Customer Reviews for

Love in the Time of Dragons (Light Dragons Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This first Light Dragons fantasy is an amusing lighthearted frolic

Tully Sullivan had her annual fugue too early this year. She is fortunate that kind Londoners looked after her while she slept away a month. Still somewhat rattled, she misses her beloved son Brom, but not her husband Gareth.

Tully understands magic exists as she...
Tully Sullivan had her annual fugue too early this year. She is fortunate that kind Londoners looked after her while she slept away a month. Still somewhat rattled, she misses her beloved son Brom, but not her husband Gareth.

Tully understands magic exists as she is an apprentice mage. However, even she is taken aback when she awakens from a fugue state surrounded by angry dragons; as everyone knows these beasts are mythical. However, her denial ends quickly when she learns they believe she is Ysolde de Boucher, the mate of the deadly black dragon Baltic. As his dragon spouse, she will be executed for his crimes against dragonkind and mankind. Tully has no time for execution as her son awaits her back in her realm. She figures step one is escape; step two is to beat the fiery snot out of her dragon mate wyvern the terrible Baltic; and the final step return to Brom. Instead she finds herself investigating crimes and Love in the Time of the Dragons.

This first Light Dragons fantasy is an amusing lighthearted frolic held together by a female who has no memory of ever being a dragon in her past lives. Tully the terrific makes the tale fresh and exciting, as she follows her steps only to run into one fiasco after another especially once she meets Baltic the bad. Fans of Kate MacAlister's Silver Dragons will not see chocolate in the same way while appreciating the escapades of heroic Tully as she wanders the Dragon landscape she believes she has only seen in her dreams.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Used to love her...

I was so confused in the beginning, even though I've read all of Katie MacAlister's novels (and mostly loved all of them). When I started to understand, things would get mixed up again, and then I was distracted by flat parody and immature jokes...

The blend of humor...
I was so confused in the beginning, even though I've read all of Katie MacAlister's novels (and mostly loved all of them). When I started to understand, things would get mixed up again, and then I was distracted by flat parody and immature jokes...

The blend of humor, romance, and plot in her previous novels enthralled me until I read all of them. But now...it feels like she is depending on cheap laughs and exclamation points. It makes all of the characters weak and, well, immature, so I no longer love the characters that I used to. I don't understand the characters change often, simply because the plot and character development are buried under homosexual-porn jokes, making the romance feel forced, most times.

I was so disappointed...I was looking forward to learning about Baltic. But hopefully the second in the series will be better. I just hope MacAlister lays off the exclamation points until she knows how to properly used them, because it feels like she time-traveled to sixth grade and wrote this novel. I know she has experience, and I know she's good, but it did not show here. Perhaps use subtlety instead of in-your-face!!!! jokes and you'll have me coming back for more.

Please, please...let the next one be better.

posted by TheBakedGoodies on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This first Light Dragons fantasy is an amusing lighthearted frolic

    Tully Sullivan had her annual fugue too early this year. She is fortunate that kind Londoners looked after her while she slept away a month. Still somewhat rattled, she misses her beloved son Brom, but not her husband Gareth.

    Tully understands magic exists as she is an apprentice mage. However, even she is taken aback when she awakens from a fugue state surrounded by angry dragons; as everyone knows these beasts are mythical. However, her denial ends quickly when she learns they believe she is Ysolde de Boucher, the mate of the deadly black dragon Baltic. As his dragon spouse, she will be executed for his crimes against dragonkind and mankind. Tully has no time for execution as her son awaits her back in her realm. She figures step one is escape; step two is to beat the fiery snot out of her dragon mate wyvern the terrible Baltic; and the final step return to Brom. Instead she finds herself investigating crimes and Love in the Time of the Dragons.

    This first Light Dragons fantasy is an amusing lighthearted frolic held together by a female who has no memory of ever being a dragon in her past lives. Tully the terrific makes the tale fresh and exciting, as she follows her steps only to run into one fiasco after another especially once she meets Baltic the bad. Fans of Kate MacAlister's Silver Dragons will not see chocolate in the same way while appreciating the escapades of heroic Tully as she wanders the Dragon landscape she believes she has only seen in her dreams.

    Harriet Klausner

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Katie has never been better!

