Customer Reviews for

The Loved Dog

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Easy to read with practical examples.

I recently purchased a new Newfoundland puppy and wanted to read a book that would help us update our dog training skills. I found the book to be very useful. The the training techniques were easy to understand and examples helped us relate to real life situations. I ...
I recently purchased a new Newfoundland puppy and wanted to read a book that would help us update our dog training skills. I found the book to be very useful. The the training techniques were easy to understand and examples helped us relate to real life situations. I started using the techniques from day one and have had amazing results. The puppy is now fourteen weeks old. She is house broken. She knows the commands come, sit, stay, potty, walk (heal), cage (means go to your cage)and in (means come in the house).

posted by 2010118 on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good methods, but nothing profound....

I just wanted to say that I like and endorse using play and positive training methods and techniques for dog training as described in Tamar's book. And I think she is a wonderful person doing good work. However, I don't think there's anything new or revolutionary in thi...
I just wanted to say that I like and endorse using play and positive training methods and techniques for dog training as described in Tamar's book. And I think she is a wonderful person doing good work. However, I don't think there's anything new or revolutionary in this book that hasn't already been written in the last 10 years. Nor do I find it detailed or descriptive enough to really give readers a true understanding of dogs and why they do the things they do. There's brief moments and discussions about it, but it never goes deep enough to give the reader a real answer to why their dogs behave the way they do. Also, I find it disconcerting that she is so critical of other dog trainers, as if they are all abusive. I definitely agree that what she has witnessed in her years from some dog trainers was definitely abusive behavior. However, I believe that she was so affected by these events that it took her to the extreme opposite end of the training spectrum, thereby not providing the most balanced point of view. I think that following the path of least resistance in dog training, and using as much positive reinforcement as you can are wonderful and things I definitely endorse highly. I just don't think that this book goes in depth enough to provide any information that will take you beyond very basic training. So if you are looking for more of an introduction to dog training and would like to know about Tamar's story and how she became who she is today, then this would be a good book for you. But if you are looking for more in depth information that goes beyond a quick overview of basic training ideas, then look elsewhere, as this book really is more of an autobiography than a real dog training book.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Easy to read with practical examples.

    I recently purchased a new Newfoundland puppy and wanted to read a book that would help us update our dog training skills. I found the book to be very useful. The the training techniques were easy to understand and examples helped us relate to real life situations. I started using the techniques from day one and have had amazing results. The puppy is now fourteen weeks old. She is house broken. She knows the commands come, sit, stay, potty, walk (heal), cage (means go to your cage)and in (means come in the house).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Selling Tamar Geller

    You can skip much of this book without losing any valuable information. There IS some very useful information in it: the author has a training philosophy that uses the carrot (or piece of chicken) rather than the stick to produce well-trained, obedient dogs, and when she sticks to her subject the results are worth reading.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>But she doesn¿t stick to her subject. Geller opens the book by giving us her autobiography, which I found less than fascinating. She uses horrible example after horrible example of dogs who were abused by their owners, but it does no more good to rub my nose in horrible examples than to rub your dog¿s nose in the remains of an accident he had hours ago. And she incessantly drops names of Hollywood celebrities. I don¿t know why she thinks I care that she¿s buddy-buddy with some people whose names I¿ve heard; maybe she thinks it will sell me on Tamar Geller. It doesn¿t.<BR/><BR/>The writing, by ghost writer Andrea Cagan, is workmanlike but pedestrian. If Geller had concentrated on the technique, with more good examples of training dogs to do more things, the book would have been a good technical manual.<BR/><BR/>As it is, you¿ll have to extract the gems from the dross.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Tamar Geller describes the dog as both wolf and child. I use her techniques every day with my dog and our relationship grows every time I do. This is a clear, on point and most of all loving 'how-to and why' book. Thank you for this gift of knowledge and some insight into your own life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Good methods, but nothing profound....

