Customer Reviews for

Love the One You're With

Average Rating 4
( 853 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(272)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love the One You're With

The bottom line is that love, and the work it takes to make a committed relationship succeed, is a very messy process, one that many of us like to gloss over in hindsight. This book doesn't do that and I would argue that it's one of the most truthful depictions of that ...
The bottom line is that love, and the work it takes to make a committed relationship succeed, is a very messy process, one that many of us like to gloss over in hindsight. This book doesn't do that and I would argue that it's one of the most truthful depictions of that proces I've read in a long time. After I finished the final page, I was left wondering if the relationship that remained at the end of the book worked out in the long run. I am guessing that's the quesiton the author wanted to leave us to ponder. I found this book a bit difficult at first because the narrator seemed, I don't know, spineless in a way. How easily she acquiesced to her ex-boyfriend's proposal of being "friends," how she couldn't conjure up anger at what he did to her in the past, etc. This didn't seem particularly promising since the entire book is told from this woman's (seemingly) weak perspective. There is never a "repeat" when it comes to love stories. Even though the drama may have happened once or twice before (girl meets man, girl loves man, girl meets new man, girl loves new man, girl loves both men, girl has to choose) the storytelling that surrounds the drama is what makes a book good or not.
Ms Giffin is talented in that she makes me care for her characters. Even though I want to strangle them for some of their decisions, I still care about them and really just want them to be happy in the end. This book keeps your interest pretty much the whole time. It is very relatable. I've read all of Emily Giffin's book and I love them all.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not my Favorite

I loved Emily Giffin's previous works. I found the charactors funny, likeable, and relatable. However, I was completely sick of Ellen about a third of the way in. I read this book in just two days, but not because I couldn't put it down. It was because I just wanted it ...
I loved Emily Giffin's previous works. I found the charactors funny, likeable, and relatable. However, I was completely sick of Ellen about a third of the way in. I read this book in just two days, but not because I couldn't put it down. It was because I just wanted it to be over. I didn't find Ellen funny or endearing, and quiet frankly, I thought she was a selfish person. Yes, we all have to make decisions in life, but she should have explored these feelings before she got married, not after. It was very tough to emphasize with her self destructive, immature behavior. I didn't find this book suspensful at all, just annoying.

posted by 1456318 on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 272 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    If you have ever thought "what if?" about a past love, this is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Love all of her books!

    I am loving all of Emily Giffin's books! This one is no exception! A great book that really gets you thinking...what if? I didn't exactly agree with all of the decisions the main character makes...but I'm happy with the ending!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Excellent

    I cant put any of her books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Realistic

    This was my first Emily Giffin book and I liked it, but did not love it. I read the book in two days but it was not a page turner kinda book. Honestly I kinda got bored with the characters and was the story got pridictable. I just wanted to turn to the last chapter just to read the end...I kinda figured what would happen in between. However it was pretty nice romance and I probably would read another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Aewsome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Good Book!

    Took a bit to get going on this one, but glad I kept reading because it was good. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    I really loved this book; mostly because I thought I was the only one who ever had feelings like this =) Even though Ive far from grown past them, it was still wonderful to know I havent been that alone - Emily is wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Not her best - but worth reading

    I am a huge fan of Emily Giffin so I was a little disappointed with the start of this book. Not much excitement in the first half of the book. However.....the second half was very good. This is one of the few books that actually kept me up at night because I really wanted to know what happened. So definitely worth sticking with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Woman finds perfect husband, doesn't fit in and runs into old flame

    I also agree that the two men in the main characters life are COMPLETELY different. Her husband is perfect and so good to her. However, after running into an old flame, she begins to wonder if she is in the right relationship. The old flame was tumultuous relationship, but FULL of passion. I think we all like a bad boy every now and then. But, I think the fact the her husband's family is very "prim and proper" and this makes her question her marriage and place in her new family. Very interesting, very sad but Giffin is a great writer who will explain every detail so you will have a picture in your head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    shes a good author just read it.

    its a continuium of the last book, baby proof. if you liked that then this is a great read. i loved the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good

    I don't regret buying this book but it's not my favorite Emily Giffin book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Mundane

    The book was very good, I wish I would have read this book prior to reading Emily Giffin's other novels. I feel they all have the same central theme and idea. Loved the book, but the theme was tiring to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Why Someone You Want may not always be Mr. Right?

    The book is a funny and touching look at why a woman can want someone she used to be with and how those feelings can change and why she needs to decide how whether she wants to be with the person she loves right now and whether she really loves him and how she feels now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the One You're With

    This book is a good read but starts off slow. I have read all of Emily Giffin's books in a few days, but this one was different. It took a little longer to get into but was other wise good. If you have read her other books, I recommend reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Great Read!

    I have never read Emily Giffin's books but this one was great! I totally recommend this book. It's thrilling and you won't want to stop till your done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Must read for new wives

    I picked up this book after reading the back cover and even as hard as it is for most people to sometimes admit they regret some big decisions like marriage (its not always a bed of roses), I was happy to see some of those questions addressed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    Love the one you're with

    The book love the one your with By Emily Griffin is a fiction novel about the main character, Ellen, who is torn between two men. The one she loves now and the one she loved. She struggles to stay happy with her husband Andy, when her ex-boyfriend Leo comes back into her life. Ellen finds herself perfectly and utterly in love with Andy until she meets with Leo and she begins to reminisce about the times she had with him. She then begins to question whether being with Andy, the man she thought she loved is the one she should be with. When Ellen is with Andy she can't stop thinking about Leo, and is now faced with a personal conflict. She tries to ignore the problem, telling herself it really isn't a problem at all. But how long will that last. Can her relationship with Andy compare to the chemistry she had with Leo. Can she pull it together and save her marriage with Andy or will she be caught up in Leo again after years of not seeing him? The only way to find it, read it yourself! You wont be disappointed. I completely agree with this book being on the best sellers list. Emily Griffin is great and believe me once you start reading you won't want to stop.
    In my personal opinion I thought the book was splendid. I liked how the author expressed her emotions in such detail throughout the book, like when she talked about her photography she was really able to paint an image in my head and really understand a deeper meaning to how she was feeling, and why she photographs what she does. I also really loved the way she was able go into a flashback of her and Leos love without confusing the readers. Somebody should read this book if they are having relationships problems, in a case where they may be torn between two. It's very inspiring. I would highly recommend the book to women, as I'm sure you can imagine Griffins writing style isn't as appealing towards men. It's quite the chick flick! I highly recommend the book and if you like it I would definitely consider checking into Griffins other books like Something Borrowed, something Blue, and Baby Proof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It!

    This is the third book I've read from this author and I loved it just as much as her other books. This book is a good book to read in bed...it's not a fast pace action book that will keep you up all night; however it's a type of book that makes you think of commitment, love, lust.. The main character Ellen comes to a crossroads of a past and present love. She contemplates all the 'what ifs' with both men. The ending is not juicy, but very sweet and romantic. This book is for people who like to read about romance and love, more than lust and scandal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT!

    This book takes a look into so many peoples lives it's a little scary. I suggest if you are a married woman or in a deep relationship you must read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Giffin Pens an Enjoyable But Not Memorable Read

    I listened to the audio version of this book and found it entertaining, although a bit predictable. The main character is beleivable, and I found myself sympathizing with her. The author's style is entertaining, but not classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 272 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14