    I was so anxious to get my hands on this book that I was literally waiting for the mail man when this book was released. I LOVED this dragon book. I did not think I would find a hero I would love more than my beloved Dark Ones (no pun intended), but with this book I did. Every character has many facets, and I love that Baltic and Ysolde, both the stuff of legends until now, are finally getting there story told. There were several parts of the story that did not sit well with me, like Brom, (who is this kid and where did he come from?) but I loved having all of the dragons and their mates together in the majority of this novel, and I was just about dying with laughter at darling Jim and his snappy little retorts and observations throughout the story. Ysolde's sexual fantasies, and Baltic's reactions had me hooting with laughter through most of the book. I adored this book and am anxiously waiting the next one. Well done Katie!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Used to love her...

    I was so confused in the beginning, even though I've read all of Katie MacAlister's novels (and mostly loved all of them). When I started to understand, things would get mixed up again, and then I was distracted by flat parody and immature jokes...

    The blend of humor, romance, and plot in her previous novels enthralled me until I read all of them. But now...it feels like she is depending on cheap laughs and exclamation points. It makes all of the characters weak and, well, immature, so I no longer love the characters that I used to. I don't understand the characters change often, simply because the plot and character development are buried under homosexual-porn jokes, making the romance feel forced, most times.

    I was so disappointed...I was looking forward to learning about Baltic. But hopefully the second in the series will be better. I just hope MacAlister lays off the exclamation points until she knows how to properly used them, because it feels like she time-traveled to sixth grade and wrote this novel. I know she has experience, and I know she's good, but it did not show here. Perhaps use subtlety instead of in-your-face!!!! jokes and you'll have me coming back for more.

    Please, please...let the next one be better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    Wow...

    This book had such potential, and sometimes MacAlister's amazing writing capabilities does show through. But her need for comic relief, constantly, just ruins the book totally. I felt like I was reading the work of some 13 year old girl who just didn't understand how to write in some parts, and others I couldn't believe that she'd ever written those horrible parts. This book was bipolar and the author couldn't decide whether she wanted it to be a farce or a serious book. There just wasn't a balance between humor and seriousness. It was honestly a waste of money, and I'm really angry. It wasn't good, it was mediocre.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting premise but...

    I'm not so sure about this one. Baltic has been portrayed as the big baddie for much of this series so to have there be a "he's just misunderstood" book kind of is an abrupt about face. But like Adrian in 'Sex, Lies and Vampires', I guess even the bad guy can just be good guy if you understand the circumstances.
    In this book I especially liked Tully's flashbacks to the past Ysolde/Baltic days and would have liked more of it. The pace of this book seemed too fast and Tully too accepting of her past life in too short of time. I hope as this series pans out that Tully and Baltic are fleshed out a lot more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    i hardly write reviews for books because what i wan't to say i can never put down on paper, but i had to try for this book. .....
    I looooooooooved it , i was laughing like a hyena on my ride to and from work, the story was witty and humorous,romantic. this is diffently a keeper to read over and over again. get the book or ebook you won't be sorry.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I loved this book! over the course of the novel I fell in love w

    I loved this book! over the course of the novel I fell in love with Ysolde and Baltic, they are my new favorite couple of the weyr. I have read all the dragon novels thus far and was excited to start this one.  I cant say that I enjoyed the ending much, but was surprised how stubborn and cold-hearted the other septs are.  The positive side is that I'm eager to start the next book in the series.  Ysolde and Baltic have this wonderful old world bond that ties them to their past lives.  Which, to me, makes their bond stronger than any of the other wyverns and their mates (especially Cyrene and Kostya, I do not, at all, care for May's twin I find her an annoyance when she insists on being involved in the weyr business when she isent even a mate) .  This book is another wonderful addition to the dragon series by Kaite MacAlister.
    Keep writing more dragon novels Katie! I love them :D !     

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars

    I have to admit that the whole first half of Love in the Time of Dragons confused the heck out of me and I almost put it down. Though this is the first book in the Light Dragon series it is not the first book in the vast and complex world Katie MacAlister has put together with these characters. Unless you do some major research like I ended up doing when I hit the middle of this book then I would very much suggest reading K.M.'s Aisling Grey: Gaurdian and Silver Dragons series before starting on this one or you might end up as lost as I did.

