Customer Reviews for

Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1536)

4 Star

(400)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Rehvenge Was So Worth The Wait

I know a lot of readers were dissatisfied with the last book, but one of the highlights for me was the insight into Rehvenge's life and the secret he's been so desperate to hide. Although I have to say, that part about the barb? Um... ick. Rehv has always been one of my...
I know a lot of readers were dissatisfied with the last book, but one of the highlights for me was the insight into Rehvenge's life and the secret he's been so desperate to hide. Although I have to say, that part about the barb? Um... ick. Rehv has always been one of my favorite characters in the BDB world so I was pretty excited to finally get my hands on this book, and I have to say, it does not disappoint. The story moves forward in leaps, characters develop, Lash comes into his own as the Omega's spawn and Rehvenge gets a beautiful, heartbreaking love story. Ehlena turns out to be perfect for him, both strong and compassionate, and their blossoming romance is sweet and super hot. One of the things Ward does is write multiple story arcs for each book so there's a huge chunk about Wrath's struggle as King, Tohrment's torturous return to the land of the living and John Matthew's disillusionment at the hands of Xhex. There's even an appearance by Payne who gives Wrath a beat-down, proof that there's something in the works about her eventually joining the Brotherhood which I'm super excited about. I wish I knew what characters Ward was going to write about next, but I'm really really hoping for Tohr's story, and I would love to see him and Payne end up together. Also really looking forward to reading more about Lassiter the sexy fallen angel and Qhuinn.

posted by BekahSC on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite, but important character development

Not my favorite love story in the series. I skimmed a lot of pages in this book. Must read though for important info on john aka darius and xhex for the next book. Most intimate scenes grossed me out. The end will have you want to call the exterminator to ensure there a...
Not my favorite love story in the series. I skimmed a lot of pages in this book. Must read though for important info on john aka darius and xhex for the next book. Most intimate scenes grossed me out. The end will have you want to call the exterminator to ensure there are no spiders in your home.

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 106
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rehvenge Was So Worth The Wait

    I know a lot of readers were dissatisfied with the last book, but one of the highlights for me was the insight into Rehvenge's life and the secret he's been so desperate to hide. Although I have to say, that part about the barb? Um... ick. Rehv has always been one of my favorite characters in the BDB world so I was pretty excited to finally get my hands on this book, and I have to say, it does not disappoint. The story moves forward in leaps, characters develop, Lash comes into his own as the Omega's spawn and Rehvenge gets a beautiful, heartbreaking love story. Ehlena turns out to be perfect for him, both strong and compassionate, and their blossoming romance is sweet and super hot. One of the things Ward does is write multiple story arcs for each book so there's a huge chunk about Wrath's struggle as King, Tohrment's torturous return to the land of the living and John Matthew's disillusionment at the hands of Xhex. There's even an appearance by Payne who gives Wrath a beat-down, proof that there's something in the works about her eventually joining the Brotherhood which I'm super excited about. I wish I knew what characters Ward was going to write about next, but I'm really really hoping for Tohr's story, and I would love to see him and Payne end up together. Also really looking forward to reading more about Lassiter the sexy fallen angel and Qhuinn.

    37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. one of the be

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. one of the better summer reads I enjoyed

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rehv's book is now at the top of my list

    Before Lover Avenged I really wasn't able to get into Rehvenge's character. I am glad that he had a whole book dedicated to him. Seeing the sensitive, lonely side portrayed in this book made me fall in love with his character the way I did with all the other Brothers. I cannot wait for John Matthews book. JR Ward keeps you eagerly awaiting her next installment each time. The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a permanent addition to my home library. I am still a huge fan of Zsadist but Rehv comes in a close second now. LOVED IT!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! The BDB at it's BEST!!

    I must say that I started this book not really "feeling" Rehvenge. Not so much the look, the attitude or the person I thought he was. Once it was all over, I was as in love with him as any of the other leading men in Ward's other novels. How the heck did she do that? By crafting a beautiful, romantic and believable plot that had me glued to the book from beginning to end.