    I just wanted to say that I like and endorse using play and positive training methods and techniques for dog training as described in Tamar's book. And I think she is a wonderful person doing good work. However, I don't think there's anything new or revolutionary in this book that hasn't already been written in the last 10 years. Nor do I find it detailed or descriptive enough to really give readers a true understanding of dogs and why they do the things they do. There's brief moments and discussions about it, but it never goes deep enough to give the reader a real answer to why their dogs behave the way they do. Also, I find it disconcerting that she is so critical of other dog trainers, as if they are all abusive. I definitely agree that what she has witnessed in her years from some dog trainers was definitely abusive behavior. However, I believe that she was so affected by these events that it took her to the extreme opposite end of the training spectrum, thereby not providing the most balanced point of view. I think that following the path of least resistance in dog training, and using as much positive reinforcement as you can are wonderful and things I definitely endorse highly. I just don't think that this book goes in depth enough to provide any information that will take you beyond very basic training. So if you are looking for more of an introduction to dog training and would like to know about Tamar's story and how she became who she is today, then this would be a good book for you. But if you are looking for more in depth information that goes beyond a quick overview of basic training ideas, then look elsewhere, as this book really is more of an autobiography than a real dog training book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Great Advice for dog training

    Great approach for dog training and living with dogs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    New puppy owner

    I received this book for Chrismas, after getting a puppy at Thanksgiving time. I had it read before New Years, and my 12 week old puppy is already better trained than dogs I had previously owned. Although it starts out slowly, the chapters on teaching specfic skills are very useful, and really work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    2222222222222222222222222222322233222222222222222332232222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222225222222222222222222222222222222233222222222222222222222232322222222222222222222222

    22222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222232222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Miles






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Uriti

    Uriti pads in, carrying a bowl of custard. She sets it down in the middle, and proceeds to make two nests.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Great perspective on how your dog thinks and what motivates her

    Excellent book to provide perspective on how dogs think and how to use this knowledge in your training. I read this before getting my puppy just a week ago. It is difficult to apply some of the techniques to my 12 week old pup, but I always keep the principles in mind and work toward the method she's recommending. This is my first dog, so it helped me to see through the dogs eyes. Excellent first resource, then you can read other articles to compare or tweak the techniques you want to use. Good read. Tried to get my 10 year old son to read it, but it was a little wordy in the beginning, not enough "action."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THANK YOU

    This book helped me understand my dogs better and solve the problems that I was having. I have tried other methods with minimal success. The methods in this book are so easy to follow and my dogs respond to them with enthusiasm. Taking a walk has never been easier -no more pulling or prong collars- and now when I call their names they are so excited to find out what surprise awaits them. This book has made all the difference in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    Good Read

    I enjoyed it however I felt my puppy didn't respond to all the techniques and needed a little bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Really helped me with my yorkie. Get the DVD for a Quick lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    The Best Inslight a Book Can Give

    Tamar Geller, without a doubt, has the ability to understand what a dog is attempting to communicate to people. Gone are the days of brutal force and man-handling in order to influence a dog's manners. Tamar Geller promotes love and respect toward dogs and her concepts have proven to be successful. Both animal lovers and Trainers could learn a wealth of information from reading 'The Loved Dog'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    I Loved It!

    I used this book to work with three dogs who had received little to no previous training. I've never trained a dog before--these were dogs that I'm around all the time whose owners hadn't done any training. The techniques worked so well that all three dogs were performing Sit Down and Come in no time. And they had so much fun doing it! Contrary to some other reviewers, I loved that this book isn't a straight training manual. I appreciated learning the background on Tamar and how the methods were developed. I read it from cover to cover as soon as I got it, and couldn't put it down. Her website says she has some DVDs out, so I'm going to try those, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    The power of 'TV Stars'

    OK book, but it lack¿s real substance. The first five chapters are a waste of time unless it¿s important to you to know her background. There¿s no doubt that she knows and understands the canine mind. However, she seems more interested in impressing you with who she knows rather than really teaching the average person about dog training. If you are looking for a book to get down to the real details of canine training, this is not the book. FYI¿. she does not respond to email questions at her web site. Oh well, maybe Oprah needs her again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The Smart Author

    You amaze me how you trained dogs how to do those things!I haven't read the book yet,but I'm going to get it. I saw your book on Oprah.When I saw the book on Oprah thats what made me want to get it. You really really amaze me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Tamar Geller is truly an inspiration to dog lovers. Her amazing attitude and complete understanding of dog-to-dog and dog-to-human interactions make this book invaluable to anyone who wants to develop a steadfast and trusting relationship with their canine companion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2