    The story transitioned from past to present, Tully to Ysolde, quite often and it was pretty choppy. You would finish one sentence and then in the next you were somewhere/someone else. Though after a while it wasn't so much of a surprise, it did take me out of the story for a moment to find my bearings. I enjoyed the character of Ysolde and though the Tully of today doesn't show a lot of her qualities I am hoping that she will slowly develop them in future installments as she ingrains herself more with her past life. Ysolde was brave and determined while Tully seems to be a bit flighty and lets others walk all over her. Though towards the end she does start to redeem herself in that quality by standing up for herself and those she loves. She was humorous however and a lot of her dialogue with Baltic was downright hilarious! I enjoyed Baltic as well. His character wasn't as developed as I felt it could be but I am hoping that that too will change in future installments and as we learn more about him. He is definitely a sexy man, er.dragon, who knows what he wants and goes after it.

    The secondary characters of Tully's son Brom and the demon dog Jim added another funny element to the overall story arc and helped push it along. There were a lot of introductions of characters though that again, if you aren't familiar with this world already is hard to keep up with. All the characters were quirky and interesting and by the end I did finally started to get the hang of this unique world K.M. has created, in fact I plan on getting the next book in the this series, The Unbearable Lightness of Dragons, this week.
    The plot was good with some interesting twists at the end and the suspense in the romance was well laid out. There were also a few sexy love scenes to keep lusty romance readers like myself happy and several drool worthy dragons to fantasize about, including the hero of the story. ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A little disappointed

    The story was great but the ending killed me. I hope things get resolved in the next book to my satisfaction. I loved the characters but there were a little to much comedy at times. I felt like saying "okay stop horsing around". Other than that it was a good story. I just wish I felt satisfied with the ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    HILARIOUS!! & SEXY!!!

    this book had me laughing the whole time, i loved it and i cant wait till the next one comes out. if you wanna read something sexy, but funny too, THEN THIS IS YOUR BOOK ;]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I like the book but not the ending

    I liked this book and thought it was funny. I was upset at the ending because there were too many unanswered questions. I am glad there is a second book and I hope it answers the questions this book failed to do. The characters were funny but there were plenty of sad moments also. I was mad at the decision made towards Baltic and Tully. I honestly wanted to scream at some of them. I did enjoy the book excpet for the rude ending. Hopefull the next book will make up for this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    WOW!

    Originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** This is a twisted tale of a woman who thinks she knows who she is and ends up finding out that the facts of her life are a lie and her true love is a monster.

    Tully is a wonderfully crafted character. She's warm, funny, and loyal, and has a knack for being the goose that lays the golden egg. Someone wants her to remain ignorant. Others demand she remember things that truly must come from a horror story and all Tully wants to do is get back to being an ordinary mom. Instead her mettle is tested when she slowly comes to terms with the truth of her life and has to battle mistrust, hate, diabolical machinations against her and the realization that she really does have a true love. Through it all she's a loving mom but even that relationship is a surprise for a reader. And I have to say, when she meets Baltic, things totally get interesting.

    I'm not sure what Baltic is. He's both good and bad and a whole lot of puzzle. He certainly loves Tully - that I never doubted. But dragon politics being what they are, the man is stubborn, arrogant, wily and totally hot. There's this scene where Tully tells him about one of her sexual fantasies that had me snickering. In fact, it's brought up again in a few well-timed places that kept me giggling and grinning from Baltic's reaction. Honest, that had to be one of the funniest moments in the entire book and Ms. MacAlister knows how to effectively milk a joke for all it's worth and I enjoyed every moment.

    There are plot twists and turns that kept me riveted. New characters that fascinated and old ones that allowed for a feeling of continuity and community for readers and fans of Ms. MacAlister's dragon books.

    This book stands alone just fine and enjoyment does not require having read any previous books, but it sure wouldn't hurt.

    The big revelation creates more questions than answers for me and ends up being a perfect hook for the next book. There is no way I'm going to miss it because I've got major curiosity invested after this story. The happily ever after is bittersweet because their future isn't going to be all flowers and wind chimes. There's a wild storm coming and I can't even imagine how Ms. MacAlister is going to have these two lovers weather it, but I've got my ticket for the ride and I can't wait. Awesome story and a definite recommend from me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Really good read

    I love katie MacAlister. I've been reading the books about all the dragons I love Ashling Grey Series. But the novels of the silver Dragons for me felt a little flat. This book makes up for it. Great read I read it in about 5 hours. FANTASTIC. I cannot wait for the second one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Definitely Not a Feel Good Book and Kinda Disappointing.

    I was definitely not impressed by this book. The plot was rather thin and confusing as were the characters. Not an very original book with a disappointing ending. If you are looking for a feel good book than this is definitely not the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I really like this one!

