Customer Reviews for

A Love of My Own

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    Impressed...

    I was definitely impressed. When I worked at Border's, one of our jobs was to recommend books. I never read nor heard of E. Lynn Harris but apparently every one else had when I asked them about him. The first lady I recommended the book to asked me did I read it. I said "no". She asked me why did I recommend it then. I said "Everyone else seems so excited about the new book." So I read it. Man, why haven't I read all the rest? The only weak points was the two times in dialogue when people started talking like books (ex: Don't I look and sound fabulous). People don't really talk like that with the "and" in the middle.) They also don't usually have phone conversations where they explain initials to companies while they're half sleep. The book started off a little "official" but once it got moving I was not putting it down. It had wonderful humor, great dialogue, amusing characters, and just a fresh edge. I would recommend everybody go out and buy all the books--I know I will now! I would've loved to have went to church with Hayden, Zora, and Kai...that was some of the funniest stuff I've ever read. I know Dickey dabbled in comedy but Harris should've tried too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Bedazzled ... once again!

    E. Lynn Harris has done it again! He has managed to hook me from page one. I could not put the book down as I was enthralled by a story told from the perspectives of Raymond and Zola, but in which the lives of so many others - Basil, Trent, Davis/Norman, Yancey & Ava, Justine, Kai, Hayden, etc etc - were intertwined. His EIGTH novel incorporates so many characters from the previous seven and E. Lynn Harris masterfully allows the reader to feel like she/he has not missed a beat as far as what has been going on. His writing is nothing short of amazing, and I find myself once again waiting for the next installment by E. Lynn Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Delicious !!!

    Every summer Harris delivers the best delicious summer treat. Like the finest of delicacies you want to savor each page, but alas you realize it was so good that you have devoured it in one sitting. Looking forward to next summer¿s release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Absolutely Amazing!

    E. Lynn Harris delivers another great book in the Invisible Life series. I have been waiting for him to re-introduce Raymond's character to see what was going on with him. He cleverly introduces new characters like Zola, while tying in previous characters from his other books. If you are an E. Lynn Harris fan, this book does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Keeps getting better!

    I have one word- Zola. A great character in this book. If you've read the series you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Another E. Lynn Harris Masterpiece . . .

    E. Lynn Harris has done it again. Hmmmm . . . Can this author write a 'bad' book? His writing style is so intriguingly captivating that I often think the characters are a big part of my life. They simply jump off of every page and right into my heart. I really wanted Zola and Raymond to . . . OOPS -- I don't want to spoil things for people who haven't read it yet. Mr. Harris if you are reading this -- I have bought all eight of your books and I can't wait until your next big novel. Please release it before the summer because a year is a long time for your fans to wait. (Smile!) Also, your editor missed a few spots (p. 15 'So what are you going [to] do?' & p. 257 'You know, when we're down south white people [?who?] do a double take.') Check it out . . . This book is a wonderful read and I highly recommend it and the many other novels written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    I can't get enough of E. Lynn!!!! Loved it!!!!!!!

    I've read all of his novels and each time I feel like the characters of friends of mine. It's as if I look for them, then I realize that is was book that unfortunately I have finished reading, I try to take my time, but I get so anxious to read what's happening next. I love Zola, and her man Jabar reminded me of my 'homeboy style' husband who is the sweetest most sensitive brother in urban clothes I've ever know, I could really relate. Of course, my man Raymond Tyler & bad boy Basil getting their lives together..Ok I could go on,and on. Can't wait until the next one....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Great Book!!!!

    HE DID IT AGAIN!!!! THIS IS A GREAT BOOK.A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    He's Done It Again

    It never fails, E. Lynn Harris has ensured that his readers are fully satisfied. Anytime I pick up one of his books, I just can't put it down. A Love of My Own was no different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    E. Lynn #1 In my book.

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat, made me anxious to turn the page to see what will happen next. I love the way he brings back the characters, since I have read all of them it is very easy for me to follow. But It is also okay if you happen to pick this as the 1st one of his series to read. I felt that Zola and Jabar were good additions. This one ending just the way I hoped, I am very happy for Raymond as well as Basil. I felt that Madame Ava Middlebrook got what she so greatly deserved. Yancey turned out to be a better person than I had figured her to be. Over all I give a very loud and big hip! hip! hooraay!. I loved it and I hoped that he has already started on the next novel. Can't hardly wait. Go E. Lynn GOOOOOOOO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Not to be missed

    I was angry when I got to the end of the book I wanted it to go on I couldn't put it down no to be missed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    This is another great book by the best autor alive

    I want to first start of with a Thank You to MR E.LYNN HARRIS this book was so worth the wait and i can not wait until next summer for the next book i have read all of your other book and this one was just as good as i knew it would be You r a truly gifted men and i would have not start reading as much if not for wonderful authors like you are one of the best and I can not stop telling people how good this book is.I always buy my friends copys ofbyour books because i know i will not get mine back if i let them read mine so i just buy them there own. Keep them coming and i hope youo have pity on your fans and have the next book come out early in the summer next year. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    He has done it again!!!!!!!!

    Another great book. I hope we don't have to wait another year for another one(smile). I have read all of his books and they all bring me great joy. I feel Roymond is a part of my family. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Gotta Love E. Lynn Harris

    Once again E. Lynn Harris has given us more than we can handle. His writing skills are quite awesome. I have gone to work very tired after staying up until 3 and 4:00 a.m. trying to finish the book in two days. Thanks so much E. Lynn for yet another great book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Fantastic Read

    I purchased this book as soon as it came out. I think it is his best one yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Absolutely Fantastic!!!

    I enjoyed every minute of this book!! I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I was laughing and crying at the same time!! E. Lynn Harris is BRILLIANT!! Where does he come up with this stuff??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Keep Doing It Well!!!

    After hungering for another one your books for a year, 'A Love of My Own' filled my appetite. Whenever I read one of your novels, I always feel like I know the characters personally. When I don't read I miss them, but look forward to meeting new 'friends' that your words grace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    AWESOME!!!!!

    VERY INTERESTING, IT WAS JUST A GOOD AS THE OTHERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    WHAT MORE AM ADDING 5 MORE STARS

    I LOVE THE BOOK YOU DID IT AGAIN MR HARRIS RAYMOND LOVE HIM THAT JOHN BASIL I GUESS HE WILL NEVER CHANGE...AND THE BOSS HE WAS A MESS..AVA OH MY GOD I COULDN'T GET OVER HER AND WHAT SHE DID...WAITING FOR BOOK #9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Amazing

    "A Love of My Own" was amazing ... it combines lives of the characters we've come to know and love, with a suspenseful twist. I read it in two days because I couldn't put it down ... I've read all of Harris' novels and love them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3