    I loved Ehlena, who was strong and beautiful. The perfect match for Rehvenge who we learn through the novel is very deserving of an awesome mate. Happily, the brothers are truly back in this book with all the hilarious banter we've come to look forward too. The Brotherhood goes through some major changes and comes out of it together, stronger than ever.

    I have to add that Lash makes a kick-butt bad guy and he's taking the "lesser parts" from something you had to get through to get on to more of the "good stuff", to something that you can't wait to get to.

    And to many of her past readers that felt as though her last few novels were not "romantic enough", I believe we can see here clearly that every character in the BDB world is different and that Ward has done them all justice in a way that was true to that character. Sometimes is was all mushy and romantic, other times is was gritty and disturbing, all the time it was well written. These are NOT formulaic romance novels. Thank goodness!

    With that said, this story has tons of romance, is often sweet, and has the constant intensity and excitement we've come to expect of Ward's books. There were a few side plots that were critical to the story and also very satisfying, especially to long time followers of this series.

    I can't recommend this book enough for lovers of paranormal romance, urban fantasy, fantasy and well...reading! You'll wish it had 1000 pages.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful

    After i was finished with reading Lover Enshrined i have to admit i was hesitant about picking this book up, because i wasn't really a fan of Rhev in the first place. Boy, let me tell you how THAT changed. The story line was perfect and J.R Ward knows exactly how to get you liking both the hero and heroin. This book had the perfect romance. It was incredibly sweet and i had to reread this book several times just like i had to do for Lover Awakened. Thats why J.R Ward is my favorite author because the BDB series is my down right favorite series and always will be. These books have the perfect balance between everything you would want in a romance book and more. Lover Avenged is my 2nd fav book. Right behind Lover Awakened.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    One of the best in the series!

    So glad I changed my mind about abandoning this series and gave Ward one more chance. Lover Avenged was much better than Lover Unbound & Lover Enshrined.

    After the last two books were such a disappointment I wasn't expecting much, especially since I wasn't all that interested in Rehv. I felt like in Lover Enshrined, Ward had wrote half-assed for Phury and quite possibly I was holding that against Rehv a bit. At any rate, Rehv won me over, I found myself completely drawn to the character and into the story. Though he is not a brother Rehv is right up there with Zsadist and Wrath now days.

    The subplots did not overpower the main storyline. They were obviously building steps for another story but they were connected to the main storyline so I didn't find them distracting or out of place. Ward was able to lay her foundation without getting ahead of herself.

    I was planning to take a reading breather but after I finished Lover Avenged last night I just had to get started on Lover Mine. My nook is costing me a small fortune and I am sleep deprived, but oh well on with the show.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo WARden

    The book was by far is J.R. Ward's best she never disappoints her readers, especially this one! It was good to see more about the King & Queen Wrath & Beth & also to see Tohr coming back to the fold.

    If you haven't read the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series your really missing out. Lover Revenged as well as the other 6 books in this series hold strong vivid characters that just come off the page at the reader. I promise you will both laugh and cry while reading the stories.

    Again Bravo to The Black Dagger Brotherhood & thank you J.R. Ward for sharing your wonderful talent.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    I love love LOVE this series! Can't get enough of the Brothers!

    While it is not possible to review a book that isn't published yet, I feel confident in saying that Lover Avenged will meet or exceed the WARDen's high standards of writing. She has fleshed out the Brothers with believable personalities, given them conflicts and problems aplenty to resolve, difficulties and tragedies to overcome and a really evil enemy they need to defeat. The world she has established for the stories is complex and frankly could be here for real, right now. She has added an extra spiritual layer to vampire society by developing the Scribe Virgin, a deity with no real Judeo-Christian equivalent, and her brother the Omega, evil incarnate. (closest would be the Scribe Virgin as Goddess and the Omega as Satan.)
    Rehvenge is the newly appointed leader of the Princeps, the vampire aristocracy. He will be approached to help displace Wrath, King of the vampires. Given Rhev's love for his younger sister, who is mated to the Brother Zsadist, I hope he will let his heart lead him to keep the faith with the king and the Brothers. I look forard, as well, to learning what is happening with: Blay and Quinn; Butch and V and their shellans; John Matthew and Xhex . We'll find out in 11 days!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Love love love it...

