Customer Reviews for

Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1537)

4 Star

(399)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Rehvenge Was So Worth The Wait

I know a lot of readers were dissatisfied with the last book, but one of the highlights for me was the insight into Rehvenge's life and the secret he's been so desperate to hide. Although I have to say, that part about the barb? Um... ick. Rehv has always been one of my...
I know a lot of readers were dissatisfied with the last book, but one of the highlights for me was the insight into Rehvenge's life and the secret he's been so desperate to hide. Although I have to say, that part about the barb? Um... ick. Rehv has always been one of my favorite characters in the BDB world so I was pretty excited to finally get my hands on this book, and I have to say, it does not disappoint. The story moves forward in leaps, characters develop, Lash comes into his own as the Omega's spawn and Rehvenge gets a beautiful, heartbreaking love story. Ehlena turns out to be perfect for him, both strong and compassionate, and their blossoming romance is sweet and super hot. One of the things Ward does is write multiple story arcs for each book so there's a huge chunk about Wrath's struggle as King, Tohrment's torturous return to the land of the living and John Matthew's disillusionment at the hands of Xhex. There's even an appearance by Payne who gives Wrath a beat-down, proof that there's something in the works about her eventually joining the Brotherhood which I'm super excited about. I wish I knew what characters Ward was going to write about next, but I'm really really hoping for Tohr's story, and I would love to see him and Payne end up together. Also really looking forward to reading more about Lassiter the sexy fallen angel and Qhuinn.

posted by BekahSC on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite, but important character development

Not my favorite love story in the series. I skimmed a lot of pages in this book. Must read though for important info on john aka darius and xhex for the next book. Most intimate scenes grossed me out. The end will have you want to call the exterminator to ensure there a...
Not my favorite love story in the series. I skimmed a lot of pages in this book. Must read though for important info on john aka darius and xhex for the next book. Most intimate scenes grossed me out. The end will have you want to call the exterminator to ensure there are no spiders in your home.

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 106
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't run out of characters, please!

    I love this series; it started my love affair with paranormal romance. What I really appreciate is how she treats Rehvenge - a dark and morally questionable character (drug dealer/addict, for crying out loud), with an achingly tragic story behind him that really sets him up to be a hero. Of course, all of her characters come like that - socially and emotionally complex, making this a delightful effort in reading. As always, her depth of character and plot development keeps me riveted from beginning to end. As we still, at least, have Tohr and John Matthew (Darius??? huh? huh?) to explore, I'm begging Ms. Ward: "Don't stop writing!!!" These are truly my favorite vampires...I am so in love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Let me start off by making it clear that I'm a fan of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. I feel like I know the brothers, and enjoy catching up with them and watching their progress in the war against the Lessers. But despite the fact that I'm a fan, this book was a disappointment and I don't think it lived up to the rest of the series.

    This was supposed to be Rehvenge's story, yet there were too many other storylines screaming for attention. There was Wrath's struggle with being king, the John Matthew and Xhex will-they/won't-they dance, Lash dealing with the Lessers, and even a plot cooked up by some of the Glymera. I found myself skipping over parts trying to find Rehvenge and Ehlena's part of the story.

    As much as I love Wrath and John Matthew, Wrath already had his turn and John Matthew's story should be coming out sooner or later. There were too many distractions and not enough time spent on the two main characters. I felt cheated, and a little outraged on Rehvenge's behalf! *L*

    Because of all of the side stories and distractions, I only gave this one 3 out of 5 stars. I'm glad I borrowed it from the library instead of buying it, as it was a little on the disappointing side.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read, you won't regret it!!!

    J.R. Ward is an absolute genius. I've read the whole series and own every book. Lover Avenged finally let us understand Rehvenge. You almost hated him because of his life style, and the few secrets we were let in on with the other books. Having a look into his past and his life, makes you love him. He's bad(and who doesn't love a little bit of a bad boy), but his heart once you're let into it is absolutely amazing. He's sexy, powerful, strong, romantic, caring, and down right sinister. I couldn't put the book down. There was so much thrill in it, you stayed curious about what was going to happen next. You also cried in all the right places. This one also pulled at your heart strings. I know there were some reviews that didn't like that the intimate parts didn't present right away in the book. I liked that the readers had to build up to that part. The story line for this book and the other books are so much more important, but thank goodness for the sexy!! and J.R. Ward really knows how to put the sex(y) into this series. I can't wait for the next book. I would love to see this series turned into movies. Wow what a thrill that would be!! I would purchase all of them as well. I recommend all of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, and the Insider's Guide. What an amazing idea J.R. Ward had with the insider's guide. I couldn't put that one down either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Says Rehevenge Isn't Sweet?

