Customer Reviews for

The Lovely Bones

Average Rating 4
( 4218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2112)

4 Star

(1129)

3 Star

(560)

2 Star

(245)

1 Star

(172)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

The Lovely Bones is a gripping and wonderfully played out novel.

When I first picked up The Lovely Bones I had a feeling it was a book I was going to like, there was so much hype about it and it seemed like it was becoming a modern day classic. As I began to read it more and more, not only did I like it, but I began to be so attached...
When I first picked up The Lovely Bones I had a feeling it was a book I was going to like, there was so much hype about it and it seemed like it was becoming a modern day classic. As I began to read it more and more, not only did I like it, but I began to be so attached to the story and especially the characters, which the author ,Alice Sebold, writes about in great detail. The story is about a 13 year old girl named Susie Salmon who has a normal, but nice life. Her life is soon put to an end though once she is murdered by one of her neighbors. She than goes off to heaven and looks down on her murderer and on her coping family. Alice Sebold has made an imaginative story which has a wonderfully set up plot that features suspense, romance, some mystery, tragedy, and hope. The Lovely Bones is a book that I think everybody of all ages and gender should read.

posted by Corey_P on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Slightly Disappointing

I decided to pick up this book randomly when having the desire for a new read, a fresh one. A lot of my friends have read it and told me it was great, and its got a lot of hype (and is now apparently a movie) so I decided, why not?
The story itself is interesting.. it...
I decided to pick up this book randomly when having the desire for a new read, a fresh one. A lot of my friends have read it and told me it was great, and its got a lot of hype (and is now apparently a movie) so I decided, why not?
The story itself is interesting.. it kept me reading. Sadly there isn't really a climax because, in a way, there isn't really an ending... at least not a satisfying one. I thought the concept of the story was original (kind of) that the story was being told by a dead 14 year-old from her heaven. The events that take place keep you reading.. until a certain point. The book kind of comes to a stop and then slowly takes you to the end... and then a couple weird things happen, at which point before finishing the book you realize nothing is REALLY going to happen.
But that wasn't really the thing that disappointed me. It was the fact that I felt I already knew the message and the "ending" of this story before I even read it. The "realistic" ending and perspective of this terrible situation, which didn't seem very satisfying to me. Though the message, I would say, is nice and can offer someone something to take away from it, that wasn't the case for me. I feel that this book would be an eye opener for someone much younger than me. At the age of 20, I have read too many novels, seen to many movies, and have gone through enough pain in my life to take away any valuable or inspiring message from this book. It's message was nice, like I said, but didn't do much for me and left me disappointed. Plus Alice's writing style kind of jumped around and could become confusing for some.
So, overall, I would recommend this book to a 14-18 year old with good reading skills and is mature enough to read some slightly graphic material. Anyone older than that I don't think will get anything out of it or be moved by its message. The book is good, but just wasn't inspiring to me.

posted by 1826394 on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 57
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put it down.

    Beautifully written, sometimes disturbing, touching, a book you couldn't put down once you read the first sentence. I really hope the movie captures the true essence of the book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    It's as lovely as it sounds!

    The Lovely Bones is about a girl named Susie, who one day is murdered walking home from school. Her family is devastated by the sudden death of Susie. As the family tries to cope with their loss, Susie tries to lead her father to her killer. After months without a lead, Susie watches from heaven as her family begins to fall apart. Her sister Lindsey tries to stay strong with all the rumors at school and being known as the dead girl's sister. In the end, Lindsey realizes the truth behind Susie's murder. Be careful who you trust, because sometimes the killer could be right in front of you.
    I personally enjoyed reading this book. If you like reading mysterious books then this book is for you. At times this book can be really upsetting and sad. In some parts of the book it can be a little slow, but it picks back up pretty quick. Read and help Susie's family go on the search to find Susie's killer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Great book, the ending was breathtaking!

    The book is a great read. I didn't read it continually but when I wasnt reading it, I was thinking of it. I did skip a few lines because although she writes in great detail, but some of the elements could be omitted from the book and it would affect the book at all. Basically, there were certain elements or storylines to the book that i left weren't needed and just made certsin chapters boring snd easy to skip. But I loved the book and especially the ending, her last words of the book brought a smile to my face and tears to my eyes. The ending was beautiful and sweet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Anoymos on May 3,2012

    Heart warming book. So touching! I suggest this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Sad---Masterpiece

    I loved the story! Honestly it is a work of art.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Good read.

    I enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Tear-filled, But Lacked Excitement...

    Her name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. Brutally murdered at the age of fourteen by a grim man who goes by the name of George Harvey, Susie was gone. The Salmon family has to learn to cope with the loss of their eldest daughter as she solemnly watches over them from her ¿heaven¿. Susie is forced to watch her family suffer while only attempting to find her murderer. Yearning for their beloved Susie, the family goes to drastic measures to let go. However, the dead, innocent young lady can¿t do anything about the happenings except simply; watch. This novel is a guaranteed tear-jerker beginning from just the first chapter. Constantly putting you in the character¿s position, The Lovely Bones hits close to home. Emotions of the situations and characters overpower you; sucking you into this read. However, this book didn¿t exactly have an identifiable climax. I can somewhat understand the excitement¿s absence considering the novel was supposed to be slow and depressing, but having a climax would have improved this book¿s quality by far. Specific portions of the novel were slow and seemed partially useless. Also, some parts were worded oddly causing them to be confusing. Personally, I think the years skipped around way to fast and unnoticeably. I thought Lindsey was still thirteen years old until the very end of the book. Expressing these important details more clearly would have helped me and I¿m sure others understand the plot of Lovely Bones a lot more efficiently. Most importantly, it would show the progression of the family¿s coping over time, which I feel is one of the most important themes in the book. However, what struck me the most was the conclusion. It was very confusing and the very last paragraphs didn¿t blend or relate well with the endings sentences. Considering the book was about a murder, you would expect the ending to be somewhat suspenseful. The ending truly left me and several others due to confusion. Overall, The Lovely Bones is a great novel for a mature adolescent or adult to experience if seeking a heartwarming, but perfectly devastating story of a desperate family and their passed daughter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    REVIEW

