Customer Reviews for

Love by the Letter (Unexpected Brides)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This book is a prequel novella to Bride For Keeps - Unexpected Brides. As such, it was meant to introduce you to characters that are featured in the following book. Dex and Rachel fight through their insecurities to find out that they both may want the same thing.
...
This book is a prequel novella to Bride For Keeps - Unexpected Brides. As such, it was meant to introduce you to characters that are featured in the following book. Dex and Rachel fight through their insecurities to find out that they both may want the same thing.

It was an enjoyable and quick read and made me want to get the next book. I do wish there was a little bit more to it, but, then, it wouldn't be a novella.

posted by Fiction_FanaticEP on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked how the author made you feel the insecurities of Dex and

I liked how the author made you feel the insecurities of Dex and his problems. I didn't like the rush ending, maybe if she included an epilogue of even 24 hrs., I'd be happier. The next book is almost $10.00 and I am not going to spend that much money, when I am not su...
I liked how the author made you feel the insecurities of Dex and his problems. I didn't like the rush ending, maybe if she included an epilogue of even 24 hrs., I'd be happier. The next book is almost $10.00 and I am not going to spend that much money, when I am not sure that book will leave you hanging. Granted the book is free and a novella., but I have read many novella's and wanted to read more by an author. Not this time. (ljb)

posted by NavyWavelb on December 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    I liked how the author made you feel the insecurities of Dex and

    I liked how the author made you feel the insecurities of Dex and his problems. I didn't like the rush ending, maybe if she included an epilogue of even 24 hrs., I'd be happier. The next book is almost $10.00 and I am not going to spend that much money, when I am not sure that book will leave you hanging. Granted the book is free and a novella., but I have read many novella's and wanted to read more by an author. Not this time. (ljb)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Great Read

    This book is a prequel novella to Bride For Keeps - Unexpected Brides. As such, it was meant to introduce you to characters that are featured in the following book. Dex and Rachel fight through their insecurities to find out that they both may want the same thing.

    It was an enjoyable and quick read and made me want to get the next book. I do wish there was a little bit more to it, but, then, it wouldn't be a novella.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Although not normally a reader of this genre, I totally enjoyed

    Although not normally a reader of this genre, I totally enjoyed Melissa Jagears’ Love By The Letter. The author brought this interesting historical era and setting to life with humorous characters and a captivating plot. Dex, who suffers from dyslexia, is both intimidated and enthralled by Rachel, the town’s pretty little smart girl. But she’s out of his league, so he resorts to advertising for a mail order bride to accompany him to a raw homestead in the opening of western Kansas. But he makes the mistake of writing his own letters… He decides to receive tutoring from his secret true love whose commitment to attending college in Tennessee, should protect his heart from unrealistic expectations—and his reputation from ridicule. The believable plot twists and turns keeps you cheering the hero and heroine on and turning the pages. 




    I enjoyed the characters, the sibling rivalries between Rachel and her sister, and the banter between Dex and his brother and bachelor friends. The author’s dry sense of humor and spiritual insight made Love By The Letter a fun evening read. I’m looking forward to more from Melissa Jagears. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Good read

    Short 73 page story. 12 years she waited, men are dense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Short and sweet!

    .

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Wonderful historical piece! I wrote in my review of A Bride for

    Wonderful historical piece!

    I wrote in my review of A Bride for Keeps that “meddling Rachel and faithful Dex…are highly entertaining and almost steal the show.” When I learned there was a companion piece highlighting Rachel and Dex as a couple, I jumped for it. My initial thoughts on these two were correct – they totally steal the show.

    Love By The Letter introduces us to the characters of Rachel and Dex before the time period of A Bride for Keeps. Bachelor Dex is heading out to start a new life for himself with others from town. He’s kind and hard-working but has very little education which makes reading and writing difficult for him. If he wants to get the attention of a mail-order bride, he knows he needs help with his letter writing.

    That’s where Rachel comes in. Smart, studious and crushing hard on our Dex, she’s everything he could want and nothing he feels he deserves. They’ve basically avoided each other for years, both interested in the other but neither ready to risk the possible embarrassment of showing interest. But when Dex shows up at Rachel’s door asking her to help him improve his reading, these two kids start one of the most awkward and bumbling friendships/unknown-courtships I’ve ever read.

    The concept of God opening doors was strong in this piece. Rachel even went searching through the Bible to find verses having to do with doors and ended up more confused than ever. The message is clear – God will open the doors but you need to find the courage to walk through them. Both Rachel and Dex brought this up multiple times throughout the piece and kept that message at the forefront of their thoughts. Beautifully done!

    I give Love By The Letter five stars. I adore this novella. Melissa’s writing style shines in this format, and the characters practically jump right off the page. Gorgeous and sweet, Love By The Letter will keep you smiling from the very first page. I will be looking out for the next book in this series based on this novella alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Awesome book

    Love this book. Keep the good work up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    Good

    Worthwhile reding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    First time reading this author

    Wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    A sweet love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    short and Sweet.........................

    Timeline didn't quite work. Can't imagine he thought she could teach him to read in the alloted time. Ending a little rushed. But a nice quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Good

    Quick, enjoyable read. Good for a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Recomend

    was a qick and fun read...Love stories in the old west can be very nice and this was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Great story. Dex's character was very likeable, just an average

    Great story. Dex's character was very likeable, just an average guy for that time period. I was very pleased
    that Rachel's character stood up to her Mother. I will buy the next book in this series. A very nice HEA. *vrnb*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Wish there was more

    A good read but i felt the story could have been developed more and extended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Very good but wish it were longer.

    Very good but wish it were longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    OK

    Cute story writing not the best, however I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Loved this little story. I want more from this author!

    Loved this little story. I want more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Delightful

    Wish there were more books like this - gives you a warm feeling for the characters. Not having to skip numerous pages of pornographic graphics was so refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Nice short story

    Nice short story. Very simple plot. Gave good insight to reading dysfunction and how we view them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4