Customer Reviews for

Love for Grown-Ups: The Garter Brides' Guide to Marrying for Life When You've Already Got a Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I was very curious about this book even though I knew I wasn't t

    I was very curious about this book even though I knew I wasn't the target audience.  Love for Grown Ups is a self-help book for women still searching for their special one whether they have never been married or looking for love after divorce.




    The first third of the book reminded me of motivational "You can do it!" message while the rest gave concrete bits of advice for women running into the maze that is dating and marriage.  I love how the brides contrasted what they would have done in their twenties versus their thirties, though at times, I thought it came across as a bit condescending (but again, I'm not the target audience).  The format was very easy to read with large titles, and boxes for specific tips.  I was able to get through this in no time.  Some of the advice touched on issues I had never considered and I think it would be useful in all marriages and relationships.  My only critique is that the advice was over-simplistic at times and failed to discuss the hard issues/situations where it isn't so easy to follow the logical path.




    Overall, I enjoyed this read and think it would be motivating at the very least, and it is awesome if you are potentially dealing with blending families and kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book is a great read regardless of whether you are a Garter Bride or not. Ann, Pat and Trish are like the sisters you wish you had or wish you did. Smart, saavy and sensitive, these women have a lot of common sense and advice and support.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Wonderful and Entertaining Read

    I really loved all the sound practical and fun advice on just about every issue that might arise in a relationship. The thing that struck me most was how I was able to relate to just about every story in the book. It makes you realize that we all face many of the same situations and I found it very helpful to read about how other people successfully dealt with them. Thank you for such a helpful and entertaining book. I lent it to my cousin, who is in her 40s, and she just loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Kirkus review

    LOVE FOR GROWN-UPS (reviewed on July 15, 2011) The three women who collaborated on this book celebrate how "grown-up dating is different from dating in your twenties-in a good way!" The Garter Brides, comprised of TV producer Jacobs, magazine columnist Lampl and children's-book author Rabe, don't shy away from the difficulties that accompany finding love later in life, but they herald the benefits as well. "First, you're a lot wiser about what you want in a relationship," they write. "Second, there's only one rule: it should be fun." Those looking to find companionship should start off by looking inward and asking the right questions, they write. Many of those questions, such as "How are you approaching dating?," might seem fairly elementary, but the trio's personal narratives add an appealing dimension to an otherwise routine exercise. Above all, the authors highlight how an ability to recognize and express what you want comes with age. Women with a ticking biological clock wondering how to navigate the thorny issue of children should take comfort when Rabe confesses, "somehow I managed to wait until our second date to ask him if he'd be willing to have more kids." The authors include practical guidance for dealing with partners that come saddled with highly involved family members, exes and friends. Tips on how to move in together, merge finances and plan engagements and weddings are particularly useful. The authors ably demonstrate that it's never too late for love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    highly recommended

    I had so much fun reading this book. It was witty yet filled with very down to earth and usable information. I felt as if I had made three new friends who really got it!
    I have recommened this book to my patients who are looking to find love again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Great uplifting read!

    This is a must read if your looking for a book to inspire you to find love when you're over 35! Loved reading "The Garter Brides" tips on everything from getting back out there in the dating scene to preparing to meet your boyfriend's kids. So enlightening and empowering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Thanks for all the answers

    Two years in a relationship and full of questions, this book helped answer them. Adult romances are delightful and challenging all at the same time. Hearing how women handled similar situations has given me the strength to continue seeking love and a strong relationship. Thanks for all the truthful advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Very Helpful and Informative

    This book gave great advice from real women. Trying to blend two families, two careers, and two lives into one, I could relate and take away some realistic advice that I am putting into action. It is always nice to know I am not alone when it comes to complicated marriages. But it showed what I always knew, that love conquers all. I would recommend this book to any women who is looking to find love or strengthen a relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    A Must Read

    This book is both informative and entertaining!!! If you are falling in love and thinking about getting married this is a must read. While it is full of great advise it also shares humorous stories to put it all in perspective. Read it and share it with your friends...everyone will thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    This is a great book -- lots of helpful advice and ideas

    I love this book because it offers great advice in a fun and funny way. Practical suggestions which I will absolutely try along with helpful ideas. I picked this book up and read it straight through and really could relate to what the authors were saying. To me, this is the book I've been searching for and didn't know it -- I felt as though this book was written just for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Finally! This is the real deal when it comes to self-help books!

    This book is a great read. Funny, insightful and truly helpful. Makes you feel that there is hope when it comes to adult relationships with all the complications of "real life!". I really loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1