Customer Reviews for

A Love of My Own

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    It's Da' Bomb!

    I'm a high school student who likes to read 'attention grabbing' books. This one really did the trick! I love it! It's written so well, I feel like I'm there, apart of the book with the characters. A job well done, E. Lynn Harris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    A very enlightening book..

    E. Lynn is a very good writer. I could'nt put the book down. Good Lynn keep up the work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    a love of my own

    I have never read any of the E Lynn Harris novels. But I was on military duty and had just finished Heatseekers by Zane, and I needed another book, so I decided on A Love of My own. It turned out to be a excellent book, and made me go back and purchase several other books by this author. I commend Mr. Harris on his ability to bring compassion to homosexual realtionships, by letting people see that yes, everyone whethere they are straight, gay, or bisexual deserves to be in a loving relationship. My hat is off to Mr. Harris and I will continue to purchase any other novels that he may publish in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Sexy, Exicting and down right good.

    E Lynn Harris is one of the best writers in the 20th Century. Mr. Harris keep up the good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    A transition to more Greatness

    he has defenitly given readers a great story, nothing to bi-sexual, and nothing to ordinary, just a great story, that kind of gives you a diffrent view,of how we wish we could live and don't live for that manner, if your looking for a great way to escape this is the book or how some egos and attitudes we carry, are our own worse enemy. the charecters, were good I loved, Zola- she was confused in my opinion but she finally got to were she needed to be look at it like this E.Lynn Harris is transitioning giving us a variety, in his arsenal of writing that is not always graphic about Gay love, but about fantasy and the Antagonist devide. You won't be able to put it down it's funny form Beggening -middle- and end. all hail to the King! -Author Harold Antoine Anderson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Lawd ham Mercay

    E. Lynn Harris - When I see you, I¿ma slap you - Just when I think the series can get no better, you turn us out again! :-) I'm in love w/Zola and empathize with Raymond! Basil ¿ what else can this man do?? However, Davis (who I wanna be like, when I grow up) is a different story. I can't wait to find out how you weave that scandalous, deceitful, shady S.O.B. into the series. He¿s the new guy you love to hate! I would love to see more scandal from Yancey, Ava, Davis, and Veronica with a dash of Basil thrown in! GET THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Just good reading!

    I absolutely loved this book. I wished the ending didn't happen in 2 chapters, but Oh Well. It was almost like he just wanted to finish the book. And the ending was a bit outlandish with all of the 'I forgive You' talk. BUT, the book was still better than 85% of the last 100 books that I have read. Can't wait until the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    A beautifully written book

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. I loved how he has made the characters evolve. His books make you stay hopeful about love,life and relationships. Thanks Mr. Harris for another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1