Customer Reviews for

Love in Mid Air

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A DYNAMITE DEBUT - HEARTBREAKING, TRUE, FUNNY

Top of the charts for this debut novel! Kim Wright has crafted a funny, true, heartbreaking look at modern marriage. Is leaving wedlock a route to happiness or must one stay? In LOVE IN MID AIR we read, " In real life, women stay. Women stay better than they do anything...
Top of the charts for this debut novel! Kim Wright has crafted a funny, true, heartbreaking look at modern marriage. Is leaving wedlock a route to happiness or must one stay? In LOVE IN MID AIR we read, " In real life, women stay. Women stay better than they do anything else."

Elyse Bearden is at the airport on her way home from a Phoenix pottery show. She's feeling good because she won a prize and sold several pieces. She's probably not looking her best as she has burrito juice on her shirt and her hair is awry because she washed it in a drinking fountain. But, apparently she looks really, really good to Gerry, an investment banker, who is seated next to her on the plane. In a matter of minutes they're sharing confidences. After landing he pulls her into a Traveler's Chapel of the Dallas airport and kisses her - "one of those kisses that gives you the feeling that you're falling, that the elevator floor has dropped out from under you..."

This is how it began, an affair that would cause Elyse to reevaluate her present life and what she wants for the future. She lives with her husband, Phil, and young daughter, Tory, in a comfortable North Carolina community. Elyse has a host of friends, primarily Kelly, the wealthy one in their book club. She and Kelly have been close for years. At home again after that earth moving kiss Elyse is absorbed in the minutia of her daily life - cookies for the church sale, baseball practice for Tory, outings with their friends, finding time for making her pots and marketing them. However, her overriding feeling is one of discontent; she is unsettled, unhappy. Phil is remote, distant, seemingly unable to understand who she is. Needless to say their sex life is less than satisfactory for her; it is a perfunctory ritual. And, she cannot forget Gerry who though also married is just a phone call away - she dials his number.

That is a decision that not only alters Elyse's life but also the lives of her friends as they reexamine their own personal relationships. Each is on the brink of 40 - what will the future hold? Could they, should they make changes?

Kim Wright has penned a witty, wise, and wonderful story of love in all its ramifications. Her observations are newly minted, shedding light in formerly dusty corners. LOVE IN MID AIR is a dynamite debut!

- Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very hard book to get into.

LOVE in MID AIR is full of a woman's story, and nothing else. There is barely any dialogue, and following the characters was a challenge in itself. I wish this amazing love scene with Jerry lasted more then 3 pages, and more then 4 words said to each other. It was painf...
LOVE in MID AIR is full of a woman's story, and nothing else. There is barely any dialogue, and following the characters was a challenge in itself. I wish this amazing love scene with Jerry lasted more then 3 pages, and more then 4 words said to each other. It was painfully hard to finish this book, and to be honest, i wish i never started.

posted by wheeze on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    TRUE LIFE MORE THAN A FAIRY TALE!

    Elyse felt trapped in a marriage that everyone else considered successful and happy. She isn't one who just jumps into something without thinking, however, she meets a man on an airplane and this one single conversation has changed her forever. Gerry convinces Elyse that her marriage has gone stale and has always been stale. Elyse and Kelly are true blue friends who depend on each other for the ultimate understanding and devotion. The struggle with the search for fulfillment and happiness is more true to life than a fairy tale, which is my choice of a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A DYNAMITE DEBUT - HEARTBREAKING, TRUE, FUNNY

    Top of the charts for this debut novel! Kim Wright has crafted a funny, true, heartbreaking look at modern marriage. Is leaving wedlock a route to happiness or must one stay? In LOVE IN MID AIR we read, " In real life, women stay. Women stay better than they do anything else."

