interactions in this book are in no way normal or admirable. The general theme of unconditional love is, of course, a wonderful one, but there are so many great children's books out there that address that topic in a more successful (and at least not truly disturbing!) manner. Pass this one by!

posted by Phoebe on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 548 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    A little disturbing

    A mother of 3 I met in a bookstore suggested this to me since I have a son. I read it aloud to him and my husband, which made me cry and cringe all at once. A previous comment mentioned the aged woman visiting her son and cradling him when he moved across town. Does anyone notice that she came through the window via a wooden ladder? My suggestion for this book would be that the mom loves her boy like a baby, but finds more age appropriate ways to express it. Doesn't his wife mind the break-ins?

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Warped

    Just creeped me out. Singing/rocking a baby, always loving them = sweet. Driving with a ladder, breaking into grown son's house = psycho. This just seemed to illustrate an unhealthy attachment. Just wretched.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    After You Dry Your Tears...Stop and Think!

    Like most of the people who have reviewed this book here, my first response is to weep happy tears, feeling confirmed in the unending nature of mother-love. But my second response is more mixed. I feel a bit manipulated by Mr. Munsch, who I suspect has aimed his book more at the hearts (and pocketbooks) of parents than at those of kids. However, my 2 year-old son loves to have me read him this book, and I sing him the song before he goes to sleep, so clearly he is getting some reassurance from it. I often try to skip over the pages where the mother goes to visit her grown son 'on dark nights' and climbs a ladder into his bedroom to hold his sleeping form in her lap. (Or else I'll just say to my son,'This part is really silly.') The ladder-into-the-bedroom scene strikes me as verging on the perverted, and certainly fits into the smother-mother-love syndrome. What's a guy got to do to get a little privacy around here? Anyway, why wait till they're asleep to tell your children, grown or not, that you love them? Wouldn't it be better for the mother to tell her son she loves him when he's awake and being his sometimes annoying self, rather than only when he has reverted to the passive, quiescent, infantile-dependent state of sleep? This mother is too much like the mother in Margaret Wise Brown's The Runaway Bunny. Poor thing, the little bunny tries and tries but just cannot get away from her. She's almost sinister in her determination to 'blow him where she wants him to go'. He's powerless and he finally admits it, in a tone of resignation ('Shucks, I may as well stay where I am and be your little bunny'). I hope we mothers of the 21st century can do a better job of loving our children while also knowing when to let go!!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I really do love this book. I read it to my son every now and ag

    I really do love this book. I read it to my son every now and again and though we both think the ending is sad, we know it is a story that shows a parent's great love for their child, and how that love can go on forever. Even when I do not read it to my baby, I pull it off the bookshelf and read it to myself. Yeah, it's that good!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Loving heart!!!!!!!!

    My teacher has read it to me 15 times and it makes me cry!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    loved it since i was little

    When I was in first grade, my teacher used to read this story to our class all the time. She would actually sing the part of the book where the mother was singing and I never forgot that song in all these years. I just read it for the first time in 15 years and cried like a baby. Wether you are a child who loves your mother, or a mother who loves your child, anyone can appreciate the meaning of this story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Is there a better book?

    I remember reading this book when I was younger and loving it. After having children, it definitely adds extra meaning to it. LOVE IT!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I cry every time

    I feel extremely sorry for the person who wrote the review who doesn't understand this book. I guess she's too young. I cry every time I read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Beautiful!

