Customer Reviews for

Love and Respect for a Lifetime: Women Absolutely Need Love. Men Absolutely Need Respect. Its as Simple and as Complicated as That...

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great gift book for newlyweds

This book is actually a gift book, which I was unsure about initally, but ended up really liking. Since it's a gift book, it's simple with just a phrase or paragraph or two on each page. It's a nice hardback book with nice, thick, glossy pages. The decorations on the pa...
This book is actually a gift book, which I was unsure about initally, but ended up really liking. Since it's a gift book, it's simple with just a phrase or paragraph or two on each page. It's a nice hardback book with nice, thick, glossy pages. The decorations on the pages and the colors that are used are very eye-catching, and I enjoyed looking through it.


This is not a book that I'd recommend if you're looking for an in-depth marriage advice book, but it's a nice introduction to the other Love and Respect books by this author. I think this would be a wonderful book to give a newly engaged or newly married couple, to help introduce them to a very important point in marriage- the need of the husband for respect and the need of the wife for love. This idea appears on pretty much every page, so you will definitely get the idea down after reading it! The book is divided up into six sections- introducing the idea of love and respect, discussing male and female differences, sections for showing love to wives and respect to husband, how to communicate love and respect and finally developing a love and respect that lasts.


Even though I'm not a newlywed, I still enjoyed this book. Since it's a gift book, it was a quick read, but gave me a good reminded of the incredible importance to my marriage of showing respect to my husband. I really liked the examples for easy ways that I could show respect for my husband. And I liked the suggestions for easy ways that my husband could show love to me. I'm definitely going to keep this book on my nightstand and read through it often to keep the important ideas of love and respect fresh in my mind!

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book as part of the Booksneeze program. I was not compensated in any other way and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

posted by bookreviewer1977 on October 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

I got this book to review and was quite disappointed. I expected more strategies to overcoming turbulance often found in a marraige, or tips to help right a marriage gone wrong. Though this book does offer tips and suggestions across the colorful pages; it only really r...
I got this book to review and was quite disappointed. I expected more strategies to overcoming turbulance often found in a marraige, or tips to help right a marriage gone wrong. Though this book does offer tips and suggestions across the colorful pages; it only really reitirates the fact that Christ needs to be first in a marriage. The pages are quite brutally labeled with the fact that women need love and men need respect. The repitition of this is obnoxiously plastered throughout the pages. I lost interest in the first chapter and had to force myself to complete the book. My suggestion is if your marriage needs work, turn to your Bible for guidance and remember to talk to your spouse, and listen just as empathetically. It's all about common sense and treating the other person how you would want to be treated...the famous Golden Rule.

posted by roxiD on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great gift book for newlyweds

    This book is actually a gift book, which I was unsure about initally, but ended up really liking. Since it's a gift book, it's simple with just a phrase or paragraph or two on each page. It's a nice hardback book with nice, thick, glossy pages. The decorations on the pages and the colors that are used are very eye-catching, and I enjoyed looking through it.


    This is not a book that I'd recommend if you're looking for an in-depth marriage advice book, but it's a nice introduction to the other Love and Respect books by this author. I think this would be a wonderful book to give a newly engaged or newly married couple, to help introduce them to a very important point in marriage- the need of the husband for respect and the need of the wife for love. This idea appears on pretty much every page, so you will definitely get the idea down after reading it! The book is divided up into six sections- introducing the idea of love and respect, discussing male and female differences, sections for showing love to wives and respect to husband, how to communicate love and respect and finally developing a love and respect that lasts.


    Even though I'm not a newlywed, I still enjoyed this book. Since it's a gift book, it was a quick read, but gave me a good reminded of the incredible importance to my marriage of showing respect to my husband. I really liked the examples for easy ways that I could show respect for my husband. And I liked the suggestions for easy ways that my husband could show love to me. I'm definitely going to keep this book on my nightstand and read through it often to keep the important ideas of love and respect fresh in my mind!

    Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book as part of the Booksneeze program. I was not compensated in any other way and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    the full book version is much better!

    I read the full version of this book a year ago and it changed my perspective on relationships completely. Now that I own a Nook I decided to buy the e-book for a "refresher" but I chose the wrong version. This one is good but the full version is much better. I'm now planning to purchase the audiobook of the full version as a gift for my daughters because I believe it will open their eyes and help them in their marriage. Emerson Eggerichs nailed it...but read the full version first. The title of the full version is "Love and Respect: The love she most deserves, the respect he desperately needs".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    Love and Respect for a Lifetime by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs

    Love and Respect for a Lifetime by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs is a marriage book written to help couples understand a main difference between men and women in order to enhance their relationships with one another. The essential message of the book is that women need love and men need respect. Respect is a man's deepest need while a wife's driving need is to feel loved. When these needs are being meet the couple is happy. I found this book to be an enjoyable read. It is a quick, easy read because the chapters are shorts and the book has many qoutes and Bible verses sprinkled throughout it. Eggerichs did a good job capturing my attention and he challenged me to think and apply his words to my marriage. I would also say that Eggerich's message was rooted in Biblical truth. The little criticism I have about the book is that it is so similar to many other marriage books. There's no real new idea contributed to the field. His ideas are basically the same as what's out there only reworded a bit differently. In addition, I found this book to be very repetitive. Eggerichs basically has one central message that he is trying to get across and he just keeps repeating it over and over. Overall though I am glad I read this book as it was a light, encouraging read. I would recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love and Respect for a Lifetime by Dr Emerson Eggerichs

    Although "Love and Respect for a Lifetime" is a quick, easy read, the layout is more like a daily devotional, with each page containing a quote or phrase related to love or respect. It is not necessarily something you would just read straight through. The author gives us examples of how men and women are "wired" differently, as in pink and blue. He shows us that the driving force for women is love, and women need love in order to respect, whereas men need respect in order to love. While both are important in a marriage, men and women feel them differently.

    Before reading this book, I would have thought that both husbands and wives equally want and need love and respect, and I still do think they each need both. However, after reading some of the examples in this book, I got an understanding of how men and women need love and respect in different orders to have a healthy marriage. This book would be a great gift wedding or anniversary gift, as it is presented in a gift-book format with nice thick pages and a simple layout with quotes and phrases divided into sections.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Dr. Eggerichs seeks to offer clarification on the importance of the Biblical obligation of wives respecting their husbands, and husbands loving their wives. Not only is it a mandate from our Lord, but men NEED respect and women NEED love. It is part of our make-up, and essential to the way God has created us. Dr. Eggerichs explains that if one spouse can understand this essential need of the other spouse, then the cycle of miscommunication and misunderstanding can often be broken.



    This book is great for newlyweds, long-time marriages, and even engaged couples. It is written in a light-hearted, simple manner, which makes it easy to pick up and read again and again. I would recommend it as a general reference for Christian marriages or even as a small study group book. It also makes a nice wedding or anniversary gift.



    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Must read for all couples!

    This is a gift book designed for married couples. The author poses the thought that at the root of every marital problem is the issue of love and respect. Women have the need to always feel loved by their partner and men have the need to always feel respected by their partner. The book bases it's thought on the scripture Ephesians 5:33 "However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband."

    The book discusses different ways to address these needs while strengthening your marriage especially in the area of communication. These tips are presented in an easy to read manner, with scriptures concerning love and marriage throughout. The pictures are beautiful and fit very well within the theme of the book. The main feature of this book that I appreciated was written in a way that makes it applicable to both men and women. The author looked at this subject from both perspectives of husbands and wives, which makes it a more beneficial resource than others. I think that any married couple or anyone considering marriage would benefit from reading this book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1