BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love You More (Detective D. D. Warren Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 669 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(328)

4 Star

(181)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

INTRIGUING!

"Love You More" is a thriller and loaded with suspense as Tessa Leoni faces time in Hell trying to prove her innocence. She has been a Massachusetts state trooper for four years and has a beautiful six-year-old daughter, Sophie, and a husband, Brian Darby of three years...
"Love You More" is a thriller and loaded with suspense as Tessa Leoni faces time in Hell trying to prove her innocence. She has been a Massachusetts state trooper for four years and has a beautiful six-year-old daughter, Sophie, and a husband, Brian Darby of three years. Brian has been shot to death and Sophie is missing. Detectives on the case soon suspect Tessa of cold blooded murder, having killed her husband and little girl. The forensic evidence is puzzling, and Leoni, who is less than cooperative, has a battered and swollen face, apparently, from a beating. The situation becomes more complicated and ambiguous, and it is suspected that Tessa has been lying to them from the beginning. This one is just plain intriguing from the beginning and the writing impeccable. Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club

posted by -Madison- on July 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

gardner went way too far with d.d. warren character. made her an obnoxious raving lunatick! way out of charaacter!

posted by sherlockSW on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    loved it!

    I love all the D.D warren books. this was so worth it! Almost impossible to put down

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Fast paced as Lisa Gardner books are usually written. Great author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Intriguing

    I like Lisa Gardner (like not love). This was a great read. Never knew what exactly was going on until the end. Highly recommend although I don't LOVE the Detective DD character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Great book.

    Terrific read, could not put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Page turner

    Great keeps you in suspense book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Very good book

    Kept me going especially at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Great read

    I loved the plot. Many twists and turns and i couldnt put this book down. I will definitely read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Good read.

    I always enjoy Lisa Garner books. This one had a great, unpredictable story line. Good character development also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    Just how far would you go for your child?  How strong is the lov

    Just how far would you go for your child?  How strong is the loving bond between a mother and her child?  Lisa Gardner deftly explores these questions within a complicated murder investigation.  This is the fifth book in the Detective DD Warren Boston police-woman mysteries.  This time DD is partnered up with her old lover, Bobby Dodge, in the Massachusetts State Police. They are investigating the apparent murder of the abusive husband of MA Stare police-woman, Tessa Leoni.  Tessa has been brutally beaten, her husband, Brian, lies dead on the kitchen floor, BUT where is Tessa's 6 year old daughter, Sophie.  




    Lisa Gardner superbly intertwines the two voices of DD and Tessa to involve the reader in the thoughts of two different police-women: DD, who is just finding out that she is pregnant, and Tessa, the mother of the missing girl.  The love between mother and child is uppermost in this book, even though DD is not at all sure she's meant to ever be a parent.  But DD can't decide if Tessa loves her child or murdered the girl and is covering up her crime. 




    Amongst the thoughts and actions of these two women, we learn more and more about Tessa, her marriage, and the circumstances of Brian's life and death.  The more we learn, the deeper and faster the thrills come as these two women decide just how much they are willing to do for the love of a child. 




    The mystery is fast passed and compelling, but the characters' thoughts and feelings as the action progresses, really makes this an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Recommended, a page turner.

    If you're looking for an exciting book that is not predictable, this is it. It was a book that I couldn't put down for very long. Page turners are my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was awesome! There were twists and turns and it kept y

    This book was awesome! There were twists and turns and it kept you guessing. It was not at all predictable. The characters are complex and edgy. The plot was really crazy but led to an awesome compelling story which keeps you engrossed and on edge. A good book for discussion too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Willowpelt

    :( its ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    First Gardner read

    I really enjoyed this book. This is my first Lisa Gardner book and i will read her again. I thought it was well written for a mystery. I would highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    couldnt put it down

    Need to look for more of hers. this one had me hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I still find myself liking D.D. in this story, which is a welcom

    I still find myself liking D.D. in this story, which is a welcome relief. While I still had a moment or two of thinking that D.D. jumped to a conclusion and refused to be swayed from it, I think a lot of that came from the fact that we were also getting Tessa's POV. However, I do like that we also get to see D.D. get that she was wrong, change her tactics accordingly, while still maintaining her strong code and view of how things should be done.

    What really makes this book for me is Tessa herself. She's no saint. In fact, she's a bit of a broken woman, but I really loved getting deeper and deeper in with her. I would definitely recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    This book was more than awesome!! I don't know how Lisa Gardner

    This book was more than awesome!! I don't know how Lisa Gardner does it, but she has me reading her books like there's no tomorrow! I just can't wait to turn to the next page to see what is going to happen. I really like stories that give you the crime in the beginning and then back track so you can place the pieces of the puzzle together. Fantastic book!! Any mystery/thriller fans will not be disappointed with this one!! You're wondering "what happened" the whole time... until the end, of course!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Another Lisa Gardner bombshell. Loved it. As all of her books, you are held captive from the first page. I am a huge fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Read this.

    If you like lisa gardner, you won't be disappointed...she doesn't disappoint.:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    This is the second book by Lisa Gardner I have read and the second with Detective D.D. Warren as the investigator on the case. And I have to say I think its possible I liked this even more than the last.

    While there is not a lot of details that can really be mentioned in a review without giving spoilers I can say that you will be on a roller coaster ride from the beginning. For one reason this book does have a controversial topic. It does after all involve a child and what could have happened to her. Is she kidnapped, dead, could the mother have done it? These are all questions D.D. has to race to find the answers too before time runs out. As she says multiple times in the book, the longer it takes to locate a kidnapped victim the less likely it is they will still be alive.

    While on this race against time you also see a new side of the Detective. In this novel more so than the last one I read with her in it. She seems to be not quite as cold and aloof. I liked her character before, I liked how she was able to focus and solve her cases and find out who did it. But now I understand her more as a person who is learning they dont always have to be a cop. She really seems to have grown as a character just between these two books.

    If you are looking for a great suspense novel. One that will keep you reading. One that you wont want to put down. Definitely go pick this one up. You wont regret it. There are twists and turns from the start and it keeps you going until the conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10