Customer Reviews for

Love and Respect for a Lifetime: Women Absolutely Need Love. Men Absolutely Need Respect. Its as Simple and as Complicated as That...

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great gift book for newlyweds

This book is actually a gift book, which I was unsure about initally, but ended up really liking. Since it's a gift book, it's simple with just a phrase or paragraph or two on each page. It's a nice hardback book with nice, thick, glossy pages. The decorations on the pa...
This book is actually a gift book, which I was unsure about initally, but ended up really liking. Since it's a gift book, it's simple with just a phrase or paragraph or two on each page. It's a nice hardback book with nice, thick, glossy pages. The decorations on the pages and the colors that are used are very eye-catching, and I enjoyed looking through it.


This is not a book that I'd recommend if you're looking for an in-depth marriage advice book, but it's a nice introduction to the other Love and Respect books by this author. I think this would be a wonderful book to give a newly engaged or newly married couple, to help introduce them to a very important point in marriage- the need of the husband for respect and the need of the wife for love. This idea appears on pretty much every page, so you will definitely get the idea down after reading it! The book is divided up into six sections- introducing the idea of love and respect, discussing male and female differences, sections for showing love to wives and respect to husband, how to communicate love and respect and finally developing a love and respect that lasts.


Even though I'm not a newlywed, I still enjoyed this book. Since it's a gift book, it was a quick read, but gave me a good reminded of the incredible importance to my marriage of showing respect to my husband. I really liked the examples for easy ways that I could show respect for my husband. And I liked the suggestions for easy ways that my husband could show love to me. I'm definitely going to keep this book on my nightstand and read through it often to keep the important ideas of love and respect fresh in my mind!

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book as part of the Booksneeze program. I was not compensated in any other way and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

posted by bookreviewer1977 on October 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

I got this book to review and was quite disappointed. I expected more strategies to overcoming turbulance often found in a marraige, or tips to help right a marriage gone wrong. Though this book does offer tips and suggestions across the colorful pages; it only really r...
I got this book to review and was quite disappointed. I expected more strategies to overcoming turbulance often found in a marraige, or tips to help right a marriage gone wrong. Though this book does offer tips and suggestions across the colorful pages; it only really reitirates the fact that Christ needs to be first in a marriage. The pages are quite brutally labeled with the fact that women need love and men need respect. The repitition of this is obnoxiously plastered throughout the pages. I lost interest in the first chapter and had to force myself to complete the book. My suggestion is if your marriage needs work, turn to your Bible for guidance and remember to talk to your spouse, and listen just as empathetically. It's all about common sense and treating the other person how you would want to be treated...the famous Golden Rule.

posted by roxiD on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    My wife and I love to read it together. It has short little idea

    My wife and I love to read it together. It has short little ideas about each of our different facets and what motivates and helps us understand the other. Finally a book we both can use at the same time! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Biblical Marriage Perspective

    Ever heard the saying: Women are from Venus. Men are from Mars?

    We are not really from different planets. However, we are very different from each other. Women need love. Women are constantly searching for love...to feel loved...to need to be needed. We feel loved through the simple things---hand holding, an unexpected kiss or caress, spending time together.

    Men need respect. Men are looking for their wives to respect them. Men want permission to be the leader in the relationship. And once they have achieved that leadership status, they want to be praised for their hard work. Men want to be able to solve the issues of a relationship.

    Dr. Emerson Eggerichs talks about the differences between men and women from a Biblical perspective. His latest work, Love and Respect for a Lifetime, takes a closer look at what Scripture has to say about men and women and the marriage relationship.

    Scripture is clear defining the roles of marriage and family. The man is to be the head of the home, the wife the heart of the home, and the the children the hope of the home. Ephesians 5 leaves no questions. Although there are many books on the shelves claiming to help with marriages, fix marital issues, prevent marital issues, etc., the most important book to turn to is the Bible. Dr. Eggerichs does exactly that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Book Review: "Love and Respect for a Lifetime"

    Dr. Emerson Eggerichs wrote this gift book to show how to care for both the husband and the wife. He says "Women absolutely need love, men absolutely need respect, it's as simple and as complicated as that..."

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book because it was uplifting and explanatory of how to help make a better and more enjoyable marriage: respect and love.

    Disclosure: I got this book from Booksneeze which is a book review bloggers program. I wrote what I felt about the book. I am following directions on the disclosure from the Federal Trade Commission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!

    Dr. Emerson Eggerichs states that men need respect and women need love. There are great quotes, some scripture passages and even picture in the book. There were many good illustrations that can be used in counseling or preaching. This is a book I would recommend to couples in trouble. I would even recommend this to couples who have a strong marriage as a checkup point for discussion. It is basic and very point on in it's approach and makes for a light and yet meaningful read. I received this book free from booksneeze and in return I give my opinion. It is a great book that I would recommend to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    This one is a winner!

    It has been said that big things come in small packages and that certainly holds true for this book! In 152 short pages Emerson Eggerichs maps out this simple strategy to strengthen your marriage for a lifetime. Using passages from The Bible, Eggerichs demonstrates to readers how the keys to a successful marriage can be found in The Bible.

    Men need respect and women need love. As it was set out in the Bible it is replayed in real life time and time again. Something so simple, yet many of us miss it. With a handful of tips to start us on the right path, Eggerichs opens our eyes to things we had not taken notice of before.

    Casually worded with an underlying tone of strong belief in what he is saying, this author is probably getting cheers at the pearly gates. Anyone who has made use of the self help books that are so popular today, definitely needs to pick this one up at the store!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Very glad I read this book!

    I really like this book - even though it made me take an honest look at how I am relating to and speaking to my husband. No one likes to think they are being disrespectful, but through the ideas presented in the book, I was able to see the ways I can show more respect to my husband. Not through what I am saying, but how I am saying it. Through my body language and expressions - by making simple changes and being more aware or my actions, the re-action I get from him is more loving. Breaking the cycle of behavior isn't about waiting for the other person to change, but by owning it and making the changes in yourself. I think this book is one that anyone in a relationship should read - it could very well save that relationship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great gift-book. Well written

    Love and Respect For a Lifetime by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs does a great job of condensing down the two most basic needs of men (respect) and women (love). This is a gift book, not the full edition. It can easily be read in one sitting. There are beautiful quotes, scriptures and pictures throughout the book.

    As a pastor (and husband) I am always looking to further my understanding on how to help married couples make their marriages better. This book can definitely help. While Dr. Eggerichs doesn't go into great detail about the issue of love and respect, he gives enough nuggets that one could easily adjust their marriage and make a huge difference. Marriage books often times focus on so many areas while this book focuses on the most common needs of men (respect) and women (love). I found many good illustrations that can be used in counseling or preaching. This is definitely a book I would recommend to couples in trouble. I would even recommend this to couples who have a strong marriage as a checkup point for discussion.

    The book is well laid out and very colorful. This would make an excellent gift for newlyweds. It is very basic and straightforward in its approach. Overall, I would give this book a 5 star rating.

    *This book was gratefully received from Thomas Nelson at no cost in exchange for my agreement to post this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1