Customer Reviews for

Love at First Sight (Cupid, Texas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

In Cupid, Texas the McCleary family is renowned for their love a

In Cupid, Texas the McCleary family is renowned for their love at first site stories. Natalie McCleary is the next daughter in a long line of woman to carry on the “love at first site” tradition. At 29, Natalie has given up on the thought of true love or even a chance t...
In Cupid, Texas the McCleary family is renowned for their love at first site stories. Natalie McCleary is the next daughter in a long line of woman to carry on the “love at first site” tradition. At 29, Natalie has given up on the thought of true love or even a chance to lose her virginity...until the day she spied Dade Vega fixing his motorcycle on her way home. Confused by the shocking attraction, Natalie must traverse uncharted territory...discovering love.

Ex-Navy Seal, Dade Vega has traveled to the town of Cupid after receiving a SOS text from his foster brother and only family Red. After rushing to Cupid, Dade find Red has been missing since the night of his text message. Dade also quickly discovers the woman that ignited all his emotions just by looking at him fixing his motorcycle is Red’s landlady, Natalie. Natalie seems quite concerned about the missing war veteran, but Dade's jaded past has taught him to trust no one but Red. Can an injured and emotionally scarred soul deserve the sweetness that is Natalie McCleary?

Unavoidable magnetism, foul play, heated fantasies that lead to even more heated sexual encounters are the focal point of this intriguing first story in the Cupid Series. I found this book to be easy, enjoyable and a quick read. Lori Wilde wove a creative tale including a wonderful twist on Cupid’s folk lore that will be a fascinating premise on which to base the continuation of this series. As erotic romance, Love at First Sight hits the mark...it is vividly descriptive, extremely steamy and has a wonderfully wounded hero and heroine we can route for.

This ARC copy of Love at First Sight was given to me by HapperCollins - Avon Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on May 28, 2013.

posted by Sailon on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Missed the Mark for Me

I was excited about this series when I read the description. I recognized the author and was sure I would be reading the entire series. Usually, Avon Books delivers a good reading experience too. I will pass on future releases after the level of dissatisfaction. The...
I was excited about this series when I read the description. I recognized the author and was sure I would be reading the entire series. Usually, Avon Books delivers a good reading experience too. I will pass on future releases after the level of dissatisfaction. The story went off on tangents, spent too much time on uninteresting story line. I was expecting more character development. I really hate writing a review that is this negative but this book completely missed the mark for me.

posted by 17211953 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Cupid, Texas the McCleary family is renowned for their love a

    In Cupid, Texas the McCleary family is renowned for their love at first site stories. Natalie McCleary is the next daughter in a long line of woman to carry on the “love at first site” tradition. At 29, Natalie has given up on the thought of true love or even a chance to lose her virginity...until the day she spied Dade Vega fixing his motorcycle on her way home. Confused by the shocking attraction, Natalie must traverse uncharted territory...discovering love.

    Ex-Navy Seal, Dade Vega has traveled to the town of Cupid after receiving a SOS text from his foster brother and only family Red. After rushing to Cupid, Dade find Red has been missing since the night of his text message. Dade also quickly discovers the woman that ignited all his emotions just by looking at him fixing his motorcycle is Red’s landlady, Natalie. Natalie seems quite concerned about the missing war veteran, but Dade's jaded past has taught him to trust no one but Red. Can an injured and emotionally scarred soul deserve the sweetness that is Natalie McCleary?

    Unavoidable magnetism, foul play, heated fantasies that lead to even more heated sexual encounters are the focal point of this intriguing first story in the Cupid Series. I found this book to be easy, enjoyable and a quick read. Lori Wilde wove a creative tale including a wonderful twist on Cupid’s folk lore that will be a fascinating premise on which to base the continuation of this series. As erotic romance, Love at First Sight hits the mark...it is vividly descriptive, extremely steamy and has a wonderfully wounded hero and heroine we can route for.

    This ARC copy of Love at First Sight was given to me by HapperCollins - Avon Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on May 28, 2013.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Feel good story

    This was a feel good love story with a bit of mystery built in. It kept your interest in trying to figure out the who-done-it while watching the love story develop.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Liked It - Didn't Love It

    Good characters, good storyline but throughout the book I felt that the author was doing a lot of "fill" to extend the book... It was slow in parts and I tended to walk away for a time... It was more than halfway through the book that I finally got interested in reading to the end... I have already pre purchased Book 2 of the series and I read the Novella introducing the series but Book one was somewhat of a disappointment...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to Cupid Texas. Where the people who live in the town b

    Welcome to Cupid Texas. Where the people who live in the town believe in cupid and love at first site.
    Natalie McCleary has lived in Cupid all her life. She is running a B&B.
    Dade Vega is in town looking for his friend who is missing and was staying at the B&B. Dade ends up renting his friends room and taking his job all the while secretly searching for him.
    Natalie and Dade fine themselves throw together even when trying to avoid each other.
    Once Dade admits to Natalie why he is in town they begin to try and find Red together. Both of them have to overcome old hurts and issues in order to come together.
    If Natalie tells Dade about believing in love at first site will he believe her and stick around?
    Will they find Red? If they do will he be alive or dead?
    Will Dade stick around when/if they find Red to be with Natalie?

