Customer Reviews for

Love on the Lifts

Average Rating 4.5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Yearly Read...

I love this book so much that I read it once a year. Every time I read it, I'm surprised and thrilled that I still enjoy it. The first time I read this book I was in 8th grade. Back then, I absolutely loved it. I thought the story was enjoyable and relaxing. Now, I stil...
I love this book so much that I read it once a year. Every time I read it, I'm surprised and thrilled that I still enjoy it. The first time I read this book I was in 8th grade. Back then, I absolutely loved it. I thought the story was enjoyable and relaxing. Now, I still love the book and the characters. I love the unlikely relationships between the characters, the twists, and the adorable setting of it all. It is a great holiday book to get your mind off of all of the stress that comes with the end of the year and relax in a book that will take you to another place. It is a great story!

posted by 5233037 on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

In mood for love? Read this!

For a high school student who doesn't read much and is experiencing all types of new adventures and romances, Love on the Lifts did an amazing job at showing me I was not the only one doing so. Just like me, if you are one of the many teenage girls out there eager to ex...
For a high school student who doesn't read much and is experiencing all types of new adventures and romances, Love on the Lifts did an amazing job at showing me I was not the only one doing so. Just like me, if you are one of the many teenage girls out there eager to experience love, learning from past mistakes and making an effort to get the best out of life, I recommend this book. This novel is for those seeking a romantic story that will give them hope that love really exists and contradict the typical stereotype that suggests all guys are jerks! Also, this tale will provide an important lesson of life: sometimes things don't work out as you planed but better than you could've imagined!
This story begins when Katie's aunt invited her and two friends to a Condo in Snow Angel Valley. Thinking they will have the entire Condo to themselves, Katie's bubble bursts when her older brother joins the party. However, while complaining about his being there, she notices he has brought with him two friends and one of them particularly catches her eye, as it turns out, she had been crushing on him for the past year!
Even though it is a mere fact that I had fun while reading this novel and spontaneous laughs suddenly took over me, I disliked that the author provided too many hints for development of the plot to the point where the resolution was extremely predictable. However, putting aside my predictions with hope that the author would prove them wrong, I didn't put the book down. However, I became disappointed when the ending turned out exactly as I had predicted.
Taking into notion that the setting of the novel takes place in the mountains, reading this book in a cold atmosphere made it easier to feel what was going on. This book also aroused a variety of feelings in me, such as, thrill, happiness, disappointment, and love. When I first began reading this book I liked that Rachel Hawthorne's style of writing was easy to follow. Then, while getting to know Katie, I felt I could understand what she was going through probably because our age range is close. Later, as the action began to take place and the guys came into the picture, thrill overcame me. Finally, towards the ending when Katie realizes who her true love is, I felt love and happiness for her. In conclusion, this book is a romantic tale that will surely send shivers up and down your spine, particularly if you are a girl between the ages of thirteen to nineteen.

posted by atpmolecule on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    In mood for love? Read this!

    For a high school student who doesn't read much and is experiencing all types of new adventures and romances, Love on the Lifts did an amazing job at showing me I was not the only one doing so. Just like me, if you are one of the many teenage girls out there eager to experience love, learning from past mistakes and making an effort to get the best out of life, I recommend this book. This novel is for those seeking a romantic story that will give them hope that love really exists and contradict the typical stereotype that suggests all guys are jerks! Also, this tale will provide an important lesson of life: sometimes things don't work out as you planed but better than you could've imagined!
    This story begins when Katie's aunt invited her and two friends to a Condo in Snow Angel Valley. Thinking they will have the entire Condo to themselves, Katie's bubble bursts when her older brother joins the party. However, while complaining about his being there, she notices he has brought with him two friends and one of them particularly catches her eye, as it turns out, she had been crushing on him for the past year!
    Even though it is a mere fact that I had fun while reading this novel and spontaneous laughs suddenly took over me, I disliked that the author provided too many hints for development of the plot to the point where the resolution was extremely predictable. However, putting aside my predictions with hope that the author would prove them wrong, I didn't put the book down. However, I became disappointed when the ending turned out exactly as I had predicted.
    Taking into notion that the setting of the novel takes place in the mountains, reading this book in a cold atmosphere made it easier to feel what was going on. This book also aroused a variety of feelings in me, such as, thrill, happiness, disappointment, and love. When I first began reading this book I liked that Rachel Hawthorne's style of writing was easy to follow. Then, while getting to know Katie, I felt I could understand what she was going through probably because our age range is close. Later, as the action began to take place and the guys came into the picture, thrill overcame me. Finally, towards the ending when Katie realizes who her true love is, I felt love and happiness for her. In conclusion, this book is a romantic tale that will surely send shivers up and down your spine, particularly if you are a girl between the ages of thirteen to nineteen.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Irrataion, frusteration, apprectiation.