    The Rev is sooo sexy i wanna eat him up...as usual Ward delivers!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rehvenge and Ehlena

    This was the story of Rehvenge, half symphath half vampire and truly a whole "Male of Worth". Which is very surprising considering all we knew about him from previous chapters in this series. To find that he is such a kind and loving soul was really a testament to "don't judge a book by it's cover". We also meet Ehlena in this chapter, the woman with whom he falls in love, but is afraid to show her the "real" him. But what he *does* show her is pretty amazing! Ehlena is a nurse at Havers' clinic where she meets Rehvenge for the first time and only because none of the other nurses want to take care of him! She also takes care of her father who has a mental illness. She is the good girl to Rehv's bad boy. A lot of our old friends from previous chapters are in this chapter too, thanks to several sub plots. Wrath and Beth, Mary, Bella, Qhuinn, Blay, Xhex, and JOHN MATTHEWS! This is a very "busy" book... lots of things going on, and whenever anything starts to really pick up or something is about to be revealed, you are derailed to another sub plot. Keeps you on the edge of your seat for sure! Although the book was good, I think it was a little longer than it needed to be. There was a lot of things going on that were 'over described' and other things that were important that were either 'under described' or, what seemed to me, wrapped up a bit quick. Like the ending for instance, I felt like Rehvenge and Ehlena were just kinda glossed over in the very end. This was suppose to be their story, not Wrath and Beth's story. But that's just my take on it and may, in no way, be your experience. As I've stressed in my other reviews of this series, it's very important to read these books in order, you will be pretty lost in this book if you haven't read the previous books. Happy Reading! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Beautiful addition to the series! While the first six books were somewhat of a roller-coaster ride, dipping and soaring between characters, Lover Avenged brings all the brothers back together with Rehvenge as your hero.

    For all those wanting to "catch up" on all the Brotherhood activity and have missed some of their favs in past books (Beth and Wrath especially), Ward brings them all back with a bang in this novel, picking up where Lover Enshrined (Phury's book) left off. The plotline involving the Lessening Society grows deeper and darker with some gory and creepy encounters. We are taken deeper into the world of the sympaths and learn more about Rehv's and Bella's growing up. We cheer for our couple, of course, but mostly we cheer for the "reuniting" of the BDB as a fighting unit once again. A book at that all BDB fans must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    Rehvenge was a great character. He is a dark hero and a villian all wrapped up in one. You never know whether he's going to turn villian or not. His future shellan is not exactly what I expected but she is the white light to his darkness. I guess Xhex was too much dark to his darkness and that couldn't happen. I still want to know what happens with John Matthew and her. They have to find her.....Ward should send John Matthew to rescue her (even though she doesn't think that he's capable of rescuing her).

    I'd like to know more about the colony and other sympaths that have been sent there.

    Tor needs to get on with his life, with or without Wellsie, John Matthew still needs him.

    I can see lots more fodder for more books in the future. I've read the entire series now and this one went back to what I expected and wanted. I didn't like Phury's story nearly as much as Rehvenge.

    Keep up the good work Ward and I'll keep reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    True I have not read it yet, so how could I know, well first of all I've read her other books of the Black Dagger Brotherhood (BDB), and I love them an I can't wait until Rhevenge's book comes out I'm sure it will be as awesome as the other ones.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Not my favorite, but important character development

    Not my favorite love story in the series. I skimmed a lot of pages in this book. Must read though for important info on john aka darius and xhex for the next book. Most intimate scenes grossed me out. The end will have you want to call the exterminator to ensure there are no spiders in your home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm glad I read "Lover Avenged"... but

