Customer Reviews for

Love You More (Detective D. D. Warren Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 664 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

INTRIGUING!

"Love You More" is a thriller and loaded with suspense as Tessa Leoni faces time in Hell trying to prove her innocence. She has been a Massachusetts state trooper for four years and has a beautiful six-year-old daughter, Sophie, and a husband, Brian Darby of three years...
"Love You More" is a thriller and loaded with suspense as Tessa Leoni faces time in Hell trying to prove her innocence. She has been a Massachusetts state trooper for four years and has a beautiful six-year-old daughter, Sophie, and a husband, Brian Darby of three years. Brian has been shot to death and Sophie is missing. Detectives on the case soon suspect Tessa of cold blooded murder, having killed her husband and little girl. The forensic evidence is puzzling, and Leoni, who is less than cooperative, has a battered and swollen face, apparently, from a beating. The situation becomes more complicated and ambiguous, and it is suspected that Tessa has been lying to them from the beginning. This one is just plain intriguing from the beginning and the writing impeccable. Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club

posted by -Madison- on July 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

gardner went way too far with d.d. warren character. made her an obnoxious raving lunatick! way out of charaacter!

posted by sherlockSW on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 672 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    INTRIGUING!

    "Love You More" is a thriller and loaded with suspense as Tessa Leoni faces time in Hell trying to prove her innocence. She has been a Massachusetts state trooper for four years and has a beautiful six-year-old daughter, Sophie, and a husband, Brian Darby of three years. Brian has been shot to death and Sophie is missing. Detectives on the case soon suspect Tessa of cold blooded murder, having killed her husband and little girl. The forensic evidence is puzzling, and Leoni, who is less than cooperative, has a battered and swollen face, apparently, from a beating. The situation becomes more complicated and ambiguous, and it is suspected that Tessa has been lying to them from the beginning. This one is just plain intriguing from the beginning and the writing impeccable. Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what it seems.

    LOVE YOU MORE begins with a dead man, Brian, whose murder is not just an every day homicide. His wife has been beaten and their young daughter has vanished. Detective DD Warren is called in to investigate. She is joined by State Police investigator Bobby Dodge, her former lover, (previous books).
    The badly beaten woman is also a State Police Officer. As the detectives try to make sense of the puzzle they initially believe that the husband could have been a wife beater and she had finally had enough and shot him with her own weapon. Nothing is as it seems. The occasional hint of a romantic spark flickers between DD and Bobby as they work together in close proximity.

    There is plenty of action on this roller coaster ride to keep the reader engrossed. LOVE YOU MORE could be considered a bit over-the-top but the fascinating details about prisons, police procedure, and the challenges the detectives face every day in their work make it totally believable. Gardner keeps the reader entertained and thrilled all the way through this sizzling and brilliant page-turner.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great police procedural

    Her former lover Massachusetts State Police Detective Booby Dodge calls Boston Police Sergeant D.D. Warren to tell her to get her butt over here as they have the worst type of case to investigate. The victim is merchant marine Brian Darby who lies on a kitchen floor in his pool of blood. His wife Massachusetts State Trooper Tessa Leoni confesses she killed her husband but that it was self-defense as he battered her. Missing is her six-year old daughter Sophie.

    Tessa offers nothing beyond her confession; insisting she has no idea where her daughter is. With a sea of blue sympathy for Tessa, Warren and Dodge work the difficult case in which the death seems obvious but the child's disappearance does not. Warren believes Leone is lying and that the untruths relate to the child, but her efforts to learn the truth and save the kid are hampered by her peers and the mother who refuses to tell her anything but fabrications.

    This is a great police procedural that grips the audience from the moment Dodge calls Warren and never slows down. The key to this exciting thriller is that all the players including Gertrude behave in a genuine way. As Leoni answers the question "Who do you love?" fans will appreciate Warren's latest investigation (see Live To Tell).

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    loved it!

    I love all the D.D warren books. this was so worth it! Almost impossible to put down

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Best Lisa Gardner book so far. Fast paced, good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Greatest Thriller must read