    Elyse Bearden is at the airport on her way home from a Phoenix pottery show. She's feeling good because she won a prize and sold several pieces. She's probably not looking her best as she has burrito juice on her shirt and her hair is awry because she washed it in a drinking fountain. But, apparently she looks really, really good to Gerry, an investment banker, who is seated next to her on the plane. In a matter of minutes they're sharing confidences. After landing he pulls her into a Traveler's Chapel of the Dallas airport and kisses her - "one of those kisses that gives you the feeling that you're falling, that the elevator floor has dropped out from under you..."

    This is how it began, an affair that would cause Elyse to reevaluate her present life and what she wants for the future. She lives with her husband, Phil, and young daughter, Tory, in a comfortable North Carolina community. Elyse has a host of friends, primarily Kelly, the wealthy one in their book club. She and Kelly have been close for years. At home again after that earth moving kiss Elyse is absorbed in the minutia of her daily life - cookies for the church sale, baseball practice for Tory, outings with their friends, finding time for making her pots and marketing them. However, her overriding feeling is one of discontent; she is unsettled, unhappy. Phil is remote, distant, seemingly unable to understand who she is. Needless to say their sex life is less than satisfactory for her; it is a perfunctory ritual. And, she cannot forget Gerry who though also married is just a phone call away - she dials his number.

    That is a decision that not only alters Elyse's life but also the lives of her friends as they reexamine their own personal relationships. Each is on the brink of 40 - what will the future hold? Could they, should they make changes?

    Kim Wright has penned a witty, wise, and wonderful story of love in all its ramifications. Her observations are newly minted, shedding light in formerly dusty corners. LOVE IN MID AIR is a dynamite debut!

    - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    I'm Hooked!

    First off, a bit about me. I'm easily bored, i have a short attention span, and I'm not much of a book reader. Despite that, I'm absolutely hooked on Love in Mid Air. It's fun, down-to-earth, thought-provoking, and maybe most impressively, I feel like it's relevant to me. Kim found a way to get me feeling this great connection to the characters, the relationships, and the conflicts. Great work, can't wait to get back to it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Terrific story about all the things women normally don't talk about

    Love in Mid Air tells the story of a woman stuck in a stale marriage. Elyse is a character many women will identify with as she and her friends struggle to make sense of the challenges that come at midlife. An excellent and serious read, with moments of sharp humor as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very hard book to get into.

    LOVE in MID AIR is full of a woman's story, and nothing else. There is barely any dialogue, and following the characters was a challenge in itself. I wish this amazing love scene with Jerry lasted more then 3 pages, and more then 4 words said to each other. It was painfully hard to finish this book, and to be honest, i wish i never started.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Literary Grand Slam

    If this debut work is any indication, she is looking at a successful career as a writer because this book is a literary grand slam.

    From the first page, I was hooked. Hooked on Ms. Wright's writing style, hooked on the story and hooked on the characters. I literally snuck reading in whenever I could, so anxious was I to find out what was going on in Elyse's world, putting off sleep and household chores to read.

    Elyse was a complex character. On the one hand, I liked her and felt for her predicament. On the other, she is nothing like me and I sometimes wanted to beat my head on the wall in frustration. Ms. Wright did a smart thing in making Elyse's husband Phil a likable, decent man, a good father and good provider but a man she simply did not, and could not, love.

    Elyse's girlfriends, members of her book club, were a wonderfully varied bunch, each one an individual in her own way, from best friend Kelly, to the "perfect" pastor's wife Nancy, to recently divorced and recently outcast Lynn, to sweet and somewhat left in the shadows Belinda. So vivid were these characters I could actually visualize them and hear them talking as I read the book. Ms. Wright has proven herself to have an excellent ear for dialogue and none of the conversations in Love in Mid Air sound scripted or pretentious. You could be listening to your own girlfriends while thumbing through these pages.