    Great story, glad to see some of the questions being answered about Baltic! Must read previous books for this srory to really make any sence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Meh!

    If you found out you were a famous fire-breather, you’d be freaked out too.

    Tully Sullivan is just like any other suburban mom—unless you count the days every year that she zones out and turns base metals in to gold. Those are weird.

    And now she’s woken up in a strange place surrounded by strange people who keep insisting they’re dragons—and that she’s one too. But not just any dragon. She’s Ysolde de Bouchier, a famed figure from dragon history.

    Tully can’t shape-shift or breathe fire, and she’s definitely not happy being sentenced to death for the misdeeds of a dragon mate she can’t remember. All Tully knows is that she wants her son back. So she’ll have to find a way to solve the crimes of a past she has no memory of living…

    Tully wakes up, away from home for over five weeks and within the care of people convinced she's someone she's not, especially someone who is a dragon! She struggles to remember her current life while being bombarded with memories/dreams of a past life and knows her two contrasting worlds could never lead to a good end. Thus, she must face some strange truths while trying to blend her past with her present/future.

    I'll just say it . . . I'm not a fan of Katie MaCalister. I think I decided to check this book out since it was new in a series and sounded somewhat intriguing (plus I needed a new audio-book for walks around the park on Sundays), but then I forget how much I thoroughly dislike MaCalister's characters - esp. her female leads! The majority of her characters are way too kooky for my taste (I mean, come on...a dog demon...seriously?) and too oddly comical (not in a good way) without any enjoyable substance. I never really get the humor in the books either, but I did finish this tale hoping it would get better and felt utterly let-down at the end. It was a total 'MEH' read for me. Honestly, I just felt so lost listening to the chapters with the characters silly reactions to certain life-changing events and their NON-reactions to others that it just left my flabbergasted overall. Also, I had no emotional connection/bond with anyone pivotal figure in the story since the two protagonists were my least favorite people/dragon/whatever and many of the side-characters were just too irritating & peculiar (ex: son obsessed with mummification), so here's hoping more of you enjoy this book than I did.

    Likes: I had high hopes that the whole concept of 'mate forgets mate, mate meets mate again' would be more substantial and momentous in a book, but this story was just so mellow about it that it felt so unexceptional and shall I say it . . . 'blah'.

    Dislikes: Could Tully be more of an dull lead? She came off a so naive that I was truly shocked by many of her mannerisms and scatterbrained actions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I'm new to the paranormal romance stories, being a highland romance reader at heart. So what drew to me to this book was the author, Katie MacAlister. I'd read Men in Kilts and fell in love with the humor she weaves into her stories, besides the romance, action and mystery. Well this one did not disappoint and exceeded my expectation, particularly on the humor, although I do wish there was a bit more romance sustained throughout the story. The paranormal aspects were interesting and not too over the top. As I said, I have only just started reading paranormal so I did not know what to expect as what would make a good paranormal story. I like the way she writes strong female characters and surrounds them with many other interesting characters as well. And Baltic, {sigh},I loved his struggle with his innate caveman tendencies set in a modern world where he just had to get over it to keep his 'mate' Tully. But my most favorite character in this book was 'Jim', the demon dog. He just made this story even more interesting. I could not stop laughing aloud at the things he would come out with. He has to be the king of the one-liners, easily. For Jim alone, this was well worth the read. Tully's son Brom had some interesting hobbies and Tully's character as Mom does a good job at keeping them in perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Original Characters

    I found this book a bit confusing. The way the main character moved back and forth from her past life memories and the present was hard to follow. That being said, I did enjoy the book. I found Baltic a completely original male lead. His manor of speaking made me laugh. Brom and Jim were both curiously endearing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Baltic!

    I'm a huge fan of ALL of Katie MacAlister's books - especially the Dragon books. That being said, I wasn't too sure about this new group of dragons - and Baltic - he was a villian - I expected to not like this book as much as the Drake novels. Boy was I wrong. I love the character of Baltic! He is one of my favorite characters now. I recommend this book. But you need to read the other books to get the rather long back story - and be able to get the most out of the plot. Fortunately for new readers, you are going to LOVE all these dragon books. They are funny, interesting and sexy. A great escapist read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love her books

    I couldn't put this one down. Had me cracking up from start to finish & in the end, I was rooting for Baltic, the misunderstood dragon. can't wait for the continuation of the Light Dragons' story......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12