    Love You More by Lisa Gardner Reviewed by Russ Ilg Lisa Gardner was the winner of last years Best Thriller Novel at The Thriller Writers Convention in New York City for The Neighbor. A huge honor for any writer and well deserved for one of the best in the industry. Now she has her next smash hit ready to hit the stores, Love You More. I really felt that she had reached her stride in The Neighbor and was hoping she could do just as well with her new book. Well was I thrown a curve. She not only matched her best to date but blew it right out of the water. I usually read 4-5 books a week and you get to know what to expect from the people you read all the time. I have no idea where this came from but it is by far the most twisted, non-stop thriller I can remember reading in years. The story grabs you the second you pick it up and read the 1st sentence, then hold on, you are about to embark on one of the greatest rides of your life in a book that will not stop for one second. The pace and twist and turns are completely off the charts. You had better have a good nights rest before you start this novel because you will not sleep again until you have finished every last word of it. And do not think it ends there; there will be days to come that all you can think about is what happened in this stellar thriller. The story is so real, it is hard to believe the amount of time Lisa had to spend on the research to get all the details right. It is as if it was ripped right out of the nightly news as the most sensational story in years. I had to keep telling myself it is only a story, it is not real, as every bone in my body was living the story as it unfolded. The real way of knowing how super a talent Lisa has become is to read the book. How anyone is able to see so far ahead in a story so detailed and in completely uncharted territory. Lisa has done what no author has been able to do since I was a teenager and I qualify for AARP now. She drew me in so deep that I was unable to have a clue where the story would go. I used the word story but it was much more than that: Every word and every page was a step to the end that turned into another bizarre twist that blew me away. A book is like a movie to me; I picture the whole thing unfolding in my mind which makes books so rare. They allow you to see what is happening and interpret it in your mind much better than any regular movie or TV episode which shows you what you need to see. There is so much between the lines, under the surface, making this one of the greatest thrillers of all times. If you do not read another book this year and you love thrillers and suspense, this is the one it will stay with you for years to come. It is just so shocking and beyond belief that anyone has this type of ability to bring this altogether. I would love to see someone make a movie of this if they could keep to the book. It would be one of the best of all times. Lisa will being doing a tour of this novel that you can find on her web site or just by goggling her name and clicking on her official website; it lists every place she will be. Do yourself a huge favor and go out a meet her in person, the award winning greatest author of the year. You will have the best time in the world and learn what it takes to be so great. She is by far just a great person like anyone of us and cannot do enough for the people that come and see her. She will answer any question you have and is just plea

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Fast paced as Lisa Gardner books are usually written. Great author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    This was an excellent thriller. I haven't been surprised by a bo

    This was an excellent thriller. I haven't been surprised by a book this much in years. The twists and turns were unexpected and nothing was as it seemed. Loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Tangled Web

    Massachusetts State Trooper Tessa Leoni has a problem. She has been beaten to a pulp, apparently by her husband. He is lying dead on their kitchen floor, with three rounds from her service revolver in his chest. As a topper, her six year old daughter is missing. Boston Police Sergeant D. D. Warren thinks this may be a straight forward case of battered wife kills husband, but why is the daughter missing? Why is Tessa so uncooperative when questioned by the police? Is there something else going on here? As forensic evidence reports come in, it looks more like Tessa may have murdered her husband and possibly her daughter. Tessa isn't talking. Why won't she confide in her fellow officers if she is innocent? Sir Walter Scott got it right when he wrote, "Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!" The author, Lisa Gardner is a master manipulator, spinning a web of mystery that will keep you entwined in this action packed story until the thrilling end. This is my first Lisa Gardner novel and I am looking forward to delving into her other books. This book was provided for review by the well read folks at Bantam and the Random House Publishing Group.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    disappointed

    gardner went way too far with d.d. warren character. made her an obnoxious raving lunatick! way out of charaacter!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Intriguing

    I like Lisa Gardner (like not love). This was a great read. Never knew what exactly was going on until the end. Highly recommend although I don't LOVE the Detective DD character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Keeps You on Your Toes!

    Having not read the back cover, I picking up the book "Love You More", expecting just another calming romance novel filled with drama. While the book was filled to the brim with dramatic plot, the latest stories were not ones of love for a sole mate, but love for one's child, one's husband, who both died in the same night, with the wife left behind. Tessa Leoni was a hard-working state trooper who had been through a lot. Sophie, her six-year old daughter, had been born without a known father, but that didn't stop Tessa from making Sophie her world. When things were at their lowest, a man named Brian Darby steps in as if on cue. The two marry, and everything appears to be better than ever, but could things somehow have gotten worse?

    All in one night, Tessa is left standing alone and defenseless. Her husband lies dead on the kitchen floor, and her daughter is nowhere in sight. D.D. Warren and Bobby Dodge are in charge of figuring out this seemingly straight-forward case, but things don't go as smoothly as one would suspect. Would a mother really kill her own husband? What about her own child? Tessa must use every ounce of training she has learned. No one may be trusted, and Tessa knows she must do everything in her power to prove who she really loves most.

    "Love You More" is an extremely fast-paced book. Although I expected a romance novel, I was happily surprised! Not only do you sympathize with characters, but whom you sympathize drastically changes throughout the entire novel. Trooper Leoni definitely knows what she's doing, but in order to find out whom it is she truly loves, and what exactly happened to her entire family all in one night, you will have to open the mystery case yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Great Read

    Book kept me on the edge of my seat love all the lisa gardner books grab them as soon as they come out!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more please

    i loved the series...need more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    awsome

    it kept me wanting more at every turn of the page!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Great book.

    Terrific read, could not put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    A very well thought out book if you like mystery you will love it. Hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Lisa Gardner has done it again!

    I have read every one of Lisa Gardner's books. Being a New Englander, I love the familiar settings. But more important is she always takes you on a journey that has twists that stop you in your tracks. Love you more, is a bit slower journey but a delicious one that builds and builds. Enjoy the ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Loved this book!!

    I have read several of Lisa Garner's books, and this has to be one of my favorites! Lots of twists and turns. Things are sometimes very different from what your first impressions may tell you! I couldn't wait to finish it to put all of the pieces together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Very good book

    Kept me going especially at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 672 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34