Customer Reviews for

Love in Mid Air

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

TRUE LIFE MORE THAN A FAIRY TALE!

Elyse felt trapped in a marriage that everyone else considered successful and happy. She isn't one who just jumps into something without thinking, however, she meets a man on an airplane and this one single conversation has changed her forever. Gerry convinces Elyse tha...
Elyse felt trapped in a marriage that everyone else considered successful and happy. She isn't one who just jumps into something without thinking, however, she meets a man on an airplane and this one single conversation has changed her forever. Gerry convinces Elyse that her marriage has gone stale and has always been stale. Elyse and Kelly are true blue friends who depend on each other for the ultimate understanding and devotion. The struggle with the search for fulfillment and happiness is more true to life than a fairy tale, which is my choice of a good read.

posted by SHASTALOVE on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very hard book to get into.

LOVE in MID AIR is full of a woman's story, and nothing else. There is barely any dialogue, and following the characters was a challenge in itself. I wish this amazing love scene with Jerry lasted more then 3 pages, and more then 4 words said to each other. It was painf...
LOVE in MID AIR is full of a woman's story, and nothing else. There is barely any dialogue, and following the characters was a challenge in itself. I wish this amazing love scene with Jerry lasted more then 3 pages, and more then 4 words said to each other. It was painfully hard to finish this book, and to be honest, i wish i never started.

posted by wheeze on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Literary Grand Slam

    If this debut work is any indication, she is looking at a successful career as a writer because this book is a literary grand slam.

    From the first page, I was hooked. Hooked on Ms. Wright's writing style, hooked on the story and hooked on the characters. I literally snuck reading in whenever I could, so anxious was I to find out what was going on in Elyse's world, putting off sleep and household chores to read.

    Elyse was a complex character. On the one hand, I liked her and felt for her predicament. On the other, she is nothing like me and I sometimes wanted to beat my head on the wall in frustration. Ms. Wright did a smart thing in making Elyse's husband Phil a likable, decent man, a good father and good provider but a man she simply did not, and could not, love.

    Elyse's girlfriends, members of her book club, were a wonderfully varied bunch, each one an individual in her own way, from best friend Kelly, to the "perfect" pastor's wife Nancy, to recently divorced and recently outcast Lynn, to sweet and somewhat left in the shadows Belinda. So vivid were these characters I could actually visualize them and hear them talking as I read the book. Ms. Wright has proven herself to have an excellent ear for dialogue and none of the conversations in Love in Mid Air sound scripted or pretentious. You could be listening to your own girlfriends while thumbing through these pages.

    While the seemingly obvious love interest in the book would be Gerry - - the man who convinces Elyse that her marriage has gone stale, or always been stale - - I felt that the real love story in the book was the friendship between Elyse and Kelly. These two were friends that truly loved each other, that depended on each other through thick and thin. They had a real understanding of each other that neither woman shared with any other person in the book. It was a welcome diversion to have two such devoted people, with their individual flaws, who weren't a romantic couple.

    Despite the subject matter of Love in Mid Air (because adultery would hardly be a fun subject), I thoroughly enjoyed the book. In fact, I didn't realize until I had finished the book that the story was relatively sad - - a woman who felt trapped in a marriage that everyone else considered successful and happy, and a husband who believes everything to be fine and can't grasp the seriousness of his marital situation.

    For the more conservative readers, this book may be a bit too much to handle. There is the obvious adultery, and there is a smattering of sexual situations and strong language. This is definitely not a book for kids. Love in Mid Air is, however, a perfect read for a book club as there are so many debatable discussions and issues that would spark conversation for hours.

    I would highly recommend Love in Mid Air to anyone looking for a read that will get your mental juices flowing and really make you think. Is any affair forgiveable? Is Elyse a bad person? Is Gerry?

