Customer Reviews for

Love You Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 553 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(447)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Any mother's true feelings revealed

I love this book. I was too old for it when it was first published, but I remember my mother reading it to my baby sister. It's a sweet story and now that I have children I understand it more. The people who claim it is creepy obviously missed the point and I pity them ...
I love this book. I was too old for it when it was first published, but I remember my mother reading it to my baby sister. It's a sweet story and now that I have children I understand it more. The people who claim it is creepy obviously missed the point and I pity them for their lack of insight. It is meant to be a SYMBOLIC journey of a mother's love for her child. No matter how old your child gets or what they accomplish in life, they are always your "baby". My daughter is two now and I sometimes wish I could rock her as an infant again for just a few minutes. I'll probably have the same feeling when she is twelve, twenty, or sixty-two. This book illustrates that longing in a way that is both heartfelt and whimsical.

posted by happyhousewife2007 on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

Creepy!

I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relatio...
I was given this book as a shower gift for my first baby. Looked cute on the cover, but when I read through it I was thoroughly disturbed! In fact, I'm disturbed that SO many people seem to love this book! This book in NO way represents a healthy parent/child relationship. What parent crawls (literally) into her teenage son's room at night to rock him in his sleep? Worse yet, the mother later drives to her grown son's home with a ladder, breaks in, and rocks him again. Twisted! I am very close to my parents and have a wonderful, healthy relationship with them, but, thankfully, they allowed me to grow up into an independent adult without this type of clinging. The parent/child interactions in this book are in no way normal or admirable. The general theme of unconditional love is, of course, a wonderful one, but there are so many great children's books out there that address that topic in a more successful (and at least not truly disturbing!) manner. Pass this one by!

posted by Phoebe on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book-

    I often give this book when I attend baby showers. This is a touching book of a mother's love. It is so sweet and a book that you can relate to no matter how old your baby is. The story of a mother who holds her son at night and chants to him. The sing song rhythm will get you to chant along and your child will enjoy chanting along too. You may need to keep tissues close when you read this book, a touching story of a mother's love. I highly recommend this story!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful beyond Compare

    This is actually one of my most favorite books since I was a little girl. My mom introduced it to me when I was only 5 years old. Love you forever tells of how a mother's love lasts till the day she dies. I love how the illustration and story really comprehend what it means to be an infant that grows and grows till he/she is ready to leave home. No matter what, they will always love their mother, and know how they took care of them ever since day one.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    I was surprised on people who found this book creepy, weird and

    I was surprised on people who found this book creepy, weird and perverted. I own this book and read it to my youngest son all the time. I am buying a copy for my daughter-in-law who just had my first grandson. I would have to say that if you read a child's book and you're having creepy, weird or perverted thoughts maybe you should be looking at yourself, not the book.

    A Mother's bond with her son is amazing. I know as women get older, have boyfriends and get married women tend to get jealous of that bond.
    This is a beautiful story of a mothers love. And then in the end the son realizes how much he loves his mother and cannot bare to lose her.
    I have a great relationship with my 3 boys, and my daughter. There is nothing creepy about it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Wow

    Wow that kid could be so cute but so bad

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To understand the reason why reviewers gave this book one star i

    To understand the reason why reviewers gave this book one star is because of how the story progresses. I agree that it is cute to have your mother rock you to sleep when you are a baby or toddler but not when your mother breaks into your house to rock you to sleep. They disagree because rocking your son when he is sleeping when he is an adult is not mainstream and keseems very out of place in society. There is nothing wrong with someone (your wife or girlfriend) picking you up and rocking you to sleep at night. It is a very good way to calm the nerves on your way to Slumberland. Give it a try sometime. It shows what a relationship should be like even between wife and husband or boyfriend and girlfriend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    After hearing a few friends post about this book I figured you k

    After hearing a few friends post about this book I figured you know what I do believe I have to buy this and add it to my collection and I am so glad I did. This is one book that I plan on reading to my children as part of our bedtime reading ritual. It is one of those books that being a parent it touches your heart. You watch your baby grow from someone little to someone big and yet they are still your baby forever. And the way mom says "This kid is driving me crazy" yep I can totally relate but there is nothing I wouldn't change about that.
     The repeating of  I love you forever 
    I'll like you for always 
    As long as I'm living
    My baby you'll be. 
    That saying says so much. I choked up when the son went to see his mom and finished off the saying when she couldn't say it. 

    The only true weirdness I had with the book is 
    1. The mom is crawling into her son's room why not walk? 
    2. Why is the mom using a ladder to crawl into her grown son's window just seems a bit weird for me. 
    I do like the concept with this book and I recommend it as a great bedtime read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Ugh...

    I bought it today on the nook hd to read to my daughter tonight and only half the page is showing.pretty frustrating. Hoping it sorts itself out. I love this book though and for the ones that find it disturbing, that makes me a little sad. Your taking it way to literal...it has a deeper meaning.jeez.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Love it but...

    I love this book. My mom used to read it to me when i was little. However its not formatted correctly for ebook use. Id recommend getting a physical copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Too Many Cynics

    I bought this book from either a book fair or book order thing when I was in elementary school and my mother has read it to us for years. I am now 29 with 2 children of my own and the little rhyme is still part of our family. At the end of the day it is simply a sweet children's book, not something to be overanalyzed and psychobabbled to death by cynical adults. Read the book, the only thing your kid is going to remember clearly is the "song" anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    A heart felt story of a mother's love

    I first heard about this book when my daughter's pre-school teacher read it for Grandparent's day. There wasn't a dry eye in the crowd when she finished the story. It is a wonderful story of a mother's love and willingness to do anything necessary to show her son how much she loves him. The mother's actions ultimately teaches her son that there is nothing greater than the love between parent and child. This book is very symbolic so don't take it at face value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    A Must Have in Every Family Library

    My mom found this book when my 23 year old brother was a toddler and it's been in our family ever since. I love to give it as a baby shower gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    very touching

    I bought this book for myself when i had my baby son, and I have now given a copy to my daughter and baby grandson to read. I found this book very touching and always feel a little teary at the end. But it is a good book about the continuity of life and the special relationship between a parent and child.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    A book that resonates for the reader as well as the listener.

    Very moving story about a mother's unconditional love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    Excellent Read

    My great grandfather read this to us as children, and now my mom is buying it so I can read it to my new son. I can't wait to sit with him and 'pass' on this great story that I loved as a child.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    I loved this story. I am sending a copy to my nieces and nephews!

    I read this story for the first time this summer when I was visiting my 7 year old goddaughter. She asked me to read it to hear at bedtime. It brought tears to my eyes and I could barely finish reading it to her. It is a reminder that a mothers love is unconditional and forever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Funny Story

    My son thought this was such a funny story when he was a young child, we laughed and laughed. It is a cherished memory for me. I have a friend right now with a 17 year old causing her problems, and it caused me to look up this book for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    My Baby

    I have purchased this book more than 15 times for new parents. To this day, I still cannot finish the book without breaking up and crying-what a beautiful relationship between and mother and a child. I will continue to buy this book for any special couple I come across who has the privilege of becoming a parent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    kids will love

    i think this book is one of the cutest books i have ever read...i love this book..its so true!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    'As long as I'm living my baby you'll be.'

    From cradle to grave our children grow and entwine their hearts in ours. These 15 pages include large sketches which depict this loving relationship. A beautiful way to say goodnight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    Will love it Forever

    I think this is the sweetest 'Mother Love' story ever.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2