BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Love on the Line

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Louis

    *stares at the greek fire in horror, and gets up, gritting his teeth in pain, grabbing everyone and dragging them to result one* Not today, it wont kill us!! *He growls as beads of sweat sprout on his forehead*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Suriti

    *she stumbles in* Red won!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Yaaaawwwwn

    Boring book. Could not even make it through first chapter. I will stay clear of this author in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    The ending was really cute. Actually the moments between Luke and Georgie were adorable. Recommend the author's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Will the hero and heroine find love in the wild west?

    Love on the Line Deanne Gist ©2011 Bethany House Publishers ISBN 978-7642-0409-8 (pbk) 361 pp. plus author’s note Georgie Gail, switchboard operator, is considered an old maid at twenty-one, but too independent to snare a husband. Lucious Landrum, a Texas Ranger, doesn’t ever want to settle down in one place. However, Lucious is ordered to secretly become the telephone line-man, doing sales and reparis, under the name of Luke Palmer, in Georgie’s area of Brenham, Texas. He’s been ordered to ingratiate himself with the gang of the notorious outlaw and train robber, Frank Comer. To her disgust, he also tells Georgie he is now in charge of the telephone office. Outlaw Frank Comer has regularly escaped Landrum’s attempts to capture him and has impressed folks with his supposed kindness to poor people. Georgie thinks Comer is a hero and tells ‘Luke’ how she much dislikes Lucious Landrum. Naturally, Georgie and ‘Luke’ initially dislike each other. They gradually change their views, but are afraid to admit they’re in love. And serious complications set in, threatening to destroy their relationship. How ‘Luke’ discovers and relates to the gang members without blowing his cover leaves readers anxiously holding their breaths. Readers also wonder how he’ll reveal his true name and role to Georgie. The ending, like in all good novels is a huge surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Deeanne does it again!

    If you like historical romance you will love ANYTHING Deeanne Gist wrights. She has a fun and qwirky style that just keeps me coming back for more."Love on the Line" is no exception. It has a little bit of everything. Action, drama, comedy, and yes it has some intence romantic moments. But what I love about Deeanne's style... she toes the line.
    Her books are romantic and fun- NOT DIRTY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    TELEPHONE OPERATOR,TELEPHONE LINES,GANGS AND LOVE!

    LOVE ON THE LINE by Deeanee Gist is an inspirational historical fiction.I couldn't quite understand the first half of "Love On The Line",but the last half I enjoyed. I enjoyed the romance between Georgie and Luke. What a novel idea,telephone lines,switchboard operators and train robbers,while love is on the line. "Love on the Line" is a good story, with an interesting cast of characters. A good story for anyone who enjoys historical fiction,Americana,Inspirational reads. Received for an honest review. Details can be found at Bethany House and My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: DorothyA,My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Deeanne did her research!

    Another good book and as a telephone worker, it was fun to see the history of the service embedded in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST read!

    I loved this book, I read the 362 pages in about four days, that was over the holidays so there wasn't a lot of reading time. Needless to say I read until the wee hours of the morning so I could finish it.

    Georgie Gail finds herself right in the middle of a train robbery, then Lucious Landrum, a Texas Ranger arrives and captures six members of the gang but fails to get the leader Frank Comer. Even though Frank Comer is the thief, he's the one that everyone admires not Lucious. Frank never does the actual robbing, just comes in treats the victims nicely, even giving them some of the stolen money sometimes and lets them keep their own money., he only takes the money bags that are on the train.

    The rangers are tired of Frank getting away and give Lucious one last chance to capture him. They send him to Brenham, TX as Luke Palmer posing as a Telephone salesman/repairman, including bill collection, books and accounting for the Southwestern Telegraph and Telephone Company, better known as the SWT&T. Unbeknownst to him, this is where Georgie Gail was headed, when the train robbery occurred and he first saw her, to be the switchboard operator.