    Love in Mid Air isn't your typical love triangle story - - it sets the classic love story on its ear. Elyse may not be an easy character to root for in some cases and the same could be true for Phil, for Gerry or for any of the characters in the book. But it's a story that will have you quickly turning pages, staying up into the night to finish it and it will remain with you after you turn the last page. While I found the ending debateably happy, I was satisfied with

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    WOMEN'S FICTION SET IN MODERN DAY!

    LOVE IN MID AIR by Kim Wright is a Women's Fiction set in modern day Charlotte, NC. This is Mrs. Wright's first novel. It is well written with details and depth. It has twists, turns, friendship, marriage, self realization, love, infidality, sex and freedom. The characters are easy to follow. Elyse, meets a guy(Gerry) on a flight from Phoenix on her way home. Her marriage of eight years has become stall and she wants out. They embark on an affair,Gerry, who is also marriedfinds Elyse desirable, funny, sexy, cute and all the things her husband sames to have forgotten. Elyse takes a leap of faith and decides to find happiness and follow her own path. Her friends in a book club begins to question their own decisions above love, marriage,sex and their freedom. Although, this story is well written, the characters are interesting I did not care for the story line of "modern day marriage" because I personnally believe marriage is still institution. This book was received for review from the author and details can be found at Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy, fun, sexy read!

    If your married, every been married and would enjoy reading about a woman who is not in love with her husband, has an affair, lives in a small-town community, this is the book for you. A great plane book, beach book or just a good story that's easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Universal themes

    There is something both liberating and frightening about this book. It is very well-written, with exceptional plot and character development, and the subject matter is anything but trite. The reason this book was a difficult read for me is that I could see people I know in its shadows. In fact, I have been the person who has, on several occasions, watched someone she cares for make it through the destruction of a loveless marriage. I have seen firsthand the consequences of affairs and betrayal; of two people falling out of love; of the mild madness that settles upon overwhelmed, overworked, undervalued women. The fact that Elyse and her band of friends are middle class suburbanites brings this story even closer to home, since this is my circle of friends. We laugh, we cry; we complain about our husbands and our kids, but we never come right out and say that we feel claustrophobic in our lives. I think every mom, working outside the home or not, has felt the panicky suffocation of too much to do, too few hours in the day, and not enough of whatever it is that makes us more than "just a mom," or "just a wife." As women, we give ourselves over to our families, beginning with our husbands, trying to fit into a mold of what we think they need, and continuing with our children, destroying our bodies to give them life. We put ourselves last in every aspect of life, and over time, our relationships can fray. While this isn't necessarily the central theme in the book, Wright's ability to piant this into the background of the story creates depth and empathy in the story. What this story does is move beyond the overwhelming life of a mom, into the rarely visited, but no less prolific, life of a dissatisfied wife. Interestingly enough, Elyse doesn't mind being a mom - she doesn't use her daughter as a pawn or excuse, and she doesn't complain about the responsibility. I love that both Elyse and her husband, Phil, are such good and devoted parents; it brings balance, and tells the reader that the problem does, in fact, lie in their dysfunction as a couple. Wright uses Gerry as the vehicle, the spark that lights the fire under Elyse, spurring her to move beyond simply existing. I like that Wright leaves the ending so open; that Elyse has no illusions or delusions of the nature of her relationship with Gerry, and that she is content with this as it is. I also like the fact that Elyse does not move directly from one dysfunctional relationship into another - too often, I've seen real-life examples of this co-dependency, and its consequesnces. Namely, people simply end up with the same type of person, in the same type of life, with the same type of problems that they left. Instead, Wright implies that Elyse is evolving into a new person; that she is stretching and growing, and hopefully, improving. The friendships between the four women is also true-to-life, from what I've seen of people in the world. For the most part, the relationship between the four as a whole is somewhat superficial. In pairs, however, the friendship is deep and meaningful - each individual has a "BFF" with whom she has bonded, and with whom she shares and relies upon more than she does the group as a whole. I think Wright truly understands the nature of women - we are strong and somewhat self-reliant, but we all need that one friend who is there for us, regardless. Very well-written story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1