Customer Reviews for

A Love of Her Own (Heart of the West Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Love of Her Own by Maggie Brendan

A Love of Her Own
by
Maggie Bredan

from back of book:
Still cautious after a broken engagement, April McBride fully intends to guard her heart when she travels to Lewistown, Montana, to attend her brother's wedding. One look around the small mining town con...
A Love of Her Own
by
Maggie Bredan

from back of book:
Still cautious after a broken engagement, April McBride fully intends to guard her heart when she travels to Lewistown, Montana, to attend her brother's wedding. One look around the small mining town convinces April that doing so won't be difficult-just a bunch of dusty shops, bad service, and ill-bred cowboys. But a run-in with horse trainer Wes Owen opens up vast possibilities for frustration, embarrassment, friendship, and....love?

Can April and Wes see past their differences to envision a future together? Or, are they destined to live the rest of their lives alone?

My Review:

April McBride is a spoiled daughter of a large rancher in Colorado and used to having everything handed to her. She loved horses and loved to ride in her blue jeans and boots. She didn't care what others though of her she wanted to do things her way.

Her parents had gone abroad when the news came that her brother Josh was getting married, so she set out on the train for the wedding that was taking place in Montana. She left and got part of the way then had to take a stage coach, she encounter a doctor, a woman with her baby and she didn't like either one. The stage coach had a broken wheel so they would have to wait until help came along. She talked the driver into letting her use on of the horses as she could not miss her brother's wedding. She changed into her levis and boots and left the others behind. She arrived in Billings with her hat and jeans on so everyone thought she was a man. April ran into the church where the wedding was going on just the way she was dressed and didn't have time to talk to her brother much before he left on his honeymoon.

April decided to wait in Billings, Montana until Josh came back and found out there were no rooms at the hotel for her and she was not used to doing anything for herself. She had to stay at a boarding house and even do her own washing!

She meet up with Wes at the boarding house and though he was a dirty looking cowboy.
But, how her mind changed at the time went on.

What kind of life did she live in this dirty town and what all did she find herself involved in? What will she be doing by the time her brother comes home?

I could just go on and on but I better not tell the entire story, the author may not like for me to give away everything.
This book was provided to me for review by Revell publishing and the Author.

posted by Edna66 on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Diverting, but predictable.

April McBride may be a spoiled rich girl with a life of ease, but she is passionate about horses. When she arrives in Lewistown, Montana, she finds Wes Owen training a horse and immediately objects to his method. Fortunately for Wes, April is nearly late for her brother...
April McBride may be a spoiled rich girl with a life of ease, but she is passionate about horses. When she arrives in Lewistown, Montana, she finds Wes Owen training a horse and immediately objects to his method. Fortunately for Wes, April is nearly late for her brother's wedding and must save further objections for a later time. The ensuing encounters between April and Wes are no less dramatic and confrontational. Strangely enough, April's feelings toward Wes move from frustration to intrigue. Will April look past the obvious differences between Wes and herself to find a common ground?

Normally, I absolutely love a well-written historical romance. However, A Love of Her Own by Maggie Brendan is what I would call an "okay" book. It was diverting enough, but overall, it was too predictable. I enjoyed the romantic moments of the book and April's transformation from spoiled child to kind young woman. However, I felt the story lacked authenticity. Some situations/things just seemed too convenient while others seemed downright strange. Unfortunately, I never really felt like the book grabbed me and drew me in. I recommend renting A Love of Her Own from the library before buying.

posted by Sneezybee23 on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Loved this book

    Brenden really redeemed the character of April McBride in this book. I really didnt like her in the first book in the seres and it was so awesome to see her redeem herself and blossom into a truly great person in this book. I really hope that the author would continue this series. I'd love to find out what happens to Louisa, Natalie, Marion, and Cynthia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Diverting, but predictable.

    April McBride may be a spoiled rich girl with a life of ease, but she is passionate about horses. When she arrives in Lewistown, Montana, she finds Wes Owen training a horse and immediately objects to his method. Fortunately for Wes, April is nearly late for her brother's wedding and must save further objections for a later time. The ensuing encounters between April and Wes are no less dramatic and confrontational. Strangely enough, April's feelings toward Wes move from frustration to intrigue. Will April look past the obvious differences between Wes and herself to find a common ground?