    "Lover Revealed" - the fourth book of The Black Dagger Brotherhood series - is my least favorite. This book "Lover Avenged" was my second least favorite book out of the series. I'm glad I read "Lover Avenged" and I still recommend it to others. The main character is Rehvenge. Who is a successful business male, as well as, pimp and drug lord. He is also Bella's older brother - who is The Brother Zsadist's mate - which is how he is involved with the Brotherhood. There is a new female, Ehlena. Ehlena is a nurse at Haver's clinic, and that's where the two meet. As it turns out she is Rehv's favorite nurse.
    Rehvenge and Xhex are part symphath. Rehvenge is more than a half-breed vampire/symphath, his uncle is the king of the symphaths. Over 25 - or so - years ago, something happened to Xhex. Somehow the symphath princess got involved - or was involved. In order to protect Xhex and himself, Rehvenge was blackmailed into meeting with the symphath princess once a month. - The first time "the meetings" were mentioned was in the sixth book of the series "Lover Enshrined". - At these meetings, he is forced to pay her in many painful ways. After 25 years, it's beginning to wear on Rehv's body - taking him longer and longer to recover after each "meeting".
    Ehlena makes Rehvenge feel different. She makes him feel. Period. She doesn't know his background or heritage, but she knows him. The symphath princess gets jealous, and more threatening. Rehv must protect every female - his mom, his sister, Xhex, Ehlena - in his life. The princess has other plans as well.
    Where Rehvenge is, Xhex is never far. When is comes to Xhex, there is John Matthew. And where John Matthew goes, Qhuinn - John's "bodyguard" - must follow. John's adopted father, Tohrment, returned to the series at the end of the last book "Lover Enshrined" with a new character. A fallen angel named Lassiter. Both have roles in this book. Wrath and Beth are mentioned more in this book than they have been since "Dark Lover". And since "Dark Lover" is still my favorite of this series, I enjoyed reading about them very much. The son of the Omega, Lash, plays a larger role in this book also. The drama/thrill bounces back and forth, and then continues on. to the next book of the series "Lover Mine".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    another excellent book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series!!

    All of the books in this series have been great, and as I read each one I think, "this is the best!", but this is actually my fav so far (haven't read lover mine yet). Rhevenge is a complex character, and his story with Ehlena fits with his personality. I especially liked the development of Xhex's character, and her relationship with John Matthew, as well as the subplot with Wrath & Beth. An interesting, complex romance - highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Job once again. Good for JR Ward

    This book was great. It was the best of all the others. I like the main character and found him to be complex and strong. I like how Ward was able to keep all the characters connecting to each other and yet still keep the story moving fast. I can not wait till the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW GREAT SERIES

    I'M A BIG VAMP BOOK FAN AND THIS IS A MUST READ SERIES IF YOU LIKE THE VAMPIRE BOOKS LIKE ME. HOT HOT HOT IS ALL I CAN SAY :):):)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good One from JR Ward

    This woman can write a completely gripping and fun story! It continues on in this seventh installment of the BDB. I was a little nervous that I wouldn't like the main character (Rehvenge or Rehv for short) because he is a pimp and a drug dealer and a sympath, who are these supposedly really violent and vicious breed of vampire who suck energy off of manipulating others' baser emotions. How could someone possibly make a chararacter like that likeable? Well, she pulls it off very well. His love interest is a great character, especially since she comes from a different walk of life then most of the other female vampires in the books to date. She may have started off as part of the aristocracy, but now has fallen pretty low due to some rough family tragedies. Wonderful to see her deal with some horrid situations, and remain strong. She is strong and brave and as kick-a** as any of the warriors in the Brotherhood in how she goes after Rehv to save him at the end. I found this book to be the most disturbingly violent of all of them - the purebred symphath characters just creep me out totally and so does Lash and the Omega and their whole evil family saga. And the spiders - just ICK! But it wasn't too much to stomache in the end and the violence never seems pointless or gratuitous. And as far as Rehv and his whole moral makeup goes, you really see into his mind and understand how he got to where he did, and even though his actions are not very morally upstanding you see how he really is a good person and just as deserving of rescuing as any romantic protagonist is. Bring on #8, Lover Mine!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Can't put down!

    As the books progress you get to know more characters and more side stories. Your drawn in. I'm always left hanging for the next book. Definantly more enjoyable to read these books in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 106