    When he arrives she is not pleased to have someone working with her looking over her shoulder, not to mention that the 'office' is in her one bedroom house that is supplied by SWT&T, he stays in the local hotel. Luke doesn't like doing undercover work and doesn't like Georgie's views on things either, so sparks do fly on and off in this book.

    Then there's little Bettina , known as Bettina Hyena by the locals, the daughter of the town drunk. Since he mother died they live in a shanty outside of town and she takes care of her father the best she can, cooks his supper every night, makes sure he gets home every night and is the wage earner for them, she delivers messages for Miss Gail to the residents that don't have a phone line. Bettina is a major character in this book and in the end could cause both Luke and Georgie to lose their lives.

    That's it, go get the book, I guarantee you'll enjoy it if this is the genre you like. I've read several of Deeanna's book and have liked every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Another satisfying read from Gist

    As with all books I've read by Deeanne Gist, I really liked Love on the Line. I will admit, I wasn't so sure about the name Lucious alias Luke Palmer. BUT it did grow on me as the book progressed. :) I loved the lessons learned by Georgie and Luke, even if I somewhat questioned Luke's tactics in order to catch the infamous Frank Comer. Gist writes so well, one character in particular, Duane, really grew on me, and I loved him by the book's end. Speaking of the book's ending: it was brilliant how it all tied together. I absolutely loved the ending that followed the intriguing pages of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    This book is terrible

    Bullies at their greatest. Donot waste your time or money.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Texas Ranger and the Switchboard Operator

    Top Texas Ranger, Lucious Landrum, hasn¿t been able to apprehend Frank Comer, a Texan train robber who has mustered together Brenham¿s citizens¿ silence about where he lived by compensating them with goods from the robberies. So the Ranger headquarters¿ captain decided to enlist Landrum¿s services disguised as an undercover agent disguised as the telephone repairman, Luke Palmer. Luke, however, was worried about his Ranger reputation and being able to follow all the ¿rules¿ a of a salesman.

    Georgie Gail is the new, twenty-year-old, unmarried, female switchboard operator in Brenham who was given a home to live in, where the switchboard was located. Besides her job, her delight was her garden with a sanctuary for birds. As one of Nellie Bly¿s followers, she is proud of her independence in a man¿s world.

    The switchboard was a party line where others could listen in, ¿rubbernecking¿ as it was called back in my day, and I could easily hear the gossip flowing through the town. Where everybody knows your name, and more! Yet the community friendships and social gatherings held the town together, helping on another out.

    It¿s when Luke Palmer arrives at the home office and takes over part of Georgie¿s space, watching over her, that the sparks fly, and not necessarily romantic! The humor of Georgie¿s initial relationship with Luke was so clearly male chauvinistic! Oh, how I could relate! But a Mai tree does appear at Georgie¿s door!

    Deeanne did a fabulous job relating to and keeping me interested and engrossed in the story, ending it with a shocking twist! Her meticulous research payed off in being well-versed in the times and intricately written details of the different circumstances, such as hitching a horse to a cart, setting up the wiring for the telephones, or hunting down the elusive train robber and his cronies.

    Not only was this a fun read, it also includes a lot of history, suspense as to the identity of the train robber, scouting him out, and Georgie¿s interactions during her mysterious and dangerous encounters. Get a copy and enjoy a little fun down time!

    This book was provided by Amy Lathrop of the Litfuse Group in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love on the Line - Fun Read

    Georgia Gail was a rural switchboard operator in Brenham, Texas. She was a rare woman living on her own supporting herself. Back in those days a man ran everything. This woman is adventurous and very out spoken.

    The telephone company hires Luke Palmer to take over all operations but the switchboard. He is to be a lineman, sales and bookkeeper. Her being so independent she bucks everything he does. Luke is much more than an employee of the phone company and has to keep it a secret.

    The author has added humor, mystery, suspense and love in this very entertaining book. This was such a cute book and fun read. I told the author my Dad was from Brenham and his last name Przyborski. It was an odd coincidence. I am a Texan and have spent a lot of time in the Brenham area so this book held my interest to say the least.

    I highly recommend this book.