    All I can say is WOW! This book had so many synchronized layers that fell into place it was pure genius! Rehvenge, big brother to Bella, Zsadist's shellan and uncle to Nalla, has been lucky thus far at juggling his many hidden secrets, but we all know eventually everyone's luck runs out. Not only is he hiding the fact that he's half Symphath from everyone, including his beloved sister but he is also quite skillful at concealing the fact that he's a drug dealer, murderer, pimp, loan-shark and is also being blackmailed into being an incestuous gigolo. Whoever says pimping isn't easy, hasn't met Rehvenge. To be honest, I find the degradation and depravity of the pimp, prostitute and john exchange loathsome but JR Ward pulled this storyline off so flawlessly, that I was still rooting for Rehvenge in spite of what he does for a living. Rehv and Ehlena make a dynamic duo. Ehlena is head strong and pragmatic and reminds me a lot of Beth. Rehv is a powerful force that has proven he would sacrifice his very own existence for the women in his life (his mom, Bella, Nalla and Ehlena). I wasn't at all appalled at him being blackmailed into servicing his half-sister the Symphath Princess. Now if that same situation happened with Bella, then that would've have been downright disgusting! He and Bella are family, whereas with the Princess, she's his tormentor and potential executioner. His lifestyle wasn't pretty but it was necessary, blackmail can be so expensive these days. If you are a Wrath and Beth fan, this book should not be missed. John-Matthew and Xhex are a trainwreck waiting to collide and I can't wait to see what happens next between them. We get to view many different sides of Xhex: the assassin, the warrior, the heartbroken and the lover. I can't say I like the direction John is taking. There's really no need for him to be damaged goods in order to make the story more interesting. Also, John and Tohr's relationship sucks! I really wish those two would cut the crap and kiss and make-up as father and son already. The timing of Zerosum's conclusion was impeccable. It's like every one got to wipe their slate clean and start afresh; from the drug addicts to the dealers to the prostitutes and johns to Rehv and Xhex. The humor between Lassiter and the Brothers was priceless. This book was chocked full of surprises, with plenty of action and a plethora of suspense. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers. I also look forward to the next book in the series "Lover Mine" (JM & Xhex's story) coming spring 2010 and also the new spin-off fallen angel's series coming out this September "Covet".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Love the BDB...

    If you haven't read this series, Start Now! Just not with Lover Avenged.

    You can not simply undertake this book alone without the previous six in the series. Although most of the needed history is provided in short synopsis, you won't really understand the background emotions and feelings behind the characters without the other books.

    This is a much different book than the first three, but still very good. I've read in some reviews and forums that people were unhappy with the "direction" the books have taken from Books 4-6. While I noticed the changes, I think it's relevant to the continuing story. JR Ward can't keep introducing characters and not showing them develop. In fact, I like the side-stories that we get, along with seeing the struggles the Brothers face in their daily lives and the war with the Lessers.

    Also, I see some grumblings about the fact that this is hardbound instead of paperback. Yes, the price increases; but do you not see that this is a compliment to the WARDen? The fact that her books are being published and released in hardcover before paperback is a big deal, so I'm willing to support her in her good fortune.

    My only complaint with LAv was that it took 200 pages before we got a love scene. Seriously? 200 pages before anyone 'got it on'? And I wanted more of Rehv and Ehlena's budding romance before their separation.
    Overall - Great Book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    i love j.r. ward, but this latest book tops everything. i love the guys that are tough and hard to reach, and then the author throws one brave, loving woman in their way and the guy just breaks down. it is a very compelling book, i dont get much time to read, but when i do that is all i do. i have overall read the black dagger brotherhood collection, excluding lover avenged, about 2 or 3 times completely through. i havent finished this book all the way yet, but im almost done and it looks very promising

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Improving on a Wonderful Thing

    What can I say? These books just keep getting longer and better. I hope the trend continues so that I can sit down in a couple of years and take a month to read one of these stories :-) With most paranormal romance (and I'm quite a connoisseur), the stories get tired after a while - same old same old, as it were. Somehow, Ward keeps coming up with completely new characters that are so vivid that you actually believe that she could really be interview these people and not making them up in her head. (If you don't understand, check out her website http://www.jrward.com.)