    While the seemingly obvious love interest in the book would be Gerry - - the man who convinces Elyse that her marriage has gone stale, or always been stale - - I felt that the real love story in the book was the friendship between Elyse and Kelly. These two were friends that truly loved each other, that depended on each other through thick and thin. They had a real understanding of each other that neither woman shared with any other person in the book. It was a welcome diversion to have two such devoted people, with their individual flaws, who weren't a romantic couple.

    Despite the subject matter of Love in Mid Air (because adultery would hardly be a fun subject), I thoroughly enjoyed the book. In fact, I didn't realize until I had finished the book that the story was relatively sad - - a woman who felt trapped in a marriage that everyone else considered successful and happy, and a husband who believes everything to be fine and can't grasp the seriousness of his marital situation.

    For the more conservative readers, this book may be a bit too much to handle. There is the obvious adultery, and there is a smattering of sexual situations and strong language. This is definitely not a book for kids. Love in Mid Air is, however, a perfect read for a book club as there are so many debatable discussions and issues that would spark conversation for hours.

    I would highly recommend Love in Mid Air to anyone looking for a read that will get your mental juices flowing and really make you think. Is any affair forgiveable? Is Elyse a bad person? Is Gerry?

    Love in Mid Air isn't your typical love triangle story - - it sets the classic love story on its ear. Elyse may not be an easy character to root for in some cases and the same could be true for Phil, for Gerry or for any of the characters in the book. But it's a story that will have you quickly turning pages, staying up into the night to finish it and it will remain with you after you turn the last page. While I found the ending debateably happy, I was satisfied with

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Elyse meets a man on an airplane and this one single act has changed her forever. She isn't the type of person who does the outrageous, spur of the moment, true love things like most hopeless romantics do. Now, here's the kicker, Elyse is married. She wants to trade her whole boring life for something more. This change in Elyse now has her friends wondering if life has more to offer them as well.

    I love it when a woman's eyes are opened and she learns that it's time to start living her life her way and forget what everyone else wants. (It strikes close to home.) I absolutely adore Elyse and I hope to read more about her in the future. Two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Strong first book

    A strong first book from Kim Wright, I can't wait to read more from her! A very good choice for book clubs as it is centered around the women of a book club and their relationships with their husbands, children, and each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Loved Mid Air

    What a read! Couldn't put it down. Want to dive into it all over again. There's not a married woman in this world who couldn't relate to Elyse's dilemma. I'm thinking of 4 friends who will receive this book as a gift from me because they need to read it, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Bw

    XDXD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Deputy an co deputy den

    A large den built into a stone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is by far the best book I've read in a long time. For a mai

    This is by far the best book I've read in a long time. For a main character, Elyse is highly flawed and yet I think many women could identify with her even if they would not be reckless enough to physically follow through on their innermost thoughts and desires. Elyse cares about the people she will hurt, but not enough to stop. It was very difficult to put this book down, knowing full well that with every step she took, she was running head on into disaster. In the long run, however, her husband needed a more conventional wife, and though she caused a lot of pain, she was also the one to set him free. Everyone talks about men who have affairs or who consider leaving their wives--few consider that women often have those same thoughts. I'd be interested in seeing more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad

    Reviewed By~Deborah
    Review Copy Provided By~SheKnows Book Club

    Warnings: adult subject matter

    Review: From the first page, I was hooked on Ms. Wright's writing style, on the story and on the characters. Love in Mid Air isn't your typical love triangle story.

    Elyse is a complex character. On the one hand, I liked her and felt for her situation on the other hand I could not relate to her at all, she is nothing like anyone I have ever known. Elyse may not be an easy character to root for in most cases but the same could be said for Phil, or Gerry or for any of the other characters in the book.

    Elyse Bearden is the unfulfilled wife of a successful North Carolina dentist with an adorable daughter and a nice disposable income that allows her to pursue her “art” throwing pots. On a trip back from Phoenix, she switches her seat as a favor to another passenger and sits next to Gerry, a successful Boston businessman who proceeds to talk, then to flirt, and then to play tonsil hockey in an airport chapel during a flight change. Elyse is unhappy with her life and has a husband who neglects her. She eventually falls into bed with Gerry and the rest of the story is taken up with her once monthly trips to hook up with him in locations around the country while she becomes kinkier in their relationship in an attempt to keep her passion alive then proceeds to tell herself that everything will be fine if she is only looking for happiness without hurting anyone else.