    I rate this book a 5 out of 5.

    Disclosure:
    I received a copy of this book for review from Bethany House. I was in no way compensated for my review. I is my very own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not really Christian fiction

    Georgie is a telephone operator. She's proud of the fact that she has a job and a home and doesn't have to be married. She can do ANYTHING a man can do.
    A local gang is getting out of hand and Luke is sent in to act as a telephone man while he tries to infiltrate the gang.
    Georgie doesn't take well to being told what to do and doesn't appreciate a man in her business.

    The book was well written and had quite a few interesting details about the job of a telephone operator during that era. The characters were well developed and the story line flowed smoothly.
    I think my main complaint would be a personal opinion. I didn't care for the way Georgie's obsession with birds seemed to color her view of literally everything. She was unthinking and unkind at times in defense of her birds. It was a bit of a surprise to dislike the main characters. I would have thought the author would want everyone to like them and I was left with a bad first impression of Luke and never really cared for Georgie. The story changed a bit towards the end. The pace sped up and became more interesting and the main characters lost a bit of their obsessions.
    I think the other thing that surprised me was that this book was labeled as Christian fiction. I saw very little to make me think it was Christian. A few things were mentioned, but nothing like I would expect from a Christian author.

    I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Funny, mysterious, and very entertaining!

    I especially liked this book because I am from East Texas. The story was set in this area and it was interesting to see some very small towns in this story. The author did a great with the little twist also within the story. I found myself very much relating to the main woman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Pick Up the Phone Because There's "Love on the Line"

    Now, say I told you, "Let's mix together one Texas Ranger, one Robin Hood-style train bandit, one independent telephone operator and toss the whole thing together with the Audubon Society. What do you think?" Well, I shudder to consider your answer but if you voted against it, you'd be wrong! Deeanne Gist takes those elements and weaves them together into a "don't-want-to-put-it-down" story with terrific elements of history, drama, suspense and just enough love story.

    Georgie Gail is a small town switchboard operator (which is fascinating in itself and Gist really shows she's done her research in the details) who ends up crossing paths with a famous outlaw and a famous lawman...the problem is knowing which man is really on the right side.

    Georgie is an adorable character. She's an independent, strong-minded young woman with passionate opinions and an agenda of her own. Watching her clash with the Texas lawman is one of the highlights of this story.

    Love is on the Line" is peopled with terrific small town characters and a wonderful sense of place. I found that Gist's town comes to life vividly without being overdone. Her descriptive prose is delightful like this description of a group of boys listening in on a party line. "To his right, a group of boys between the ages of five and twelves faced the wall. They'd pressed themselves together so tightly, their bums looked like a cluster of oversized grapes."

    I wouldn't say that the plot was a shocker as I spotted the outcome way in the distance but it was a bit like watching a train go by - just because you see the caboose in the distance doesn't mean you're not enjoying the view!

    Put this book on your reading list, you'll be glad you did!

    This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More like 4.5 stars. Great story!

    More like 4.5 stars.

    One of the things I adore about Gist's books is the fact that I always learn something about history while enjoying the story. This novel was no different. I learned more about bird watching, the style of hats in the days when it was fashionable to wear hats with bird parts, The Plummage League, and telephone operating than I ever thought possible. And it was all very interesting, too. As is typical with Gist's books, there was great chemistry between the hero and heroine. I loved the many awkward situations they put themselves in and how many times they had to deal with their unexpected, yet burgeoning feelings for each other.

    I absolutely adored Luke. He did such a great job as an undercover ranger posing as a telephone "Troubleman." The situation with the splinters was a great way to get things started between Luke and Georgie. I thought the story was brilliant that way. Georgie was a heroine with spunk, but at the same time she was a good person and always trying to do the right thing, which made her a bit vulnerable, too.

    It was sweet how Luke and Georgie always got a bit fuzzy in the head when they were together. The Maiday celebration with the May poles was cute, too. Luke's unanticipated adoration of Georgie and his desire to protect her was heart-warming, to say the least. There were clever twists in this story and plenty of surprises and laughs to hold my attention. I enjoyed it thoroughly and can't wait to read Gist's next book. To date, I believe I've read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Who can't help loving a heroine named Georgie??