    Rhevenge is a keeper. You just want to grab him up in a big hug and comfort him and it's almost cathartic to the reader when Elhena finally does. As for the other stories going on behind the scenes? Oh man, let me tell you. If I don't get to read about John and Xhex in the next one, I think my head will explode. How long does it take for an author to write a new book? Too long, I assure you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best yet

    Very exciting, action packed Brotherhood novel. I love Rehvenge for who he is. He is a deep dark protector. No matter of his sociopathic disability, he does everything he can to keep it and himself at bay, protect his family, his friends, his secret. It's taking it's toll on him. No matter - because it's all getting ready to be revealed. Ehlena is the perfect female for Rehvenge. I was shocked at how romantic Rehv is. Which was a wonderful change from Z's hard and powerful possessiveness, and V's....well, "fun and games." I think J.R. brought it out even further how different Rehv is when Ehlena showed up at V's place instead of Rehv's. Quite humorous in my opinion.

    Ehlena was perfectly human, er well...normal. Her reactions to Rehv, especially when she finds out who he really is, was spot on. Hurt, betrayed...but then revelation. She figures it out all on her own. She's a very strong female, able to take care of herself...but she's very venerable at the same time. She needs the tenderness that Rehv provides.

    LOVE the subplots once again, although they really weren't that secondary. The story seems to align much more nicely in this book than in books past. In the past we had the main story, then we had some side things going on. This time we had a book. Wrath and Beth played a much larger role, which was just wonderful in my opinion. I liked seeing Butch a little more too. But most of all, I absolutely ADORE the continuation - and the beginning - of John Matthew and Xhex's story.

    My one disappointment of the book? I was REALLY expecting Rehvenge started fighting with the Brotherhood. There is a much different alignment though - but I won't ruin that for you.

    In my opinion...while all these books are great, this is the absolute best Black Dagger Brotherhood book yet. My expectation is that Lover Mine is going to meet and exceed this. I think this series has 3 books left, including Lover Mine, and she's definitely going to take it out with a bang.

    more reviews at www.iloves2read.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG I Love This Book!!!!

    I absolutely love this book!!! It is one of the best books I have ever read in my life... Rhev I love you dude!!!! You are really awesome guy!!! J. R. Ward you keep on writing about these boys I love them to death!!! Can't wait till the next book comes out...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG love you and thanks so much J.R. Ward!!!

    Let me start by saying I absolutely adore J.R. Ward and the BDB!!!! To anyone new to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series this is not the book to start with or a book to stand alone. Ward is great about not repeating the background story over and over again for each book. I think she is an unique author because each book has an undercurrent plot line for the next book and I usually love that. Although I have to say that in this one I felt the set up stories for John and Xhex combined with Wrath and Beth's story was almost too strong and took away from Rehevenge and Ehlena. I literally started screaming when I got to the last 40 pages and realized how short the climax and aftermath of the whole book was going to be!! I don't know if it was because of editing/publishing issues or if Ward really felt like that was all that was needed for Rehevenge and Ehlena, but I can't remember when I have ever felt so cheated by an author/book that I so love and trust. I know J.R. Ward is great about keeping each character and the couples involved in each book which makes it hard to complain about hearing more from Wrath and Beth. I guess I just hope that maybe she could include a couple deleted scenes (like not cutting out Rehvenge and Ehlena's first full love scene!!!) or even better-an extended ending on her website. This book had action, internal drama, and as always very well written and explicit love scenes. This series is a must own for anyone into the paranormal and for anyone who, like me, want a touch of erotic love scenes but can't stand reading the weak five minute story line that you find in a lot of erotica.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It....

    Although my heart still belongs to Zsadist and his damage I have to say that I do love me some Revhenge. His story was a very nice twist to the other books. I willl say that it was much different then the other BDB books due to the fact that he's not a Brother. I wish I could have seen more of the brothers every day lives like in the previous 6 books but it was nice to finally find out what Revhenge was and what it meant. I have a feeling (because of the last few chapters of this book) that the next book will be John's. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this will be the case. This book is a page turner for sure and will be a permanent fixture at the front of my library along with the other JR Ward books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    JR Ward's best yet.