    Ms. Wright did a smart thing in making Elyse's husband Phil a likable, decent man, a good father and good provider but a man she simply did not love. Gerry as a character doesn't work for me; I don’t find their relationship believable. He just doesn’t seem to fit into the plot he seems someone that Elyse could easily have replaced with something battery operated that doesn't involve adultery. The ending itself is not very believable and seems totally out of character for Phil.

    Elyse's girlfriends, members of her book club, were a varied bunch, each one an individual in her own way, from best friend Kelly, to the "perfect" pastor's wife Nancy, to recently divorced Lynn, to sweet Belinda. While the obvious love interest in the book is Gerry - - I felt that the really best story in the book was the close friendship between Elyse and BFF Kelly. These two were friends that truly loved each other, that depended on each other stuck together through thick and thin. They had a real understanding of each other that neither woman shared with any other person in the book. It was a very welcome diversion.

    Despite the subject matter of Love in Mid Air (because adultery is hardly a fun subject), I enjoyed the book. The story was relatively sad - - a woman who felt trapped in a marriage that everyone else considered successful and happy, and a husband who believes everything to be fine and can't grasp the dismal situation his marriage is in.

    For the more conservative readers, this book may be a bit too much to handle. There is the obvious adultery, and there are a few sexual situations and strong language. Love in Mid Air is, however, a perfect read for a book club as there are so many debatable issues that would spark conversation for hours. Is any adultery forgivable? Is Elyse a bad person? Is Gerry? Is Phil? Why would Phil not question Elyse flying around every month? Why would her best friend be so enabling of her behavior? Why join a church if you don't really b

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Not Likely, not likeable

    I should have known better than to pick up a book like this. A protagonist who reached her social and emotional peak as a high school cheerleader, Elyse never pauses to think that she may play a part in her unhappiness. Perhaps Elyse will show some capacity to grow since she proclaims herself an "intellectual." After the first several references to "me and Kelly" and the shouting of memorized lines from classic literature that theory is blown.

    I could not find any redeeming value in the struggles of Elyse and her "friends." It's not that the struggle isn't familiar, it's the characters' unwillingness to examine anything in their lives that I found unappealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Highly Recommend!

    Great read! Can't wait for her next book to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    WOMEN'S FICTION SET IN MODERN DAY!

    LOVE IN MID AIR by Kim Wright is a Women's Fiction set in modern day Charlotte, NC. This is Mrs. Wright's first novel. It is well written with details and depth. It has twists, turns, friendship, marriage, self realization, love, infidality, sex and freedom. The characters are easy to follow. Elyse, meets a guy(Gerry) on a flight from Phoenix on her way home. Her marriage of eight years has become stall and she wants out. They embark on an affair,Gerry, who is also marriedfinds Elyse desirable, funny, sexy, cute and all the things her husband sames to have forgotten. Elyse takes a leap of faith and decides to find happiness and follow her own path. Her friends in a book club begins to question their own decisions above love, marriage,sex and their freedom. Although, this story is well written, the characters are interesting I did not care for the story line of "modern day marriage" because I personnally believe marriage is still institution. This book was received for review from the author and details can be found at Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy, fun, sexy read!

