Customer Reviews for

Love in a Nutshell

Average Rating 4
( 322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

For a Fun Time...Read: Love In A Nutshell!

This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that wo...
This book was a lot of fun! I have read 23+ books by Janet, including all of the Plum series, and I have really enjoyed them. These novels are purely for entertainment purposes, styled as romantic comedy mysteries that are well written with adorable characters that would be amusing to know.

I am surprised by some of the other reviews that are not as flattering. I wonder what those particular readers wanted to do or accomplish by reading this style of book. When I choose to read a novel like this, my goal is to have a good time and enjoy a little escape. Love in a Nutshell provided me with a few hours of just that!

posted by 2Elizabeths on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Eh.

To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don'...
To be fair, I have not completed this book (therefore, the 3 stars and not 2 or 1), but it is a chore to read mid-way through. I usually love Evanovich through her own work or collaborations, but this much anticipated book seems choppy and disjointed in places. I don't understand why some of the main character's reactions are made, and I'm frustrated enough to leave my first disappointed review ever. I paid too much for this.

posted by sparkle_lily on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Just for fun reading

    Janet Evanovich is a just for fun writer and this is another just for fun book. While it's nothing like her Stephanie Plum character with its East coast flavor , I like the book as it's situated in Michigan in towns and places that have some recognition and the people are very midwest. I enjoyed it and recommend it when you don't want to do any more than relax

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    A fun read.

    Funny, quirky. I really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Would definately recommend

    Great read. Light and easy....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Great

    typical Evanovich light mystery with romance - LOL moments too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Love in a Nutshell

    Loved it! Loved it! As always this is one of those books you don't want to put down. Janet has a way of writing that does this to everyone who reads her books. I just can't get enough of her books. When I finish one I need to have another. Wish I had her talent for writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Recommend

    Probably not my favorite Janet E book, but still a good book and a quick read. I felt the end was a little abrupt. I knew I was getting close to the end, but wasn't seeing a resolution. Then all of a sudden, I was at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An almost worthy piece of fluff.

    A cutesy love story with an ounce of half-effort mystery for substance. It wasn't awful, but there is nothing to recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Cute & fun book to read!

    Entertaining and light reading, which was what I was looking for at the time. The main character gets into just enough trouble to make it fun & interesting. I understand the authors are in the process of writing a follow up to this and I plan to read that as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Fun Read

    This was a fun, light hearted read that had you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Fun read

    If you read the Stephanie Plum series and enjoyed them you I'll enjoy this book .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Great fun!

    Another winner from Janet Evanovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Entertaining!

    Fun, Cute, Fast read... if you're looking for something light and easy, definitely worth it! My husband is also a beer geek, so I enjoyed that aspect as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    humor

    this was a fun book. id like to have friends like these characters, could be a goodtime. plus man was a hunk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Fun Book

    I enjoyed this book, it was a light read that kept my attention

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Good book

    Of course it's a rom-com but in book form. Loved the characters. Main character is strong and you get caught up in the story. I read it in one day because I couldn't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    I have come to learn that Janet has some similarities in most of

    I have come to learn that Janet has some similarities in most of her stories. A girl, down on her luck, broke and single. With her newest novel Love in a Nutshell she keeps these similar themes as a newly divorced Kate, has moved back to her family home called "The Nutshell" she intends on restoring it and turning it into a bed and breakfast.
    Without any money to do repairs and the added frustration that she only has 4 months to restore it and pay current the landlord's fees, she turns to the local bar owner Matt, for a job. It so happens that Matt is currently trying to figure out who is trying to sabotage his business, so after some determined arguing from Kate, he agrees to higher her with the condition that if she finds out who is behind the incidents that she will get the $20, 000 bonus.
    As Kate is trying to make friends at work and figure out who does what around there, Matt and his family and other business dealings are introduced to us as well. We get to see each of their personalities with some humor and take interest in their lives and what they are going through. In my opinion Matt's character stood out the most in this story. He is a level headed businessman that also has heart and cares for others. He reminded me a lot of Sam Merlot from the Sookie Stackhouse series.
    Kate on the other hand seems so involved in everything going on around her, playing detective, dealing with her divorce and money issues that for the majority of the book the real mystery and detective work is really downplayed. When the story really starts rolling and things begin happening is really where all the fun is and Kate gets herself into some funny, sad and dangerous situations. I highly enjoyed that in the audiobook version that her humor and personality really came through with the narrator, as well as for Matt. Although I'm still going to admit I found his side of the story more interesting.
    The audio book is told from both characters (Matt and Kate) perspectives, and I really enjoyed the personalities that came through listening to the audio. Kate comes across as being really unsure of what her future holds, but for the next four months, she is going to fight tooth and nail to show that she can accomplish the restoration of the Nutshell. Matt on the other hand, has great family support, is really well off with several businesses and a even though somebody is out to sabotage him, has a lot of good friends.
    The relationship builds slowly between the two and when it does, there is really no sex or mature content in the book. It is a fun, light read with a fantastic climatic and dramatic ending.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yes, I'm a fan of the Stephanie Plum series and yes, I've listen

    Yes, I'm a fan of the Stephanie Plum series and yes, I've listened to many of them on CD, so it was a pleaseant surprise to hear this book narrated by Lorelei King, who also reads the Plum series. I like King's style of reading and appreciate the vocal changes she makes between characters. You know from the outset that Kate and Matt will become involved, despite Kate's many attempts to push Matt away. She is looking for the person who is sabotaging Matt's brewery business and in return, the cash Matt offers will help Kate restore her family home and make it into a B&B. One thing quite unbelievable: how concerned Kate is that her parents will find out she is living with Matt (platonically, for her safety). She is well into her adult years and should have no reason to explain her living arrangements to anyone. The plot in this book is fluffy and sweet, something to be read when you don't need something wearing you down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Josh tp breana

    If reqd this then go to "potatoes"

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Hated this book

    Bad

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Good

    Lots of fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17