Customer Reviews for

Love You Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Any mother's true feelings revealed

I love this book. I was too old for it when it was first published, but I remember my mother reading it to my baby sister. It's a sweet story and now that I have children I understand it more. The people who claim it is creepy obviously missed the point and I pity them ...
I love this book. I was too old for it when it was first published, but I remember my mother reading it to my baby sister. It's a sweet story and now that I have children I understand it more. The people who claim it is creepy obviously missed the point and I pity them for their lack of insight. It is meant to be a SYMBOLIC journey of a mother's love for her child. No matter how old your child gets or what they accomplish in life, they are always your "baby". My daughter is two now and I sometimes wish I could rock her as an infant again for just a few minutes. I'll probably have the same feeling when she is twelve, twenty, or sixty-two. This book illustrates that longing in a way that is both heartfelt and whimsical.

posted by happyhousewife2007 on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Creepy!

I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relatio...
I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relationship. What parent crawls (literally) into her teenage son's room at night to rock him in his sleep? Worse yet, the mother later drives to her grown son's home with a ladder, breaks in, and rocks him again. Twisted! I am very close to my parents and have a wonderful, healthy relationship with them, but, thankfully, they allowed me to grow up into an independent adult without this type of clinging. The parent/child interactions in this book are in no way normal or admirable. The general theme of unconditional love is, of course, a wonderful one, but there are so many great children's books out there that address that topic in a more successful (and at least not truly disturbing!) manner. Pass this one by!

posted by Phoebe on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy!

    I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relationship. What parent crawls (literally) into her teenage son's room at night to rock him in his sleep? Worse yet, the mother later drives to her grown son's home with a ladder, breaks in, and rocks him again. Twisted! I am very close to my parents and have a wonderful, healthy relationship with them, but, thankfully, they allowed me to grow up into an independent adult without this type of clinging. The parent/child interactions in this book are in no way normal or admirable. The general theme of unconditional love is, of course, a wonderful one, but there are so many great children's books out there that address that topic in a more successful (and at least not truly disturbing!) manner. Pass this one by!

    14 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    This book is creepy and disturbing

    Singing to your baby is sweet. Driving across town and breaking into your adult son's house to sing to him while he sleeps is indicative of some serious emotional and/or mental problems. Seriously, who thinks that is normal behavior?

    7 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Creepy

    This book was given to us as a shower gift. I love to read to my son, and the title made me excited to share this story with him. I read it to him once and then threw the book away. The story made me uncomfortable. The relationship portrayed between this mother and son crosses the line between a normal, loving relationship and an unhealthy, strange one. I do not recommend this book.

    6 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    save your money

    This book is creepy and does not convey the love a parent or guardian should have for their child. The actions of the mother in the story fosters the child to never grow up and is scary if you think about the message. I recommend "Guess how much I love you" instead.

    6 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Just another perspective...

    Some of my friends have shown me this book, as they have given it to new mothers. While I like the part of 'I love you forever I like you for always,' this does not seem to be what this book is about. I found it very weird. As I was reading it, I found myself asking, 'What about the husband? What about the wife?' Sure. Any parent would hope that their child would take care of them in their old age, but this was distorted. Did this author also write a book about the daughter and father relationship like this? This book really gives a sick message about the mother-son relationship and makes one wonder about women who do not have a good relationship with their husbands. Also, what about the mother-dauther relationship? I am very glad that none of my friends have spent money buying this book for me. And, I seriously hope the authors used some of their earnings on therapy before writing another book.

    6 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    A very twisted tale

    Now I'm all about a mom's love for their children. I am a mother myself.... however there is a point in every mom's life that she needs to let her children fly... the point that the mom takes a ladder crawls in the BEDROOM window of her son and his wife sleeping .... all I can say is CUT THE CORD!!! It is so freaky - mom's love gone too far. And the end is really morbid - when the son holding his dead mother in his arms .... how do you explain this to a child??? This book is just AWEFUL... there are lots of other books about a mother's love that are much more appropriate !!

    5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Warped

    Just creeped me out. Singing/rocking a baby, always loving them = sweet. Driving with a ladder, breaking into grown son's house = psycho. This just seemed to illustrate an unhealthy attachment. Just wretched.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Great book, BAD layout

    I love this book but I am VERY disappointed with this version. I bought this to read to my 2 1/2 yr old but the words and pictures are not on the same page - a page of words then swipe to see the picture. That is no fun. I wish I had spent my money on the actual paperback.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    This Book Gave Me The Creeps!

    When I started reading this book I thought it was really sweet with the lullaby and how as the child grows the mother looks over him. It got really weird when the little boy grows up. The mother sneaks into his house and tucks her grown son into bed and sings him a song. It is truly a bizzare ending. I think the author had a good idea, but took it too far. Stalking your child is not healthy! I think that those who liked this book are overlooking the creap factor. I reccomend the following lovely books about love without the stalking!

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    ARGHHH!!!

    It's really one of the most appalling books ever written! The pictures are creepy and the mother is a stalker. She really cannot let that little bird go! It would make a really great horror story though! :P

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Not working right

    The pages are off center, can not see all of the text.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Cant read on nook

    Not formatted correctly for the nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Not viewable on any if my devices

    This was one if my childhood favorite books. I was delighted to purchase it for my children only to find that it does not show on any of our six devices. The font is too large and reducing to the smallest font does not help. I'm truly saddened. I will be asking for a refund :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Not recommended on tablets

    I bought this book a month ago and I can't read it to my baby because it isn't formated for a nook.I reported it and they said it would be fixed in 2 weeks tops but it has been a month now and I still can't read it. I'm not sure what else to do

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    lOVE THE BOOK BUT VIEWING ON NOOK IS TERRIBLE

    I cannot view this book properly on my Nook or my Nook for PC. Everything is blown up really large and can see only a portion of each page and does not let me scroll. Who wants to read a story to a child like that?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    Creepy!

    I thought this would be agreat book given the reviews. But I guess the sneaking around in the middle of the night part just creeped me out. If that part had been left out it would be a decent book.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Jake

    Im here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Blah

    Just bought this book to read to my daughter and it doesnt show anything wanting my money back not very happy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Inappropriate

    Why in hell does it show a kids ass

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Zero stars. I agree with the other one-star reviews, this book

    Zero stars. I agree with the other one-star reviews, this book demonstrates a very unhealthy emotion that is referred to as "love". Love is the ability to cherish someone for who they are, and let them be who they are. Love does not manipulate and smother - or drive across town with a ladder to break into a grown son's home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2