    It is so hard to put into words the feelings and emotions a mother feels for her children. It is the most beautiful, pure, and unconditional love there is. I received this book as a gift when my son was a newborn 24 years ago. I have never been able to read it without crying. Never! For the negative review: It is not that you literally pick up a grown man in your arms and rock him. The meaning behind it is the fact that once you become a mother, you will be a mother forever. I can be 100 and my child 73 and he/she will still be my baby. When my son graduated from high school, parents had the option of paying for a page in the yearbook designated to their son/daughter specifically. On my son's page, I put a baby picture and a picture of the young man he had become. I also cited, "I'll love you forever, I'll like you for always, As long as I'm living my baby you'll be." It was so perfect because both my son and daughter had that book read to them many times thru the years. They grew up knowing they would always be my babies. They knew that I didn't just love them, I fell in love with them when they were born. It is such a simple, yet so beautiful message that tenderly illustrates the love of a mother for her child.
    I have given this book to many new mothers and today I ordered it for my son and my daughter-in-law so they could read to their son, my grandson.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    I gave this book to my youngest son on his 30th birthday. Five

    I gave this book to my youngest son on his 30th birthday. Five months later he finally got around to reading it to his young daughters. He told me recently that it made him sad and made him tear up a bit. I told him that it was not my intention to make him sad. I thought it was a sweet story about the love of a mother and the story of life. (I have to admit that my girlfriend and I both cried at the bookstore when we read it) My seven year old grand-daughter told her dad, "It's a sad story, but it's still a nice story." Wow...made me tear up again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't buy

    This book is very nice, the best story I've seen of a mother to her son, but the digital edition leaves much to be desired, very small images are not able to properly distribute the image and text, plus it seems that you are reading a PDF not worth the money.
    Este libro es muy bonito, la mejor historia que he visto de una madre a su hijo, pero la edicion digital deja mucho que desear, las imagenes son muy pequenas no lograron distribuir adecuadamente la imagen y texto, ademas parece que estas leyendo un PDF, no vale lo que cuesta.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Great book, BAD layout

    I love this book but I am VERY disappointed with this version. I bought this to read to my 2 1/2 yr old but the words and pictures are not on the same page - a page of words then swipe to see the picture. That is no fun. I wish I had spent my money on the actual paperback.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Great Feel-Good Book

    My dad and I used to always read this book. It was and still is my favorite picture book! Great bedtime story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I love this book. This is a book I read when I was a child and n

    I love this book. This is a book I read when I was a child and now I read it to my son. The story is such a sweet story and tells of a mothers unconditional love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Wonderful, touching book

    This is my all-time favorite children's book. I used to get choked up near the end when reading it aloud to my kindergarten students, but enough time has passed so I do OK now. I read it to many more students now, since I've become my school's music teacher and all the students from kindergarten through grade five come to me. I like to use it around Valentine's Day and the children sing along with me on the mother's song, using the tune I made up. This year, I couldn't find my copy of it and had not yet bought the Nook version, so I acted as a storyteller, telling it to my students. I saw several students quietly wipe away a few tears at the end of the book. I relate to this book both as a mother and as a daughter. I am the mother of two sons, and the little boy in this book is so typical. As a daughter, well let me just say I remember getting a phone call saying I'd better come home.

    This book clearly shows the love between parent and child, and that same love being passed on to the next generation. Several years ago, I bought two hard cover copies of this book and set them aside for my sons. When my first grandchild was born, I presented my son with his copy, and he held his newborn daughter and read the book, singing the song to her. He has shared it with his children many, many times.

    At school, I use a the paperback copy, folding it back so I see the words and the students see the picture. I was somewhat disappointed with the Nook version in the sense that I can't see the words and the picture at the same time. But, I can adjust. I won't be without this book next Valentine's Day. If I have to use my Nook version and take turns with me looking at the words and my students looking at the pictures, that's OK. The pictures are bigger that way, anyway. I can also share it with my grandchildren anytime I want to.

    I have one thing to say about this author. I have never seen a Robert Munsch book that I didn't like.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Wow

    Wow that kid could be so cute but so bad

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Good book:)

    It is such a good book I love it :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I love this book! No matter how many times I read it it makes me cry! I have 2 sons and 1 daughter and no matter how big they get, they will always be my babies!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Heart IT

    I loooovvvveeee it! I HAVE READ IT SINCE I WAS 5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Classic

    Every child should have this book...every Mommy should have this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 548 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28