Customer Reviews for

Love at Stake

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Great story!

    Never a boring moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    loved it!!!

    it's just good folks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    I loved this one. it was funny, hot and had some heart-wrenching

    I loved this one. it was funny, hot and had some heart-wrenching moments ...

    Abby works for "Fated Match", a company which finds the eternal mate for the supernatural community. although she is not against dating supernaturals she would prefer a "normal" human and has a strikt "no vampire" rule. Then her boss asks her to get a special contract because the business is slowing down. The daughter of one of the most important vamps, Melissa, wants to be a client of Fated Match but her father doesn't want that. for that he makes a condition: Abby has a month to find the perfect match for him. if she is successful, his daughter is allowed to do the same. But he only deals with and through Abby ... and so the fun beginns. and I mean this literally. the first half of this book is so funny I had to laugh out loud several times.

    the chemistry between Abby and Lucas was great and it made reading this book a real treat. but even as we don't get to see the side characters so much, they were great as well. I liked Abbys friend Chloe and of course Melissa.

    If you are looking for a great love story with a lot of fun and real chemistry, don't hesitate and read this book.

    I really hope we get more books in this world and to see Abby and Lucian again.

    Disclaimer: I got a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    This book was a great read. I really enjoyed reading Abbey and L

    This book was a great read. I really enjoyed reading Abbey and Lucian story. You never know how you will find your perfect mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really good paranormal romance. The characters in thi

    This was a really good paranormal romance. The characters in this story were really easy to like, and I found myself laughing quite often at some of the interactions between all of them. I cannot wait to read more from Ms. Davies.

    Abbey Sinclair is the only human who works for Fated Match, which is a company that works with people who are supernatural and looking for their mates. The agency receives a call from Melissa Redgrave, a vampire socialite who is interested in using Fated Match to find her perfect match. It would be a huge success for the company if they can get her as a member. The only problem is Abbey will have to prove to Melissa’s father that the agency really does find a member’s true mate.

    Lucian Redgrave is the oldest vampire in the area, and he is very set in his ways. He does not believe that Fated Match can really find someone’s true mate, so he’s decided not to let his daughter use the agency unless Abbey can find his mate within one month. The one stipulation he has is that Abbey mast be his coach for each date that his will go on. The chemistry sizzles as Abbey coaches Lucian with his dates, but she knows that no matter what the heart wants nothing lasts between a vampire and a human. Right?

    I received an e-ARC of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    ***Received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review*** T

    ***Received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review***

    The use of a paranormal matchmaking company, Fated Match, is definitely a first for me to read about, and I liked that it was a unique approach to the mating process between supernatural beings, but I really liked that the traditional ideals of mating weren't downplayed or forgotten in this story. That soul deep connection, that instant acknowledgement that the other person is your other half, that need to possess and protect what's yours is the theory that's put to the test in this delightful romance between a human and an elder vampire.

    The chemistry between Lucian and Abbey is undeniable. From their first meeting to their first intimate encounter, every look and touch and word solidifies that attraction, makes it tangible and HEA worthy. It was that attraction plus everything else--memories, revelations, needs, wants, acknowledgements--they encountered from Page 1 to The End that made this such an enchanting story.

    I loved how the past was not only identified as a problem but it was shared and talked about between Lucian and Abbey. And it wasn't merely glossed over. It was told in detail and seen as the reason for the discord between them. Lucian's struggle with his past was evident in how he reacted to Abbey's questions or observations. But stepping over that bump and seeing that loving another was worth the risk made me believe their future together was secure.

    Ms. Davies' paranormal world is bright, colorful, and bold. She's written a love story with a cast of characters (primary and secondary) that worked well together even when they stood at odds with one another in a setting that's unique and refreshing. I don't know if she will write more about Fated Match but I hope she does. She's made a fan of this reader and I can't wait to read more of what she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fated Match is a high profile match making service for supernatu

    Fated Match is a high profile match making service for supernatural. They specialize in finding that elusive connection that they are all looking for - a mate. With a very high success rate, but rising competition, they jump at the chance to match up a very high profile vampire. Abbey is one of the few humans that knows about the supernatural world, and Lucian is instantly curious about her. Something sparks an interest deep down and he insists that she personally handle his entire case. 