    Some novels I just don't want to ever end. But at the same time, I am practically screaming to find out how. In. the. World. This is going to end!
    Do you see my dilemma? But I'm not going to complain, it's a good..and fun one to have.
    "Love on the Line" is a masterfully written tale with excellent wordsmithing, characters that I just fell in love with and sizzling moments of romantic tension. The writing of a Deeanne Gist novel always pulls me by the throat into the story. It's descriptive, sometimes even funny, charming, beautiful, paints a picture in your mind's eyes with so few words needed.
    I loved the switchboard setting for Georgie. I looked over her shoulder the entire novel watching her take those calls and defend her birds. And when she pulled the splinters from Luke's hands and arms.oh my. I loved, loved, loved the romance and restraint Georgie and Luke must walk through. I did have to chuckle a few times though when Luke was.ahem, especially thick.
    The twist at the end! I literally gasped at a conclusion I never saw coming. Talk about a surprise; I bet you will be too.
    This novel has so much going for it. A bit of humor, fascinating history, charming characters (who can't love a heroine who can pull off the name Georgie?) heart-thumping romance. All.oh my. I want to go read the book one more time now.
    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Litfuse for my copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Excellent and fun Read

    "Love on the Line" by Deeanne Gist, is not your usual historical romance and that made,"Love on the Line" all the more a fun read! The story of a strong, independent woman and a Texas Ranger, undercover, set in the not so wild frontier of Texas,"Love on the Line" had all the elements of a perfect Friday night reading, to cozy up with, next to the fire, with a rich, hot chocolate on the table beside you.

    The characters are well developed, the background for the story, well researched, and just even the backstory, of the main character, Georgie Gail, will have the reader, caught up till the very end of this wildly, funny, filled with charm, reading.

    What makes,"Love on the Line" just a sweet and fun read, is that this is not your usual, sugary love story, but a story about standing up for what you believe in, about honesty, about the strength of character, that makes this book stand out as a Christian based story, historical fiction with a perfect touch of romance that is really more touching then ever, that will leave the reader, swooning for a "Luke Palmer" who is dashing though at the same time, charming as he meets his match with headstrong, Georgie Gail.

    "Love on the Line" is very original and fun at the same time and this is not a "girly" book, but a solid read, that is both smart and very endearing and, if you're like me, find it so hard to put down and have to keep reading till the end.

    I'm normally not a big fan of romance novels, so with "Love on the Line", instead I find a very smartly written book that has the element of romance, that is sweet and endearing, yet at the same time,the characters are strong in their own right and hold out as characters, on their own, that you will find yourself just growing close with and silently cheering out when you realize, "Wait..this has romance in it too".

    What I really enjoyed as well about,"Love on the Line" is that Georgie Gail is not a helpless damsel in distress; She is a strong, well rounded character who can hold her own but at the same time, not afraid to let her femininity show through, and even though she proves she can hold her own in a man's world, at the same time, allows herself to be vulnerable and open when love finds her heart.

    Deeanne Gist, perfectly writes a story that you will find yourself recommending to friends to read, placing it in your purse or backpack to bring on vacation, or if you have a Nook or Kindle, downloading it to read, while the fire is going or by the pool in the summertime.

    Either way, "Love on the Line" left me feeling, for a historical fiction, it captured the time period wonderfully and had enough romance, for the romantic in me to indulge in a little, "That is so sweet".

    Ms. Gist, really brings the characters to life and writes the story in such detail that its not overwhelming, but helps the reader, just have a mental image of what they think the characters are thinking, feeling and must look that I fear if a movie was made, I could only hope it would match up to how delightful the book, itself is.

    With the holidays around the corner, and you're looking for a book to take with you on vacation, or just to read while warming up by the fire, drop by Georgie Gail's, small hometown, and discover,"Love on the Line".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4