Customer Reviews for

A Love To Die For

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Grisley look at Teens that Kill

    This novel takes you into the case of Crista Pink, a cold-blooded murderer who brutally tortured a female student because she thought this girl liked her boyfriend. This story is shocking, well written, and henious all at the same time. To know that there are people in this world who can visciously kill is horrifying. Readers and fans of true crime books do not want to miss out on this. It will chill, and sicken you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have just ordered this book, and am anxiously waiting to read it. I'm sure it's well written, but I am interested in the story. I went to the same public schools tht Christa did as a child, including junior high. I can't wait to see if the images told of her are similar to the ones I remember. She was something to be reckoned with even then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    ANCA . ANCAPOL2626@YAHOO.COM

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT. WHAT A COLD KILLER AND YOU CAN'T HELP BUT FEEL THE PAIN FOR HER FAMILY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    sad, chilling, but fascinating story

    This book was very sad. The young murderess is a very sick girl. I read this book in a little over 6 hours. It's definitely a page turner. It takes you through the brutal beating and awful death of a girl. This is the best true crime book I have ever read. Come to think of it, it is the best book of all genres I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    love, or plain obbsesion?

    i bought this book about a year a go and just recently read it for a third time. It's an interesting book i must admitt but it also lets you know what goes through a lot of phsco.'s heads now days, and boy is it specific on the details! i woulndn't say it's a book i couldn't put down but it was an excellent choice if i do say so myself. life was obviously harsh on Pike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!!

    This book is so well-written, you feel like you are right there watching everything as it happened!!! The writer goes into VERY GRAPHIC details!!! This one is NOT for those with weak stomachs!! I still cannot fathom someone doing what this young girl and her boyfriend did! These are VERY SICK young people!! I read it cover to cover in a few hours!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Quick read

    Horrific murder involving Job Corps teens. The crime is so shockingly bad that you'll keep turning the pages. But the book does not delve very deeply into any of the characters, there is no complexity or suspense, and the writer has minimal style. It's a bare bones reporting job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Lots of Gross Details! Look out!

    This was a great book. I finished it rather quickly as it kept ya going. It had a lot of graphic, gross details including photos. The most graphic true crime I've ever read. Almost too gross to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2001

    A love to die for ....is a page turner

    This book has alot of details , and everything that makes a great book , including photos . I felt like I was there watching the crime , and one of the jury members . This book is a wake call, and reminds you of how evil people don't look like monsters , and they aren't easy to pick out of a crowd , if not impossible . It's terrible that a young girl dies such a horrible death . I recommend this book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    A chilling tale of a love gone bad

    It's hard for the average, normal mind to fathom the killing of another human being in the name of jealously. But that was the unimaginable motive behind the murder of 19 year-old Colleen Slemmer. The murderer? An equally young 18-year old Christa Pike. In her latest true-crime thriller, 'A Love To Die For,' Dallas author Patricia Springer brings to light the chilling story of Christa Pike, the youngest woman ever sentenced to death row. Using actual court transcriptions, confessions from the parties involved and interviews with the victim's parents, prosecutors, and others involved in the grusome case, Springer weaves a fascinating tale of the twisted, fantasic life of a very distrubed young woman, and the incredibly hideous crime she committed. In January, 1995 in Knoxville, Tennessee, young Job Corps student Colleen Slemmer went for a walk in the woods surrounding the University of Tennessee campus with fellow student and sometime-friend Christa Pike. Suddenly, Christa turned on Colleen, accusing her of flirting with her boyfriend. The words soon turned to shocking physical blows. Not satisfied with the damage mere fist could cause, Christa then used a box knife to cut her rival's throat, and a miniature meat cleaver to inflict even more horror. Half-naked, the mangled Colleen crawled through pools of her own blood, pleading for her life, to no avail. Rage had filled Christa's already unstable mind, her instability evidenced by the satanic symbol carved on the dying girl's chest during the hour-long assault. When Christa was finally done, and Colleen lay dead, Christa took a piece of her victim's skull as a macabre souvenir of a crime she would later brag about to friends. In this stunning recreation of a case that shocked a nation, Patricia Springer takes her readers beyond just a mere description of a horrible crime and the trial which followed. She takes her readers into the very mind-set of the young murdereress, and attempts to show how Christa Pike's rash actions have brought her to the place where she'll have to pay the ultimate price for the crime of taking someone's life - her very own life in exchange. 'A Love To Die For' is something of a depature in scenery for Springer's writing, as she has before only written about Texas-based murder cases, including Ricky Green, Darlie Routier, and Jack Reeves of Burkburnett. But she brings to this story her investigative expertise, her compassion for the victim's family and her talent for storytelling to present a fascinating, if not gruesome at times, story of a love gone terribly bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    A most detail book

    I trully enjoyed this book. It gave so much detail on the crime and feelings these people were feeling. It keeps you going to wherer you dont want to put the book down. I strongly recommend this book and I look forward to reading more of Patricia Springers book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1