    Abbey isn't afraid of most supernaturals, but the vamps are a different story - well anything that may view her as a snack is strictly off the relationship radar. She is surprised to find that she can't keep Lucian out of her mind. Both try hard to deny their attraction and prove it isn't right between them - but deep down they both know they were meant to be together. 




    This was a humorous and inventive story. I loved the idea of the matchmaking agency - and it's really for all paranormals. This could turn into an amazing series with Fated Match as the linking point. I really hope it does, because I would love to read more like this. 




    *This book was received in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Abbey Sinclair is a matchmaker at Fated Match which is a dating

    Abbey Sinclair is a matchmaker at Fated Match which is a dating service for the paranormal. They use scientific methods to help couples find their fated mates faster than traditional dating methods. Business has been slow so Abbey's boss has decided that they need to land a high profile client to help bring in more people to widen their dating pool. And it just so happens that the popular vampire socialite Melissa Redgrave is interested in using Fated Match's service.

    However there is just one tiny problem.....her adopted father Lucien Redgrave. An ancient, he is basically considered the king of all the East Coast Vampires and he doesn't believe that science can make up for instinct and fate. To prove that the service is a waste of time he agrees to let Melissa to join on one condition... that Abbey sign him up first and personally find his mate in one month.

    Abbey reluctantly agrees and attempts to bring him into the 21st century by updating his wardrobe and hairstyle. Lucian goes along with her requests but he has an ulterior motive, he wants Abbey and has no plans of giving any of his dates a chance. Abbey is attracted to Lucian as well but refuses to give her heart to someone who considers humans as playthings.

    Lucian pursued Abbey relentlessly, and like a true alpha male he refuses to see what she truly is to him until it's almost to late. Abbey is stubborn, almost too much so. She believes that Lucien considers her inferior because she's human. She's feisty and doesn't take crap from him. She brings color and life to Lucien's rigid and ordered world which he doesn't know how to handle at times. The chemistry between these two is explosive! And to spice things up even further there is an intriguing love triangle going on with a yummy werewolf.

    I really hope we are going to see more books set in this world, I love the whole dating agency for supernaturals. I loved Abbey's friend Chloe and I would like to find out if Christian and Melissa ever find their fated mates as well. If you are looking for a sweet love story about a stubborn, hot as hell vampire and a feisty, too stubborn at times human with a funny witch friend and a hunky werewolf looking for his forever mate thrown in, then this is the book for you!

    * I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Love at Stake was a TOTALLY AWESOME, FUN, AND TITILLATING read!

    Love at Stake was a TOTALLY AWESOME, FUN, AND TITILLATING read!                                                                               


    I LOVED THIS BOOK! 




    Abbey is a human who works for Fated Match, a supernatural dating agency. Abbey found out about supernaturals because her Mom is a beaver shifter having been accidentally bit. Business is slow at the agency until they take on Lucien, a VERY SEXY old and powerful vampire. Even though Abbey is normally an admin at the agency, Lucien insists that she handle his account at the agency. This causes issues with Abbey's comfort level and with her boss, her co-workers and the agency's other clients. 




    Lucien is obviously determined to get Abbey into his bed but she fights her attraction to him as she's knows it would leave him satisfied and her heartbroken. Lucien is insistent, arrogant, overbearing, infuriating, HOT, HOT, HOT and totally swoon-worthy! The whole book is funny AND addictive with vampires, werewolfs, sirens, and more! 




    Love at Stake was just a TOTALLY AWESOME, FUN, AND TITILLATING read! I was swept away by the story and the characters. 




    I LOVED IT and want to read more by this author! 