    3 1/2 stars :D okay, so i love Rachel Hawthrone books! LUV UM! Like Carbian crusing, and island girls! But this book is obviousky awseome, but it got pretty annoying because of Kate. If you read the book-gosh you will see, but i reccomend this book if you like romantic comedy's and rachel hawthrone, or if you simply want a fun and short read.
    ~your truley the book worm
    (Please dont mind my spelling errors :D)

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Yearly Read...

    I love this book so much that I read it once a year. Every time I read it, I'm surprised and thrilled that I still enjoy it. The first time I read this book I was in 8th grade. Back then, I absolutely loved it. I thought the story was enjoyable and relaxing. Now, I still love the book and the characters. I love the unlikely relationships between the characters, the twists, and the adorable setting of it all. It is a great holiday book to get your mind off of all of the stress that comes with the end of the year and relax in a book that will take you to another place. It is a great story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Fantastic! My favorite book by far!

    This book is the perfect book to read when your up at your cabin with nothing to do. Joe is the sweetest guy ever and you will love the crazy emotions as Katie trys to figure out where her heart truely lies.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful :)

    This was absolutely astonishing... By far one of the best books I've ever READ!!! The characters are easy to like..<BR/><BR/>I'm sure anyone who gets this book will enjoy it. (I hope)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    such a good easy read !

    such a good easy read !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Love on the Lifts

    I totally love this book. I couldn't put it down when i started to get really into it. It was very romantic and a good book for those boring cold nights. Rachel Hawthorne has wrote some amazing books, but I have to say, this one was a real page-turner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great

    I loveeeeeeeedddd this book i stayed up all night to finish it it was great

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Great!!!!!

    This was a great book! Boring at first but towards the end I couldnt put it down! Great read for any romance lover, like myself!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Gooood book but starts out sloww

    Good book overall, i loved its idea and its setting but it started out tooo slow for me. While i was all excited to see what would go down between kate and the boy of her choice, she was barely realizing she wanted a guy at all. While i was anxious to see how theyd react when the truth was revealed, kate was having second thoughts. On and on. I dont know if she was really that oblivious or......? Well, it was good but i finished it all too fast as well. I sped thru the slow parts (thewhole first half) and by the time id gotten to the action,it was over. RECOMENDED to those with patience to listen and analyze a pretty clueless girls thoughts about love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    awesome!!!

    one of my favorite books! i always read this when it's winter break xD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Loved it!

    If you are a fan of Rachel Hawthorne books you have to read this book! It is in my top 5 favorite books by her!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such a sweet plotline.

    I thought the book was pretty good. I enjoyed the plotline going on with the main character doing almost anything for this one guy and hooks up with someone else who she didnt expect to hook up with in the end. It such a sweet book, and its really good to read with some hot chocolate and snuggle under the fire place. I thought the book had a unclear understanding with the people talking to people...While I was reading, I would have to go back and forth a few pages just to understand who was talking. But even though I had to do that a few times, I didnt mind going back and reading the parts again....come on! Its a teenager romance book, for petes sakes. :]]]]]] So kick up your legs and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Feelings

    Today I was sad
    <br>'Cuz my friend was bad
    <br>And when I got hurt he was glad
    <br>Oh what a sad day I had.
    <p>Oh I am so happy
    <br>And my toes are all tappy
    <br>And my hands are all clappy
    <br>I just can't stop be so zappy!
    <p>I am so mad
    <br>That I feel mean and bad
    <br>I made my friends all sad
    <br>'Cuz I was a bad ol' lad.
    <p>I am fine.
    <br>Won't you come over and dine?
    <br>I have good food and the finest chine
    <br>What? Oh no. I do not have a pet rhine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Adorable!

    This book was a great read! I enjoyed every minute of it, and finished it in one day! Perfect for a qiuck read, and had a cute story to it ! Really enjoyed this one (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Ugh

    I wish there was a continuation to this book. I want to know what happens when they get back to school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Amazing book!!!

    This is one of the best books i have ever read! perfect with a snow day and a cup of hot chocolate. enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    MUST READ!!!

    I Loved this book! A very fun Winter read, and one you can read over and over again. Definitely worth buying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love on the lifts!

    I thought this book was overall, great. The storyline is great and it really teaches people that not every guy is the same and that life doesnt always go according to plan. But, even if it doesnt go as planned, you should never give up hope. Kate learns that and in some ways, it could change her whole life. I loved this book and i would definitely recommend this book to any teen looking for a cute, romantic read that will make you smile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    Better than I thought it would be

    When I bought this book I wasn't sure if I would like it. Then when I read it I fell in love with it! :) Give it a try :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10