Customer Reviews for

A Love of My Own

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Could do better

    I was disappointed in the lack of depth in this book. Give us more detail, a fuller sense of the characters, and less predictability. Not a good job describing the feelings of the people after 9/11. I couldn't connect with the characters or feel their emotions. I felt like I was reading, not immersed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    I love this book and its about time that Basil and Raymond start being honest about their feelings for one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Good Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Fanstastic!!!

    I liked this book alot, it was my first E. Lynn Harris book but it defintely wasnt my last!!!! Zola and Raymond were my favorite characters bcuz they seemed so real and their feeling were real too!!! But the sad thing is that the cute guys were all gay!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Engaging, but it does have a slow build up

    The book is fast paced, but the real meat of the story comes after you are well into the story. The story is one where the 2 main characters are searching for love and maybe in the wrong places. This book helps us to know that we can't choose love, love chooses us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    I couldn't get in to this book

    I tried to force myself to read this book because I would choose any other but this one. I thought the book was really slow and boring. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Student Book Lover

    This was a very slow read. I haven't read anything from Harris before and I am a little hesistant to give him another try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    not at all

    This book left me hanging at times and i did not enjoy reading it at all. i love e lynn harris' work, but this was not one of the best ones. i admit, i was stupid for picking up the book only because i liked the cover. Don't do it to yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    A least Favorite!!!

    I am putting my review out late because it was a slow, slow read. My mocha book club read this in September 03 and we really did not think this was his best work. It didn't have any spunk to it like his other books have. Usually his books just flow even if you haven't read any of the others and this one did not. He also had a lot of advertisements/commercials that drove us crazy. I believe he is trying to hard to cross-over to the heterosexual community to get more real men to read his books. He is a good writer and I will continue to read his work. Mocha plans on reading his memoir for our April book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Written via contractual obligation

    Like a lot of folks, I've read all of E. Lynn's books but I get the impression that this one was written because his contract obligated him to produce 'something'. This one had no life, drive or determination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    It's Da' Bomb!

    I'm a high school student who likes to read 'attention grabbing' books. This one really did the trick! I love it! It's written so well, I feel like I'm there, apart of the book with the characters. A job well done, E. Lynn Harris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    BEYOND EXCELLENCE!

    I'M A BUSY WOMAN, I WORK FULL-TIME, GO TO SCHOOL PART-TIME AND I'M A SINGLE MOM...AND I HAVE TO TELL YOU THAT I READ THIS BOOK IN 3 DAYS. IT WAS FULL OF DRAMA, HIS WRITING STYLE IS DIFFERENT FROM ANYTHING I HAVE EVER READ...I EMPATHIZED WITH THE CHARACTERS. THIS IS A MUST READ. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO READING HIS OTHER BOOKS. BRAVO!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    LOVED IT..LOVED IT...LOVED IT

    Once again Mr. Haris has not disappointed me. His books are a page turner everytime I read one. His personality is great and I could see his vision when he writes. You made a reader out of me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    What's wrong ELynn Harris???????

    I've read most of his books and was hooked with his writing. However he totally lost me on this book. I just read it to finish reading it because I spent my money on it. But I was highly disappointed. How could someone as good as Raymond still have feelings for a closet freak like Basil? He must have rushed doing this book because any real fan of his know that this wasn't what we were lookin for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    The bold, black and beautiful

    This book reads like a episode of the young and the restless or any soap with black characters.IT WAS ENTERTAINING WITH OUT THE COMMERICIALS.ALL YOU WOULD HAVE TO DO IS CHANGE SOME OF THE CHARACTERS NAMES...NEIL WINTERS...DRU..ECT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Man You have Done it Again

    In a short time I have recently read all of E Lynn Harris's books and this one was OUTSTANDING! The growth of the characters and drama that unfolds is extraordinary. I read this book in about four hours because it was so good. I can¿t wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    PLease tell me this was a JOKE

    I must say I was so very disappointed with this book I have read everything E. Lynn Harris has written and this by far was the worst! This book read like a tacky T.V. sitcom... I am sorry but from reading this book I will be taking a break from anything E. Lynn Harris writes in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    E. Lynn, you are the man!

    Aptly titled, "A Love Of My Own", captures our everyday quest to be "somebody's somebody." I love the book. Mr. Harris once again engages us in the lives of professional African-Americans who are trying to live the American dream and have someone to share it with. I appluad him for weaving in the pains and the triumphs of characters old and new. John "Basil" Henderson keeps us on our toes once again. I would like to see what is next for Zurich, Sean, and Riley. All that is missing from this book is a soundtrack to accompany it. Maybe we could use Mr. Eric Benet since it is named after his R&B hit, "Love of my own". Great job Mr. Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    What a turnabout

    This book was worth my money and definately worth my time. i never thought i would say this about an author that i thought was just luke warm with his novel(and this too shall pass) but he is a genius. the novel ends on a high note, issues involving Raymond and Basil are resolved, so are issued with major and minor characters alike. the writing style is so fluent and readable that the book just flows. i would recommend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    IT WAS ALRIGHT

    it was a pretty good book. it kept me reading. I wouldn't say it was the best book ive read but it was good. it took me a little longer to read it which is unsual for me. It wasnt' no COLDEST WINTER EVER!!! but Invisible Live by e.l.harris was a better book. i guess it caught my attention better. but i would rent the book instead of buying it, or just barrow from somebody like i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5