    Normally, I absolutely love a well-written historical romance. However, A Love of Her Own by Maggie Brendan is what I would call an "okay" book. It was diverting enough, but overall, it was too predictable. I enjoyed the romantic moments of the book and April's transformation from spoiled child to kind young woman. However, I felt the story lacked authenticity. Some situations/things just seemed too convenient while others seemed downright strange. Unfortunately, I never really felt like the book grabbed me and drew me in. I recommend renting A Love of Her Own from the library before buying.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simple, Easy, and Great Read

    This book was simply a wonderful simple read. The author uses language to make you feel that you are right there in Montana with all the characters. I could even taste the dust and feel the cool weather.
    This book dealt with some issues of the heart. It made me think about my own, whether I'm a giver or a taker. Although, not a serious book - it still was one that was thought provoking.
    I would definitely recommend this book for a weekend read or one for a road trip. I wouldn't mind reading more of Maggie Brendan.
    Blessings to you! You are loved!
    "Available June 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."
    Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    A Love of Her Own by Maggie Brendan

    A Love of Her Own
    by
    Maggie Bredan

    from back of book:
    Still cautious after a broken engagement, April McBride fully intends to guard her heart when she travels to Lewistown, Montana, to attend her brother's wedding. One look around the small mining town convinces April that doing so won't be difficult-just a bunch of dusty shops, bad service, and ill-bred cowboys. But a run-in with horse trainer Wes Owen opens up vast possibilities for frustration, embarrassment, friendship, and....love?

    Can April and Wes see past their differences to envision a future together? Or, are they destined to live the rest of their lives alone?

    My Review:

    April McBride is a spoiled daughter of a large rancher in Colorado and used to having everything handed to her. She loved horses and loved to ride in her blue jeans and boots. She didn't care what others though of her she wanted to do things her way.

    Her parents had gone abroad when the news came that her brother Josh was getting married, so she set out on the train for the wedding that was taking place in Montana. She left and got part of the way then had to take a stage coach, she encounter a doctor, a woman with her baby and she didn't like either one. The stage coach had a broken wheel so they would have to wait until help came along. She talked the driver into letting her use on of the horses as she could not miss her brother's wedding. She changed into her levis and boots and left the others behind. She arrived in Billings with her hat and jeans on so everyone thought she was a man. April ran into the church where the wedding was going on just the way she was dressed and didn't have time to talk to her brother much before he left on his honeymoon.

    April decided to wait in Billings, Montana until Josh came back and found out there were no rooms at the hotel for her and she was not used to doing anything for herself. She had to stay at a boarding house and even do her own washing!

    She meet up with Wes at the boarding house and though he was a dirty looking cowboy.
    But, how her mind changed at the time went on.

    What kind of life did she live in this dirty town and what all did she find herself involved in? What will she be doing by the time her brother comes home?

    I could just go on and on but I better not tell the entire story, the author may not like for me to give away everything.
    This book was provided to me for review by Revell publishing and the Author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Loved loved loved!

    I have read the whole series! Descriptively written - you can almost smell the crisp Montana air, hear the birds, imagine the beauty! The story moves along and keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    A love of her own

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This was a great addition to the series. I was really glad to see that April McBride changed after the first book! I really enjoy this series! I hope that this isn't the last! If there are more books in this series to come, I will be purchasing them on the nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    I have book 1 & 2 and couldn't wait to read this book. It was so good and made me laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Third of the series completes!

    This was an enjoyable and interesting read as 3rd of the series. I almost always enjoy learning more about the interesting characters that start the series. And this did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    WONDERFUL, DELIGHTFUL WESTERN LOVE STORY!

    A LOVE OF HER OWN by Maggie Brendan is a delightful Inspirational Historical Romance set in 1896 Lewistown, Montana.It is the third in the Heart Of The West series, but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with depth and detail. It has a gentle prairie romance,faith, friendship, adventure, intriguing details and lively,witty dialogue.The characters are charming, intriguing, and lively. The heroine, April, is difficult at times, hard-headed, stubborn, beautiful and used to getting her way. The hero, Wes, is handsome, rough, stubborn, and frustrated by April at times. They learn to trust each other and their feelings. April came to Montana for her brother, Josh's, wedding,and finds friendship, trust, and love along the way. Wes finds he is in love with April, from first seeing her, all battered with dirt and dust.This is a true Western, Inspirational love story. If you enjoy Inspirational Romance and Western intrigue you will enjoy this one. I would highly recommend this book. If you have not had a chance to read the other two in the series,( Book One No Place For A Lady and Book Two The Jewel Of His Heart), I would recommend reading these two also. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Revell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Best in the series

    I have read all of Maggie Brendan's books. This is my favorite in the series. It's funny and romantic and she has such wonderful descriptions. I look forward to more books by Brendan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Love Of Her Own Is A Fitting Conclusion To The Series

    Maggie Brendan in her new book, "A Love Of Her Own" Book Three in the Heart of the West series published by Revell concludes the series and brings us to Montana in 1896.

    April McBride receives an invitation from her brother, Josh, to attend his wedding to Juliana, the characters from the second book, The Jewel Of His Heart. I found that is was not necessary to have read the previous two books to enjoy this one even though the other characters are involved. Even though her parents are traveling abroad April decides that she must not miss her brother's wedding and that she will make the trip from their home in Colorado to where he is in Lewistown, Montana. This is not an easy thing as it will require a long train ride then a stagecoach journey and time is of the essence as the invitation was delayed in getting to her. Events occur that require April to finally take a horse into town wearing a man's shirt, jeans, cowboy hat and boots. No one pays her any attention as they think she is a man and she has no time to change and is forced to attend the wedding dressed like that.

