Customer Reviews for

Love and Other Subjects

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Fun, romantic read!

    I laughed, I cried, I loved this book! It was fun, light, had a great storyline and was an overall easy read. I could see everything happening in this book like a movie. The people were so real and the emotions so raw, that it was like they were in the room with me. Loved it!! Highly recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Adorable

    This book was adorable. I couldn't help but finish it in one sitting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    This was another book that I just did not want to put down! I lo

    This was another book that I just did not want to put down! I loved every part of the book, including the “other subjects” as well as the love part! It didn’t take me long to get into the book & fall in love with Money! This is one that I will be adding to my “read again” list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    A Story About Embracing Growth and Change As we grow and mature

    A Story About Embracing Growth and Change

    As we grow and mature, the relationships that we are in go through some changes. Sometimes those we thought we would be the best of friends with forever and a day slowly (or sometimes quickly) drift away. There are times when we have an "ah-ha" moment and have to ask ourselves, "Why in the world am I in this relationship / friendship?"

    That seemed to be a resounding theme in Love and Other Subjects. The main character, Carolyn, and her duo of friends all grow and learn things about themselves during their first year as teachers in an inner-city school. Taking into consideration that her first school is led by a principal who clearly has his own set of internal issues and is far from capable of leading a school or a staff, Carolyn has a lot on her plate during this stage of growth and change in her life.

    Of course, love plays a big part in Love and Other Subjects. The characters all learn important lessons about love - the sacrifices and compromises we make, letting go and growing together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review My first impression when I sat do

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    My first impression when I sat down to read this story was joy that it is a novel! My 2nd impression was, I love Carolyn! She is goofy, struggling with her career, and a bit socially awkward. I'm VERY socially awkward and I can't seem to figure out what I want to do with myself. Granted, she knew she wanted to be a teacher who makes a difference, but between the students and the principal, she was struggling through her first year.

    "I made people laugh. Not because I was witty, but because I was ridiculous." - Carolyn in Love and Other Subjects.

    When the story started, I kept waiting for her to quit and find a new career. She didn't seem to be a good fit, and she kept butting heads with Klein, the principal. She'd have to deal with him and then her students would do something horrifying. The stress she was under, I just gained so much respect for this character because she never gave up. She had a goal, and fought for it.

    One evening, after having been shot in the foot with a BB gun, she met Jeep (aka Money). He was handsome and his very touch sent shock-waves through her body. She felt a "soul-slip"; which I think is the least cheesy soul-mate thing ever. But even this isn't perfect. They both keep messing up, too stubborn. I'll give him credit, he was very sweet and natural with her.

    It's also really funny in many parts. Yes, crude, but I couldn't help but snort-laugh when she woke herself with very loud farts during her first sleep-over with Jeep. You end up wanting what's best for her, but who knows what that is? You just have to keep reading. I was nearly late for work last night, I just had to finish! lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

     Carolyn Jenkins wants only to find true love and be a great tea

     Carolyn Jenkins wants only to find true love and be a great teacher.  She struggles with both.  Carolyn teaches at a school where guns and violence occur often and the students struggle in every subject.    But she refuses to give-up on her students and goes above and beyond to help them learn.  Carolyn’s love life seems to take off when she meets Jeep (yes, his real name), but of course it can’t be easy.   When Carolyn meet.
    Jeep’s six sisters, all named Mary, the relationship heads towards failure.




    I started this book just after the school shooting in Connecticut and was not sure I could finish it.  The first chapter has a young boy pulling a gun on a fellow classmate.  I then decided I would read a little bit farther to see where it would head hoping for the best.  I finished it and am so glad that I stuck with it.
    This is a romance story, but more of a story of a new teacher who goes above and beyond to let her students succeed without forcing them to give up who they are.   Every student she has in her classroom has an issue.  The issues go from parents who have drug problems to not being able to read.  With every issue Carolyn’s strong will and strength shine through.  I also enjoyed seeing Carolyn learn to relate and understand the students better after she visits every students house.




    Of course, there is Carolyn and Jeep’s romance.  I wasn’t sure at first if this would be a relationship or a one night stand.  When it turned into a true relationship I was thrilled.   I was also glad when she kicked him to the curb when his psychotic sisters made fun of her and he sided with them not sticking up for her.  The ending was the best. LOVED IT!




