Customer Reviews for

Love in a Nutshell

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

For a Fun Time...Read: Love In A Nutshell!

This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that wo...
This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that would be amusing to know.

I am surprised by some of the other reviews that are not as flattering. I wonder what those particular readers wanted to do or accomplish by reading this style of book. When I choose to read a novel like this, my goal is to have a good time and enjoy a little escape. Love in a Nutshell provided me with a few hours of just that!

posted by 2Elizabeths on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Eh.

To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don'...
To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don't understand why some of the main character's reactions are made, and I'm frustrated enough to leave my first disappointed review ever. I paid too much for this.

posted by sparkle_lily on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    For a Fun Time...Read: Love In A Nutshell!

    This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that would be amusing to know.

    I am surprised by some of the other reviews that are not as flattering. I wonder what those particular readers wanted to do or accomplish by reading this style of book. When I choose to read a novel like this, my goal is to have a good time and enjoy a little escape. Love in a Nutshell provided me with a few hours of just that!

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Eh.

    To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don't understand why some of the main character's reactions are made, and I'm frustrated enough to leave my first disappointed review ever. I paid too much for this.

    23 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Extremely disappointing.

    My mother and I got this as an audio book to listen to on a road trip. We figured that it would be a good, lighthearted book to listen to on our way home. However, we were very disappointed by this book. The book begins with the premise of the main character trying to help a man figure out who is sabotaging his business, and meanwhile the two find themselves falling in love. I thought this was a pretty good premise, but the book ends up paying very little attention to the sabotage plotline, while focusing mainly on mundane interactions between the main character and her love interest. The focus on the love interest would not have been such a bad thing, except for the fact that the characters had NO chemistry and were extremely stiff. I expect all romance novels to have some level of cheesiness, but this one went above and beyond, to the point of being groan-worthy. All in all, i would never recommend this book to anyone.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Fun

    This is a fun book! It allowed to escape from all the serious that surround us everyday Im not sure what the other reviewers wanted , but I got what I wanted out of the book FUN and JOY!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Not what you expect

    Not up to Evanovich standards, but a cute quick read.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Delightfully entertaining

    Was a bit skeptical about this book since I had not heard of the other author who cowrote, but I was pleasantly suprised by how much I enjoyed it. I number of times it actually made me laugh out loud. Though others were right about the story needing a better flow it was still an excellently entertaining read that I would recommend to any loyal Evanovich reader. Though I do think it would be better to read some of her others first so you understand or better appreciate the writing style.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Overpaid!

    Wish I could return this book! Very disjointed and the characters have no chemistry. If you must buy this book because it is a Janet Evanovich wait until it is cheaper. The only thing I like is it takes place on the shores of my home state and in my favorite places to vacation...Traverse City.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    disappointed. A stupid book

    I love Janet Evanovich and her Stephanie Plum series, but I thought this book was really stupid. There was a touch of an attempt to sound funny like the SP novels, but it did not work. The plot was dumb and pretty much predictable. I thought this book was a waste of money.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Worst read

    Dido to "Suckish"!

    7 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun!

    Great fun! Janet's books are always laugh out loud entertaining! This is another exciting, fun-filled romantic suspense with a little detective work thrown in. Will not disappoint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Funny, true to life story line

    Love this story, especially the sunday night dinner conversation. Would love to read more.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book was a disappiintment and a waste of money. The story line was immature and I found it rather boring.
    I think Janet Evanovich should stick to her Stephanie Plum series which I absolutely love. There is fun and adventure in all of those books with a lot of laughs.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Really?

    Did Evanovich really write this? It is nothing like her other books. The plot is blah and the dialogues are thorouly predictable. I have known high school students who write better.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    her worst ever and a COMPLETE waste of money

    I usually love or at least giggle a bit at Evonivich's work but this was dreadful. I thought the characters were one dimensional and the plot too disjointed. My main gripe is that Kate and Matt had no substance. I couldn't find it in myself to even CARE what happened to them. The plot was a great premise but the writing didn't carry it off. It was just too shallow... there was no substance. If you want to read it anyway, go to the library and save your hard earned cash.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Very confused-- Very confused

    Hey people with the whole worrior series chatting thing, it is annoyinh. I thought this was reviews of books, not some chatting website, and besides people can read those. Keep it to the warrior books, or on a diffrent website. Please? I like reading reviews, but not other peoples conversations. You could even make some money by setting up a warriors rpg. Like the chatting idea, but not here. Thanks for reading my near endless rant.:)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Love in a nutshell

    Great book and is so funny so far. Kate is crazy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Glad I got my copy at the library!

    It's a nice, enjoyable book, but if Janet Evanovich wrote it, she was way off her game. The plot had potential, as did the characters, but every time I thought the plot was going to get juicier or the characters more dimensional...nothing. I have read everything Janet has written or co-wrote, and this is not up to par. If you can get a copy at the library, have at it. Her co-authored books with Charlotte Hughes are much more entertaining.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book. It was a quick read that allowed me to escape the stress of day to day life. .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Easy read

    I could not put this book down. It was an easy and quick read. I would recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17