    If your married, every been married and would enjoy reading about a woman who is not in love with her husband, has an affair, lives in a small-town community, this is the book for you. A great plane book, beach book or just a good story that's easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Universal themes

    There is something both liberating and frightening about this book. It is very well-written, with exceptional plot and character development, and the subject matter is anything but trite. The reason this book was a difficult read for me is that I could see people I know in its shadows. In fact, I have been the person who has, on several occasions, watched someone she cares for make it through the destruction of a loveless marriage. I have seen firsthand the consequences of affairs and betrayal; of two people falling out of love; of the mild madness that settles upon overwhelmed, overworked, undervalued women. The fact that Elyse and her band of friends are middle class suburbanites brings this story even closer to home, since this is my circle of friends. We laugh, we cry; we complain about our husbands and our kids, but we never come right out and say that we feel claustrophobic in our lives. I think every mom, working outside the home or not, has felt the panicky suffocation of too much to do, too few hours in the day, and not enough of whatever it is that makes us more than "just a mom," or "just a wife." As women, we give ourselves over to our families, beginning with our husbands, trying to fit into a mold of what we think they need, and continuing with our children, destroying our bodies to give them life. We put ourselves last in every aspect of life, and over time, our relationships can fray. While this isn't necessarily the central theme in the book, Wright's ability to piant this into the background of the story creates depth and empathy in the story. What this story does is move beyond the overwhelming life of a mom, into the rarely visited, but no less prolific, life of a dissatisfied wife. Interestingly enough, Elyse doesn't mind being a mom - she doesn't use her daughter as a pawn or excuse, and she doesn't complain about the responsibility. I love that both Elyse and her husband, Phil, are such good and devoted parents; it brings balance, and tells the reader that the problem does, in fact, lie in their dysfunction as a couple. Wright uses Gerry as the vehicle, the spark that lights the fire under Elyse, spurring her to move beyond simply existing. I like that Wright leaves the ending so open; that Elyse has no illusions or delusions of the nature of her relationship with Gerry, and that she is content with this as it is. I also like the fact that Elyse does not move directly from one dysfunctional relationship into another - too often, I've seen real-life examples of this co-dependency, and its consequesnces. Namely, people simply end up with the same type of person, in the same type of life, with the same type of problems that they left. Instead, Wright implies that Elyse is evolving into a new person; that she is stretching and growing, and hopefully, improving. The friendships between the four women is also true-to-life, from what I've seen of people in the world. For the most part, the relationship between the four as a whole is somewhat superficial. In pairs, however, the friendship is deep and meaningful - each individual has a "BFF" with whom she has bonded, and with whom she shares and relies upon more than she does the group as a whole. I think Wright truly understands the nature of women - we are strong and somewhat self-reliant, but we all need that one friend who is there for us, regardless. Very well-written story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Loved it

    I was searching for a book to escape inside for a few days and this fit the mould perfectly. It is well written and not cliched as books of this genre often are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BEAUTIFUL DEBUT NOVEL!

    Marriage is complicated. And Kim Wright writes about it beautifully in her debut novel LOVE IN MID AIR. Elyse Bearden's marriage is already in trouble when she meets a handsome stranger on her flight home from Arizona. Her husband, a doting father to their young daughter but inattentive husband, has been communicating with her via post-it not for far too long and seems content with having sex in the kiss-less "X" position once a week. So it's not surprising when she starts a torrid affair with the man she met in row 29 to try to recapture the excitement she feels is sorely missing from her marriage and her life in general.

    As some of her closest friends begin to realize that their seemingly harmless weekly banter about unhappy marriages has gone to a whole new level for Elyse, it stirs up emotions in each one of them that they'd rather not deal with. Because it's one thing to be unhappy, but it's a whole other thing to actually do something about it. Wright does a beautiful job questioning whether a marriage can only be successful if both parties embrace mediocrity and asks what truly defines happiness-and do parents even have a right to try to find it?

    While the premise of LOVE IN MID AIR may sound familiar, what makes it so compelling is Wright's subtle yet intense writing, which may make the reader both uncomfortable and intrigued at the same time. Wright navigates Elyse's everyday life and relationships with her church book club with such authenticity that you'll be thinking about these characters long after you've finished. A must read for any wife or mother, Wright's genius commentary is not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2