BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love in a Nutshell

Average Rating 4
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

For a Fun Time...Read: Love In A Nutshell!

This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that wo...
This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that would be amusing to know.

I am surprised by some of the other reviews that are not as flattering. I wonder what those particular readers wanted to do or accomplish by reading this style of book. When I choose to read a novel like this, my goal is to have a good time and enjoy a little escape. Love in a Nutshell provided me with a few hours of just that!

posted by 2Elizabeths on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Eh.

To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don'...
To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don't understand why some of the main character's reactions are made, and I'm frustrated enough to leave my first disappointed review ever. I paid too much for this.

posted by sparkle_lily on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Extremely disappointing.

    My mother and I got this as an audio book to listen to on a road trip. We figured that it would be a good, lighthearted book to listen to on our way home. However, we were very disappointed by this book. The book begins with the premise of the main character trying to help a man figure out who is sabotaging his business, and meanwhile the two find themselves falling in love. I thought this was a pretty good premise, but the book ends up paying very little attention to the sabotage plotline, while focusing mainly on mundane interactions between the main character and her love interest. The focus on the love interest would not have been such a bad thing, except for the fact that the characters had NO chemistry and were extremely stiff. I expect all romance novels to have some level of cheesiness, but this one went above and beyond, to the point of being groan-worthy. All in all, i would never recommend this book to anyone.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Overpaid!

    Wish I could return this book! Very disjointed and the characters have no chemistry. If you must buy this book because it is a Janet Evanovich wait until it is cheaper. The only thing I like is it takes place on the shores of my home state and in my favorite places to vacation...Traverse City.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Worst read

    Dido to "Suckish"!

    7 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book was a disappiintment and a waste of money. The story line was immature and I found it rather boring.
    I think Janet Evanovich should stick to her Stephanie Plum series which I absolutely love. There is fun and adventure in all of those books with a lot of laughs.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Really?

    Did Evanovich really write this? It is nothing like her other books. The plot is blah and the dialogues are thorouly predictable. I have known high school students who write better.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    her worst ever and a COMPLETE waste of money

    I usually love or at least giggle a bit at Evonivich's work but this was dreadful. I thought the characters were one dimensional and the plot too disjointed. My main gripe is that Kate and Matt had no substance. I couldn't find it in myself to even CARE what happened to them. The plot was a great premise but the writing didn't carry it off. It was just too shallow... there was no substance. If you want to read it anyway, go to the library and save your hard earned cash.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Very confused-- Very confused

    Hey people with the whole worrior series chatting thing, it is annoyinh. I thought this was reviews of books, not some chatting website, and besides people can read those. Keep it to the warrior books, or on a diffrent website. Please? I like reading reviews, but not other peoples conversations. You could even make some money by setting up a warriors rpg. Like the chatting idea, but not here. Thanks for reading my near endless rant.:)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Hated this book

    Bad

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    From mrs.love

    This book is very ery boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Terribly diss appointing

    Sorry I wasted my hard earned money on this read maybe the next time Janet will watch what she attaches her name to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Very weak effort. The authors apparently used a romance fiction

    Very weak effort. The authors apparently used a romance fiction fill-in-the-blank template. Junk like this is what makes "Fifty Shades" seem like literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    W

    Did not finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Stella

    Thanks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Not Her Best

    I bought this because of Janet Evanovich. Love her other books. This seemed like it was written by someone else; a young kid. Sorry, I don't recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Alice

    Come on princess

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I hate it

    Enter

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Hunyer

    I KNEW I should have killed her!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Love in a nutshell

    Hated it so much wish it was never published

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    I hate it sexy

    Qla

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    boring...

    this book went on and on to nowhere. I couldn't even finish it..Yuck...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2