    I highly recommend Love and Other Subjects.  It is easy, fun, witty, and eye opening to some of the everyday problems teachers have to deal with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    When I started reading this book, I didn┬┐t know what to expect.

    When I started reading this book, I didn’t know what to expect.  I was hoping for an interesting book, that held my attention, and
     begged me to keep reading and not put it down. That is exactly what happened.  I finished this book in less than 5 hours.  I had
    to keep reading to find out if the Carolyn found love, if she found her place in the world, and if she had success in the classroom.

    There were three main stories in this book for Carolyn- her love life, her professional life, and her personal relationships with friends
    and family.  Each story is interwoven into the others.  It takes almost the whole book for her to find the right path in all three of her
    stories.

    I really identified with Carolyn.  I felt so much compassion for her during her struggles with her relationships and her feelings
    of insecurity.  I cried several times for her while reading this book.  I could clearly feel how she felt unsuccessful, unloved, unworthy,
    and out of place.  My heart ached for her and wanted everything to turn out happy in the end.

    I have to touch on her love interest, Jeep.  He seemed almost too good to be true.  You wanted to like him and believe that he
    was the real thing.  I just had to root for them and hope for their happily ever after.  Thankfully, he turned out to be the real deal!

    The only thing I was unhappy with was that this book had to end.  I wanted to keep reading and continue to follow Carolyn
    on her journey.  I am thrilled the author did not leave me hanging and answered any questions I had.   Carolyn found her happiness
     and her place in this world.  If there is a sequel, I am all over it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Carolyn, the main character of the book, kind of reminded myself

    Carolyn, the main character of the book, kind of reminded myself of me just a little bit. She is so very unorganized, just like me. She is unsure of herself most of the time, as am I. She wants to help people, especially her students bur she feels like she is unprepared and doesn't exactly know what to do. That is why I loved this book so much. I could relate to it so much. And I love that when I am reading a book.

    The relationships in the book were real and easy to relate to. I felt like this could be a book of nonfiction because all of the people felt real to me. The relationship that Carolyn had with her students and colleagues, the relationship that Carolyn had with her two best friends, the relationships she had with Alex and Jeep. They were all so well-written and so very real to me. But most of all, the relationship Carolyn had with herself. Her second guessing, her timidness, yet she never gave up and always did what she could to help her students and to make them better.

    This book was very interesting to me. It was hard for me to put down. I had to know how it would end. I was intrigued from word one. It is a very good book. Full of drama, friendships, love, humor and just a great story. I urge you to check it out. You will not be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    This is the story of a brand new teacher attempting to find her

    This is the story of a brand new teacher attempting to find her way in an inner city school. The principal is a guy from literally hell who really gives her a tough time. The kids-well-lets just say they are a challenge until she finally figures out how to reach them. She lives with 2 other teachers who are her best friends-and sometimes her worst enemies. Carolyn Jenkins needs to find herself!

    When Carolyn meets up with an older man in a bar one evening she is in love-but doesn't trust herself enough. She does get rid of the boyfriend of many years thankfully. She meets his six nutty as fruitcake sisters and breaks up with Mr. Right but is miserable. One of her roomies is now engaged and she is not talking to the other. Can anything go right in her life?

    YES-and if you are sentimental (which I am) tears should be flowing at the happy ending. I read this book very quickly-I kept wanting to know what was going to happen next. Kathleen Shoop has written a book which will resonate with many readers on many different levels. 5 Star-Definitely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    I LOVED this book. The beginning was a bit emotional for me, for

    I LOVED this book. The beginning was a bit emotional for me, for a variety of reasons, involving an incident with a gun at a school. As the parent of school aged children, this issue always hits close to home, and I was an education major in college, and had a student bring a gun to school. Reading a book about a teacher in an underprivileged school, similar to the one I did my student teaching in, made the book quite personal for me. I loved how the author wove in the details of how many students spend so much time learning strategies in college that just aren’t practical or applicable in real life teaching experiences. Sometimes the best teachers are those who are able to navigate the classroom and the school politics to really make a difference in the lives of students that REALLY need that in their life. I felt like the main character, Carolyn, was quite successful at that, as hard as it was for her to get through. The book made me laugh out loud, and I enjoyed the romantic tales that were woven in. Once I started this book, I just could not put it down. It’s an easy read and made me go look for a sequel. I want to keep following Carolyn’s life, I really hope there’s another Carolyn story in the pipeline :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    This book had me intrigued from the beginning. Carolyn is a teac