    5 STEAMY STARS!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    love it! it's a mating service for supernaturals that were too b

    love it! it's a mating service for supernaturals that were too busy to find mate. it was only a matter of time until supernaturals caught up wih modern times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Everyone loves a bad boy and Lucian is definitely one. He is a v

    Everyone loves a bad boy and Lucian is definitely one.
    He is a very old vampire set in his ways and wants to prevent his "Childe" from signing up with a dating service.
    Abbey is the "Match Maker" who has to convince him to give her agency a try.
    There is instant attraction, a lot of sparks and two people who think their in control. Good characters...I liked both sexy, dashing Lucien and down to earth Abbey who tried so hard not to fall for a vampire. I like this story and want to read more stories by this author/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is an enthralling vampire romance read in a modern set

    This book is an enthralling vampire romance read in a modern setting.
    The lone human working for Fated Match, a supernatural dating agency, Abby takes on Lucian Redgrave, the oldest vampire on the east coast in order secure his vampire daughter as a client.  She must find Lucian’s perfect match within one month or he won’t let his daughter use the agency. While she can’t deny the chemistry between Lucian and herself, risking her heart isn’t part of the plan.
    This steady to fast paced plot is full of drama, romance and humor that keep the reader entertained throughout.  The author brings the story to life with vivid descriptions, intense details, and compelling characters that are easily related to and believable.  The emotions and personalities are conveyed with intensity and the reader can understand their motivations and get caught up in their story.
    The attraction between Lucian and Abby is clearly explosive and the sex scenes scorch the reader with red hot passion.  The relationship has some major issues and the author does a great job of describing them and emotions so that the reader can empathize with them. And to spice things up a bit, Lucian has some competition vying for Abby’s attention as well.
    The author has created a wonderful story that has the reader chuckling in a quite a few places, cheering the heroine on and wanting to slap a couple of good looking knuckleheaded men upside their heads. It also has fantastic supporting characters that leave the reader wanting to know more.
    I found the story very enjoyable and once I started reading I couldn’t put it down until I had finished the last page.  The story is believable and the romance addresses real issues that give the story added depth and then has a great happily ever after ending. I don’t know if Victoria Davies plans to write another book related to this one or not, but I would definitely be interested in reading it if she does, especially if it is Melissa or Christian’s story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    This was a great read I could not put it down! Abbey is a spitfi

    This was a great read I could not put it down! Abbey is a spitfire human in a world filled with super naturals who do nothing but look down on her because of it. She is enlisted to recruit Melissa a very high profile vampire to her dating agency but that is not at all what happens. Lucian is Melissa's sire and joins the agency instead to prove to his daughter that dating agencies are not the way to go about meeting your one true love. The chemistry between Abbey and Lucian will have you turning the pages as quickly as you can red them. I laughed out loud and cried and absolute MUST READ in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEW New to me Author but Oh how I enjoyed this book. Fated Ma

    REVIEW
    New to me Author but Oh how I enjoyed this book.
    Fated Match is a dating / mate matching service ran by Vivian a Siren her assistant is the only human
    who is employed there by the name of Abbey Sinclair. Abbey is well aware of the supernatural as when
    she was a teenager her mother had been bitten and turned by a were-badger. Well Fated Match’s ratings
    are going down and they need to land a really big contract. Melissa Redgrave who is a Vampire Socialite is
    wanting to sign up however her Sire/Vamp  Lucian Redgrave has total miscomings about this kind of business. He feels you find your mate the old fashioned way as he is almost 1,000 years old.  Well Vivian sends Abbey over to the Redgrave’s to discuss how things work at Fated Match and of course from the get go Lucian is in awe of Abbey and of course she feels things stirring in her she didn’t’ know could stir. Lucia has agreed to allow Melissa to sign on only after he has tested things for himself.  He wants to signup and put his profile out there in hopes of finding his mate. HOWEVER he only wants Abbey to handle things.
    He asks Abbey if she also has a profile on the site? Yes but she has sworn off all Vamps and Demons.
    Can Lucian change her mind and heart towards Vamps?
    The attraction between Lucian and Abbey heats WAY UP!!! HOT !!! and Such comedy from these 2.
    If you like PNR mixed with some comedy and tons of HOT attraction ..
    This would definitely be the book for you !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1