Customer Reviews for

A Love of My Own

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    I love this book and its about time that Basil and Raymond start being honest about their feelings for one another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Good Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Fanstastic!!!

    I liked this book alot, it was my first E. Lynn Harris book but it defintely wasnt my last!!!! Zola and Raymond were my favorite characters bcuz they seemed so real and their feeling were real too!!! But the sad thing is that the cute guys were all gay!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    BEYOND EXCELLENCE!

    I'M A BUSY WOMAN, I WORK FULL-TIME, GO TO SCHOOL PART-TIME AND I'M A SINGLE MOM...AND I HAVE TO TELL YOU THAT I READ THIS BOOK IN 3 DAYS. IT WAS FULL OF DRAMA, HIS WRITING STYLE IS DIFFERENT FROM ANYTHING I HAVE EVER READ...I EMPATHIZED WITH THE CHARACTERS. THIS IS A MUST READ. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO READING HIS OTHER BOOKS. BRAVO!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    LOVED IT..LOVED IT...LOVED IT

    Once again Mr. Haris has not disappointed me. His books are a page turner everytime I read one. His personality is great and I could see his vision when he writes. You made a reader out of me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Man You have Done it Again

    In a short time I have recently read all of E Lynn Harris's books and this one was OUTSTANDING! The growth of the characters and drama that unfolds is extraordinary. I read this book in about four hours because it was so good. I can¿t wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    E. Lynn, you are the man!

    Aptly titled, "A Love Of My Own", captures our everyday quest to be "somebody's somebody." I love the book. Mr. Harris once again engages us in the lives of professional African-Americans who are trying to live the American dream and have someone to share it with. I appluad him for weaving in the pains and the triumphs of characters old and new. John "Basil" Henderson keeps us on our toes once again. I would like to see what is next for Zurich, Sean, and Riley. All that is missing from this book is a soundtrack to accompany it. Maybe we could use Mr. Eric Benet since it is named after his R&B hit, "Love of my own". Great job Mr. Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    What a turnabout

    This book was worth my money and definately worth my time. i never thought i would say this about an author that i thought was just luke warm with his novel(and this too shall pass) but he is a genius. the novel ends on a high note, issues involving Raymond and Basil are resolved, so are issued with major and minor characters alike. the writing style is so fluent and readable that the book just flows. i would recommend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    E. LYNN HARRIS HAS DONE IT AGAIN

    IN ALL OF E.LYNN HARRIS'S BOOKS HE KEEPS HIS CHARACTERS ALIVE AND POPPING, AND IN THIS ONE SOMEONE HAS FINALLY GOTTEN POPPED. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK, SO MR. HARRIS LETS'S GET WITH IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    HE HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!!!!! OUSTANDING

    I READ THIS BOOK IN ABOUT 4 DAYS. I ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF THIS BOOK AS WELL AS ALL OF THE OTHERS THAT I HAVE READ!!! HARRIS CAN INDULGE MY FANTASY AT ANYTIME AS LONG AS HE KEEPS THE BOOKS COMING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    A MUST READ!!!

    This book is great!! I love this man he is a great author. I read this book in two days. I started on a Friday night and finished on Sunday morning. This is a must read! Do not walk pass this book without purchasing it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    He's done it again!

    Very realistic situations in this book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Great Story Line

    A Love of My Own was one of E. Lynn Harris better stories. I especially enjoyed re entering the lives of the old characters, it was like visiting old friends. It was hard putting this book down because Harris was so good at giving his audience excitement. Readers out there......how about if you have nothing positive to comment on; don't comment at all. In my opinion "A Love of My Own" was good writing, followed a story line and carried a familiar flavor to his audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    * * SEXY * * SEXY * * SEXY * *

    Once again, I was quite pleased with Mr. Harris' portrayal of several complex characters. The situations rang true to life and I'm looking forward to his next one! An author should strive to entertain as well as educate with his words - and this book gracefully accomplishes both. Thank you, Mr. Harris for the fun read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Quick Read

    I have never read a book this quickly. I couldn't put it down, I found myself reading at 2:00, in the bathroom, at the salon, anywhere I could. A great book, with class, style and humor. Loved it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    E Lynn Harris does it again!!

    Another fantastic read by Harris!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    He's done it again!!!!

    This was a quick read. Good from the begining to the end. Madame Ava finally gets what she's been asking for. This was an excellent book but then again we're talking about E.Lynn Harris. I hope that you enjoyed this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Just as I expected. Excellent...............

    E. Lynn Harris is in a class all by himself. I love Raymond's character, it's the best. I hope nothing ever happens to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    By its own, it uncomparable

    I read this book, and it was outstanding, I took me approximately 1 day to read those whole book cover to cover. It had hit issues of reality, personal, spiritual, physical and mental.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    BITS AND PIECES GAVE ME THE CHILLS!

    While I certainly have enjoyed reading all of Mr. Harris' stories, I must say that this one is my favorite - as I absolutely got "lost" within the story! Great job! I can't wait for his next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3