    This book had me intrigued from the beginning. Carolyn is a teacher and she is fighting a what seems to be losing battle with her boss.  Carolyn wishes to see changes and she takes control of what must be done. The principal is a no-gooder who is no help when it comes to her awful students that she has to deal with on an everyday basis. They are just so nasty to her. I think I would lose my wits about me! Oh and the story gets deeper as Carolyn truly starts to show her true colors and the humor doesn’t hurt either. I was happy that the romance part of the novel was kept very PG-13. Even though there was kissing, there was no sex. This makes it so even a younger reader could have the possibility of enjoying Kathleen Shoop’s work just as much as I do.
    The characters are very believable and this was just one of those stories where I just wanted to be transported into the pages. The dialogue was great and the character dynamics together were incredible. This is a rare one when it comes to romance that is light and heavy at the same time. It is a very pleasurable read and I recommend it to anyone looking for just that. It seems I have been reading a lot of self discovery novels lately and I have been falling in love with them. This story sucks you right in with it’s characters, humor, and terrific interactions in the scenes. It will not disappoint you! I promise!
    I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Love and Other Subjects is a wonderful read for all the independ

    Love and Other Subjects is a wonderful read for all the independent and strong woman out there. This book will teach everyone the importance of making choices into our lives. It will make us realize that we can always change the course of our lives if we just learn to gather all the strength in us and use it to make positive changes. It will encourage us to be face whatever adversities that may come into our lives and just do everything we can to survive them all. For Ms. Jenkins, giving up is never an option. The amazing part of the book is when she found her true love after all that she have been through! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    I really, really enjoyed this book. From the beginning it caught

    I really, really enjoyed this book. From the beginning it caught me, since my younger self wanted to be a teacher. I can totally see myself in Carolyn, a teacher who believes she can change the world by teaching and finds herself struggling just to survive each day. She's both tormented and ignored by her students, and the Principal makes her life completely miserable. She's drifting from her best friends and she meets a man (the Love part of the title).

    Honestly, while I enjoyed the romantic angle of the story, it was the quirky, bumbling life of Carolyn that caught me and kept me. It's a great read, and it will make you look at your own life with a little more humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    This book is the kind that you want the world to stop so you can

    This book is the kind that you want the world to stop so you can read it all in one sitting. Of course I'm not magical and that didn't happen so it took me a few days to read it.
    Carolyn is the type of teacher we need more of in this world. She cares deeply for her students and wants them to succeed. The principal of her school tells her she has to teach them in a text book cookie cutter way. The principal is a piece of work and tries to belittle her every step of the way.
    In her personal life she meets a stranger she falls for. It's true that you can't choose your family in this situation. Will love prevail no matter what? 
    This book is the type that makes you think about it long after you are done reading it. I hope the author does a follow up of it. 
    This is the second book I've read from this amazing author. I've loved each and everyone! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Love and Other Subjects had me laughing out loud. Crude in some

    Love and Other Subjects had me laughing out loud. Crude in some parts but definitely funny. A first year teacher really struggling to find her way. Carolyn Jenkins is a character you'll grow to love. She has students that shoot her with BB Guns and , a principal everyone could grow to hate. She begins the story in a relationship she needs to get out of but just hasn't quite managed to break it off. Then she meets this guy and they have a soul slip. Her roommates says nope hes not the one for you either girlfriend. The blips and miss communication will have you laughing till you cry. 
    Very much enjoyed this book by Kathleen Shoop looking forward to reading more from this author. If you are in education or no someone is or just one a cute fun little romance I recommend Love and Other subjects. 
    I received a copy of Love and Other Subjects for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    MOVE NOW

    MOVE TO KAPLAN SAT RESULT 9 NOW JUNE IS LOCKED OUT

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Vixen

    "The results moved for me."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Pierce

    Its ok matt. They cant get you. Your in my cell

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    To all

    R we moveing ro a diffrent res?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    June

    No no no never mind we solved the problem

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2