    After the wedding she cannot take a room at the hotel as it is full and must room at the boarding house where she must, for the first time, do things like laundry and take care of herself. Up until this point April McBride has been a very spoiled young lady used to having everything handed to her. April also had her guards up on her heart as she had been wounded previously but then she meets Wes Owen.

    This book is more than just a great love story it is all about growing up and responsibility and how our attitudes affect others. Ms. Brendan needs to be commended on how she shows us the process of the change and growth in April instead of just telling us that she is changing. All the characters are likable and Ms. Brendan has a way of making the Old West very real so that we feel that we are walking the dusty streets or seeing the blue skies of Montana. I think I want to go and get the other books for myself and see what I missed.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station http://www.kingdomairwaves.org

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    "Available June 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Lovely Wooly West Yarn

    My Review:
    This was my first Maggie Brendan book. Sometimes it's fun to step into a series somewhere in the middle and see if you can figure out what's gone on before. I felt comfortable stepping into this story and didn't feel as though I'd missed too much to get a sense of the life of these characters. Maggie puts us in an uncomfortable place at the end of the nineteenth century on the American frontier. April McBride is a spoiled, headstrong woman who tends to make rash decisions and judgments. Sometimes it was hard to figure out what was behind her decisions. I had much more sympathy for Wes who was full of dreams and just trying to make a honest living.

    This prairie romance balances a love of things Western, from girls riding in jeans to the real pitfalls of stagecoach travails and rough travel conditions, to the necessity of dealing with soured people who need God in tangible ways. April has a lot to learn, if only she'll let her teachers in. Money and a life of privilege aren't always enough to get us what we want.

    Available June 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Lisa Lickel
    "What if" stories with a twist of grace
    Author of Meander Scar: a story of finding home, now available

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Love of Her Own

    I have become quite fond of Maggie Brendan's books and her newest book, A Love of Her Own has added to my fondness of her books. There are so many things to like about this book. First of all, I found it very relaxing. I like being taken back to places like Montana during the late 1800s. It provides a lovely backdrop to this story. The author has included a lot of details that make this story feel very real. It was also fun to see the same characters that were in the previous book, The Jewel of His Heart. Although, April's initial perception of Lewistown was quite different from Juliana's, if my memory serves me correctly.

    April was not the easiest character to like in the beginning. She was spoiled and selfish and did not care what others thought about her, but watching her character grow and change was fun to watch. I liked how April was written, her character was unique and despite her spoiled ways, I found myself rooting for her.

    Once again, Maggie Brendan's writing has left me with a happy feeling that I have come to expect from her books. I highly recommend A Love of Her Own or any of Maggie's books for that matter. I cannot wait to see what she writes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Terrific Sweet Romance!

    I'm a huge fan of edgy inspirational authors Julie Lessman and Deeanne Gist but when it comes to sweet romances Maggie Brendan is my "go to" author. Her writing style puts me in mind of Janette Oke and Tracie Peterson, whose work I read when I was introduced to Christian fiction.

    The Heart of the West series has been really enjoyable and this last book, A Love of Her Own is a perfect ending to the series. April, who we first met in No Place for a Lady is the heroine of this book. Somewhat of a spoiled brat, she's not very likable at first but as the story goes along she gets better. Ms. Brendan does a wonderful job in making April a heroine unlike any I've ever read about, that's for sure and in my opinion, the cover design folks did a great job capturing April to a T! Of course the romance is sweet and I just love the interaction between Wes and April. When two stubborn people get together you know there's chaos. You're bound to get a few chuckles out of this book, I know I did!

    If you're looking for a light read on a Sunday afternoon this book is a great choice. I recommend starting with Book 1, No Place For a Lady if you want to get to know the other characters but it's not completely necessary to understand this story. Heart of the West is a series to read for lovers of faith-filled western romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Great Book

    A Love of Her Own by Maggie Brendan
    This is another sweet and funny love story by Maggie Brendan with one of my favorite characters in the Heart of the West series, April McBride. April is rich, blonde, willowy and beautiful and sees the world revolving and her-and her only. There are some really clever, funny scenes with the romantic interest, Wes Owen, who we met in Book 2. He is an unlikely match for April, but as Ms Brendan develops his character throughout the story, we grow to love him and see that he is the perfect man to bring April to a Godly place of humility. Enjoy this book while sitting on the beach, or anywhere this summer. It will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    An Unforgettable Heroine

    Move over Scarlett O'Hara! Maggie Brendan treats readers to a spoiled, self-centered heroine whose comeuppance is a pure delight to read. In her strongest novel yet, Brendan gives us much more than a romance. We get to watch a whole cast of characters' lives change, all because of one woman who wouldn't let anything stop her from attending her brother's wedding. What fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2