BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love and Other Impossible Pursuits

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Likable book.

    After seeing the book cover I knew I needed to pick this book up. The overall storyline was very well thought out. I enjoy reading books where I can put myself into the story line. This book fell in to that category. I opened up my heart, and now have a new compassion for step mothers. However, I felt the book was written in a very wordy way. At times left me feeling over informed, after reading and reading and reading about one subject you want the subject to just change. I felt like the writer got the point across but she continued to explain unnecessary details. She could have used fewer words to just get the general idea in the reader's head. I found that I was exhausted of even thinking about what she was saying because she went on and on about one thing. I enjoyed this book but would have preferred an shorter explanation of some of the situations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    This book was so good! I loved every bit of it, it was very inte

    This book was so good! I loved every bit of it, it was very intense and hard to put down. I knew I had to read it after seeing the movie that is based off of the book, The Other Woman. I definitely recommend both!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    outstanding fiction

    Truly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I saw the movie version of this book first. I thought the movie was excellent, so I was prepared to not enjoy the book as much (which seems to be how I typically respond to seeing the movie first and then reading the book). Not so for this book. It was well-written, and Ayelet Waldman's Emilia is a very realistic protagonist. She is flawed to be sure, but that's why it's so easy to relate to her. Emilia's story is one that you expect to end as badly as she has behaved at times, and it's that expectation that makes some of Emilia's heartbreaks easier to handle. My only complaint is that Waldman often seemed to be showing off her giant vocabulary. There were lots of extra adjectives added when simpler language would have sufficed. Overused the thesaurus a bit, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    It really took me a while to fully understand the depth of this story. The plot is very sad and drawn out. The ending is by far the best and ost meaninful part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Overlong Chick Lit

    If you like Chick Lit, you may find this to be a good read. I found the characterizations shallow, the plot rather predictable, and nobody I'd want to meet. I'm not into plot manipulations to force a "happily ever after" ending. Nor am I into glib psychoanalytic explanations for people's behavior.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Book!

    I found this book by chance, while browsing the shelves at my local library, and am I glad I decided to read it. I loved this book from the first page - I could not put it down...read it standing on the subway platform, during my subway ride, during lunch, and I stayed up much too late so that I could keep reading. I'm now reading Daughter's Keeper because I enjoyed this book so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This story is so real and easy to relate to. Being a divorced woman dating a man with 2 children I totally related to the story. The author writes in a way that is easy to follow and very realistic. I look forward to reading other books this author as this was my first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK

    ANYONE WHO HAS DEALT WITH AN EX-WIFE OR A STEP-CHILD WILL LIKE THIS BOOK.
    THE AUTHOR HITS THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. IF YOU HAVE EVER DEALT WITH A SMOTHER MOTHER AND A DIFFICULT CHILD YOU WILL LIKE THIS BOOK. THIS BOOK ALSO DEALS WITH THE LOSS OF A CHILD. IT DEALS WITH THE LOSS, ANGER AND RELATIONSHIP WITH SPOUSE, FAMILY AND FRIENDS. THE MAIN CHARACTER IS WONDERFUL AND SHE WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH AND CRY AT THE SAME TIME. HER QUICK WIT WILL KEEP YOU GOING ALL THE WAY TO THE END. YOU WILL WANT MORE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Dark

    I found this book to be a little dark, not for the closed-minded reader, but I think it is a great story. The main character is dealing with the loss of a child, and has feelings of resentment toward her step-son that many would find controversial, but I thought were understandable considering her misfortune. The book follows the character through the multiple stages of grief and healing. I recommend this to anyone who has every experienced such a loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you've ever loved and known love's complications, been a stepparent and known its complexities, or enjoyed Central Park and been amazed by its variety, this is a book for you. It's one of those novels that's so wonderful you don't want to put it down - so wonderful that you don't want it to end. Ah - we should only have more quandries like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Hard to put down

    This is the first time I've read Waldman. Her other books are part of a 'mommy-track' series that is off my radar. I loved this book. The central character, Emilia, is full of mystical thinking that often gets in the way of real life. This is another book that I had a hard time putting down. On the days I work I get up at 4AM. Last night I stayed up until 11PM to finish this page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Highly recommended

    I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I enjoy reading about relationships and motherhood and that is exactly what this book is about. Also, having lived in NYC for three years, I really enjoyed the fact that this story takes place there. The descriptions of NYC surroundings and the life that Emilia lives there were great. This book was very touching, sad and funny at different times. A great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    This was one of the greatest books I've ever read!

    This book was not only touching & heart warming but also hilarious. It really makes one think about things in a different way. It was in a word 'excellent'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Wonderfully real

    As much as I love the 'Mommy-Track' mysteries, this stand-alone novel is even better. It was sweet and real, with flawed characters about whom I cared deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Beautiful

    I couldn't put this book down and wish it didn't have to end. The characters were human and relateable. Beautifully written, with humor and sensitivity. I loved every minute with these wonderfully flawed and loving characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    A great read!

    I loved Daughter's Keeper and was really looking forward to a new novel by this author. I, for one, was not disappointed. She is a very talented writer and I found myself loving Emelia one minute and wanting to smack her the next. The characters were so real. I didn't want the story to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    A Study in Denial

    This is a saga of love, divorce, anger, pain and loss. It touches on many areas in contempary living that exists in all our lives. Some deal with it better, than others. The characters here are so focused on achieving and getting through their responsibilities that they deny their true selfs and pay the price. It seems at first there are three adults and one child in this saga, but as the story continues, it appears the child has more adult tendancies than the adults. Not facing the problems that exist force the adults into extreme situations. But, they increase each time they are ignored and only get to the stage where something has to give. These people are quite real and you will recognize at least one that you know or have known or perhaps will know. While not the best traits we possess, these people do redeem themselves before it is too late. While the 'goodness' factor seems a bit much for the actions that have occurred, it is a well done, readable novel that has merit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Read It And Weep

    I was familiar with the author, Ayelet Waldman through her 'Mommy-Track' mysteries. If you have not read this series, treat yourself!! 'Love And Other Impossible Pursuits' is in a class by itself. I could not put this book down ! You care deeply about all of the characters -- especially William. It is a book about life, love, relationships, grace and second chances. Treat yourself and a loved one--- buy two copies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    A tender and painfully beautiful story

    Love & Other Possible Pursuits could have been trite and stereotypical. It¿s not any of those things. It¿s a pleasure to read: provocative, poetic and acerbic, well paced and completely believeable. Ms. Waldman encapsulates, within the small sphere in which her characters move, the best of New Yorkers and the worst. Her characters reminded me of not any one but so many people I knew and know there. Her writing makes them real and human, whether we come to like them or not, whether we agree or sympathize. The story illustrates a facet of our culture, timely and timeless at the same time, that is both sophisticated and simple and through it all, weaves her magic within a personal glimpse of the amazing beauty of Central Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3