Customer Reviews for

Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood: Practical Parenting from Birth to Six Years

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Sound, practical advice that's easy to apply

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is full of tips on how to turn your nagging into directives that you can actually enforce, how to share control with your child so he can feel good about himself and learn how to make good choices, and how to consequence her with empathy, not anger, so she accepts responsibilty for her mistakes and learns from them. I appreciated the chapter that dealt with the importance of meeting your infant's needs lovingly and consistently (the foundation of attachment and trust). Too many mothers are still being told to let their newborns cry themselves to sleep or to feed them on a set schedule! Children develop 'wants' as toddlers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Wonderful, Practical Help

    This wonderful skills book helps me figure out how to handle any number of problems my child might be having, from throwing a tantrum to saying 'I hate you.' Another, quite different book I've found indispensable is '101 Secrets a Cool Mom Knows,' which give me quick, easy ways to solve all sorts of problems that might crop up, from my child being cranky at dinnertime (teach her to hang a spoon on her nose! it really works!) to her being afraid of the dark (teach her the secret of using her 'averted vision' to help her see better in the dark). Both these books are must-haves!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    If Your Preschooler Is Running Your Household...GET THIS BOOK!

    I saw Jim Fay in person at a parenting lecture and he was fabulous! He is warm, witty, and wise--as are his books. Parenting with "love and logic" has relieved much of the daily stress and anger in our family. We seem to communicate in ways that result in more cooperation from my kids. I am so glad Jim has now written a book exclusively for the very challenging early years. Even the best parent wiith a preschooler ocassionally wonders, "Who's really in charge here anyway?" I feel so incompetent sometimes...I appreciate the easy access organization of this book that enables me to get some quick advice along with some welcome reassurance that I'm not the only parent who has these problems. I recently found another book that has hundreds of helpful tips and noticed that Jim Fay is quoted in it. 'The Pocket Parent" is not written in paragraphs, but rather short bullets of friendly practical information organized into an A-Z compedium. It's so great to be able to quickly look up a troublesome behavior such as: biting, bedtime and mealtime refusals, lying, whining, tantrums, and "I hate you's," -- immediately finding some sensible ideas to try. The philosophies of both these books are very similar. Both books offer alternatives to yelling, bribing, threatening, critizing, and nagging that aren't working anyway! If you have a pre-schooler (2, 3, 4, or 5 years old) that is testing your sanity, I highly recommend "Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood" and 'The Pocket Parent." Both books are helpful, humorous and worth keeping handy for when you need some quick advice or just some empathy on one of those really bad days when you think you are about to lose your mind!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    What a help

    I started using this book about 4 weeks ago. I have not raised my voice to my 3 yr old since the day I started reading the book. His attitude has changed and Uh-Oh does the trick!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Positives: It works! The fundamental theories and tips in this b

    Positives:
    It works! The fundamental theories and tips in this book have been SO effective with our head strong toddler; It is a quick read; There are helpful summaries at the end of each chapter; There are practical illustrations, not just high level advice that is hard to apply.
    Negatives:
    It is kind of cheesy; A couple of the illustrations were far fetched (but others were great)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    This has definite good suggestions for dealing with your little

    This has definite good suggestions for dealing with your little ones and helping to figure out new ways of discipline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    It is a very easy read and the methods work!! I tried the suggestions in the book and my kids went from melt down mode to smiling within 5 minutes...without me getting angry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Not crazy about this book, I thought some of the stories were a

    Not crazy about this book, I thought some of the stories were a little odd and when some stories were compared to one another based on the types of behaviors exhibited they didn't make sense. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    The world would be a better place if we all read this book

    The book was recommended by a teacher friend of mine and I really enjoyed it. It's full of practical, funny and de-stressing parenting advice that it helpful, realistic and entertaining. It also has some stories that surely, will make you chuckle. It's an easy read, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    A must have!!

    All parents through time have for the most part done the very best they could with the information that they have. Thank God originally Fay and Cline opened the doors to parenting with some great information and some much needed humor. We have used these books for the basis of our parenting since the late 80's and now we are learning again and taking a sort of refresher for grand children. As a grand parent I dont want to be a source of stress on my kids for their parenting. The only way you will see how much and how fast the atmosphere will change in your home is to read these books, even if you can only get them from the library, they are like a magic trick to great kids, and great stress free parenting :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Great Help for Parents of Toddlers

    Great ideas to try with your 2 year olds!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood is an easy and informative read

    This book and others in the series were recommended by our social worker handling our adoption. It was an easy and informative read and had many good ideas. I appreciate the verbage they provided and they backed up their ideas with real-life examples. Like any "helping" book I think you take the nuggets, use what works and leave the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2