    Hello, my name is Valerie and I really love this book; in fact it's one of my favorites. I couldn't put the book down, it sucked me right back in. It's a very strange and unique novel, anyone would enjoy. I would recommend the lovely bones for all young adults. This book contains unimaginable horror and ends with a lovely ending. The book is based on the death of a 14 year old Susan Salmon. Susan goes to heaven where she experience watching life on earth, she sees her murder hide any clue of the murder. She is horrified to see what her death has done to her family. Its teaches us about dealing with deaths and holding on to our loved ones. This book opened my eyes to how easy someone can come and go, you would enjoy it as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    heart-wrenching

    The lovely bones by Alice Sebold is the tragic story of Susie Salmon, a fourteen year old girl who was raped, murdered and cut into pieces by her neighbor and serial killer Mr. Harvey. Until Susie's murder is solved she stays in "the in-between" watching as her family struggles to solve the mystery behind her murder. This heart-wrenching story is easily relatable and you experience the heartache of losing someone close. The story also lets you see the world through Susie's eyes and gives the reader insight into the after life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    The lovely bones is a mysterious drama.

    The Lovely Bones is Alice Sebold's first novel, but you can't tell. Her vivid details tell the story of Susie Salmons and her family's tragedy. This book will keep you on your toes the whole time. She has received quite a few reviews for this book.

    Fourteen year old Susie is narrating her story of being kidnapped, raped, and murdered by her neighbor Mr. Botts who is later found to be a serial killer. Susie's family has a hard time coping after her death; her dad becomes obsessed with proving that their neighbor killed her. This leads her Mother to have an affair and run away to California. Her sister is worried that she will only be known as the girl whose sister died instead of her being known for her grand accomplishments. Her brother is the one that really suffers not really understanding what has happened and loosing his family. Susie is telling her story by looking down from heaven. She describes heaven as her school playground with big swing sets. She is with a girl named Holly and when she thinks of something it will just appear for her but all she really wants is to be back with her family and tell them what happened.

    The book has started a little puzzling but as it goes on it becomes easier to understand. The mood of the book is a mixture of a mystery and a sob story. The only thing I did not enjoy about The Lovely Bones was that it repeated itself a lot. But overall it was a great book.

    In the end the book Susie's family starts to move on with their lives. Her sister has a boyfriend. And her dad has given up the hunt to prove that their neighbor was the killer, but it will always be in the back of his mind. Susie's love ones are finally at peace, but she will never be forgotten.

    I really appreciated reading this wonderful book. I recommend this book to Middle School Students or older. Its mysterious mood will keep you on your toes. Once you start this book you won't be able to put it down. If you haven't read this you better get to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    amazing,emotional

    this book makes you realize things about life that you would normally miss. truely a book that one must read just promise not to watch the movie Highly Recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I decided to read the Lovely Bones when a close friend of mine reccomended it. I enjoyed the book, it was not disappointing, just not what I had expected. The first chapter is very intense and then Sebold tells how life went on and how Susie's family and friends cope. Her father and mother are devastated and her sister starts to feel different emotions about life. Little Buckley, too young to understand much is baffled by everything as his world is turned upside down. As time goes on Susie's death starts to rip the family apart. Meanwhile, Susie watches the changes on Earth without her and she tries to let go. Sometimes this book made me want to throw it against the wall and sometimes I did, but I always came back begging for more. I really liked this book because I was able to feel the characters emotions while reading it. Alice Sebold really went into detail which helped me understand this story. Sebold is a very good author and I look forward to reading her other books. Overall, I do recommend this book to people 12 and over (this might be a little bit "too much" on younger children). If you don't like reading books where other people are upset then this book is not for you. In the other case, if you don't mind reading sad story's then you might like this story. I also recommend Wherever Nina Lies by Lynn Weingarten because it has a similar subject. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Better then the movie

    If you haven't read the book but have seen the movie, you need to get this. There was so much detail left out and it left you really thinking about what you would if you were in their shoes!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    Great read, slight letdown.

    Okay, I read this fairly quickly and I enjoyed the whole book but I'm a little upset with the fact that Susie and her family don't really get any justice...just irony. I would recommend this book to anyone but I don't think it's one I would read over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My heart pounds heavy with this tale.

    Emotional and jaw droppingly presented. She is a gifted writer. The idea is not voerall creative I meen come on anyone one with two years in creative writing could muster the genesis. It is the way she tells the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    What a profound read!

    The whole concept of this book is touching, sad,deep--struck me in so many different ways. It was written delicately even though the topic was disturbing on so many levels. You wanted her to connect with the people who loved her.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Stimulating, interesting, disturbing

    A fascinating portrayal of life from a teenager's perspective and what heaven could be like. Would not recommend if you have any personal experience with a child's death--very emotional!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    WOW

    This book i would have given 5 stars but the subject of matter is unsettling. This subject touches home, hard. I wasn't murdered and every day i thank god. But its scary to realize these things can actually happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Very sad

    This is a well written book, but extremely sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Lovely bones

    Really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 57