    A master or mistress, shall we say, of blending urban fantasy with paranormal romance, the Warden comes through with the eagerly anticipated Lover Avenged. This latest installment in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series gives us a searing romance with her most complex character yet. Half symphath and half vampire, Rehvenge is an edgy outlaw driven by power and greed ...or so we thought. Unflappable Ehlena is a stand-up kind of woman, perfect for championing an outsider like the Rehv. New developments for other favorite characters like Wrath and John Matthew with outcomes hanging in the balance. And the reason the Warden sets the standard in fantasy/romance, multiple plot lines woven with just the right blend of action, sex, quotable insights and savvy references. Sizzle factor is firey and exciting--if not kinky. The Black Dagger Brotherhood is a most satisfying adult alternative to Twilight's teen twitterpations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rehvenge - Surprising!

    I have been looking forward to the next book of the Brotherhood, but was unsure if I would appreciate Rehvenge's story. Wow! Was I wrong! I knew he was deep but learning why he became the Rehv made me want love for him. I also was very happy that Wrath was so much a part of this story. I want John's story. And when is he going to stop using that name and use his "real" one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I have read all of the black dagger series and this one was by far the best. I love Ward's writing style and how she depicts her characters. I definitely reccommend this series. She hooked me with her first book and didn't dissappoint me with this last one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still entertaining but not the strongest in the series

    The main plot (Rehv) was not my favorite of the series. I was much more interested in what went on on the sidelines. Wrath and Beth were great. and everything with John Matthew was fantastic. I'm assuming the next book is about John Matthew and I cannot wait. I want to see Lash get what he deserves and to have John Matthew FINALLY be happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    R and E the sweetest love story

    i am over halfway through this book now and i sooooooooo love it.... Rehv is soo sweet... and im glad Wrath and Beth got put into the story a lot too. well they are not all the pple in this story and i love it all except the lessers of course. HIGHlEY recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Thank you

    Thank you J.R. Ward for continuing this series. Please just keep going. Although I was disappointed in the last book, it was way to busy and didn't keep its main story on a specific character finding romance, like all the others. I couldn't keep up. This one was much, much better. It still didn't focus on one character with throwing in the others for future use. The first 5 books were based on one character and throwing in new ones. That's how I like it. I really like this book throwing in some drama about Wrath and Beth whom are my favorites. That way you don't lose site of the other characters. Although this book was over 500 pages I read it in 24 hours, I continue to read the others over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    Awesome!

    When I first read that this book was going to be about Rhev, I wasn't sure what to think. I am pleasantly surprised! Loved, loved, loved Rhev's story and it made me fall in love with the series all over again. Someone suggested starting from book 2 so not to get lost but I think starting from the beginning is the best thing to do. Especially if you want a more in depth knowledge of Wrath and Beth's relationship and how he and Rhev has a common ground. I definately can't wait until the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FINALLY!!!!!

    The BDB is a great series. I just finished the first 10 chapters and loved very page!! I recommend those new the Brotherhood series to start with Book #2, so that you won't get lost. The books are great escapes and the best fantasy. The vampires and the passion for their mates are to die for...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Changing to Urban Fantasy Rocks!

    Magneficiently written. Ward was able to capture the hero in a light that was similar to Z but different. Rehvenge from the other previous books seems to be an off beat hard ass, painted in a negative perspective, drug dealer, pimp, etc. But in this book his character was subtle able to redeem himself, not just what he didn' do and what he did, but the tiny nuances that make him seems almost human.

    His heroine, Ehlena is perfectly matched with emotions and reactions that is lovable and easy to relate to. The courtship, was fantastic to read, the turbulent revelations, and the pain that both undergo makes the story so much more emotional. In addition, the story also introduces the sin eater society which is scary and new.

    There are also new developments in the story that keeps this book alive, such as JM and Xhex, Lash and the Society, the Sin Eaters, the brothers, and the changing ever vampire society. These plots all combine to give substance to the story to actually set up a nice plot for any future stories.

    Let me tell you, many people have complained about the genre change that this author has done to this series. I believe that the change was neccessary in building the future of the series and enabling readers to actually see a wider and broader aspect of the BDB and the people involved.

    The only difference is I was left wanting more, wishing the book didn't end and hoping for another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 106