    A Few of my favorite lines from the book:
    Why are you scared? You were a frickin’ Navy SEAL. What is it about this sweet little bit of honeysuckle that’s got you wanted to run as far and as fast as you can in the opposite direction?
    He was jealous of the way she’d navigated the pain, and while her body had not come out of it unscathed, she’d kept her soul pure.
    His dark eyes burned. “This is just a guess since I don’t know you, but from what I can tell, you think life is a rule book. If you follow the rules and don’t step outside your comfort zone, you won’t get hurt, but because of that, you also never really live.”
    Back off! She wanted to growl. He’s mine.
    The first time you kiss your soul mate is like an earthquake, wiping out everything you thought you knew about yourself.
    What do you want? Anything. Just name it. If I’ve got it, it’s yours. If I can get my hands on it, it’s yours. What that mountain moved? I’m on it. Want the stars brought down from the sky? Let me go get an extension ladder.

    “No rushing. No Shortcuts. I’m going to make love to you all night long, until the sun comes over the horizon, You’re not going to get one minute of rest. Do you understand?”

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    3.5 Star-slow in parts.

    The story is sweet and will tug at your heart for our H and h. Neither of our chsracter's have had an easy life and don't feel they deserve love or happiness. There is one night that they made love twice. It doesn't happen until 2/3rds into the story and isn't vulgar. Mildly descriptive so if you you are turned off by two people who wait until they feel something for each other and make love then this isn't for you. But, you'd be missing a tender story.

    There isn't a cliffhanger which I dislike when you're blindsided and left hanging.

    I do agree with another reviewer that it had about 50 pages of filler that slowed the story down. That is why I rsted it lower.

    There is suspense, twists and a nice HEA. (Ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unavoidable magnetism, foul play, heated fantasies that lead to


    Unavoidable magnetism, foul play, heated fantasies that lead to even more heated sexual encounters are the focal point of this intriguing first story in the Cupid Series. I found this book to be easy, enjoyable and a quick read. Lori Wilde wove a creative tale including a wonderful twist on Cupid’s folk lore that will be a fascinating premise on which to base the continuation of this series. As erotic romance, Love at First Sight hits the mark...it is vividly descriptive, extremely steamy and has a wonderfully wounded hero and heroine we can route for.



    Dade and Natalie were such great characters in Love at First Sight. Lori writes so well I felt like I knew them and was right there with them. Both of them have scars from the past...different scars but hurts just the same that are holding them back in their lives. They'll need to acknowledge this to themselves and each other if they want to have a future together. Natalie is so used to taking care of everyone else, controlling everything that someone wanting to take care of her is such a novel concept she doesn't know what to do about it! For Natalie, being in control means keeping the bad away, making sure everyone is happy. Dade is an ex-Navy SEAl who had had a terrible childhood, the one good was his foster brother Red. He's been to terrible places and had to do horrible things in his eyes that make him not good enough for Natalie. Hopefully he can trust her enough to open up to her.


    I loved the secondary characters in the book from Natalie's sister to her great-aunt, and how they played such a big part in her life.I also enjoyed that they were very free with their advice! The way Lori Wilde described Cupid, between the quaint town and the caves to the Marfa Lights it made me wish that I could go visit. I could see everything so well! Natalie and Dade were people that felt were true to life whether or not you believe in love at first sight or not and I can't wait for book three.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2015

    Quite different, easy read

    Main characters both have issues and are not looking for love. Very interesting small town setting with little mystery that brings characters together. Nice, light, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Enjoyable read

    Knew the villans from the start but it was a good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Great

    I love the story. It was a heart harming tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Good

    Really cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Good

    Grear story with just the right amount of adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Christina?

    ?

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Ebony

    Jumps off a cliff

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for a fun, sexy read? Then you'll probably enjoy Lori Wi

    Looking for a fun, sexy read? Then you'll probably enjoy Lori Wilde's Love at First Sight. The two main characters, Natalie and Dade, have a dark past that hovers over them. They both have their reservations about love, especially when it comes to their own lives. But when they meet, the connection is too strong to ignore. I could easily relate to both them because they are afraid of trust and getting close to each other. Neither character is perfect, and they have their flaws, but I like how they overcome their internal struggles and open up to each other. There is a big surprise in the plot and it adds drama to the story, which I also enjoyed. Overall, a great novel from a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    The first couple of chapters in this book really dragged on and

    The first couple of chapters in this book really dragged on and I was wondering if I was going to be able to get into the book but after the romance began between Dade and Natalie heated up, this book turned great! Nice little romance book with some mystery and of course a cowboy for the ladies to swoon over. Great read! A++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Very Good Romance!

    This was a very good book, however, all the mystery and
    Suspense nearly killed me. I was not looking for that much
    Action of that kind in a steamy romance. But the story was
    Good and she got her man.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    This is what Romance is

    What more can you ask for in a romance? Take one heroine who habitually cares for everyone but herself, add a broody dark, gorgeous stranger & some mystery & LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT is worth the sequel to Cupid, Texas.
    I'm looking forward to the next chapter in Ms. Wilde's adventure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book, could not put it down. All the characters are l

    Loved this book, could not put it down. All the characters are likable. The one thing that popped out for me was how relatable Natalie and Dade are. When I saw these two characters finally see that love at first sight could be possible for them it was beautiful. I also liked the little mystery that was involved. I do recommend reading this book it's definitely a winner in my book. Great start to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2